What TV do you play PC games on to see text clearly? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 04-17-2005, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DrumDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a SDTV, an old 27" one with only composite connections. Needless to say I cannot read the text at all with PC games and internet. My main game right now is Star Wars Galaxies where I have to see the chat. UT2004 and other FPS games are fine because I dont need to read the chat to have fun.

Right now I have under $1000 to spend, but will save up more if needed. So I would like the cheapest way to get my results and if thats not possible what minimum price I need to make my PC gaming a reality on TV?

So what TV and price range is possible? What TV do you use for PC Gaming and what are your results with static images (burn in?) and text reading?

Thanks
DrumDude
DrumDude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 04-17-2005, 05:10 PM
 
Dean Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Video Games University
Posts: 4,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Preferably you want a TV with a DVI connection to your PC, a digital connection but a VGA connec tion is good too.
Dean Martin is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 04-17-2005, 08:12 PM
 
kny3twalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coppell, Texas
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI is compatible with DVI and VGA is also known as RGB or RGBHV
and can be something be five rca inputs (red, blue, green, horizontal sync and vertical sync)
that should help
also most component inputs are HD compatible just make sure to check the specs of the TV
to say 1080i/720p Y, Pb, Pr
kny3twalker is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 04-17-2005, 08:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DrumDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My vid card is ATI 9800 pro and has a DVI connector I think. Keep the info coming please, Im starting to actually understand at least what specs to look for somewhat. I heard 480i has latency issues...bah so much to learn but Im getting there.
DrumDude is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 04-18-2005, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ozy666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would save up a bit more and try and get a digital RPTV (LCD or DLP). If you're concentrating on PC gaming, then the 480i/lag issue isn't a problem.

Ozy
Ozy666 is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 04-19-2005, 02:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
spinoza_43221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ohio, Columbus
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well this poster seemed to get good results

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3&pagenumber=1


Seems the key is have a digital to digital connection.

You can get a 4674W for around 2500 now.



I hope this helps

TV - Samsung DLP 4674W
Receiver - Pioneer 1015-K
Speakers - Polk 6901 (7.1 setup)
Sub - PSW303
DVD - LG 3510A
spinoza_43221 is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 04-19-2005, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DrumDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DLP is it! I saw screenshots on another post and its amazing and text is clear! I will definately not mind spending 2500-3000 on one of those! Now to decide which DLP TV is best for my DVD, PC gaming needs. Not sure if there is something I should beware of....

Thanks again
DrumDude
DrumDude is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 04-20-2005, 01:16 AM
 
kny3twalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coppell, Texas
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah I would not waste my time looking for DLPs with PC or VGA input
I would use DVI or DVI to HDMI so there is no analogue to digital conversion
causing a loss in quality

and even at 720p, most DLPs the text is small if left at default of large text in windows
you may have to sit closer than normal to surf the internet and such
kny3twalker is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 04-20-2005, 01:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
celticwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well first off on SWG you can enlarge the text which helps alot over the default settings.

Try a PJ instead of a TV, it will look much better.

"Today, we need a nation of Minutemen, citizens who are not only prepared to take arms, but citizens who regard the preservation of freedom as the basic purpose of their daily life and who are willing to consciously work and sacrifice for that freedom." JFK
celticwolf is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 04-20-2005, 03:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DrumDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Projectors and screens just dont have enough darks, seems washed out, especially if there is any light in the room. Otherwise I would go for it.
DrumDude is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 04-20-2005, 05:08 AM
 
Dean Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Video Games University
Posts: 4,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by DrumDude
DLP is it! I saw screenshots on another post and its amazing and text is clear! I will definately not mind spending 2500-3000 on one of those! Now to decide which DLP TV is best for my DVD, PC gaming needs. Not sure if there is something I should beware of....

Thanks again
DrumDude
That's what I use and text is like I would see it on a PC monitor.
Dean Martin is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 04-20-2005, 09:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
spinoza_43221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ohio, Columbus
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If your only playing on the pc and progressive stuff on consoles then I think the samsung dlp's are the way to go.

If you like to do some old school gaming then go for the mitsubishi dlp's


The samsung are known for being easier to setup with pc's but have delay issues when playing interlaced content.

The mitsubishi's have a game mode for getting rid of any delay with interlaced content but as far as I know they don't have a pc mode.

By the way if you want my opinion go for a samsung 4674w


of course you could wait and see how there new 1080p dlp's turn out.

TV - Samsung DLP 4674W
Receiver - Pioneer 1015-K
Speakers - Polk 6901 (7.1 setup)
Sub - PSW303
DVD - LG 3510A
spinoza_43221 is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 04-20-2005, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DrumDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Spinoza thanks, thats exactly the info Im after now. Will Powerstrip resolve the issue on non PC mode DLP's? I wont be playing Console games on the TV, Just PC games. So does the PC not use 720p natively? Does it upconvert to 1080i and thus thats what causes delay issues?

Thanks
DrumDude is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 04-20-2005, 02:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
spinoza_43221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ohio, Columbus
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as I know with enough tweaking with power strip any of the dlp's are useable with a pc.

The delay issue is really only on console games. Particularly with PS2 games since almost all of them output in 480i.


If you want more info on various dlp's this is an older link that you still might find useful.


http://htpcnews.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=6746

TV - Samsung DLP 4674W
Receiver - Pioneer 1015-K
Speakers - Polk 6901 (7.1 setup)
Sub - PSW303
DVD - LG 3510A
spinoza_43221 is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 04-20-2005, 10:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ozy666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm running DVI to my Sammy without powerstrip and getting native resolution 1280x720. Overscan is present, but tolerable (cuts off half the taks bar, half the start button, etc...).

It's crystal clear, and awesome for games that I can get to run native. Even games at 640x480, 800x600, and 1024x768 look good, but native is the way to go when possible.

I have an ATI Radeon 9500 nonpro with the latest Cat drivers.

Ozy
Ozy666 is offline  
Closed Thread HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off