Opteron HW Question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-30-2006, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WirelessGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question for any nerds out there...

Can I run two Opteron 150's on a dual 940 socket board, or would I have to use Opteron 200 series processors?

Last Watched 3D: Oz the Great and Powerful

It should be called Violet-Ray

WirelessGuru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-31-2006, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Aluminum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
2xx required, socket 940.

1xx are socket 939, and do not have enough HT links for SMP, besides their own cores.

They are usually just Athlon 64s with 1mb L2 per core. The 165 was somewhat popular with overclockers when it was basically the same price as a 3800 X2 with double the L2 and reached just as high on clockspeeds. Unfortunately, the price cuts did not touch them at all and there are no AM2 versions. There is almost no reason to buy one today :(

Although the AM2 4000 and 4400 also have 1mb per core, they discontinued them almost immediately and did not have the price cuts. I did see a supposed lower thermal AM2 4000 on one site currently priced between the 3800 and 4200, but I'm not sure if its a misprint.

Nearly dead silent HTPC ver 2.0: i3-4340 w/ Noctua NH-L9i on Z87E-itx inside CM130 elite, fanless PSU, SSD OS drive
SAN shares via 40GbE tunneled over 56Gb infiniband links
microcenter & ebay = severe risks to my wallet
Aluminum is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-31-2006, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrCrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: under sniper fire, Seattle
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aluminum
2xx required, socket 940.

1xx are socket 939, and do not have enough HT links for SMP, besides their own cores.

They are usually just Athlon 64s with 1mb L2 per core. The 165 was somewhat popular with overclockers when it was basically the same price as a 3800 X2 with double the L2 and reached just as high on clockspeeds. Unfortunately, the price cuts did not touch them at all and there are no AM2 versions. There is almost no reason to buy one today :(

Although the AM2 4000 and 4400 also have 1mb per core, they discontinued them almost immediately and did not have the price cuts. I did see a supposed lower thermal AM2 4000 on one site currently priced between the 3800 and 4200, but I'm not sure if its a misprint.
Older Opteron 1xx were originally s940 actually. When AMD moved to fab 90nm from 130nm, they did not make 1xx series Opterons in 90nm (s940), instead moving the single socket server/workstation platform to s939 in order to use cheaper non-registered DDR1.

The important thing here is paying attention to the socket. SMP requires two things, s940 and either 2xx or 8xx series chips.


The old s940 1xx series Opterons were single socket server chips as well.
DrCrawn is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-01-2006, 12:44 PM
Member
 
MC FLMJIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup was a misprint... i bought one though... if it can OC to 2.6-2.8 I'm set!!!

I'm no nerd either ;)
MC FLMJIG is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-02-2006, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WirelessGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the confirmation guys. I got a good deal on a 100 series Opteron, probably because it was the older 940 socket instead of the 939 socket version. It works pretty good for me even though I should have stayed away from the VIA MB chipset. OMG, can't VIA get their driver issues straightened out?

Last Watched 3D: Oz the Great and Powerful

It should be called Violet-Ray

WirelessGuru is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-08-2006, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrCrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: under sniper fire, Seattle
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i run a Asus SK8V with an Opteron 254 (officially not supported) that uses VIA K8T800 northbridge...no problems with VIA for me. Despite the board not having bus locks and using AGP, it's the most stable board I've ever used.

Don't forget you need registered DDR for s940, and I would recommend turning ECC on in the BIOS settings.
DrCrawn is offline  
Closed Thread HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off