EVGA 750Ti...Good enough to game? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-06-2014, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
testudoaubreii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Hello,

 

I recently built my HTPC and I would like to perhaps game a bit on it. Here are the specs:

 

Gigabyte B85N 1150

Intel i5 4570

2 x 4 GBs Ballistix RAM

430 Watt Corsair Modular PSU

Coole Master Elite 110

 

I would like to ad a discrete GPU to the machine. I need a little one because the mobo and the case are mITX. I am looking at this card, EVGA 750Ti SC, in particular:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IDG3IDO/ref=dra_a_cs_mr_hn_it_P1400_1000?tag=dradisplay-20

 

Would this card be good enough to game with console like settings? I know I am not going to max out Total War or BF4 (I pretty much play everything), but will it at least provide the graphical enhancements of the new gen consoles?

 

Thank you in advance to any and all help, suggestions and advice.

 

Testudo

testudoaubreii is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-06-2014, 09:37 AM
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 2,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Yes.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-06-2014, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
americangunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 287
That's the exact card I am using and have had no issues at all.

XBL: xGunner26x

PSN: AMER1CAN_GUNNER

Steam: xGunner26x

americangunner is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 05-06-2014, 03:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,410
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 1376
It's good enough but your case and PSU could easily handle a 760 if you want.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-07-2014, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
robertw11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by testudoaubreii View Post

Hello,
Would this card be good enough to game with console like settings?

Testudo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamespot 
Nvidia has just taken the wraps off the $149 (£115) GTX 750 Ti and $119 (£90) GTX 750 graphics cards based on its new Maxwell architecture. Both cards are available to purchase now.

The company is claiming Maxwell has twice the performance per watt of Kepler, and--in the case of the GTX 750 Ti--performance on par with a GTX 480, but with a power consumption of just 60 watts.

All models of the GTX 750 Ti and GTX 750 will feature two DVI outputs and HDMI, with some third-party manufacturers including Displayport too. Neither card requires a 6-pin power connector.

Core features of the GTX 750 Ti include 640 CUDA cores, a 1020 Mhz base clock, 2GB of 128-bit GDDR5 memory, 2048KB of L2 cache, and a 5.4Gbps memory speed. The GTX 750 features the same base clock, but only 512 CUDA cores, 1GB of 128-bit GDDR5 memory, and a 5.0 Gbps memory speed.

While the GTX 750 Ti is a midrange GPU, early benchmarks have shown excellent performance across a range of games. In GameSpot's own testing the card ran the likes of Tomb Raider and Bioshock Infinite at over 60fps on high settings. It also ran the beta of the new mech-based shooter Titanfall at 58fps at 1080p with 2XAA on, a feat not even accomplished by the Xbox One.

Nvidia also dropped in a little something for power users, announcing the new GTX Titan Black, the follow-up to the extremely powerful and extremely expensive GTX Titan. The GTX Titan Black features the same full implementation of the GK110 Kepler chip as the GTX 780 Ti, and pairing it with 6GB of 384-bit GDDR5 memory and double precision math.

No pricing has been announced for the GTX Titan Black, but expect it to be a lot. The GTX Titan launched at over $1000.

http://www.gamespot.com/articles/149-nvidia-gtx-750-ti-unveiled-plays-titanfall-better-than-xbox-one/1100-6417813/

Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post

It's good enough but your case and PSU could easily handle a 760 if you want.

GTX 760 minimum requirement is 500w

Pioneer Elite 111FD
Pioneer 4280HD
Pioneer VSX-1021K
PS3 Slim

My setup
robertw11 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-07-2014, 06:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,410
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 1376
I ran one for months on the same PSU he has.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 05-07-2014, 06:14 AM
Senior Member
 
robertw11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Good for you, Nvidia recommends 500w. Regardless he's asking about using a $150 gpu and you're recommending him a $250 gpu.

Pioneer Elite 111FD
Pioneer 4280HD
Pioneer VSX-1021K
PS3 Slim

My setup
robertw11 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-07-2014, 06:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,410
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 1376
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertw11 View Post

Good for you, Nvidia recommends 500w. Regardless he's asking about using a $150 gpu and you're recommending him a $250 gpu.

I'm not recommending it, just saying it's an option if he wants it. Chill out dude.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off