Official Bioshock for PC thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 202 Old 09-01-2007, 12:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrCrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: under sniper fire, Seattle
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedyHTPC View Post

Does anyone have a clue why I'm getting that dreadful bioshock.exe has faulted in c000005? I am already using nvidia's beta drivers 163.44 and trying windowed mode in XP SP2 compatibility on my Vista 32 bit basic system.

I was starting to enjoy it then it crashes everytime about 3 min into the game. Loading part is fine.


http://www.nvidia.com/object/windows..._hotfixes.html

Give this a try.

I've only played the demo, but really enjoyed that. I'm amazed at how well it looks and runs. I'm buying the game tomorrow.
DrCrawn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 202 Old 09-01-2007, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,580
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrCrawn View Post

http://www.nvidia.com/object/windows..._hotfixes.html

Give this a try.

Even though I wasn't haven't problems, thanks for that link too! Always good to get updates like that, just in case.


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #183 of 202 Old 09-01-2007, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Trebuken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah this about as good a game as there is. It definitely has widescreen issues but I managed it well enough.

I played it in Vista/DX10 with everything turned on (visually) and at 1920x1200. I have a Core2 E6600, 4GB RAM, RAID 0, and that 8800 GTX thing and according to fraps (and with no tinkering) I was getting 45-75 fps. Nothing is overclocked so it is quite impressive how much this game delivers in the fram-rate department as compared to say Lost Planet.

The game was awesome; the hacking was OK, reminds me of a game called Pipe Dreams, and you can almost get enough hacking tools to open every safe if you are careful. The free saves are a little to convenient but the game is story driven enough that you shouldn't worry about it. I reload my saves almost every time I died anyways.

The final confrontation was too easy but it wasn't bad.

Anyone know about the different endings in the game, and if you are rewarded with a longer ending if you save/kill all the little sisters or beat it on hard mode?
Trebuken is offline  
post #184 of 202 Old 09-01-2007, 04:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,580
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trebuken View Post

Anyone know about the different endings in the game, and if you are rewarded with a longer ending if you save/kill all the little sisters or beat it on hard mode?

Any responses to this ^^^, please put in a spoiler safe response.

FYI: Spoilers-safe posts have the word "spoiler" with no quotes surrounded by the [] brackets and ending with "/spoiler" no quotes surrounded by the same brackets, much like this:



Thanks!


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #185 of 202 Old 09-03-2007, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpeedyHTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 3,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrCrawn View Post

http://www.nvidia.com/object/windows..._hotfixes.html

Give this a try.

I've only played the demo, but really enjoyed that. I'm amazed at how well it looks and runs. I'm buying the game tomorrow.

Thanks. The only patch that wasn't on my system is KB940105 and I dont have SLI.

This is a Dell 9200 standard with nothing but a DVD, BFG 8800 GTS 640, Vista basic 32 bit and a Dell 2405. I can't believe it crashes on the game while others can run it well. Its not even hand built.

Same crash as before with all those patches installed.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: bioshock.exe
Application Version: 1.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 46b7d7a9
Fault Module Name: StackHash_e17d
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00000000
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.2
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: e17d
Additional Information 2: 3be9f8a50bddd4313bd572f57066c49b
Additional Information 3: 81dc
Additional Information 4: aa162d78020c3d2d8202ca7dabeada06

Metroid Prime 3 is taking more of my time now as Bioshock fades away.

PS. I would try running it in dx9 mode but how the hell do you get it to run in dx9 when downloaded from Steam? the link shows "applaunch 7076" and I dont think putting a -dx9 is passed to the game.
SpeedyHTPC is offline  
post #186 of 202 Old 09-03-2007, 10:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
kirknelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The deep blue.
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In my experience "hand built" systems are far more stable than mass market units. Especially when adding after market hardware like your 8800GTS.
kirknelson is offline  
post #187 of 202 Old 09-03-2007, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DrCrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: under sniper fire, Seattle
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedyHTPC View Post

PS. I would try running it in dx9 mode but how the hell do you get it to run in dx9 when downloaded from Steam? the link shows "applaunch 7076" and I dont think putting a -dx9 is passed to the game.



Either right click on your desktop shortcut or hit start/all programs/steam, then right click on Bioshock, select properties and change your settings under the compatibility tab.

Good luck.
DrCrawn is offline  
post #188 of 202 Old 09-03-2007, 01:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,580
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrCrawn View Post

right click on your desktop shortcut Bioshock

Hey... cool -- I right clicked on my BioShock Demo desktop icon and in the menu there's an option that says "Play DirectX9"!

I hope all DirectX 10 games have this option.


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #189 of 202 Old 09-03-2007, 04:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I've been playing the game all day and it just doen't cease to amaze me. The Boston Phoenix gave the 360 version a 10 out of 10, and the PC version deserves it too. I really need a better videocard though, even running it at 1280x800 on my system is really taxing it. Whenever a Big Daddy luimbers closeby it slows down...

Love the sound too. If you don't have a Audigy based card that supports OpenAL, you're really missing something.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #190 of 202 Old 09-03-2007, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpeedyHTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 3,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrCrawn View Post

Either right click on your desktop shortcut or hit start/all programs/steam, then right click on Bioshock, select properties and change your settings under the compatibility tab.

Good luck.

My Steam must be something newer or whatever. The place where I put "-dx9" is in the advanced launch options for the game in the Steam menu. Anyhow, I did initialize it in dx9 and it still crashed in the same spot. Perhaps I'm just not looking in the right place. It is strange that none of these anecdotes made a single difference.

If I have to reinstall the OS, I would, heh. Nothing really on this PC, just games and a terminal to my unix boxes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirknelson View Post

In my experience "hand built" systems are far more stable than mass market units. Especially when adding after market hardware like your 8800GTS.

Yeah I would too if I had the same experience. The 8800 GTS is questionable. Its too bad that the Nvidia support on the GTS is iffy.
SpeedyHTPC is offline  
post #191 of 202 Old 09-04-2007, 04:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Libertarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those wondering about different endings. Yes, there are two different endings to the game. I believe you need to rescue all of the little sisters to get the "good" ending.

There is also a bonus plasmid you get after saving the first three little sisters...and a more powerful version after you save a few more (and do some research on the big daddys.)

No spoilers, but I think you'll find this particular plasmid VERY useful. Go get it!
Libertarian is offline  
post #192 of 202 Old 09-05-2007, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steve Tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I finished the game a few days ago and got the "good" ending. If anybody wants to describe the other ending (in spoiler tags!), I am a bit curious about it, but I'm not sure I want to replay the game just to see it.
Steve Tack is offline  
post #193 of 202 Old 09-05-2007, 06:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Libertarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't think the "other" ending made much sense...and it only lasted about 15 seconds.

Doesn't really matter to me anyway...The gameplay is what it's all about.

If you want to see it, just google "bioshock ending" and click the video tab on top of page.
Libertarian is offline  
post #194 of 202 Old 09-06-2007, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Troubleshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern Cowhampshire
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Too funny...I got the evil ending and I honestly didn't understand it either! I thought it was just me.

-Trouble
Troubleshooter is offline  
post #195 of 202 Old 09-06-2007, 11:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rsra13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just finished the game, good ending.
The whole game was a really amazing experience.
So, what to play now?
rsra13 is offline  
post #196 of 202 Old 09-07-2007, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpeedyHTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 3,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just started again. Miraculously, a complete OS reinstall and nvidia beta drivers, ms hotfixes, vista updates, redownload and reinstall of Bioshock allowed me to play again. Its funny how I see the same freezing reported on 360 platform.

One additional item, if it helps anyone, is that I have to manually set the resolution in default.ini to what I want it, otherwise I get a tiny window on my 1920x1200 desktop. Something in the Vista update won't allow the game to change resolution.
SpeedyHTPC is offline  
post #197 of 202 Old 09-07-2007, 08:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Oh man. I just had a super huge crash today and could not recover at all. I had to do a totally fresh install of Vista64, and I was so close to the end of BioShock too.

Now let's see if I can somehow salvage my saves because I am no way playing through the game again. If I can't I'm going to pitch a fit.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #198 of 202 Old 09-08-2007, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rsra13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how did that happen? the windows vista crash?

I love Vista, but after 2 months with it I think I could have waited for SP1. But no, I really*needed* DX10
rsra13 is offline  
post #199 of 202 Old 09-08-2007, 05:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsra13 View Post

how did that happen? the windows vista crash?

I love Vista, but after 2 months with it I think I could have waited for SP1. But no, I really*needed* DX10

I have a short in my case somewhere. I really need to replace it, but it's a pain in the ass to transplant all my hardware to a new case, and don't want to bother until it's time to buy a new motherboard.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #200 of 202 Old 10-10-2007, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wytchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LaPlace, La.
Posts: 4,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Bioshock on vista looks amazing. I know im late to the party but it really is a fantasic looking and fun game.
Wytchone is offline  
post #201 of 202 Old 11-24-2008, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WJonathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bioshock PC is 9.99 at Circuit City this week.
WJonathan is offline  
post #202 of 202 Old 11-24-2008, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
BreakStuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: City of Albany NY
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WJonathan View Post

Bioshock PC is 9.99 at Circuit City this week.

jeez... I just purchased it a month ago on Steam for $19.99, at $9.99 its a steal as long as you have the proper horsepower to play it. Great game.

Visit me at petedz.com
BreakStuff is offline  
Reply HTPC Gaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off