Denon DVD3800BDCI Owner's Thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 6654 Old 03-28-2008, 06:19 PM
Member
 
vemanoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone has compared this new Realta HQV processor with the old one that the DVD-5910CI has? Is it really better regarding scalling regular DVDs? I will install my BD3800 next week and want to know if it is worth it to keep my old DVD-5910 that has the Realta HQV + the DVDO chip. Any experience?
vemanoel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 6654 Old 03-28-2008, 07:11 PM
Newbie
 
Golden_ears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey!
It's been million years since I posted here! The Forum didn't even recognize my Username, password or email. So I had to re-up.
I've been doing this stuff for a long time, and I usually get along pretty well on my own buying gear and setting-up, etc. for the last 20 years or so.

But, I usually don't buy-in early on newer pieces like this BluRay player from Denon, so I did a search today to check on an impending purchase of the 3800BDCI, and found this thread.....
...wow! Let it be known that I have read every freakin' message, all 1,088 of 'em!
So, I don't have any questions.
I just thought I'd tell some people who can really appreciate the time and effort that I wasted spending most of my day reading one thread on the AVS Forum!
Let it be known that this determination and willingness to research will make me a great candidate as a Hit Man if Denon does not deliver on their promise to provide us with a software patch to fix the 1080p24 problem.
Golden_ears is offline  
post #1083 of 6654 Old 03-28-2008, 08:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Quickster2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vemanoel View Post

Does anyone has compared this new Realta HQV processor with the old one that the DVD-5910CI has? Is it really better regarding scalling regular DVDs? I will install my BD3800 next week and want to know if it is worth it to keep my old DVD-5910 that has the Realta HQV + the DVDO chip. Any experience?

Can't compare to 5910CI but can compare to 3930CI. Initial impression is that the 3800 is superior when listening to SD Concert DVD material both audio and video. I am utilizing LPCM via HDMI to a 4306. Have watched/listened to BD I Robot, Dave Mathews & Tim Reynolds, Chris Botti Live, SD VH1 Divas Live, and the SD Strat Pack concert DVD's. The 3800 is superior to both the 3930 and the Panny 10A BD player. Spouse even noticed the difference on Dave Mathews from the Panasonic 10A. Have just boosted the SW setting in the 4306 +5 to compensate for the LFE bug. Sunday will calibrate with the BD HD Basics DVD and sound meter. Outputting 1080P to Samsung HL-S6188 passthrough mode from 4306. Both 3930 and 3800 are forced 1080P output via HDMI to 4306. This Samsung only has one 1080P input . Other input 1080I direct from HD cable box.
Quickster2 is offline  
post #1084 of 6654 Old 03-28-2008, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RBFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by banjofan View Post

but if you use pure direct, won't that turn off the AL24 processing (which is what i want for the upsampling, etc.)? also, my pre-pro is straight analog pass through (no processing available).

The "Pure Direct" mode I was speaking of is in the receiver or pre/pro, not the mode in the player. You don't want to further process the high-quality signal sent from the player.

For those who prefer PLIIX, etc. for multichannel matrixing of stereo tracks, that's fine. However, you are altering the original presentation of the recording. There are many extremely fine stereo recordings that sound incredible and virtually 3D when played on a well-set-up system.

Lee

B&W 801D (Left,Right), B&W HTM1D (center), B&W CWM8180 x 3 (6.1 surround), JL Audio F113 x 2 (subwoofers), Krell Foundation pre-pro, Krell EV403 (front 3 channels), Krell S1500/3 (rear 3 channels), OPPO 105D (Blu-ray, SACD, DVD-A), Calyx Audio DAC24/192, MacMini w/ 2TB drive (server), Purist Audio interconnects & speaker cables, Pioneer PRO-HD1540 plasma 60"
RBFC is online now  
post #1085 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Glashub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: LA, CA - 818
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I've just about had it with my PMS'ed Panasonic. I have intermittent flashes of white, frames that go to sparklies and black outs where the dialogue can still be heard. It seems like I have a cable or handshake issue. But I'm not sure. I'm using Blue Jean HDMI into the Onkyo pre/pro. It's happened on 30 Nights, Beowulf and Grendel and I am Legend. It was so bad on Beowulf, the movie was unwatchable. In an act of desperation I rebooted the Onkyo and that seemed to work for a while.

Then I play Enchanted or Across the Universe and it's flawless. Have you guys had any difficulty playing discs on the 3800?
Glashub is offline  
post #1086 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 08:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Digione's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

.....Could you e-mail DenonJeff back and ask about the LFE issue in the update?

I did and he has been very quite about the issue!
Digione is offline  
post #1087 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 09:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,966
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digione View Post

I did and he has been very quite about the issue!

Sounds like a 'No'.

But a 'Yes' on the 24P (24.000 vs 23.976 issue)??

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1088 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I'm expecting to be able to stream audio via-HDMI (PCM) and not have any LFE dysfunction.........

So this thread is now a "non-sticky"?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #1089 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 11:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,966
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 153
I am at a retailer looking at this now.

I cannot seem to adjust the back L and R channel levels... They are blacked out. Why is this. I have selected HD Audio AND HDMI multi LPCM.

To deal with the LFE issues, I'd like to lower all channels. What is the story or am I missing something?

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1090 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 12:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,966
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Or could it be the Anthem being only a 5.1 processor is this EDID issue and with my 7.1 Halcro there'd be no issue?

Anyone with a 7.1 piece with HDMI for audio have the backs grayed out....?

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1091 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 12:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,966
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 153
How is that (LFE streaming without an issue)?

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1092 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 01:28 PM
Member
 
normstow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vemanoel View Post

Does anyone has compared this new Realta HQV processor with the old one that the DVD-5910CI has? Is it really better regarding scalling regular DVDs? I will install my BD3800 next week and want to know if it is worth it to keep my old DVD-5910 that has the Realta HQV + the DVDO chip. Any experience?

I have the same dilemma. Should I keep my 5910 for SD DVD, or will the 3800 be as good or better?
normstow is offline  
post #1093 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I would probably return it...

otherwise, have you been enjoying your DVD-3800BDCI? Been able to watch several more BD titles?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #1094 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 04:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Quickster2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

Or could it be the Anthem being only a 5.1 processor is this EDID issue and with my 7.1 Halcro there'd be no issue?

Anyone with a 7.1 piece with HDMI for audio have the backs grayed out....?

Have 7.1 via HDMI LPCM back speakers not grayed out. HDMI to 4306.
Quickster2 is offline  
post #1095 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quickster2 View Post

Have 7.1 via HDMI LPCM back speakers not grayed out. HDMI to 4306.

how is LFE functioning?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #1096 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 05:01 PM
Senior Member
 
jdmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I put in some high quality interconnects for 5.1 ch out, and I can say that SD-DVD never sounded better. Overall, I'm thoroughly impressed with this unit. It's everything I hoped it would be. I'm sorry that some have had issues with 1080p24 and LFE PCM over HDMI, but I'm confident that the player will improve incrementally with firmware updates, like every other player. I thank Denon for developing what has to be the most advanced consumer video source to date.

If there is anyone who's holding off on this unit or Blu Ray in general because he doesn't have an HDMI display or audio equipment, wait no longer. I'm using all analog output, and my system has been taken to a higher level than anticipated. I finally think it's realizing its full potential. The 3800 is definitely a keeper.

Jim
jdmi is offline  
post #1097 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 06:11 PM
Member
 
twodown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Having purchased this player early on (to replace samsung BD1200) I wanted to jump in again to say what a great player. I could not be more pleased with the video/sound quality I receive on EVERY disc I have viewed. Yes, there are some issues (personally 24P and LFE via HDMI as I upgrade my system) that would seem to be fixable via firmware.

Overall, no regrets at all in this purchase.
twodown is offline  
post #1098 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 06:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 195
twodown,

I've pretty much decided to buy a 3800, but I'm going to wait till the two problems are fixed.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #1099 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
mcjimsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmi View Post

I put in some high quality interconnects for 5.1 ch out, and I can say that SD-DVD never sounded better. Overall, I'm thoroughly impressed with this unit. It's everything I hoped it would be. I'm sorry that some have had issues with 1080p24 and LFE PCM over HDMI, but I'm confident that the player will improve incrementally with firmware updates, like every other player. I thank Denon for developing what has to be the most advanced consumer video source to date.

If there is anyone who's holding off on this unit or Blu Ray in general because he doesn't have an HDMI display or audio equipment, wait no longer. I'm using all analog output, and my system has been taken to a higher level than anticipated. I finally think it's realizing its full potential. The 3800 is definitely a keeper.

Jim

I absolutely agree! Over the last few months I have gone from a HD-A35 (235 HD-DVD's) over analog to the Samsung BD-UP5000 (retired to bedroom) to the DVD-3800BDCI with the Zektor MAS7.1 analog switch AND the HD-A35 all connected 7.1 with Monster M1000 interconnects (probably cost more then the player ) all going into:

Rotel RSP-1098 Pre/Pro 7.1 analog in.

R&L Infinity RS-1b bi-amp with conrad-johnson tube 150 w monoblock's (heats the house nicely in the winter ) & Musical Concepts Hafler DH-500 running the bass towers.

Dual Infinity Kappa Centers & Energy Dipole Surrounds & backs powered by Outlaw's 150 x 7 amp.

Energy ESL18 powered sub fed thru Velodyne's SM-S1 para EQ system.


I can truly say the 3800 hase a MUCH more intergrated/smoother sound than ANY other source in my system (well, maybe not my Sony 999 SA-CD player) but aside from that this player it "IT" as far as I'm concerned (Analog anyway..) As I'm typing this I have Transporter 2 playing in DTS-MA and it ROCKS!

Bob..
mcjimsey is offline  
post #1100 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 07:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Quickster2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

how is LFE functioning?

Seems low. Tomorrow with SPL meter and Blu-ray HD basics calibration. Will report out then.
Quickster2 is offline  
post #1101 of 6654 Old 03-29-2008, 09:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,966
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 153
looking forward to what you find...

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1102 of 6654 Old 03-30-2008, 12:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
DekPM19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pooler, Ga
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am guessing with the 3800 using analog 7.1 out the player will decode and play all the new audio formats. Is this correct?
Allen
DekPM19 is offline  
post #1103 of 6654 Old 03-30-2008, 01:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcjimsey View Post

the DVD-3800BDCI with the Zektor MAS7.1 analog switch AND the HD-A35 all connected 7.1 with Monster M1000 interconnects (probably cost more then the player ), the 3800 has a MUCH more intergrated/smoother sound than ANY other source in my system..

I'm a little confused with your set-up, are you using 7.1ch analog OUT's, but HDMI for video?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #1104 of 6654 Old 03-30-2008, 01:55 AM
Senior Member
 
haggisbingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DekPM19 View Post

I am guessing with the 3800 using analog 7.1 out the player will decode and play all the new audio formats. Is this correct?
Allen

Yes. There appears to be some question about DTS-HD(lossy), though, as far as being more than 5.1 core. DTS-MA, TRU-HD, LPCM and everything else are excellent.
haggisbingo is offline  
post #1105 of 6654 Old 03-30-2008, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
EWL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you look at the recently revised Product Sheet for the 3800 on the Denon website, you will notice that DTS-HD HR decoding is no longer mentioned under analog decoding.

Pioneer broke my heart.
Denon broke my wallet.
Oppo broke my thinking.
EWL5 is offline  
post #1106 of 6654 Old 03-30-2008, 06:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,966
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by EWL5 View Post

If you look at the recently revised Product Sheet for the 3800 on the Denon website, you will notice that DTS-HD HR decoding is no longer mentioned under analog decoding.

So, is DTS HD HR and DD+ decoded via LPCM? Or still a 'No'?

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #1107 of 6654 Old 03-30-2008, 07:00 AM
Member
 
bschaen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i played the omen and on front panel it said dts hd master
but on stir of echos it just said dts
they were suppose both be dts hd
bschaen is offline  
post #1108 of 6654 Old 03-30-2008, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RBFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by DekPM19 View Post

I am guessing with the 3800 using analog 7.1 out the player will decode and play all the new audio formats. Is this correct?
Allen

Yes. All the lossless codecs are decoded and played via analog output.

There are questions, however, about DTS-HR and Dolby Digital +. It appears the only the core of the DTS-HR is being played. We don't have DD+ tracks to evaluate yet. At any rate, firmware updates should be able to solve this, since all the decoding circuitry is included in the player.

Lee

B&W 801D (Left,Right), B&W HTM1D (center), B&W CWM8180 x 3 (6.1 surround), JL Audio F113 x 2 (subwoofers), Krell Foundation pre-pro, Krell EV403 (front 3 channels), Krell S1500/3 (rear 3 channels), OPPO 105D (Blu-ray, SACD, DVD-A), Calyx Audio DAC24/192, MacMini w/ 2TB drive (server), Purist Audio interconnects & speaker cables, Pioneer PRO-HD1540 plasma 60"
RBFC is online now  
post #1109 of 6654 Old 03-30-2008, 07:27 AM
Senior Member
 
mcjimsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

I'm a little confused with your set-up, are you using 7.1ch analog OUT's, but HDMI for video?

Yes, actually it's a DVI device (Hitachi 65X500 Director's Series CRT RP re-tubed and ISF'ed @ 1080i, I still prefer the CRT's image over the solid state technologies but they ARE closing fast! The plasma's are where I want them, just not big enough ) with the Zektor handling HDMI switching also.

Bob..
mcjimsey is offline  
post #1110 of 6654 Old 03-30-2008, 07:43 AM
Member
 
petethebaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 3800 to go with my 4806ci i am hooking it up tomorrow yahoo.
petethebaker is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Denon Dvd 3800bdci Blu Ray Disc Dvd Cd Player
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off