Nvidia and display with bad EDID - a short story and a question. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-22-2007, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
S1nn3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I have a story to tell.. I will try and keep it short however.

About 3 months ago I purchased a Samsung 215TW. However I was to find that the EDID was programed wrong, so I started useing Powerstrip to enable me to have some contol over the situation as it apears there is no way of getting Forceware or Windows to totaly ignore the EDID, beyond trying to set up custom display modes in the Nvidia pannel, which in my case doesnt work out at all.

Now i am considreing upgradeing from my trusty 7800GTX to a 8800GTS, only to find of corse that PS doesnt support this card, so I am left in a bit of a bind.. Idealy what I am looking for is a way of guaranteeing Windows/Nvidia drivers will totaly ignore any EDID infomation entirely and alow me to set things up manualy, as I am able to do sucessfully on my Mac Mini, and also on my SGI Fuel.

Anyone able to help me out with this ?
S1nn3r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-22-2007, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrCrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: under sniper fire, Seattle
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Powerstrip should still work fine, despite not supporting the 8800gts, but I would suggest Rivatuner. Bottom line, I don't think you will have too much of a problem setting custom timings and resolutions with any card.
DrCrawn is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-22-2007, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: guarding my retirement igloo...with a McMillan TAC-50 long range sniper rifle
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PS doesnt even start with a 8800 card installed from my experience.

You do not stop playing because you get old...
You get old because you stop playing.
Tinker is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 02-23-2007, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrCrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: under sniper fire, Seattle
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^ well there you go

I'm still rocking my 7900gtxs so...

Honestly, I haven't bothered with PS is a long time, Rivatuner is the way to go.
DrCrawn is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-23-2007, 10:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
S1nn3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So Rivatuner latest version is confirmed to work on the 8800GTS's for the bypassing of false EDID's ?
S1nn3r is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-24-2007, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DrCrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: under sniper fire, Seattle
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18

I suggest searching extensively, then if you can't figure it out, ask the developer Unwinder.
DrCrawn is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-30-2007, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
iceslice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've found the solution for Samsung SyncMaster 215tw wrong EDID problem.

To override the EDID you need to enter the monitor service menu. It temporarily disables the EPROM write protection.

Below is the step-by-step instruction:

1. Save the following data to edid.txt file. It's the EDID of working 215tw.
00FFFFFFFFFFFF00 4C2D140231325044 27100103802D1C78 2AEE95A3544C9926 0F5054BFEF80B300 81808140714F0101 0101010101012139 9030621A274068B0 360098321100001C 000000FD00384B1E 5111000A20202020 2020000000FC0053 796E634D61737465 720A2020000000FF 004853394C393034 3637330A20200036

2. Enter the monitor service menu using the following steps:

a. Enter OSD menu by pressing menu button on monitor.
b. In Picture->Custom submenu reduce both brightness and contrast to 0.
c. Return to OSD menu.
d. Press and hold the Menu button for 15-20 sec. until the Red menu shows up.

3. Run the registered PowerStrip and use Update EDID option with edid.txt

Repeat the procedure twice for both DVI and VGA as they use different EDID.
Works like a charm for me. I'm now finally able to use it with Vista.
iceslice is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off