The official AVS "PC Game Console" thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 566 Old 06-16-2014, 04:20 PM
Member
 
BusinessFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck666 View Post
There is an Ebay listing for Wolfie, the new order, that the owner is selling used and will send the username tied to its code. He will send the CD's, also.

What does Steam think of that?

Can anyone have several usernames attached to the same email?

Thoughts?
That seems to me like it's a violation of Steam's EULA. I believe you can't sell accounts, and this looks to be around that realm.
My advice is to stay safe and keep it to new, unopened games or software.
BusinessFace is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 566 Old 06-17-2014, 07:55 AM
Member
 
Last Ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Parts for my first build are on their way! How'd I do? I know I will need a mouse and key board. I also plan on using xbox 360 controllers I have laying around. Ultimately, I will add a decent cpu cooler if I venture into overclocking.


http://pcpartpicker.com/user/bcorbitt/saved/NJprxr

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Last edited by Last Ride; 06-17-2014 at 12:20 PM.
Last Ride is offline  
post #543 of 566 Old 06-17-2014, 09:13 AM
Member
 
BusinessFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Last Ride View Post
Parts for my first build are on their way! How'd I do? I know I will need a mouse and key board. I also plan on using xbox 360 controllers I have laying around. Ultimately, I will add a decent cpu cooler if I venture into overclocking.


http://pcpartpicker.com/user/bcorbitt/saved/NJprx

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk


Link isn't working for me.
BusinessFace is offline  
post #544 of 566 Old 06-17-2014, 12:17 PM
Member
 
Last Ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Let's try again. Sorry!

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/bcorbitt/saved/NJprxr

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Last Ride is offline  
post #545 of 566 Old 06-17-2014, 12:56 PM
Member
 
BusinessFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Last Ride View Post
Let's try again. Sorry!

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/bcorbitt/saved/NJprxr

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Looks great. You did your shopping well.


I'm using Logitech's G700s, which is great as long as you have rechargeable batteries or can plug the charging cable in easily. It will work both wirelessly or through USB (to reduce latency).
If you want an HTPC feel, their DiNovo Edge is a slick keyboard with a trackpad. A bit pricey, though.


Enjoy your new PC! I just built my new one a few months ago, and last time was about 7 years ago. A great feeling, indeed!
BusinessFace is offline  
post #546 of 566 Old 07-03-2014, 04:52 PM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 2,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 164
I've been looking at these new intel CPU's wondering if I can survive another cycle with my i7 960. Should I upgrade or stick it out?

Also noticing the gaming MBs all have these improved sound cards and headphone amps that are all but useless in this era of PCs. Where was all this crap before the GPU's were providing the sound, when it would have been worth something?

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is online now  
post #547 of 566 Old 07-03-2014, 04:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post
I've been looking at these new intel CPU's wondering if I can survive another cycle with my i7 960. Should I upgrade or stick it out?

Also noticing the gaming MBs all have these improved sound cards and headphone amps that are all but useless in this era of PCs. Where was all this crap before the GPU's were providing the sound, when it would have been worth something?

I say just hold out for Broadwell. Haswell-E isn't bad, but Broadwell is coming soon enough

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #548 of 566 Old 07-03-2014, 05:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 1343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marafice Eye View Post
I say just hold out for Broadwell. Haswell-E isn't bad, but Broadwell is coming soon enough

I'd say hold out for skylake even. Broadwell isn't going to offer much over Haswell beyond better power consumption and integrated graphics that you won't use, and the same goes for ivy and sandy bridge before that. At least with skylake you'd be able to move up to DDR4, i7's might be hex core, maybe PCI-e 4.0, NVME SSDs should be mainstream and who knows what else.

Honestly very little has changed with CPUs since you bought your i7, and since you're still running a quad core with 8 threads, I'd say you're good for a while yet. Maybe overclock it and get a small boost? I don't think your CPU is holding you back unless you have ambitions for 120fps, 3D, VR or 3x/4x SLI.
Scott Simonian likes this.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #549 of 566 Old 07-04-2014, 03:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
I'd say hold out for skylake even. Broadwell isn't going to offer much over Haswell beyond better power consumption and integrated graphics that you won't use, and the same goes for ivy and sandy bridge before that. At least with skylake you'd be able to move up to DDR4, i7's might be hex core, maybe PCI-e 4.0, NVME SSDs should be mainstream and who knows what else.

Honestly very little has changed with CPUs since you bought your i7, and since you're still running a quad core with 8 threads, I'd say you're good for a while yet. Maybe overclock it and get a small boost? I don't think your CPU is holding you back unless you have ambitions for 120fps, 3D, VR or 3x/4x SLI.

Looks like we're getting Octo-Core i7's and DDR-4 with Haswell-E this fall

http://www.pcgamer.com/2014/07/04/oc...g-this-autumn/

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #550 of 566 Old 07-04-2014, 10:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 1343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marafice Eye View Post
Looks like we're getting Octo-Core i7's and DDR-4 with Haswell-E this fall

http://www.pcgamer.com/2014/07/04/oc...g-this-autumn/

Only like $3000 a chip.

God, it's been so long since intel had any competition in the high end. It's like they're not even trying anymore.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #551 of 566 Old 07-04-2014, 02:09 PM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 2,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Skylake has the added expense of the new ram with the motherboard. Maybe even new PSU.

Well, I'll hold out for at least broadwell and see how it goes.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is online now  
post #552 of 566 Old 07-04-2014, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
Only like $3000 a chip.

God, it's been so long since intel had any competition in the high end. It's like they're not even trying anymore.
Eh, only $999 for the flagship. My point is though, you don't have to wait for Skylake to take advantage of DDR4 or true octa-cores.

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #553 of 566 Old 07-04-2014, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I'm looking forward to doing a Haswell-E microATX build. The 5820K is quite attractive with 6-cores and overclockability, and of course an expected price of under $400.

People might gripe about the chip "only" having an expected 28 PCI-e 3.0 lanes, but that's much more than enough for a mere mortal like me who simply plans on installing a single GPU and hopefully one or two future consumer level PCI-e 3.0 SSDs with NVMe.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #554 of 566 Old 07-04-2014, 07:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 1343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marafice Eye View Post
Eh, only $999 for the flagship. My point is though, you don't have to wait for Skylake to take advantage of DDR4 or true octa-cores.

True. I dunno what it is though, but something about the high end intel platform doesn't sit right with me. I'm normally all for overkill and I'm fully aware of the diminishing returns on value at the high end, but it still feels like some outrageous ripoff that I just can't swallow. It's like these are the chips that should be our "normal" i7's by now, but intel is getting away with highway robbery (and holding progress back) because no one can challenge them. They're taking their sweet time with broadwell and triple dipping on Haswell. Z97 is nothing more than a z87 rebadge, etc. So while I like what I see with Haswell-E, I'm inclined to pass on it because I don't want to encourage them.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #555 of 566 Old 07-04-2014, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
True. I dunno what it is though, but something about the high end intel platform doesn't sit right with me. I'm normally all for overkill and I'm fully aware of the diminishing returns on value at the high end, but it still feels like some outrageous ripoff that I just can't swallow. It's like these are the chips that should be our "normal" i7's by now, but intel is getting away with highway robbery (and holding progress back) because no one can challenge them. They're taking their sweet time with broadwell and triple dipping on Haswell. Z97 is nothing more than a z87 rebadge, etc. So while I like what I see with Haswell-E, I'm inclined to pass on it because I don't want to encourage them.
Oh I agree, I see no reason for ME to upgrade since I'm on a Haswell anyway, but if I was on a first gen i7 I might consider it. I figure my next CPU upgrade will be Skylake-E lol.

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #556 of 566 Old 07-05-2014, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I do wonder how expensive DDR4 modules will be upon launch. It sounds like the prices could be sky-high, even for just four 4GB sticks.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #557 of 566 Old 07-05-2014, 06:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 1343
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSmith83 View Post
I do wonder how expensive DDR4 modules will be upon launch. It sounds like the prices could be sky-high, even for just four 4GB sticks.

Yeah, I bet. But at least it'll last you through a few upgrades.

Even though I bought a 4790K and a z97 board, it does feel like a half assed upgrade. The only real update to the platform is m.2 and SATA-E ports, and they're all 2x and useless. At least if it had DDR4 I'd feel like I'm buying into the next generation instead of the dying gasp of the last one.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #558 of 566 Old Yesterday, 11:06 AM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 2,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Well I couldn't help it, I realized a gift card I had was going to expire next month so I just bought a 4690 and a z97 with a newegg combo deal plus another $20 back in gift card for the CPU. I also had this noctua cooler I bought a while back from another sale. I don't think it would be compatible with the next cycles. Of course, this means I need to buy compatible equipment for the $40 cooler. I planned on switching it out, but the last cooler had a glue on back plate that I couldn't remove. So the old one is staying on my current MB. Also repurchased the lian-li case I've been trying to get for a while. Finally found a place that had the silver version again. For whatever reason, the silver was a rare find.

How much of a hassle is it transferring win8 to a different machine? I remember reading it's not an easy thing to get done.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is online now  
post #559 of 566 Old Yesterday, 11:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post
Well I couldn't help it, I realized a gift card I had was going to expire next month so I just bought a 4690 and a z97 with a newegg combo deal plus another $20 back in gift card for the CPU. I also had this noctua cooler I bought a while back from another sale. I don't think it would be compatible with the next cycles. Of course, this means I need to buy compatible equipment for the $40 cooler. I planned on switching it out, but the last cooler had a glue on back plate that I couldn't remove. So the old one is staying on my current MB. Also repurchased the lian-li case I've been trying to get for a while. Finally found a place that had the silver version again. For whatever reason, the silver was a rare find.

How much of a hassle is it transferring win8 to a different machine? I remember reading it's not an easy thing to get done.
I had to do this when I swapped out my mobo. It's actually easy if you say the right thing. just install Win 8, it'll tell you it's already been activated. Hit up Microsoft's live chat, tell them you had to change your harddrive because the old one was failing, they'll ask for the old serial so they can void it, and give you a new one to use. took me all of about 5-10 minutes talking with them, was hassle free though, they were very nice.

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is online now  
post #560 of 566 Old Yesterday, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,942
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 138
I've never even had to deal with an actual person. The automated phone number has never had any issues for me in trying to switch to a new PC (well, in my case, it was for obliterating an old VM and re-making it, but the same type of thing).

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is online now  
post #561 of 566 Old Yesterday, 02:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 1343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post
Well I couldn't help it, I realized a gift card I had was going to expire next month so I just bought a 4690 and a z97 with a newegg combo deal plus another $20 back in gift card for the CPU. I also had this noctua cooler I bought a while back from another sale. I don't think it would be compatible with the next cycles. Of course, this means I need to buy compatible equipment for the $40 cooler. I planned on switching it out, but the last cooler had a glue on back plate that I couldn't remove. So the old one is staying on my current MB. Also repurchased the lian-li case I've been trying to get for a while. Finally found a place that had the silver version again. For whatever reason, the silver was a rare find.

How much of a hassle is it transferring win8 to a different machine? I remember reading it's not an easy thing to get done.

What are you coming from? I went from a z77 to a z97 without a reinstall with absolutely zero issues.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #562 of 566 Old Yesterday, 02:06 PM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 2,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
What are you coming from? I went from a z77 to a z97 without a reinstall with absolutely zero issues.
Mine is a bigger change. I7 960 is definitely going to register as a new pc.
Yrd is online now  
post #563 of 566 Old Yesterday, 04:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 1343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post
Mine is a bigger change. I7 960 is definitely going to register as a new pc.

It's not the activation you need to worry about, it's the MB drivers. I know win 8 is better about this than past versions, but as long as you back up, it's worth a shot just swapping everything and praying it boots.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #564 of 566 Old Yesterday, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimeran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 114
I know it's not really a "console" but anyone see the new Shield Tablet from Nvidia? My wife already put a kabash to it saying I play too many games already...but it looks really promising...I would like one so I had a tablet for everyday use that would also be able to handle a bit of gaming while traveling.

Trying to enjoy the simple things in life.

 

Steam: madbrayniak

Kimeran is online now  
post #565 of 566 Old Today, 03:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 1343
http://feeds.arstechnica.com/~r/arst...3/TWdZkGbs7VM/

By the time they're done with this controller, it's going to be indistinguishable from an Xbox controller.

I think they should dump the left touchpad entirely and put both an analog stick and a dpad. I don't see the point of two touchpads.
JustaSheep likes this.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #566 of 566 Old Today, 05:14 PM
Member
 
JustaSheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
I think they should dump the left touchpad entirely and put both an analog stick and a dpad. I don't see the point of two touchpads.
I agree about not having 2, but I like the idea of having the touch pad on the side that controls motion not turning.

Edit: I don't know, maybe your idea is better.

Last edited by JustaSheep; Today at 05:19 PM.
JustaSheep is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off