If you had to buy a monitor today... - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 244 Old 08-10-2007, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
motoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: California
Posts: 1,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by D_B_0673 View Post

Tinker, is this easy to use and what is the resolution of each window?
Is it still the native that you would have full screen

Dan,

What's the latest on your Dell experience?

Jim
motoman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 244 Old 08-10-2007, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
D_B_0673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yesterday, DHL said it was lost
Today it is supposedly found and out for delivery

I am holding my breath that it is OK and actually arrives

The tracking # on the web still does not have my address on it

Dan
D_B_0673 is offline  
post #183 of 244 Old 08-10-2007, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
D_B_0673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well the Dell arrived. Looks great
You folks that have these monitors, what do you use to calibrate contrast etc

Do you install the Dell Drivers? It appears to work fine without them

Dan
D_B_0673 is offline  
post #184 of 244 Old 08-10-2007, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 43
If you calibrate for movies, it'll be too dark for gaming and/or normal desktop usage.....color wise its another story, LCD's usually have their color pretty spot on, especially via a digital connection to source.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #185 of 244 Old 08-10-2007, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,688
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Yea, what Rusch said. I planned on getting one of the Spyder2 thingys, but once I saw the default setttings on the 2407HC, I thought there was no need.

Good to hear your monitor arrived ok. Did you get the current price?
DaverJ is online now  
post #186 of 244 Old 08-10-2007, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
motoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: California
Posts: 1,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by D_B_0673 View Post

Well the Dell arrived. Looks great
You folks that have these monitors, what do you use to calibrate contrast etc

Do you install the Dell Drivers? It appears to work fine without them

Well glad to hear it showed up and everything is ok. I really like mine. For my setup I wouldn't want anything larger and it makes a nice increase from my 20' NEC widescreen.

It's probably not the correct way to some people but I just adjusted it to look good in my darkened room while gaming. It was very bright to me so I had to take the contrast and brightness down. My old eyes can't take those super bright screens. I'm still adjusting but I've got it pretty close to what looks good for me.

Jim
motoman is offline  
post #187 of 244 Old 08-10-2007, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
D_B_0673's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yea it looks great out of the box, but I'm no expert at that. I am going to keep it as it is for a while although I might tone down the brightness a little also
Now I need to buy some games

I don;t think there are any drivers, The CD said drivers but I only see manuals

I did not get the current price as I went with the 27". I did get it on sale, but those extra 3" really cost when I see what the 24" is going for now.

Dan
D_B_0673 is offline  
post #188 of 244 Old 08-11-2007, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Trebuken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my Viewsonic today (VX2835wm). 27.5" is a lot bigger than I imagined...I had been only able to find 24" locally in stores....this is quite a bit bigger.

Now I have not seen the Dells for comparison, but I'll say what I can about this monitor.

It's a TN panel which seems to be the biggest complaint in the revies I have read, and supposedly inferior to the Dells, but I can't find any faults with it.

The viewing angle issues aren't as bad as I have read, but you do see brightening (redish) to the sides of the screen as you move around it but doesn't really matter unless you plan on sitting on the side next to it.

I've played several games :
Dark Messiah of Might and Magic
Half-life 2
Tribes Vengeance
Diablo 2
The Temple of Elemental Evil
Lost Planet Vista Demo
MAME

Everything looked great. The monitor scaled the older games to fit the screen correctly in resolutions well under 1920x1200. MAME was gorgeous, though I had to enable some filtering settings to get rid of the blockiness.

I attached two PC's (at once). One to the HDMI and one to the VGA connection. Had them both on and simply switched inputs. No issues, both types of connections looked identical.

Hooked up a PS1 through the composite connections - it looked horrible, presumably because of the high resolution.

Hooked up another console (Neo Geo system) via S-Video and it looked very good.

Don't know what else to say other than that I am very happy with it, though I might have a little eye-strain from sitting too close.

Without seeing a Dell I can only imagine that this is a good bet versus it.
Trebuken is offline  
post #189 of 244 Old 08-11-2007, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,688
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Good to hear Trebuken! My last monitor, which is still with my previous computer, is a Viewsonic... they make great monitors.

Enjoy your new desktop real estate!
DaverJ is online now  
post #190 of 244 Old 08-15-2007, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GeekGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Heads up - The Dell 2407WFP-HC monitor sale ends THURSDAY, August 16th (569 + free shipping). Didn't know that until I got to the order checkout, it's not posted on the main web page for the product.

A PITA is that signature is required and you need to contact Dell to have the shipper (DHL) hold it for you at the DHL service center if there's no one around to sign for it at home. Dell has restrictions to prevent the customer (like me) from calling DHL directly and redirecting the shipment. Spent 20 minutes on phone with Dell to get the shipment held at DHL for pickup. If you can't get a signature, I suggest you order via telephone and request special handling at the time of the order.
GeekGirl is offline  
post #191 of 244 Old 08-15-2007, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Heads Up: Tigerdirect is selling Toshiba 50" DLP sets for $799.

Thats right, read that again

Dunno if it pixelmaps, but man...you can't deny the power of DLP, 50", 720p for $800 bucks.
Want 57" at 1080p? Its like $1200....

I seriously, SERIOUSLY considered taking a hammer to my old JVC 32" 4:3 set up in the family room to force myself into an upgrade to a 50" SET.

Of course, knowing me I'd just be worried about having to replace that damn bulb ;D

Oh well............

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #192 of 244 Old 08-16-2007, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
temeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$800 holy cow prices are really coming down. very tempting :0 My main TV is a 27" panasonic CRT. 1:1 pixel mapping or close to it would be important to me though.
temeone is offline  
post #193 of 244 Old 08-16-2007, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I can only guess that people dont want projections anymore...its flatpanel or bust.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #194 of 244 Old 09-02-2007, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
SLUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1171058028982

The TV is only 5 bens during a 2 day labor day sale.

I would like to use this as a PC monitor. I play FPS (BF2, 2042, Medal of Honor, etc..) I have an older PC but will upgrade early next year to a Nice gaming rig. Will this monitor be of any value with a new directx 10 gaming PC? Will the 1366x768 restrict the high resolutions I will be able to get when I upgrade my pc? I am not super picky but dont want to lose any benefits when I do upgrade. My friend uses a 26" Vizio Lcd for a monitor and BF2 looks amazing. The Vizio is currently 4 bens at kmart.
SLUDGE is offline  
post #195 of 244 Old 09-02-2007, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 43
1366x768 will be the highest resolution you'll ever see on that monitor.

Now remember, thats still HD.......and easy to drive with todays videocards.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #196 of 244 Old 09-02-2007, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
SLUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Headrusch

Will I regret this in the future by getting this. Will it hold back the better graphics that we'll see with the next generation of directx10 games. Is 1080p the resolution I should hold out for.
SLUDGE is offline  
post #197 of 244 Old 09-02-2007, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Your next videocard purchase, assuming its a high end $$$ card, will no doubt be able to drive 1080p....but I can't speak to what you consider important.

If high resolution is whats most important, there are a million more pixel in a 1080p image than in a 720p image.....but having played at 1366x768, I can say that also looks nicely high rez.

What resolution do you game at now, thats one indication.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #198 of 244 Old 09-02-2007, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Trebuken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think you should hold out for a higher resolution in order to stretch the life expectancy. The size is good but for PC gaming it's too low a resolution at that size. The Dell 30" is 2560x1600 for example.

It'll work and won't be horrible but it's limiting.
Trebuken is offline  
post #199 of 244 Old 09-02-2007, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,688
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:


I would like to use this as a PC monitor. I play FPS (BF2, 2042, Medal of Honor, etc..)

How far back will you sit from your display?

768p will look pretty good playing a PC game from 7 to 10 feet away, but if that TV is to be on a desk in front of you within arm's length, I would advise against it.
DaverJ is online now  
post #200 of 244 Old 09-02-2007, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
SLUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the input guys. I will sit about an arms length away. I will get a high dollar video card ($300) so I hope it will last a while. I currently game at 1280 x 1024 on an 19" lcd. Its tempting to grab this but I think I'll wait.

Are there or will there be any 32" LCDS that are 1080p with a DVI input?

Again thanks for the fast replies!
SLUDGE is offline  
post #201 of 244 Old 09-02-2007, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I don't believe 1080p 32" are on the horizon, smallest you'll get outside of a PC monitor will be a 37" at 1080p.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #202 of 244 Old 09-02-2007, 07:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Yeah, last Fri I purchased a Soyo Topaz S 24" widescreen LCD display from Office Max for $300. Nice and sharp. Turns out to be a true 8-bit TFT display, and not a cheap 6-bit one like they are selling for in this price range. Only thing missing is no HDMI. Oh well, just perfect for PC.

Only thing is now I need a better videocard for gaming because the optimum resolution is 1920x1200.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #203 of 244 Old 09-02-2007, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
SLUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dave

That looks pretty nice. Great price. You have any photos of your set up?
SLUDGE is offline  
post #204 of 244 Old 09-02-2007, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,688
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

Only thing missing is no HDMI. Oh well, just perfect for PC.

Only thing is now I need a better videocard for gaming because the optimum resolution is 1920x1200.

Look out...that's how it started for me.

First you get a new, high resolution monitor, then you decide you want to play all games in the native resolution, so you want a new videocard, then discover that AGP cards are no longer the in-thing, so you build a new system to power that monitor!

Big fun.

btw, a simple HDMI to DVI-D cable can take care of the video end of that connection, so as long as you can supply audio to that monitor, lack of HDMI is no biggie at all.
DaverJ is online now  
post #205 of 244 Old 09-02-2007, 09:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

Look out...that's how it started for me.

First you get a new, high resolution monitor, then you decide you want to play all games in the native resolution, so you want a new videocard, then discover that AGP cards are no longer the in-thing, so you build a new system to power that monitor!

Big fun.

btw, a simple HDMI to DVI-D cable can take care of the video end of that connection, so as long as you can supply audio to that monitor, lack of HDMI is no biggie at all.

Sludge, the display looks pretty much exactly as it does on the website. Just a big widescreen LCD with a HUGE "SOYO" and TOPAZ S on the bottom. My setup isn't much to see. I just retired my tower under my desk, it's got a cool seethrough window and blue-neon glowing PS but I have to put it in a new case because there's a short in it somewhere. God how I hate that.

DaverJ, You miss my meaning. I have a decent setup (low-mid range) dual core E6600 @356, Vista 64 Home Basic, 4GB ram, X1800XT 512MB (yes, it has dual DVI outs). I built it last year.

It's just that the monitor really needs to be at 1920x1200 all the time, that's its optimal resolution, and for games I'll really need to go up a level. I'm going to wait for the next round though, and see what comes around when Crysis is released in Nov.

Great display, perfect picture, just no HDMI/HDCP support. DVI/VGA only. It came with a DVI cable so I was all set.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #206 of 244 Old 09-03-2007, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
SLUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Daverj

Awesome build. Can I ask what that cost you? Also what games do you play? You must get great FPS.

davefi

Will soyo put out a bigger display, say 26". Or does any other company put out a larger display with similar pricing?
SLUDGE is offline  
post #207 of 244 Old 09-03-2007, 08:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
SLUDGE, I really don't know, 24" 1900x1200 LCDs are pretty much all the rage these days. By Dec there should be plenty ~$300, but most 6bit TFT, not 8bit TFT like this one. The 8bit TFTs usuually go for ~$500 and are sold by companies like Dell.

There are deals, just keep your eyes open for them on websites like FatWallet, AnandTech, etc. I think I just did a scan on Google and it came up.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #208 of 244 Old 09-03-2007, 09:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,688
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLUDGE View Post

Awesome build. Can I ask what that cost you? Also what games do you play? You must get great FPS.

Thanks!

It was built for right around $1500 with a brand new OS (Vista 32bit). A big chunk was the GTX card -- I could have built for much less with a GTS or other card. But 1920x1200 gaming was the reason for the build (and this thread's OP), so I didn't mind splurging.

FPS on this rig is good at native res for most things. Older games like Half-Life 2, Doom 3, Titan Quest and the Warhammer 40k games at native res all lock in at 60fps with graphics options maxed out, a reasonable amount of anti-aliasing and v-sync on (a requirement in my book). And those games look really great!

However, newer games with DirectX10 like Company of Heroes, World in Conflict demo, BioShock demo and LostPlanet demo benchmark (stress test) much lower maxed visuals at native res -- usually in the 15 to 30fps range during hardest part of the stress. The good news is most of those mentioned play "real-world" much closer to 45 to 60fps, so I guess the programmers push the system much more in the benchmarking tests than in real games.

I'm kicking around the idea of adding a second GTX card if the price drops or I find a good sale. I hope to gain some headroom at high rez. But I should probably wait to find out what the Crysis testing info is to see if SLI would really benefit the 1920x1200 resolution that much -- with that much happening on the screen the CPU might be the bottleneck.

We'll see in a couple months.
DaverJ is online now  
post #209 of 244 Old 09-17-2007, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,688
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 468
So the other day HeadRusch was asking if I was still liking the Dell monitor.

I told him yes, but after spending some time with it I was noticing a slight discoloration around small fonts. For example, small white type on black sometimes displayed slight "pinkish" discoloration around the font. A perfect example is the banner at the top of the FilePlanet website.

He wondered if this was a result of the Windows "Font Smoothing", which is on by default in Vista (not sure about XP). This feature is buried deep... I had to go into "Help" to find how to turn it off, but once I did... all text, particularly small type at the top of the FilePlanet site, looked so much sharper with no discoloration!

The downside is thin fonts look nicer with this Smoothing on -- it thickens the lines and anti-aliases the jaggy edges. Once I spent a day with Smoothing off, I got used to it and prefer the sharper edges.

I think the monitor looks much better now... thanks HeadRusch for pointing this out! Smoothing is probably valuable for lower resolutions, but if you are running Vista on a high resolution monitor, try turning this feature off and see what you think. Just be sure to give it some time to get used to it.
DaverJ is online now  
post #210 of 244 Old 09-17-2007, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I told you Vista sucks...

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off