Help on choosing a card. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 06-07-2007, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
like.no.other.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My budget is a little under $100. I only have a AGP slot. I want to play Sims 2, Battlefield 2, Doom 3, and all that without any lag or hesitation. I am coming from a
64MB GeForce 4 onboard graphics card. I need help on choosing one. Any opinions
are welcome. I am new to this PC gaming thing.

There is always someone out there that gives you opinion of a product that they don't even own.
like.no.other. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 06-07-2007, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Libertarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here ya go buddy. Any of these should do fine. Just make sure you update the Nvidia drivers after installing, and they should run most games smoothly.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125039

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121064

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130076

and if you really want so splurge and get the KING of AGP video cards, get this one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150210
Libertarian is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 06-07-2007, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
like.no.other.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see most of them are 7 series and considering the first link but can the 6 series like 6600 do
the job or even 6200? I don't need max settings or anything and I am not into PC gaming I
just want to play the game without lag.

There is always someone out there that gives you opinion of a product that they don't even own.
like.no.other. is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 06-07-2007, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Libertarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think so. A 6800 may be able to handle those games at 800x600 with minimal details, but if you want to play games like Doom 3 at 30FPS with good details, you'll need at least a 7600GS, and preferably a 7600GT.
Libertarian is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 06-07-2007, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
What's the rest of your system?

My old rig was a p4 2.8 & 6800gt and it choked on battlefield 2 and doom 3. You'll need to turn the settings down considerably.

PSN / Steam - KrimsonStudios
krimson is online now  
post #6 of 15 Old 06-07-2007, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,735
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 301
at least the xFx 7600 gt, otherwise your wasting your money and you will be dissapointed.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is online now  
post #7 of 15 Old 06-07-2007, 09:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
like.no.other.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AMD Athlon XP. 1GB RAM.

There is always someone out there that gives you opinion of a product that they don't even own.
like.no.other. is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 06-08-2007, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Rhyvven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just delving into looking for a "lower" priced PCIe card myself....but did have AGP in my other system. During my shopping/research I saw that many of the newer cards also require a fairly competent power supply, no? I want to say I saw at least 350W and greater (even on the AGP cards). Someone please correct me if wrong. But you may want to check that also before card purchase.

Gamertag: Sage Treebeard

PSN: TiberDrum
Rhyvven is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 06-08-2007, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Trebuken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was able to play Doom 3 on my 6800, but the setings were lowered quite a bit. SOme of the higher settings worked but lagged big time when the action increased.
Trebuken is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 06-08-2007, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Libertarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhyvven View Post

Just delving into looking for a "lower" priced PCIe card myself....but did have AGP in my other system. During my shopping/research I saw that many of the newer cards also require a fairly competent power supply, no? I want to say I saw at least 350W and greater (even on the AGP cards). Someone please correct me if wrong. But you may want to check that also before card purchase.

Most 7600 cards should work fine on a 350W power supply.

Anything higher than that (7800, 7900, etc) will require an upgrade to 450-500W supply. Those are bigger cards, and they usually require a wire directly from the power supply to function properly, unlike the 7600GS/GTs, which get enough power from the motherboard alone.

If you haven't bought one yet, I just found an AWESOME deal on a 7600GT.

$79.99AR

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130062
Libertarian is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 06-09-2007, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharangad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Libertarian View Post

Most 7600 cards should work fine on a 350W power supply.

Anything higher than that (7800, 7900, etc) will require an upgrade to 450-500W supply. Those are bigger cards, and they usually require a wire directly from the power supply to function properly, unlike the 7600GS/GTs, which get enough power from the motherboard alone.

Actually the AGP 7600 GT needs external power. I have one in a system. The machine won't even boot up without the external power connector for the 7600 GT.
sharangad is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 06-09-2007, 07:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharangad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Libertarian View Post

Most 7600 cards should work fine on a 350W power supply.

Anything higher than that (7800, 7900, etc) will require an upgrade to 450-500W supply. Those are bigger cards, and they usually require a wire directly from the power supply to function properly, unlike the 7600GS/GTs, which get enough power from the motherboard alone.

Actually the AGP 7600 GT needs external power unlike the PCI-E 7600 GT which doesn't. I have on in a system. The machine won't even boot up without the external power connector for the 7600 GT.
sharangad is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 06-09-2007, 07:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharangad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Libertarian View Post

Most 7600 cards should work fine on a 350W power supply.

Anything higher than that (7800, 7900, etc) will require an upgrade to 450-500W supply. Those are bigger cards, and they usually require a wire directly from the power supply to function properly, unlike the 7600GS/GTs, which get enough power from the motherboard alone.

Actually the AGP 7600 GT needs external power unlike the PCI-E 7600 GT which doesn't. I have on in a system. The machine won't even boot up without the external power connector for the 7600 GT.

The 7600 GT consumes less power than a 6600 GT but performs a wee bit faster than the 6800 GT.
sharangad is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 06-09-2007, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Libertarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharangad View Post

Actually the AGP 7600 GT needs external power unlike the PCI-E 7600 GT which doesn't. I have on in a system. The machine won't even boot up without the external power connector for the 7600 GT.

The 7600 GT consumes less power than a 6600 GT but performs a wee bit faster than the 6800 GT.


eww...Are you sure that applies to all models? I thought the 7600GT could run off most motherboards alone? Every one I've bought in the past was able to do so, but they were all PCI-e cards now that I think about it..

Oh well, most Dell computers should have an extra power cable or two available for the video card. And they should also have the voltage to run anything up to a 7600, so most people should be ok with one.
Libertarian is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 06-11-2007, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Apache137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a BFG 6200 right now, and i run bf2 fine, not at the highest or anything, but i get same or more kills than someone with dual 8800s.....
judging by youre criteria and budget, youre not even thinkin about maxing out the res and stuff, so a 6 series would be fine for youre needs..... personally ive liked nvidia better than ati over the years, no big deal, just nvidias never let me down....
Apache137 is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off