Graphics card upgrade 2 hd 5770's to GTX 750ti? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Marafice Eye
  • 1 Post By Hoonose
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2014, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jakerichards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Graphics card upgrade 2 hd 5770's to GTX 750ti?

It's pretty simple. I want to upgrade my graphics cards. I currently have 2 radeon hd 5770's running crossfire. I don't want to spend more than $150, and I want a performance jump. I am looking at getting a gtx 750ti to replace them. I have heard that they have less driver issues and such, so i figured I would make the switch. I plan on ebaying the old cards to offset the cost. I really dont have the $ to spend on a whole new rig right now, and I don't play a lot of games as it is, but when I do. I want them to run smoothly. If it matters here is my setup copied and pasted from Speccy. Am I wasting good money or should I make the jump? Thanks!

Operating System
MS Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
CPU
AMD Phenom II X4 965
Deneb 45nm Technology
RAM
8.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 668MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard
ASUSTeK Computer INC. Crosshair III Formula (AM3)
Graphics
DENON-AVAMP @ 1920x1080
AMD Radeon HD 5700 Series
AMD Radeon HD 5700 Series
Hard Drives
625GB Western Digital WDC WD6401AALS-00J7B1 ATA Device (IDE

Edit: I have a 1000w power supply

Last edited by jakerichards; 07-20-2014 at 12:27 PM.
jakerichards is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-20-2014, 03:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 16,189
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Over-all that will not be much of a difference in performance, game to game it will vary with one solution out performing the other but from a hardware standpoint it's not truly a "performance jump".


Maybe check and see if the games you play most run better on Nvidia hardware...?


The 750ti is a great card though and if you want to move to something newer it's about the best bang for the buck.


Jason

HT = JVC RS40 / Lumagen Radiance / Vivitek 1186 /@133"/ Samsung 50" Plasma / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony BDP s1000ES / Yamaha DV-S5860 / Toshiba HD-A3 / PureAV PF31
Media Room = Vizio 4K 70" lcd/Denon x4100/Audiosource Amp 100/Klipsch speakers/Velodyne subs/Sony BDP s780/PS4/X1/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/Game PC/Multi-Arcade My HT SLIDESHOW
DaGamePimp is offline  
Old 07-20-2014, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barrelbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,194
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 351
I'm unsure whether your MOBO will work with that Nvidia card. Since it is AM3 only, I think it works with DDR3 memory AMD GPUs. Not sure about the GDDR 5 memory on the newer AMD and Nvidia cards. I personally would stick with AMD Radeon cards with that board. Like the HD7770. That may be found in your price range on EBay or elsewhere. You could find 2 of those very close to your price. And Crossfire them like your 5700 series. But because they match up well with your Mobo. You may see some very good gains in performance. That is a decent gaming setup you already have though. Especially if it can upgrade to the AMD HD7770. I think those were the last AMD Radeons that used DDR3 memory. And people who crossfired them swear by them on the AMD forums even today.
barrelbelly is online now  
Old 07-20-2014, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 1,427
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelbelly View Post
I'm unsure whether your MOBO will work with that Nvidia card. Since it is AM3 only, I think it works with DDR3 memory AMD GPUs. Not sure about the GDDR 5 memory on the newer AMD and Nvidia cards. I personally would stick with AMD Radeon cards with that board. Like the HD7770. That may be found in your price range on EBay or elsewhere. You could find 2 of those very close to your price. And Crossfire them like your 5700 series. But because they match up well with your Mobo. You may see some very good gains in performance. That is a decent gaming setup you already have though. Especially if it can upgrade to the AMD HD7770. I think those were the last AMD Radeons that used DDR3 memory. And people who crossfired them swear by them on the AMD forums even today.
Makes no diff. he can use Nvidia or AMD gpus. AM3 only applies to the CPU socket. and the DDR3 is referring to the RAM, not the GPU VRAM

That aside, I would say DON'T change. the 750Ti isn't bad, but I don't like them due to the 128bit memory bus. 192bit+ only for me. It would really only be a side-grade for you, not an upgrade. Save a bit more and snag a 760, or something equivalent on the AMD side
barrelbelly likes this.

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Marafice Eye is online now  
Old 07-21-2014, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jakerichards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So i came across a MSI R9 270 for 110, and based on the responses went for it! I really appreciate all of the input. I'll post up how I like it. Thanks again!
jakerichards is offline  
Old 07-21-2014, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marafice Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Southern Sun, by the galley.
Posts: 1,427
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakerichards View Post
So i came across a MSI R9 270 for 110, and based on the responses went for it! I really appreciate all of the input. I'll post up how I like it. Thanks again!
That was a GREAT deal. The R9 270 typically runs around $160-190 so $110 is great. Hope you like it!

Marafice Eye <--- All gamertags listed there - Twitch TV Channel YouTube Channel
__________________________________________________ _
Marafice Eye is online now  
Old 07-21-2014, 08:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 16,189
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Yes indeed, that was a fantastic deal on the R9-270. I paid $130 for my 750ti SC and that was a decent deal, the R9-270 is better all around than the 750ti and should prove to be an actual performance gain over the CF 5770's.

Good luck,
Jason

HT = JVC RS40 / Lumagen Radiance / Vivitek 1186 /@133"/ Samsung 50" Plasma / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony BDP s1000ES / Yamaha DV-S5860 / Toshiba HD-A3 / PureAV PF31
Media Room = Vizio 4K 70" lcd/Denon x4100/Audiosource Amp 100/Klipsch speakers/Velodyne subs/Sony BDP s780/PS4/X1/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/Game PC/Multi-Arcade My HT SLIDESHOW
DaGamePimp is offline  
Old 07-24-2014, 02:04 PM
Member
 
Hoonose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Lake Havasu City, Arizona, United States
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Find a used 290X.

I went from 2X6870 CF to one 290x reference.

The 290X was $275 shipped. I got something like $85 and $53 for the 2 6870's.

$137 to me. BIG improvement, not to mention finally getting away fro CF!
barrelbelly likes this.
Hoonose is offline  
Old 07-24-2014, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barrelbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,194
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoonose View Post
Find a used 290X.

I went from 2X6870 CF to one 290x reference.

The 290X was $275 shipped. I got something like $85 and $53 for the 2 6870's.

$137 to me. BIG improvement, not to mention finally getting away fro CF!
I'm green with jealousy!
barrelbelly is online now  
Old 07-24-2014, 04:49 PM
Member
 
Hoonose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Lake Havasu City, Arizona, United States
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There should an oncoming flood of used higher end cards, as BitCoin mining evolves. I've seen a number of 290x cards in the $300 range.
Hoonose is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 07:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,699
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoonose View Post
There should an oncoming flood of used higher end cards, as BitCoin mining evolves. I've seen a number of 290x cards in the $300 range.

You missed the boat on that, the great sell off happened a few months ago.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 04:57 PM
Member
 
Hoonose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Lake Havasu City, Arizona, United States
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
You missed the boat on that, the great sell off happened a few months ago.
What did they go for?
Hoonose is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 05:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,699
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoonose View Post
What did they go for?
290x's for like $250. A couple of months ago BTC dropped to like $350, making it unprofitable for pretty much everyone to mine on a GPU, so there was a mass selloff and people were dumping them left and right. BTC has since gone back up to $600ish, so it's still borderline profitable. While I'm sure you can still find a good deal on AMD cards, it doesnt seem as common anymore.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
Old 07-27-2014, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jakerichards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to post an update. I got the 270 installed and working. It is leaps and bounds ahead of the 5770's. My reference was Borderlands 2, as that was the first game I noticed issues with on my old cards, had to turn most settings to medium and it still slowed down alot during the high demand times. I have everything cranked up (besides physx) and it runs smooth as can be. Thanks for all of the input.
jakerichards is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Gear in this thread
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off