need some samsung dlp PC hook up help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-14-2005, 09:40 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Hellraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, Im trying to hook up a laptop to a HLN series samsung dlp through the VGA port on the TV. Seems to be many types of VGA cables...so this is the cable I found...is this ok?

http://http://www.cablestogo.com/pro...2807&sku=29606

SXGA should handle the resolution fine right...or is this all non-sense and any VGA cable will do?
Hellraiser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-15-2005, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cush1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 958
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, any VGA cable should do, but if your video card supports it, DVI is the better way to go.

Cush
Cush1978 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-15-2005, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Hellraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well its a laptop...and I've had a hard time finding a laptop with a dvi port on it.

Plus i've been told its better to save the dvi port for copy protected mediums...not exactly sure what that means just yet ...still researching.
Hellraiser is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 02-15-2005, 02:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,532
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 163
With VGA be sure to get a good quality cable [ especially for longer runs - anything over 5m ] .

------- Jason

My Twitch Game Stream [PS4/Xone/PC]...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-16-2005, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cyberbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
And make sure your laptop supports 1280x720 resolution, which is what you'll want to output to the TV (or something smaller like 1232x702 to get rid of overscan, if that's an issue for your set).

Why using other people's TV settings is a
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

cyberbri is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-16-2005, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Hellraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sure its an issue with HLN's ...prob not HLP's .......but even if my laptop does not support that resolution I can use a program like powerstrip to make a custom rez right?
Hellraiser is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-18-2005, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ozy666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That might depend on the graphics chip in your laptop. Some integrated graphics chipsets might not support it.

Ozy
Ozy666 is offline  
Closed Thread HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off