The official AVS "PC Game Console" thread - Page 9 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 587 Old 12-08-2013, 10:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Found it, $134.98

http://us.ncix.com/products/?sku=70944&vpn=KHX1600C10D3B1K2%2F16G&manufacture=Kingston

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 587 Old 12-08-2013, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
257Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
How long till we see good 16 gb kits in the sub $100 range?
257Tony is offline  
post #243 of 587 Old 12-08-2013, 06:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Probably about the time DDR4 hits, DDR3 kits will come down. Or when the find a cheaper way to manufacture 8GB sticks

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is offline  
post #244 of 587 Old 12-09-2013, 10:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Hooray! My replacement monitor showed up tonight! Undamaged, no dead pixels that I could find, and it's GORGEOUS! Can't wait to get my vid card replaced (once the RMA dept contacts me) so I can actually use it on my main gaming rig..

Note: It's the wall-mounted one, and yes, that was a pain in the rear to mount lol.



Crossover Black Tune 2735AMG 27 inch 2560x1440 (exact same panel found in the 27 inch iMacs.)

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is offline  
post #245 of 587 Old 12-10-2013, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimeran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Crossover is one of those Korean montiors that you have to get off ebay isnt it?

Trying to enjoy the simple things in life.

 

Steam: madbrayniak

Kimeran is offline  
post #246 of 587 Old 12-10-2013, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kimeran View Post

Crossover is one of those Korean montiors that you have to get off ebay isnt it?

Yes it is. I bought mine from green-sum. Very helpful and very accommodating. The first one I got was damaged by UPS, so I opened a case with them on eBay and they filed a claim with UPS. UPS took their sweet time but as soon as the monitor got returned to Korea, green-sum overnighted me the new one.

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is offline  
post #247 of 587 Old 12-10-2013, 09:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,188
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 681 Post(s)
Liked: 1572
How much did that run?

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #248 of 587 Old 12-10-2013, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimeran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 117
They arent badly priced at all really but I dont know what the shipping is.

I looked up one by the same seller as reference on ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Free-Express-New-CROSSOVER-BLACK-TUNE-2735AMG-IPS-LED-27-H-IPS-Slim-Monitor-/121124980735?pt=Computer_Monitors&hash=item1c339c87ff

I am waiting for G-Sync to be more widely used and optimized before I upgrade my monitor.

I am also more inclined for 4k monitors to come down in price as well as I dont have the real estate for a multi-monitor setup.

Trying to enjoy the simple things in life.

 

Steam: madbrayniak

Kimeran is offline  
post #249 of 587 Old 12-10-2013, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,351
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Personally, I don't think the Korean monitors off eBay are quite as good a deal as they used to be. Now you can get similar monitors with the same panels from Monoprice for only a little more and not need to deal with shipping something back to Korea if there are issues.

I actually about a year ago ended up with the same thing from Microcenter too for ~$425 too, except that the one I purchased had more than just a dual-link DVI input (I was interested in a monitor with a DisplayPort input myself). Looks like Microcenter doesn't carry it any more though.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80
jhoff80 is offline  
post #250 of 587 Old 12-10-2013, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Shipping was free, No tax. So the total was $359.90

And just for reference, the panel in the Crossover I have is the exact same panel that's in the 27 inch iMacs.

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is offline  
post #251 of 587 Old 12-10-2013, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barrelbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 260
This device was posted over on the Xbox One Thread. My take is a big ??? on this device regarding PC gaming. Doesn't Windows already do this?

http://cronusmax.com/

Anyone please...What does it bring to the PC gaming table? I can see the benefit of allowing me to use my Xbox 360 controller with PS3. But that's pretty much it. BTW...that is a pretty big deal to me. Since I can really see using something like to dig into the untapped (for me) PS3 gaming library. Especially since I will not be buying a PS4 or Xbox One before 2015. There are a lot of PS3 titles I want to play like GOW, Uncharted & etc...much more than any next gen titles out there or even coming in the near term. But I don't see how this adds anything to PC. unless it automatically configures a controller for each game (like Mass Effect 1-3) for PC. Even though a game doesn't have native controller support. And I don't see that kind of capability in it.
barrelbelly is offline  
post #252 of 587 Old 12-10-2013, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimeran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Only benefit I can see for PC gaming is that you can program macros to it....which I dont think you could do in the past with the 360 controller.

Trying to enjoy the simple things in life.

 

Steam: madbrayniak

Kimeran is offline  
post #253 of 587 Old 12-10-2013, 01:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Depends on the controller really. I think the Razer Onza has macros.

I think the main benefit is the universality that it offers. I mean, Power A makes a PS3 controller shaped just like the 360 controller, you can get adapters for the controllers for intersystem use. But this thing is sort of an all in one style.

Worth it? Not to me. But probably to many others.

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is offline  
post #254 of 587 Old 12-11-2013, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,071
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 1294
The "true" next-gen game console is moments away! eek.gif

Good luck! If anyone gets a call/email today, please post ASAP: you have supreme bragging rights! biggrin.gif
DaverJ is online now  
post #255 of 587 Old 12-11-2013, 11:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,188
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 681 Post(s)
Liked: 1572
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

The "true" next-gen game console is moments away! eek.gif

Good luck! If anyone gets a call/email today, please post ASAP: you have supreme bragging rights! biggrin.gif

I dunno what in more excited for, 400 mil mega millions or steam machine

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #256 of 587 Old 12-11-2013, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimeran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 117
WOW! it's up to 400 MIL!

I didnt know that as i have been watching the steam machine!

I'll go buy some tickets tonight!

Trying to enjoy the simple things in life.

 

Steam: madbrayniak

Kimeran is offline  
post #257 of 587 Old 12-12-2013, 01:50 PM
Member
 
Chuck666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ME,

In an earlier post, you said you opened Steam on your SSD? How are your two drives configured generally speaking? SSD has ???????? HDD has ???????


Thanks,

Mitsbishi 82740 DLPYamaha RX-V371 A/V ReceiverHR-34 DirecTv DVR ReceiverPanasonic DMP-BDT210 BD PlayerWin 8.1 Home Built ComputerWin 8.1 HTPC Gaming ComputerOS 10.10.1 Yosemite Hackintosh
Chuck666 is offline  
post #258 of 587 Old 12-12-2013, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 241
I installed Steam on my SSD, then used the Steam Mover program to move the 'steamapps' folder to my F: drive

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is offline  
post #259 of 587 Old 12-12-2013, 03:25 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 15,698
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1781 Post(s)
Liked: 1539
I also use Steam off an SSD and use Steam Mover. However, I have each game install to the SSD and then I manually move it after it's been installed. This way I can pick and choose any game at any time to be on an SSD or HDD.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #260 of 587 Old 12-12-2013, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sean Spamilton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Anyone going to be brave and install the new Steam OS this week?
Sean Spamilton is online now  
post #261 of 587 Old 12-12-2013, 03:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Spamilton View Post

Anyone going to be brave and install the new Steam OS this week?

I will after I get home tomorrow. Going to be busy in the morning and early afternoon, but I want to check it out for sure

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Plan9Reloaded Co-host
Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast
https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link
http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website
Marafice Eye is offline  
post #262 of 587 Old 12-12-2013, 03:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,071
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 1294
I'm curious about dual-booting with SteamOS and Win8. I hope this is easy to set up.
DaverJ is online now  
post #263 of 587 Old 12-12-2013, 04:38 PM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 3,118
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Somewhere I read unless you're a unix whiz, there's not much reason to bother for a while.

I have a vortexbox that runs on linux and I have to look up crap any time I want to do something special. I have no unix experience and it's not fun.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is online now  
post #264 of 587 Old 12-12-2013, 05:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,188
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 681 Post(s)
Liked: 1572

I've tinkered with linux here or there, and it's not for the faint of heart.  That nvidia control panel you know and love is basically a text file that needs to be hand edited and invoked by command line. I dunno if they're even calling it a beta, but I expect its going to be as far from plug and play as possible. I might still tinker with it but I hope I can make it work on a bootable external drive so I don't have to screw with my boot drive.


Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #265 of 587 Old 12-13-2013, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimeran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I have toyed with Linux a few times as well. However anytime I needed to figure something out I took to the internet to find an answer.

I think I will wait atleast a week to see how it's going for others.

Trying to enjoy the simple things in life.

 

Steam: madbrayniak

Kimeran is offline  
post #266 of 587 Old 12-13-2013, 11:32 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 15,698
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1781 Post(s)
Liked: 1539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post

Somewhere I read unless you're a unix whiz, there's not much reason to bother for a while.

I have a vortexbox that runs on linux and I have to look up crap any time I want to do something special. I have no unix experience and it's not fun.

Lol I own a very much working Win7 gaming computer. There is not much reason to bother with SteamOS forever. tongue.gif

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #267 of 587 Old 12-13-2013, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimeran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I would actually say SteamOS is very important to the gaming industry and it's going to be a significant step forward. The Xbox and Playstation operating systems are optimized for games while PC games are still bogged down by Windows and issues with viruses, spyware, and addware.

Now finally, PC gamers are going to be getting a OS that is geared to gaming and with it being on Linux there wont be as much of an issue with spyware/addware. HEck! SteamOS isnt going to have an internet browser or a file browser in it at all so there might not be much reason at all because the entire OS is being optimized to run our games at max settings.

The main thing holding it back? Porting of games....but I have a strong feeling that after SteamOS hits you will see alot of the mod community porting over the most popular of games to SteamOS.

Heck, the mod community is so strong they have made entire expansions for Skyrim, remake of HL1 called Black Mesa, etc.

Trying to enjoy the simple things in life.

 

Steam: madbrayniak

Kimeran is offline  
post #268 of 587 Old 12-13-2013, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blastermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 203
So what's going to become of the current steam as it is on windows? Will it eventually become obsolete? And what about the games people have already purchased? Can they be transferred to the new OS? Sorry for the noobish questions but I haven't really looked into it much yet.
blastermaster is offline  
post #269 of 587 Old 12-13-2013, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimeran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Valve will still fully support the windows version. Some games will be getting ports but if they are not supported by SteamOS you will be able to stream the game from your windows pc to the Steam Machine.

Trying to enjoy the simple things in life.

 

Steam: madbrayniak

Kimeran is offline  
post #270 of 587 Old 12-13-2013, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Monger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Did SteamOS beta come out today? Any reports out there? I've barely used Linux with a GUI, it's always been command line.
Monger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off