AVS Discussion on Blu Ray Recorders - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 02-29-2008, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gary cornell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
While i'm strongly considering the upcoming Marantz, i wonder if there will be a model out this year that will also record. Didn't see anything from CES to indicate a 2008 release and waiting another year isn't worth it.
gary cornell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 02-29-2008, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 7,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 93
I would love to see it also but i bet the mpaa would never allow it in the US.
oztech is offline  
post #3 of 34 Old 04-14-2008, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomsHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Douglassville, PA
Posts: 4,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Lacking anyway of permantly storing high def content on a DVR, I'd also like to see a BR recording option become available soon.
TomsHT is offline  
post #4 of 34 Old 04-14-2008, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gary cornell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just wondering if this would work - do the blu-ray recorders in Japan have a firewire imput? If so, would feeding firewire from a cable box successfully record HD?
gary cornell is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 04-14-2008, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
namechamps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gary cornell View Post

Just wondering if this would work - do the blu-ray recorders in Japan have a firewire imput? If so, would feeding firewire from a cable box successfully record HD?

Yes I believe the recorders in Japan have both internal tuner and firewire input. The recorder however it has to follow 5C flags.

Content can be flagged as either
Copy-Any
Copy-Once
Copy-Never

If such a device came to the US the content industry simply could turn on the 5C flag for everything except broadcast channels to Copy-Never. 5 years ago I could copy anything off firewire port on my cable box. 3 years ago I could copy anything except premium channels (HBO, etc). Today I would say 80%+ has a Copy-Never flag. Even "low value" stuff like 5 year old reruns of Futurama on cartoon network.

If such a box hit the US I would expect almost overnight that all channels except OTA retransmits (ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, CW) would be flagged as Copy-Never.

Only channels that FFC prohibits any restriction are broadcast networks.
namechamps is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 04-14-2008, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 7,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Gotta love how all these stipulations has slowed progress in the states to almost a
screeching halt for the consumer.
oztech is offline  
post #7 of 34 Old 04-14-2008, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schlotkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by namechamps View Post

Only channels that FFC prohibits any restriction are broadcast networks.


I'll admit I'm not on top of this recently, but I believe that is not correct. From my understanding, the ONLY channels that could be flagged as copy never was PPV...

Edit: Here we go:

http://hraunfoss.fcc.gov/edocs_publi...C-03-225A1.pdf

"The defined business models and corresponding copy protection
caps proposed in the draft rules include:

(1) Unencrypted broadcast television – no copy restrictions may be imposed;
(2) Pay television, non-premium subscription television, and free conditional access
delivery transmissions – one generation of copies is the most stringent restriction
that may be imposed; and
(3) VOD, PPV, or Subscription-on-Demand transmissions – no copies is the most
stringent restriction that may be imposed, however, even when no copies are
allowed, such content may be paused up to 90 minutes from its initial
transmission."

So, if you cable company is flagging everything as copy-never, that is in violation of the FCC rules, unless they have changed them recently.
Schlotkins is offline  
post #8 of 34 Old 04-16-2008, 01:58 PM
Member
 
Brainiac 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbia, MD, USA
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, those are still the rules, and cable companies cannot mark anything copy never except VOD and PPV.
Brainiac 5 is offline  
post #9 of 34 Old 04-16-2008, 08:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
rexdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
a ps3 add on that will enable DVR recording capability is coming.


http://www.bdgamers.net/2007/08/24/p...vr-add-on.html
rexdigital is offline  
post #10 of 34 Old 04-20-2008, 05:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gary cornell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Looks like i'll be using my JVC DVHS for a few more years - nothing wrong with tape.
gary cornell is offline  
post #11 of 34 Old 10-29-2008, 11:38 AM
Member
 
braxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone heard any current news on a recording possibly coming out next year for the worldwide market? There have been rumours, but nothing confirmed. Im hoping with the change in transmissions from analog to digital for the US market, they will put one out for North America early next year.
braxus is offline  
post #12 of 34 Old 10-29-2008, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Panasonic will be introducing Blu-ray recorder in US in the first half of next year.
Here is the article http://hdguru.com/ceatec-2008-the-hd...rom-japan/298/
CKNA is offline  
post #13 of 34 Old 10-29-2008, 07:42 PM
Member
 
Brainiac 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbia, MD, USA
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder how their US Blu-ray recorder will get its input? Firewire is not very well supported by cable companies. It would be great if it had its own tuner and a CableCARD slot.
Brainiac 5 is offline  
post #14 of 34 Old 10-29-2008, 11:06 PM
Member
 
braxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the news CKNA. I too wonder how they will get the video into the recorder. The cable companies here tell us about copyright and saying we aren't even allowed to copy programs off tv, so therefore they won't enable us to do it by having a HD port for video to come out of their boxes. Personally I thought home recording was allowed as long as its for private viewing. Didn't the VHS law allow us to do such recordings?
braxus is offline  
post #15 of 34 Old 10-30-2008, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Brainiac 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbia, MD, USA
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is an FCC rule requiring that cable companies provide a working firewire port, but many cable companies seem to routinely ignore it.
Brainiac 5 is offline  
post #16 of 34 Old 10-30-2008, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by braxus View Post

Thanks for the news CKNA. I too wonder how they will get the video into the recorder. The cable companies here tell us about copyright and saying we aren't even allowed to copy programs off tv, so therefore they won't enable us to do it by having a HD port for video to come out of their boxes. Personally I thought home recording was allowed as long as its for private viewing. Didn't the VHS law allow us to do such recordings?

US recorder will almost certainly have firewire 5C protected, cable card/tru2way slot and OTA tuner. I have Japanese Panasonic Blu-ray recorder with firewire, which works very well with Cox cable.
CKNA is offline  
post #17 of 34 Old 10-30-2008, 12:15 PM
Member
 
braxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CKNA View Post

US recorder will almost certainly have firewire 5C protected, cable card/tru2way slot and OTA tuner. I have Japanese Panasonic Blu-ray recorder with firewire, which works very well with Cox cable.

Not sure I understand what all that is. I just checked on the 5C thing and I hope not all channels use this copy protection. Would the news use it? I just checked our local cable HD box and it does output through 1394. So I do have that option here. Also does owning a Blu Ray recorder from Japan read this 5C protection? And it seems OTA cards only accept over the air broadcasts which means you'd need the cable box anyway to get the signals. Or am I incorrect on that?


Also found this on the net which was interesting:

"Trolling around the internet I discovered a process to determine if a
channel is 5C protected and therefore cannot be recorded over
FireWire. This applies to the Motorola DCT series of STB.

Tune to the channel you want to check. Press the Cable button then
the Power button to turn the STB off. Immediately after pressing the
Power button press the OK/Select button (mines in the middle fo the
remote). This should bring up the DIAGNOSTICS screen. Press the down
arrow until you get to d11. Press the right arrow to get to the
INTERFACE STATUS page. Under the 1394 I/O DEVICE section you'll see
5C IMPLEMENTATION. If it's any value other than 0 you can't record
that channel via FireWire. Repeat for every other channel you want to
check. To exit press the left arrow then press the down arrow until
you get to Exit and press the right arrow.

I think this will help a lot of unable to record over FireWire
problems I've been reading about. I've noticed a lot of channels in
my area (Eugene, OR) that I used to be able to record failing. I
guess I know why now. "
braxus is offline  
post #18 of 34 Old 10-30-2008, 01:02 PM
Member
 
dynasty36d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may sound like a stupid question but living in the US where would I go online to puchase a Blu Ray recorder such as the panny online? if anywhere at all.
dynasty36d is offline  
post #19 of 34 Old 10-30-2008, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by braxus View Post

Not sure I understand what all that is. I just checked on the 5C thing and I hope not all channels use this copy protection. Would the news use it? I just checked our local cable HD box and it does output through 1394. So I do have that option here. Also does owning a Blu Ray recorder from Japan read this 5C protection? And it seems OTA cards only accept over the air broadcasts which means you'd need the cable box anyway to get the signals. Or am I incorrect on that?


Also found this on the net which was interesting:

"Trolling around the internet I discovered a process to determine if a
channel is 5C protected and therefore cannot be recorded over
FireWire. This applies to the Motorola DCT series of STB.

Tune to the channel you want to check. Press the Cable button then
the Power button to turn the STB off. Immediately after pressing the
Power button press the OK/Select button (mines in the middle fo the
remote). This should bring up the DIAGNOSTICS screen. Press the down
arrow until you get to d11. Press the right arrow to get to the
INTERFACE STATUS page. Under the 1394 I/O DEVICE section you'll see
5C IMPLEMENTATION. If it's any value other than 0 you can't record
that channel via FireWire. Repeat for every other channel you want to
check. To exit press the left arrow then press the down arrow until
you get to Exit and press the right arrow.

I think this will help a lot of unable to record over FireWire
problems I've been reading about. I've noticed a lot of channels in
my area (Eugene, OR) that I used to be able to record failing. I
guess I know why now. "


5c is what is used on all firewire boxes from cable co. It can specify copy free, copy once, copy no more and copy never. It is what DVHS recorders have and Blu-ray recorders in Japan.

Your problem is that you were recording to computer. Computer cards do not have 5c. If you had DVHS recorder you could still record.
CKNA is offline  
post #20 of 34 Old 12-29-2008, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIG ED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California Wine Country
Posts: 3,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Was going too start a new thread...
maybe better too just piggyback onto this one:
"Recorder (standalone) CES '09"
Hopefully we'll have info soon!

Happy New Yr!

"I wonder if any of the releases had slipcovers though."
"Are these comfirmed to have slipcovers?"
"They look nice in those slips."
"This slipcover looks too good to pass up."
BIG ED is offline  
post #21 of 34 Old 12-29-2008, 08:20 PM
Member
 
AUS1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast in Atlanta is copy-protecting HBO at least part of the time; I wanted a BR recorder , but the WD Media player works well as a permanent storage device and I'm satisfied with it.
AUS1969 is offline  
post #22 of 34 Old 12-30-2008, 05:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,093
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I'd like to see TiVo put a BD burner into one of their HD boxes. Now that I would buy in a heartbeat.

I had a S2 Humax with a DVD burner in it and that was a God send every once in a while

Seggers

Mits 73835, Denon X4000, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, the internet, a NAS drive, a TiVo Series 3 and an Oppo 103 (bye bye PS3). There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is offline  
post #23 of 34 Old 12-30-2008, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
mdrums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I would like a BD recorder for a different reason and am wondering if the computer based BD recorders work good. They are all around $600-700 but I have some very sentimental HD video I would like to preserve onto BD. I do not want to keep this material on my camcorder HD tapes and would like to edit it on my computer and put it on blu-ray so I can watch it in the years to come.

thanks! Mike

Mikes Stuff
McIntosh MC207 Amps.........................DarbyVision Darblet
Marantz AV8801 Processor.................Da-Lite Screen
Klipsch Reference Series 7.2................Panasonic BluRay BDT500
Epson Pro 6010 Projector.....................Sony Playstation used for SACD and BluRay
mdrums is offline  
post #24 of 34 Old 12-30-2008, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
srgilbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrums View Post

I would like a BD recorder for a different reason and am wondering if the computer based BD recorders work good. They are all around $600-700 but I have some very sentimental HD video I would like to preserve onto BD. I do not want to keep this material on my camcorder HD tapes and would like to edit it on my computer and put it on blu-ray so I can watch it in the years to come.

thanks! Mike

Maybe in the meantime, you could try one of those Western Digital WD TV media players. It will play HD material from a connected USB hard drive.
There is a thread about it on here somewhere.
srgilbert is offline  
post #25 of 34 Old 12-31-2008, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIG ED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California Wine Country
Posts: 3,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What's a standalone BD recorder going for in Japan these days?
Happy '09!

"I wonder if any of the releases had slipcovers though."
"Are these comfirmed to have slipcovers?"
"They look nice in those slips."
"This slipcover looks too good to pass up."
BIG ED is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 01-08-2009, 06:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIG ED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California Wine Country
Posts: 3,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
CES bump

"I wonder if any of the releases had slipcovers though."
"Are these comfirmed to have slipcovers?"
"They look nice in those slips."
"This slipcover looks too good to pass up."
BIG ED is offline  
post #27 of 34 Old 01-09-2009, 12:11 PM
Member
 
braxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes any new news on any Blu Ray recorders from Panasonic or any other brand at CES this year?
braxus is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 01-11-2009, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIG ED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California Wine Country
Posts: 3,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Nothing Blu?
I mean "new"?

"I wonder if any of the releases had slipcovers though."
"Are these comfirmed to have slipcovers?"
"They look nice in those slips."
"This slipcover looks too good to pass up."
BIG ED is offline  
post #29 of 34 Old 03-30-2012, 02:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
DoctorO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Wondered if anyone has experience with one of the Blu Ray recording decks? I see there are models out there by Tascam, JVC, and Panasonic, with the first two being quite overpriced. I've found very few end user reviews, and they seemed to be people who actually thought that they were going to be able to defeat copy protection and got angry when they couldn't. We are looking for something with firewire input to transfer MiniDV.

Thanks for any ideas!
DoctorO is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 03-30-2012, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
OtherSongs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago-ish
Posts: 1,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorO View Post

Wondered if anyone has experience with one of the Blu Ray recording decks? I see there are models out there by Tascam, JVC, and Panasonic, with the first two being quite overpriced. I've found very few end user reviews, and they seemed to be people who actually thought that they were going to be able to defeat copy protection and got angry when they couldn't. We are looking for something with firewire input to transfer MiniDV.

Thanks for any ideas!

You mean a STB (Set Top Box), as opposed to a blu-ray burner for use inside a PC?

If yes, change the title of this thread to reflect that (you're the OP and you can do that on your own).

FWIW I tried to find "Tascam, JVC, and Panasonic" STB units on amazon and it wasn't easy to find (I only gave it a few minutes and gave up).

So you might also provide the model numbers of the Tascam, JVC, and Panasonic units so that people can find what you're talking about via a google/amazon search.

The best is the enemy of the good. Voltaire (1694-1778)

OtherSongs is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off