Denon DVD3800BDCI Owner's Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 05:25 AM
Senior Member
 
calikarim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was referring to images on BD side of things. I spend a lot of my free timei In Magnolia, BEst Buy and Ken Crane, and i was always jealous of 1080 p sets, with contrast, colors and facial detail, this unit truly makes my 1080 i crt look better than any of the other bd player i have seen on amazing sets, so imagine what it will do to your digital 1080p sets. Detail is very crisp and sharp and fine on this player, and very natural

It is almost 4.30 am in Los angeles, but i will check out my visually splendous bollywood films and see how they upconvert compared to the reon of the XA-2 which did an amazing job. I think i iwll be very happy.

Truly denon hit a home run with this i am truly happy,

Not the most beautiful unit, it even has a sharp blue annoying pin point lite in the front, i am sure i will be able to dim it, i which it had a longer soothing blue beam like my XA-2 or other blue ray players, ITS ALL ABOUT THE PICTURE AND SOUND , so its cool.


The connectors in the back for analog outs are all gold plated and very solid excellent construction and attention to detail, the pins just glide in , dont have to be forced like in my $1400 amp sony.
calikarim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Im curious since someone finally has one, we never got an answer about running 108p/24 fps does the realta still do processing and noise reduction, or does it just pull it and pass it right from the disk. I remember that was a question that was not answered, if there was any processing available at 24fps.
Murilo is offline  
post #93 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 05:47 AM
jd9
Member
 
jd9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by calikarim View Post

I was referring to images on BD side of things. I spend a lot of my free timei In Magnolia, BEst Buy and Ken Crane, and i was always jealous of 1080 p sets, with contrast, colors and facial detail, this unit truly makes my 1080 i crt look better than any of the other bd player i have seen on amazing sets, so imagine what it will do to your digital 1080p sets. Detail is very crisp and sharp and fine on this player, and very natural

Hi can you please confirm if the picture settings like gamma and DNR are also available and active for Blu Ray playback or they are only for DVD because the manual is not clear for this matter.
Thanks happy viewing with your new machine.
jd9 is offline  
post #94 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
powerdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vermont
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikefl52 View Post

You are probably right, however it is still very frustrating and annoying to have it indicated as In Stock and then be told it is back ordered. As I said in a previous post I blame OEMs like Denon as much as dealers by not giving them clear delivery dates and amounts, so that the dealers can be more informed. I do however think that dealers such as ABT, JRR, One Call, etc. paint a very optomistic picture of supply in order to bait the potential buyer.


Yes, it would be easier to just be told it's backordered than get false promises. J&R didn't pretend to know when they'd get 'em -- maybe they're a little more honest than ABT. The one comfort, though, is that both are probably high priority dealers for Denon.
powerdog is offline  
post #95 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 06:46 AM
Senior Member
 
powerdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Vermont
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by calikarim View Post

The build qualtiy of tray is very "plasticy" , seems flimsy not very sturdy, however it is very quiet and loads flawlessly, i just think this is a nature of the beast of most dvd players not a shortcoming of denon, i just jiggled the front of the tray and it seems almost a little loosely attached to the actual tray, i can live with it though.

I have an old, old Yamaha CD player (14 yrs?) that spoiled me for tray quality. Both the build and the operation are like Fort Knox. I guess it doesn't make economic sense anymore.
powerdog is offline  
post #96 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
EWL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by calikarim View Post

Only complaint it is one basic and ugly unit, I hate the remote , no backlite, buttons too small and cluttered, and they only give you three rca cables, not even a cheap hdmi cable. That sucks, after spending$2000 on the unit. The unit is very plain, however, i can live with that , it is the spectacular images we love.

I wouldn't call it ugly. It matches the styling of their receivers. I think they were trying to go away from the "mass market" look. I've only seen pictures so please confirm that it is brushed aluminum on the front.

Cabling that comes with dvd players are typically throw-aways. How much "value" do you expect from a 2k machine when most are going for $500 or less? It's all about the "fit and finish" for Denon.

Edit: As far as remotes go, I think most high end companies expect you to either own or purchase in the future a decent backlit universal remote control. My Rotel RSX-1067 receiver came with one of the boxiest, ugliest remotes you have ever seen and the receiver listed for around $2200 (remote is backlit though).

Pioneer broke my heart.
Denon broke my wallet.
Oppo broke my thinking.
EWL5 is offline  
post #97 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 07:18 AM
Senior Member
 
dtsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Received mine yesterday and cannot get my usual 1080i thru my Onkyo 700 ?!

However if I hook up directly with my Runco front screen, then 1080 works (obviously with no sound).

So why can't I pass through 1080i through my Onkyo like I do with XA2 and BDP 1400 ??

Need your help, anyone??
dtsguy is offline  
post #98 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 6,909
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 582 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Can anyone here comment on the presence, or non-presence, of the LFE bug that the 2500 and pre- 1.6FW Panasonics have?
FilmMixer is offline  
post #99 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
John Ballentine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post

Can anyone here comment on the presence, or non-presence, of the LFE bug that the 2500 and pre- 1.6FW Panasonics have?

In a previous post (back on 2/29), Jeff had this to say about the 2500 LFE PCM bug:

quote:

"Also, the LFE PCM issue only affects converted HD audio tracks (Dolby/dts), not straight PCM tracks on a disc."

What do you think?
John Ballentine is offline  
post #100 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 09:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Have had mine hooked up for about 15 minutes now... Sorry Bland, no composite picture when 1080p/24 is engaged. More to come!

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #101 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Joe rod does it allow for processing such as noise reduction even at 24fps? Dennon jeff was not sure on that one.
Murilo is offline  
post #102 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Centurion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murilo View Post

Joe rod does it allow for processing such as noise reduction even at 24fps? Dennon jeff was not sure on that one.

I have a feeling you and I are close to buying one if he says "Yes".
Centurion is offline  
post #103 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 11:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,021
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Have had mine hooked up for about 15 minutes now... Sorry Bland, no composite picture when 1080p/24 is engaged. More to come!


Dang it!!

Bu, Joe, thanks for checking that on for me... It appears, the manual is correct...

Thanks again!!!

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #104 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 11:16 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Have had mine hooked up for about 15 minutes now... Sorry Bland, no composite picture when 1080p/24 is engaged. More to come!

I know everyone is in a rush to hear the comparisons, but I have a suggestion that many videophiles I'm sure would agree with:

I would wait for 24 hours before making any subjective picture quality comparisons. If you just unpacked it after it was delivered this morning, The unit should be allowed to acclimate to the temperature / humidity in the house.

FYI: It is in the mid-20's in Chicago today, where Joe resides.

While this may seem like an off-the-wall suggestion, I have heard this from more than one EE over the years. Further, if you are waiting for Joe's PQ comparison before you drop two grand, what is another day in the grand scheme of things.

Just a thought.

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #105 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 6,909
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 582 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Ballentine View Post

In a previous post (back on 2/29), Jeff had this to say about the 2500 LFE PCM bug:

quote:

"Also, the LFE PCM issue only affects converted HD audio tracks (Dolby/dts), not straight PCM tracks on a disc."

What do you think?

It has been confirmed by Roger Dressler at Dolby that it affects all PCM output from HDMI, not just decoed DD or DTS.
FilmMixer is offline  
post #106 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RBFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 20
RE: Loading times

I checked a few discs that used to take quite a while to load:

POTC3 -30 seconds from drawer close to first audio/video
-15 seconds to start movie after trailers finish

Ratatoullie -30 seconds from drawer close to first audio/video
-less than 2 revolutions of the mouse/hula hoop (~ 10 seconds to start movie)

Also, my previous comments about better color were unclear. Going to 1080p/24 didn't change the color, but properly setting up the Pioneer plasma for "PURE" mode did. Sorry if that caused any confusion. The overall result is still great!

I'll check the front panel display for info regarding Noise Reduction, etc. while playing a disc.

Lee

B&W 801D (Left,Right), B&W HTM1D (center), B&W CWM8180 x 3 (6.1 surround), JL Audio F113 x 2 (subwoofers), Krell Foundation pre-pro, Krell EV403 (front 3 channels), Krell S1500/3 (rear 3 channels), OPPO 105D (Blu-ray, SACD, DVD-A), Calyx Audio DAC24/192, MacMini w/ 2TB drive (server), Purist Audio interconnects & speaker cables, Pioneer PRO-HD1540 plasma 60"
RBFC is offline  
post #107 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 11:31 AM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtsguy View Post

Received mine yesterday and cannot get my usual 1080i thru my Onkyo 700 ?!

However if I hook up directly with my Runco front screen, then 1080 works (obviously with no sound).

So why can't I pass through 1080i through my Onkyo like I do with XA2 and BDP 1400 ??

Need your help, anyone??

What is your HDMI Video Resolution set to? Can you post all the appropriate settings?

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #108 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 11:47 AM
Member
 
anairns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this unit affected by the LFE bug? (5db off)
anairns is offline  
post #109 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
dtsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post

What is your HDMI Video Resolution set to? Can you post all the appropriate settings?

Mark

I did some research and the result is akin to the Onkyo thinking I'm running component cable with HDMI output (which I'm not).

This probably should go to the Receiver forum......
dtsguy is offline  
post #110 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 12:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Have had mine hooked up for about 15 minutes now... Sorry Bland, no composite picture when 1080p/24 is engaged. More to come!

Workaround time.

How about component? If that works, Bland can use the luminocity cable for a B&W image.

Thinking this out some, I bet the player cancels all unnecessary processing which would include conversions to analog for pictures.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #111 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RBFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 20
When the 3800 is set to 1080p/24, the options for component are "grayed out" and not selectable. I'd guess that no other video output is available when the 1080p/24 is used.

Lee

B&W 801D (Left,Right), B&W HTM1D (center), B&W CWM8180 x 3 (6.1 surround), JL Audio F113 x 2 (subwoofers), Krell Foundation pre-pro, Krell EV403 (front 3 channels), Krell S1500/3 (rear 3 channels), OPPO 105D (Blu-ray, SACD, DVD-A), Calyx Audio DAC24/192, MacMini w/ 2TB drive (server), Purist Audio interconnects & speaker cables, Pioneer PRO-HD1540 plasma 60"
RBFC is offline  
post #112 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,470
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBFC View Post

When the 3800 is set to 1080p/24, the options for component are "grayed out" and not selectable. I'd guess that no other video output is available when the 1080p/24 is used.

Lee

That would make perfect sense - since it would
be a copy protection violation.
drhankz is offline  
post #113 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 03:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,021
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

That would make perfect sense - since it would
be a copy protection violation.

Nah...My Sony BD player gives you an analog picture from composite when 24PP is coming out of HDMI....(as well as S-Video and I believe, component).

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #114 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 03:28 PM
Newbie
 
EARS 101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reviews / impressions. I'm glad you new owners are enjoying.

Mine arrived today at the dealers location but I can't install it till next weekend (putting in new dedicated 120v outlets). After waiting months for the 3800's release it has to be now! I'm bummed.

Would someone using analog outs please try setting the center in the player to none to see if the center channel is then combined with the FL /FR channels? I'm running a 4.1 speaker config.

Bill
EARS 101 is offline  
post #115 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,470
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

Nah...My Sony BD player gives you an analog picture from composite when 24PP is coming out of HDMI....(as well as S-Video and I believe, component).

It may send out SOMETHING - but it is NOT 1080p.

That is a license violation.
drhankz is offline  
post #116 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 05:09 PM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California Republic
Posts: 2,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post

It has been confirmed by Roger Dressler at Dolby that it affects all PCM output from HDMI, not just decoed DD or DTS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anairns View Post

Is this unit affected by the LFE bug? (5db off)

I'm still experimenting with various discs, but based on a sample of a few, LFE seems as it should LPCM via HDMI e.g. the thunder in the early scenes of Ratatouille is......thunderous. I should think a 5db shortfall would make an audible difference.
RUR is offline  
post #117 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
dtsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't get an HDMI handshake 1080i in/out between Denon and my Onkyo 705......only outputs 720p as if it were a default component hookup (which I dont have anywhere).

Couple more hours of messing around and then it goes back.
dtsguy is offline  
post #118 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 05:50 PM
Member
 
jheath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just unpacked and getting ready to dive headfirst.

Oh' by the way, I have a 2500BTCI on Ebay. Only used 1 time to test out.
ID=cutigerz99 if anyone interested.

Hooking up w/4308,2 Integra ADM 2.1 for zone 2&3, Tivo Series 3, Xbox360 Elite,Mits Diamond 65833, 7.1 Pardigm. Can't wait
jheath is offline  
post #119 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 07:27 PM
Member
 
jheath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sumter, SC
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Player is hooked HDMI to Denon 4308 then out to Mits 65833. Not getting 1080p/24 as a selection in setup. What am I doing wrong?
jheath is offline  
post #120 of 6654 Old 03-07-2008, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,964
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by jheath View Post

Player is hooked HDMI to Denon 4308 then out to Mits 65833. Not getting 1080p/24 as a selection in setup. What am I doing wrong?

Sounds like a HDMI handshake issue (were the supported resolutions are conveyed) either between the BD player and the 4308 (not likely since they are both from Denon) or between the 4308 and your Mits. I take it the Denon 3800BD doesn't have a setting to force a 1080p/24 output. Have you tried connecting the 3800BD directly to your Mits to see in 1080p/24 works when bypassing the 4308?

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Denon Dvd 3800bdci Blu Ray Disc Dvd Cd Player
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off