Anyone out there running a 37" Westy as a monitor? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 07-02-2006, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I jumped on a $999 rerfurb Westinghouse 37" monitor deal (1080p) when I saw it last week. Should be here in a few days.

So I'll be going from a 19" CRT (I've had a 21" crt in the past) to this 37" behemoth at 1080p. I'll be going from my 6800GT to the display via DVI, and will probably plug my spare computer into DVI 2 and use the PiP function as I dont do much with that other box.

Question: Can I do that, or does the PIP have to come from an analog source?


I know there have been issues with corner light bleed and vertical banding on this display in the past, but frankly I can live with those for the most part. I picked up the extended warranty on the thing so hopefully it arrives in one piece and works like I expect it to......I wont expect the CR I get with the CRT but that too I can live with.

I was just curious if anyone else was using this particular monitor (and it is a monitor, as it has no built in tuner) and had any caveats for me to watch out for.

I know my 6800 wont be able to drive very many modern games at 1920x1080, or whtever the true physical resolution of the display actually is, but I'm hoping that scaling down to 1280x720 wont be an issue, or some other variation on a widescreen resolution.

Anyone got any advice? If I hate the thing as a monitor it'll be doing TV duty in another room of the house, but I'd prefer to stick with it as the monitor for now.

Thx all

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 07-02-2006, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Reading the manual of the LVM-37w1, it appears that you can display DVI-1 and DVI-2 at any combination with picture-in-picture.

One thing to look out for is that the display apparently has poor black-levels.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 07-02-2006, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Groovy......thanks for that info.

RE: Black levels, its 1000:1......thats about where most panels from its time topped off at.
Even today, the 1400:1 and 1600:1 are acheived with trickery on many modern LCD panels..dynamic contrast..with actual contrast still hovering in the 800:1 to 1000:1 range.

If you look at something like a Dell 24" 1080p monitor, we're also talking about 1000:1 CR.....so I figured $800 for that or $1K for this 37" Westy, decision seemed clear to me.

I expect to take a bit of an image quality hit.....I just accept it. Can't be helped, right?
Luckily these days msot of my PC work isn't gaming related.....and the stuff that is, I'll just deal.

I read it scales to lower resolutions quite well (as do most 1080 displays thanks to the number of available pixels), so I've got my fingers crossed.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 07-03-2006, 07:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I got it today, using it right now. Its huge, but I know that feeling will eventually pass. Contrast Ratio is better than the other 27" Westinghouse I tried briefly. For $999 this thing is a steal, considering other 37" that are $999 are 720p panels. Way better than the Dell 24" panel I was considering for nearly the same money.

The only downside is that connected via DVI to my 6800GT there are only 2 widescreen settings available....1920x1080 and 1600x960 (or 900). Those are the only 2 resolutions that will scale for this device as far as I can tell right now. All the other resolutions are 4:3....so I mean, game wise you can play 1024x768 and have it scale and it'll still look pretty good.

So if you have a game that wont play adequately at 1920x1080, you're looking at playing at 1280x1024 and stretching your display. This wont be a problem once I get my next upgraded PC but right now the 6800gt struggles a bit at 1080p...but just a little bit.

HL2 only shows me 2 available widescreen resolutions: 1920x1080 and 1600x900. 1920x1080 is playable but the old nvidia card is struggling. Maybe turning off some of the fancier effects might help things out.

Still, its a massive display..just need that SLI solution to drive 1080p all the time without sisue :)

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 07-03-2006, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I'm glad you like it.

For some stupid reason Westinghouse only officially supports one 16:9 resolution via DVI for their 37W1U, which is 1920x1080. If you select the 16:10 option in Half-Life 2, you should have 1280x768 as an option, which should look good despite not being 16:9. It just doesn't make sense that they wouldn't include support for 1280x720. Have you tried forcing 1280x720 for other applications like the desktop?
MSmith83 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 07-03-2006, 08:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Odd, the 16:10 option is greyed out for me.

If I try to force 1280x720 as a forced resolution at 60Hz it defaults to 640x480. It just doesn't like that rez and can't seem to deal with it.

Oh well....no worries....1280x1024 stretched doesn't look all that bad if 1920x1080 is too high of a requirement.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 07-03-2006, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 58
If 1280x1024 can be stretched to fill the screen and look good, then that will work well for the many games that allow you to adjust the fov. The fov calculator program found here will give you precise calculations for the fov you want in each game for your 16:9 aspect ratio running the 5:4 resolution of 1280x1024. Of course, most games default at a 4:3 aspect ratio regardless of the resolution you are running.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 07-03-2006, 11:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Played around with it some-more tonight. I found those added resolutions like 1280x720 and such, but honestly they don't scale all that well. I've decided that for most games running at 1920x1080 is possible..and when its not, 1280x1024 is my next best option and either running 4:3 or stretching it with the monitors settings.

I will look into changing the FOV for those games when I'm playing 1280x1024 and then stretching.

For most games its a beautiful looking monitor, except when you expect to see black in darkened areas....you see dark grey. Theres not much you can do about that, particularly when this monitor's CR is as good or better than most 19 or 20" LCD PC Monitors to begin with. In other words, I'm going to have to suck that part up. I comfort myself by knowing that all LCD PC monitors have CR's that are this..well..lousy. But so long as you're not in perpetual darkness the games dont look bad.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 07-04-2006, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chris5977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch
Odd, the 16:10 option is greyed out for me.

If I try to force 1280x720 as a forced resolution at 60Hz it defaults to 640x480. It just doesn't like that rez and can't seem to deal with it.

Oh well....no worries....1280x1024 stretched doesn't look all that bad if 1920x1080 is too high of a requirement.
16:10 will only work on 16:10 monitors, such as 1920:1200.

Show us some pictures of your setup.

PSN Gamertag: chris5977

In War: Resolution
In Defeat: Defiance
In Victory: Magnanimity
In Peace: Good Will


Winston Spencer Churchill
chris5977 is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 07-04-2006, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spezzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 1,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch
Played around with it some-more tonight. I found those added resolutions like 1280x720 and such, but honestly they don't scale all that well. I've decided that for most games running at 1920x1080 is possible..and when its not, 1280x1024 is my next best option and either running 4:3 or stretching it with the monitors settings.

I will look into changing the FOV for those games when I'm playing 1280x1024 and then stretching.

For most games its a beautiful looking monitor, except when you expect to see black in darkened areas....you see dark grey. Theres not much you can do about that, particularly when this monitor's CR is as good or better than most 19 or 20" LCD PC Monitors to begin with. In other words, I'm going to have to suck that part up. I comfort myself by knowing that all LCD PC monitors have CR's that are this..well..lousy. But so long as you're not in perpetual darkness the games dont look bad.
My Protron 32" I got for $469 shipped brand new doesn't have that problem :P. Not sure if your 37 has this option, but under color with SRGB on, it eliminates the Bright and contrast built in (I think) so you can use Rivatuner to perfectly tune your screen for optimum viewing :D.

"The choices we make define our lives, because choice, not chance, determines destiny"

They call me the 18 year old DJ Audiophile-upgradeitis infected-guy!
Spezzy is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 07-04-2006, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris5977
16:10 will only work on 16:10 monitors, such as 1920:1200.
Plenty of 16:9 displays support 16:10 resolutions, and his actually officially supports a 16:10 resolution. My 16:9 displays support 16:10 resolutions, even in Half-Life 2.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 07-04-2006, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
The partys over :)

I discovered today that my unit has 2 non-functioning component inputs. All the other inputs appear to work, but not the components. *sigh* I have about an 85% success rate with refurbished parts...looks like this time I lose! Oh well, at least it wasn't DOA.

I'm sure I can work out something with westinghouse (they'll fix it free, I just gotta ship it to them) or Ecost (waiting on a reply from them).......its a nice monitor, I just need to get the component issue fixed.

Unfortunately the Westinghouse guy on the phone tried to explain to me that YPbPr is NOT COMPONENT INPUT....(heh heh heh)....I said.."yeah whatever" and just humored him.
I'll see what ECOST has to say, if they can replace it for me or find out whats what.

I'm almost willing to ship it to Westinghouse for service however.....because the screen has no dead pixels and is otherwise blemish free. Considering what it cost, even a $50+ shipping fee to get it to them would still be in my best interest, but I'll see what ECost has to say about it first.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 07-04-2006, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Head...to bad about the Westy probms. Isnt gaming at 37" a blast. I just replaced my 32" Viewsonic (1366x768) with an ACER AT3705 (1920x1080) LCD TV and after frigging the weekend to get it to support 1080p via DVI its looking great right now. Boy what a pain it was to get it to support 1080p. I wish it was as easy as it seems for the Westy to support 1080p. We dont get Westy 37" 1080p units here yet. The only Westy 1080p we got is the 42"...a little toooooo BIG for gaming, also cost a lot here. we get over charged for the Westy's at BB Canada. Hope you solve your delima.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 07-05-2006, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Well I've got 2 options......ship the thing back to ECOST for a replacement, or send the one I have here to NY (closer to me) for service. ECost said it'll take a couple weeks for the replacement to turn around. Westinghouse says it'll take 2 weeks to 2 MONTHS to turnaround the set I have now.

I dont need it that badly, it was kind of a present to myself........if I go with ECOST I'll run the risk of getting a set that has the light-bleed problem or dead pixels or whatever. If I go with the Westinghouse offer...well.....i'm just out the set awhile longer.

I think I'll probably just go back to my 19" monitor for the time being and wait on the westy to be properly repaired...

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 07-09-2006, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Stallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Just curious how the panel is for everyday windows activities. I am considering upgrading to a 32"LCD from my tired olf 21" CRT.

How is the panel for reading word doc, surfing web, email etc.....

Thanks

Sharp A10X LCD PJ
DIY 120" 16:9 Plank Gray Wall
HTPC Running Zoomplayer/ffdshow
Average speakers but upgrading to Logitech 5300
Stallion is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 07-09-2006, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
The 32" is going to be a problem unless you are used to running your 21" CRT at 1024x768 resolution for *windows desktop*.

The native panel on the 32" set is 720p, but really its 1366x768.....essentially the widescreen equivelent of 1024x768, which is kinda...large.....so big screen with big icons. Its doable, but everything is large...you do alot of extra scrolling on web pages and stuff due to the size.

The 37" Panel, which I see is still available at ECost, is 1080p.....1920x1080, which makes it more like 1280x1024 in terms of vertical height....ie: perfect for a windows desktop.

Via DVI its razor-sharp, it is....basically...a gigantic laptop screen.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 07-09-2006, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Stallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply....I have always run my 21" CRT at 1024x768 so I am very use to it.... What resolution is typical for a 21" CRT...I find higher resolutions hard to see

Thanks

Sharp A10X LCD PJ
DIY 120" 16:9 Plank Gray Wall
HTPC Running Zoomplayer/ffdshow
Average speakers but upgrading to Logitech 5300
Stallion is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 07-10-2006, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
The difference is on a larger widescreen monitor those icons are going to get bigger, you may find you want them smaller...to maximize your screen real-estate, something you wont be able to do.

If you don't mind a desktop at x768 vertical lines, then by all means the 32" should be a good fit.

Just be advised that you'll take a hit in the contrast ratio and black department...blacks will look grey. Once you get passed that, you'll be fine.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 07-22-2006, 02:12 PM
Member
 
DOGLOOP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: COS
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have this display (LVM-37W3) acting as monitor for gaming consoles & for HTPC, and have for just over 1 month.
I must say that I am pleased with the performance; PC Game(s) are stunning @ 1080 x 1920/60 (WoW since the guys at work talked me into it), 128bit consoles look a little weak EXCEPT my oldest (Dreamcast via VGA) but all in all it's a nice upgrade & SD DVD upscaled to the panel resolution is REALLY tough to tell from HD at MORE than 7 Feet away.

I adjusted the settings a tiny bit from the default :

49 Bright
56 Contrast
80 Backlight

I also raised the font size in windows too. I do not find this a problem since surfing from 6-8 feet away is very nice.

Even doing so, IRE 0 isn't possible but blacks are deep enough & contrast is sharp in a dimly lit room ... I wouldn't openly recomment a LCD panel to a true videophile unless the application were similar to my own. HDTV via PCI tuner card is unreal ... This makes me pine for a HD DVD option ...

I have seen the Sharp 1080p monitors & HDMI capable TV's & I think it compares VERY favorably. I have only been more impressed in the flat-panel LCD category by the newer, larger & much more costly Samsungs & Sonys (the ones that boast 90% NTSC gamut & better contrast). I did not have the living room real estate & 6HD inputs (4 are 1080p) went a long way in my choice.

I hope this helps anyone interested enough to read this thread.

-doGlooP
DOGLOOP is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 07-22-2006, 08:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Yeah I'm definately glad I made my purchase....sure it was kinda defective and now its getting repaired (sigh) hehehe, but frankly what other monitor could I find at the same price and size?
None.

Assuming something doesn't implode once I get it back, I wont need another PC monitor..well..potentially ever.

The resolution is plenty high, the colors are bright and punchy, and the size is enormous.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 08-01-2006, 10:13 AM
Member
 
MC FLMJIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posted regarding my experience becasue I didn't notice this one.

I'm not all all happy with the experince so far.

Did it looked nice? YES, however the durability is not AT ALL pleasing. 2 in 3 months. Ugh.

BTW, games and movies look nice, except BF2 = stupid EA + Dice not supporting widescreen, but the desktop doesn't. It's like it's too sharp and was having a hard time trying to make it look nice. When I use VGA the desktop looks nice but I'd rather not jump back and forth, VGA desktop - HDMI games.

I doubt it's the cable... the stupid thing cost me almost $100 grrr.

Overall not too happy with Westy. they have the 42" monitor at the same price I bought the 37"... I believe the 3rd there is a problem BB gives you a credit and you can pick up something in the same price area.
MC FLMJIG is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 08-19-2006, 08:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Teisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use my Westy 37 for gaming, tv, hdtv, hddvd and dvd. It is the best solution for this usage. I could not go back to anything lower than 1920x1080 now.

I run most games at full 1920x1080 rez and can pick out the enemy in a shooter game easy at far distance.

Get one if you can, they are the best pc monitor I have ever seen.
Teisco is offline  
Closed Thread HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off