HTPC Specs...What Do You Think?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-03-2013, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MAC20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm in the process of going from my PS3 to a gaming PC. here's what ive spec'd out. Also ill be putting a TV tuner in the PC so i can hook it up to my AV unit. That was one of my reason for going this route was because i couldn't find a TV tuner to hook up to my av unit and it doesn't have a tuner on it. but anyway here's my specs tell me what you think

Motherboard:

MSI H77MA-G43 LGA 1155 Intel H77 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS


Intel H77
Core i7 / i5 / i3 (LGA1155)
DDR3 1066/1333


Processor with CPU Liquid Cooler:

Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000


22 nm Ivy Bridge 77W
8MB L3 Cache
4 x 256KB L2 Cache
Intel HD Graphics 4000

CORSAIR Hydro series H50 High Performance Liquid CPU Cooler


1700 RPM +/- 10% 57 CFM
Fan Dim. 120mm x 152mm x 27mm
Fan Noise 30.32 dBA


Graphic Card:

GIGABYTE GV-R787OC-2GD Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card



1280 Stream Processors
2GB 256-bit GDDR5
PCI Express 3.0 x16


Power Supply:

Rosewill BRONZE Series RBR1000-M 1000W Continuous@40°C, 80Plus Bronze Certified


ATX12V v2.31 / EPS12V v2.92
100-240V
80 PLUS Bronze Certified
Modular Design
Efficiency up to 87%
135mm Blue LED Dual-ball-bearing Fan


RAM:

CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)


DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Timing 7-8-8-24
Cas Latency 7
Voltage 1.5V

OR

CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)


DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Timing 9-9-9-24
Cas Latency 9
Voltage 1.5V


Optical Drive:

LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA BDXL Blu-ray Burner


All being placed in a Micro ATX Case with plenty of ventilation and fans.
MAC20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-03-2013, 09:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Very nice specs, but that PSU is overkill, you can save some by stepping down. For reference, my new build is 4770K and a 780 Classified, and at full load will pull maybe 500w (putting in a 750w PSU). Step down to a good bronze certified 750-800w. even if you end up crossfiring another 7870, a 750-800w would be plenty. Get a nice SeaSonic 750w, or 800w and you'll be fine.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<--- All gamertags listed there -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- direct pod link

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-03-2013, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MAC20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the input... i was wondering if 1000w was to much. i will definitely step it down to 750w. do you have any input on a good tv tuner?
MAC20 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-03-2013, 11:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAC20 View Post

thanks for the input... i was wondering if 1000w was to much. i will definitely step it down to 750w. do you have any input on a good tv tuner?

Hauppauge makes good tuner cards and external tuners, check some of them out.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<--- All gamertags listed there -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- direct pod link

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-03-2013, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MAC20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks. much appreciated.
MAC20 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-03-2013, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
MarkcusD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Ceton or Silicon Dust for cable card tuners. I use the HD Homerun Prime external tuner.
MarkcusD is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off