1080p LCD VGA Problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 07-13-2006, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cuc Tu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My basic question is if the Radeon AIW9800Pro can drive a HDTV LCD at 1920x1080 as a single display.

I have a new Samsung 40" 1080p LCD TV and wanted to connect my Radeon AIW9800Pro through the TV's VGA port.

The 9800 has a DVI connector, so I use a DVI/VGA adaptor to connect to the TV's VGA port.

I set the display properties setting to 1920x1080 @60Hz (as specified in the TV manual), but the TV reports 1280x1024 @60, and on the PC Advanced menu on the Display tab it also says 1280x1024 @60.

I'm not sure what the problem is, but others with the same TV say it works for them. There is no reason why I should not believe them, but I cannot figure out why I don't have the same experience?

At 1280x1024 the display is so large 1/2 of it is off the screen, but I can get the display to fit the screen with other resolution settings, however.

:confused:
Cuc Tu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 07-16-2006, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Aluminum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Does your samsung have a DVI? Use that.

I drive a Westy 37" from a AIW 9800 @ 1080p over the DVI. It worked over the VGA as well but even with pretty good cables its slightly fuzzy if you look up close, $15 for a non-ripoff 10' DVI cable (online ofcourse) was an easy upgrade.

It might be a bit dated but it does the job fine...itching to upgrade asap for gaming. I'd almost guess even very early DVI cards would work, 1080p is still only single link. I hooked up a GF2 ultra to it fine, thats as old as I own before it lands in a cardboard box to hide in the garage for a decade.

Nearly dead silent HTPC ver 2.0: i3-4340 w/ Noctua NH-L9i on Z87E-itx inside CM130 elite, fanless PSU, SSD OS drive
SAN shares via 40GbE tunneled over 56Gb infiniband links
microcenter & ebay = severe risks to my wallet
Aluminum is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 07-21-2006, 07:59 AM
Member
 
DOGLOOP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: COS
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you must create custom resolutions or timings for your display ... Google Powerstrip & similar tools.
I too run a 37'' 1080p Westy LCD at native resolution, but from a lesser card (9600Pro) and everything is razor sharp from VGA (Ferrite core) or from DVI1 & 2 ...
No toys to test HDMI, yet ...


-doGlooP
DOGLOOP is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 08-01-2006, 10:16 AM
Member
 
MC FLMJIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
VGA has it's limit... the resolutions will be much better on hdmi/dvi.
MC FLMJIG is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 08-04-2006, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Feralhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 9800 use the Catalyst driver? If so, make sure you have the latest version. It supports BIG screens and has an area where you can "Force" resolutions, etc,.

Make a change, if the screen goes blue and you get the famous "Not Supported Mode" message just wait 15 seconds and it will revert to what you had it set at before you changed the rez. Then try again.

Silence is golden but duct tape is silver......
Feralhog is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 08-12-2006, 04:36 PM
Member
 
obeewaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC FLMJIG
VGA has it's limit... the resolutions will be much better on hdmi/dvi.
I am looking for a HDTV to hook up with my PC .
I was told that AGP and DVI interface are almost identical in terms of PQ.

If you can clarify " what are the limitations of AGP ? "

Should I just look for DVI included Tvs?
:)

_________________________
Athlon 64 3200, ASUS K8VSE, 1 GB RAM, 400 GB SATA, GeForce 5900 FX , Turtlebeach Montego , Fusion 5 GOLD RT, XP Pro SP2 ,Sil_stone LC17S, GV 42L
obeewaan is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 08-12-2006, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by obeewaan
I am looking for a HDTV to hook up with my PC .
I was told that AGP and DVI interface are almost identical in terms of PQ.

If you can clarify " what are the limitations of AGP ? "

Should I just look for DVI included Tvs?
:)
By "AGP", do you mean "VGA"? VGA and DVI/HDMI are generally the same in quality, but DVI/HDMI is always preferred considering all things are equal.

Some displays have a limit in the resolution their VGA inputs can accept, but others will accept a full 1920x1080p signal.

What resolution display are you looking for? If 1080p, just about any new model display that accepts 1080p via HDMI would work great with a PC.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 08-13-2006, 06:49 AM
Member
 
obeewaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSmith83
By "AGP", do you mean "VGA"? VGA and DVI/HDMI are generally the same in quality, but DVI/HDMI is always preferred considering all things are equal.

Some displays have a limit in the resolution their VGA inputs can accept, but others will accept a full 1920x1080p signal.

What resolution display are you looking for? If 1080p, just about any new model display that accepts 1080p via HDMI would work great with a PC.
I think we are talking about 2 different things.

what I meant to ask is at the PC video output by AGP port vs DVI port.
I know DVI is mostly digital signal, but what other differences are there?

Now; at TV end -- some HD TVs accept AGP some has DVI.
what are the differences there between the 2 ?

I like to have 1080P resolution HDTV hooked up to my PC and at this time I'm not sure what to buy yet. ( meaning Video card, HD Tuner card and TV )

_________________________
Athlon 64 3200, ASUS K8VSE, 1 GB RAM, 400 GB SATA, GeForce 5900 FX , Turtlebeach Montego , Fusion 5 GOLD RT, XP Pro SP2 ,Sil_stone LC17S, GV 42L
obeewaan is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 08-13-2006, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by obeewaan
I think we are talking about 2 different things.

what I meant to ask is at the PC video output by AGP port vs DVI port.
I know DVI is mostly digital signal, but what other differences are there?

Now; at TV end -- some HD TVs accept AGP some has DVI.
what are the differences there between the 2 ?

I like to have 1080P resolution HDTV hooked up to my PC and at this time I'm not sure what to buy yet. ( meaning Video card, HD Tuner card and TV )
You mean VGA. "AGP" stands for Accelerated Graphics Port, a port for connecting an AGP graphics card to a motherboard with AGP connectivity.

For DVI, there is DVI-A (analog) and there is DVI-D (digital). A DVI-I input will accept both analog and digital.

For a 1080p display, you will probably want to look into a newer model that accepts 1080p via its HDMI inputs. Here, you connect a common video card to the display via a DVI-D-to-HDMI cable and display full 1:1 pixel mapped 1920x1080p. Since I don't know your preferences (e.g., LCD v. DLP and screen size), I can't recommend any models at this point.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 08-13-2006, 09:29 AM
Member
 
obeewaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSmith83
You mean VGA. "AGP" stands for Accelerated Graphics Port, a port for connecting an AGP graphics card to a motherboard with AGP connectivity.

For DVI, there is DVI-A (analog) and there is DVI-D (digital). A DVI-I input will accept both analog and digital.

For a 1080p display, you will probably want to look into a newer model that accepts 1080p via its HDMI inputs. Here, you connect a common video card to the display via a DVI-D-to-HDMI cable and display full 1:1 pixel mapped 1920x1080p. Since I don't know your preferences (e.g., LCD v. DLP and screen size), I can't recommend any models at this point.
thanks Mr.Smith for ur reply.
At this point I am using Geforce 5900 FX AGP with 128 MB.
I have Asus K8VSE deluxe with Athlon 64 3200 and 1 GB of RAM.
TV will be either a plasma or LCD 32" or 37" (depends on the sweet spot )with built in HDTV tuner with QAM capability. (hence perhaps not Samsung one)


PCI card ; i m looking at Fusion 5 Gold or MyHD MDP-130.
And I better decide on these parts before Football season kickoff :)

if you dont mind me asking , what set up are you using and how do you like it ?

_________________________
Athlon 64 3200, ASUS K8VSE, 1 GB RAM, 400 GB SATA, GeForce 5900 FX , Turtlebeach Montego , Fusion 5 GOLD RT, XP Pro SP2 ,Sil_stone LC17S, GV 42L
obeewaan is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 08-13-2006, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by obeewaan
TV will be either a plasma or LCD 32" or 37" (depends on the sweet spot )with built in HDTV tuner with QAM capability. (hence perhaps not Samsung one)
For your needs and preferences, I recommend the Sharp LC-37D90U. Many have reported ease of use and absolute success in getting it to accept 1080p from a PC via HDMI. Also, it has an HDTV tuner with QAM capability and displays an excellent picture.

Quote:
Originally Posted by obeewaan
At this point I am using Geforce 5900 FX AGP with 128 MB.
I have Asus K8VSE deluxe with Athlon 64 3200 and 1 GB of RAM.
If you game on the PC with decent quality settings for recent games and wish to run those games at 1920x1080, you may want to upgrade your PC a bit. You could run games at 1280x720 and have them look just fine on the Sharp, but you may still want to consider upgrading if in-game visuals are important to you. A 7900 GT can be had for a reasonable price. If interested, you should definitely get one that has HDCP support. With that and the Sharp, you'll be all set for displaying HDCP content on the PC. A 7900 GT would require a motherboard upgrade though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by obeewaan
PCI card ; i m looking at Fusion 5 Gold or MyHD MDP-130.
And I better decide on these parts before Football season kickoff :)
You may want to try the folks at the Home Theater Computers area to get some user experiences with these tuner cards.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 08-31-2006, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Feralhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who sells a 7900 GT that has HDCP support?

Silence is golden but duct tape is silver......
Feralhog is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 08-31-2006, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feralhog
Who sells a 7900 GT that has HDCP support?
The MSI NX7900GT-VT256E-HD has HDCP support.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 09-01-2006, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Feralhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So.....someone has made one..........think I read that Sapphire was going to also.

Thanks!

Silence is golden but duct tape is silver......
Feralhog is offline  
Closed Thread HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off