HTPC Rackmount Question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-20-2013, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hagenstien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own a Middle Atlantic Slim 5 rack and have recently built an HTPC and put it in a rackmountable case. I purchased these rails (ISTARUSA 26 SLIDING RAIL KIT FOR MOST RACKMOUNT CHASSIS) but they do not fit the MA Slim 5 holes.

Can you guys recommend any rails that will fit the Slim 5?
hagenstien is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-20-2013, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BllDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Does your case have rack ears?

-




Is it solipsistic in here, or is it just me?
BllDo is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-20-2013, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hagenstien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, it does. This is the case: ARK 4U-500-CA Black 4U Rackmount Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays I have to admit this is my first rackmount case as all of my other equipment is on shelves. I had thought that perhaps since this case and components weigh in at around 50 lbs or so that might be too much weight to put on the rack ears. Any advice would be appreciated.
hagenstien is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-20-2013, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BllDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 96
I have a server and a couple amps in my rack and all are mounted with just the ears. Rails would probably be a little safer, but I'd give it a go with just the rack ears and see how it sits.

-




Is it solipsistic in here, or is it just me?
BllDo is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-20-2013, 12:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Try moving the rail kit up a hole or two, chances are you aren't correctly aligned to the rack unit spacing.

I have seen many racks get bent up by mounting equipment incorrectly but unless you are filling it with servers it isn't as big of an issue.
macks is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-20-2013, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BllDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by macks View Post

I have seen many racks get bent up by mounting equipment incorrectly but unless you are filling it with servers it isn't as big of an issue.

Really? I could see your equipment getting tweaked, but my rack is so solid I never would have imagined the posts getting bent. How much weight are we talking about to bend a rack post?

-




Is it solipsistic in here, or is it just me?
BllDo is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-20-2013, 04:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by BllDo View Post

Really? I could see your equipment getting tweaked, but my rack is so solid I never would have imagined the posts getting bent. How much weight are we talking about to bend a rack post?

The lightest thing I have seen bend a rack was a 70 pound 4u router.

I have seen improperly mounted 12u(I think) switches knock over a rack that is bolted to the floor and held in by ladder bar in one direction at the top. We had to add ladder bar going in another direction at the top to support it.
macks is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off