Newbie to HTPC. Is this possible? Two locations, One PC? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 12:12 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hi all. i am ready to plunge into a decent HTPC/Gaming setup....I think. lol.

Budget about-about 2k excluding monitor, etc. Is it in any way possible to have a HTPC located in a closet near the TV/nice stereo/living room, with the gaming rig hooked up for Audio/streaming/etc. Then Also have it hooked up to another location/monitor about 25 ft away for the times I want to sit at a desk to game/surf the net? I have a crawl space that I can run wire/cables. I have a multi zone a/v receiver. I don't mind building my own PC, but would have to come from newegg, as I have financing there and interest free for one year. Would like the best performance available. Comments/questions/critisim?
Thanks in advance
keager is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Monger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Sure. I have a similar setup with my pc connected to a tv and a projector ran from my closet through my receiver. My pj is even further away and the hdmi is being ran over cat6.
Monger is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
with the right hardware, isbit possible to simultaneously operate two different "things" on the different displays? provided the appropriate hardwar of course. basically would like the ability to watch a blue ray on the tv, while playing a game or listening to music on the other. Thanks for the reply.
keager is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 10:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by keager View Post

with the right hardware, isbit possible to simultaneously operate two different "things" on the different displays? provided the appropriate hardwar of course. basically would like the ability to watch a blue ray on the tv, while playing a game or listening to music on the other. Thanks for the reply.

You would have to run 2 hdmi cables and setup extended desktop. It doesn't work very well though and in some cases straight up won't work at all.

To see what I mean try playing a video and a game at the same time on your current computer, one of them is likely to blank out or possibly crash. There are also issues with controlling both of them, how do you pause the blu-ray if you are playing a game?

The right hardware in this case is really 2 computers.

Putting the same thing on 2 displays is easy though smile.gif
macks is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by macks View Post

You would have to run 2 hdmi cables and setup extended desktop. It doesn't work very well though and in some cases straight up won't work at all.

To see what I mean try playing a video and a game at the same time on your current computer, one of them is likely to blank out or possibly crash. There are also issues with controlling both of them, how do you pause the blu-ray if you are playing a game?

The right hardware in this case is really 2 computers.

Putting the same thing on 2 displays is easy though smile.gif

I do this all the time. I run 4 monitors on my comp and I'm routinely playing a game while watching Netflix, or Twitch, or something I have on my media drive. Running 2 things at once isn't the problem. It's getting 2 separate audio streams. In his case, he wants to be able to be playing a movie in one room, and a game in the other, and Windows doesn't split the audio as far as I know. So unless he plays the game without sound, the other room that's watching the movie, will have both the movie audio and the game audio.

There's probably a way to get separate audio streams, but I have no idea how.

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #6 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
i plan on getting a high end audio card
keager is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 01:59 PM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 2,994
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Unless the sound card specifically states it can do this, it won't matter. The problem is in software.

I currently have my onboard audio and an add on sound card installed. It's possible to run the 2 simultaneously. But you can't separate the audio within windows.

Windows will allow you to run the audio through onboard OR add on sound card. Windows makes you set a default playback device, which will play any audio you have running.

Maybe it's possible to do it within the programs? Like a video player that might have an option of which sound card to use. You could set the video player to run on that card and windows will default to the other.

Unless there is a third party piece of software that allows you to run 2 different audio streams simultaneously on different sets of speakers, it's not possible within windows.

I've never tried more options because it's not something I was worried about. I'm fine with the way it works now.

I just wish I could set one card for a specific game and everything else to the other.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
perhaps it would be better if I got two $1000 dollar gaming machines and use one for living room/stereo, and another for standalone gaming with its own monitor. How would I be able to play the same games on two different machines? thanks for the help
keager is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 04:21 PM
Newbie
 
yorickgarcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got this set-up going for me at the moment, I have a SG-02F case on my living room center connected to my receiver and TV on one end controlled by a dinovo mini, and on the other end a usb cable and long hdmi to dvi cable running to an area where my computer desk is. A G15v2 keyboard with a g700 attached to it and a long 3.5 extension to plug in headphones. I have worked great fo me when I need my HTPC need or want to play on the couch with a 360 controller, and when I need to work on my PC or play something with a kb/m combo.

Please keep in mind if you run to far of a USB cable you will need it to be powered. I have managed to keep it somewhat close but this may not work for everyone.
yorickgarcia is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 04:22 PM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 2,994
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 188
You can play the games through steam, just not at the same time. Unless you buy 2 copies of the game. But if you just want a machine to do games and a machine to play movies. You can build a very simple machine for movies For less than $1000.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 04:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post

You can play the games through steam, just not at the same time. Unless you buy 2 copies of the game. But if you just want a machine to do games and a machine to play movies. You can build a very simple machine for movies For less than $1000.

Actually you CAN play games on the same Steam account at the same time. One on system, sign in, then restart in offline mode. Then on the other system ,play in online mode.

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #12 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 04:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Can two computers share like a solid state hard drive, so downloaded songs/ games, etc can be played on one or the other?
keager is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I was contemplating this one. any comments or suggestions?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.1327030
keager is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 09:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,744
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by keager View Post

I was contemplating this one. any comments or suggestions?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.1327030

Maybe replace the dual 660s with a single 770?
DaverJ is online now  
post #15 of 22 Old 06-19-2013, 09:51 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
would that provide better performance? Is it usually better of to piece a syatem together, rather than getting a combo?
keager is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 06-20-2013, 05:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by keager View Post

would that provide better performance? Is it usually better of to piece a syatem together, rather than getting a combo?

The 770 is the 680 finally priced correctly.

I would suggest you look at:

1. i5-3570
2. 16gb ram running at 1600mhz
3. affordable motherboard
4. nice case around $100(the Thorv2 is gigantic)
5. an SSD
6. Spend the rest on graphics cards.

The 770 is at a very attractive price right now. You get a bunch of free games with anything AMD though, crossfire is not suggested at this point. There should be fixes for the issues in crossfire in the next month - 2 years.
macks is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 06-20-2013, 06:19 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
when you say affirdable motherboard, do you have a suggestion?
keager is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 06-20-2013, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by keager View Post

when you say affirdable motherboard, do you have a suggestion?

That is really your decision to make. Personally I like barebone motherboards(with certain legacy ports) and using a single gpu. Others like having the option of getting multiple graphics cards. Some like having wireless built-in. Some want the best overclocking motherboard possible, etc. It's all your choice. Get what you need/want.

Motherboards supply all the connections for the things you are going to be using.
macks is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 06-20-2013, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I see. I wasn'tsure what to look for on them.
keager is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 06-20-2013, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by keager View Post

I see. I wasn'tsure what to look for on them.

If gaming is your main/only concern then you should be spending most of your budget on gpu/gpu's.
macks is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 06-20-2013, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
well I will put together a shopping cart and post it so I can get suggestions kn alternatives, etc
keager is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 06-20-2013, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
the problem is I don't know the benefit of some of the different features. I'm trying to learn
keager is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off