**WARNING** DTS Masters bitstreamed to Yamaha, Onkyo or Integra can damage speakers!! - Page 74 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2191 of 2238 Old 11-04-2009, 01:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nordo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Noosa,Australia
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Woo

I've never experienced the bomb, but from what I've read, this sure sounds like it - or a second generation of it.

I've forgotten how to do it, but after you have done your firmware updates (only one actually eliminates the bomb), there is a combination button push that brings up a display of the current firmware you have in the receiver. Use that to check that your upgrade went successfully.

I've got an 805, and I'm surprised that the 807 still has this problem.
Hope this helps.
Nordo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2192 of 2238 Old 11-04-2009, 05:56 AM
Newbie
 
wootanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nordo View Post

Hi Woo

I've never experienced the bomb, but from what I've read, this sure sounds like it - or a second generation of it.

I've forgotten how to do it, but after you have done your firmware updates (only one actually eliminates the bomb), there is a combination button push that brings up a display of the current firmware you have in the receiver. Use that to check that your upgrade went successfully.

I've got an 805, and I'm surprised that the 807 still has this problem.
Hope this helps.

Hi Nordo. Thanks for the response.
I'll have to check to see if the firmware held. (Did the update Monday night)

Some more info:
The Onkyo (like most AVRs) lets you change your listening mode. Doing this caused the booms to change significantly. I didn't document them all but Direct mode resulted in the quietest booms. Fairly faint and sounded more like static interference of some sort. The noise occured in all listening modes. Some were much louder and almost all of them made my wife uncomfortable.

General volume didn't matter. When the boom was loud it was loud no matter what.

I read somewhere that this only happens if you have your speakers set to "large". I haven't tried setting them to small.

I still wonder if I got a bad disc.

I'll keep digging around and let you know.

Thanks,
Woo
wootanga is offline  
post #2193 of 2238 Old 11-04-2009, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
blackbelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow I thought this was an old issue. I thought by now they would have figured out what caused it and fixed it . I hope you got a bad disc.
blackbelt is offline  
post #2194 of 2238 Old 11-08-2009, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
B&W700guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
this was fixed over a year ago.

My Media Room Photos:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
B&W700guy is offline  
post #2195 of 2238 Old 11-09-2009, 12:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nordo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Noosa,Australia
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by B&W700guy View Post

this was fixed over a year ago.

Onkyo fixed it with an update to the DSP, but "forgot" to tell the public.
It took the dedicated guys on the AVS forum to find it and release it to us.
Nordo is offline  
post #2196 of 2238 Old 11-12-2009, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Perch33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Bluegrass
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan P. View Post

I encountered a popping sound after I came out of the setup menu for "Master and Commander". I went into the menu to select the DTS-MA audio and as soon as I did that (or immediately afterwards) I got very noticeable popping sounds. It was not the "bomb" sound descibed elsewhere here that happens during the movie. Rather, it was a lot of quick popping, like walking on a piece of very loud bubble wrap. It was not dangerously loud (no where near as load as the cannon fire in the movie itself), but loud enough to be disturbing never-the-less. It only lasted maybe 2 or 3 seconds.

I re-loaded the disc from scratch (open drawer) and just pressed "play" without going into the setup menu audio options, and it did not occur. I also noticed that the vaious stuff (FBI page, studio logos) before the movie starts is DD, then, when the movie starts, it switches into DTS-MA. Perhaps manually selecting MA on the audio setup menu at some slice of time before or right around when it gets engaged on its own caused a glitch in the bitstream(?) I don't know. I'm not entirely sure I want to experiment and try to duplicate it.

I go into audio setup mostly out of habit. DTS is an option on those DVDs that carry it, with DD being the default, so I'm in the habit of going to the menu to select DTS for DVD. It's not necessary with BD since discs with MA will use that as a default (at least the Fox titles). So, I probably don't need to go in there and will likely never encounter this again (I hope).

I'm bitstreaming from a Denon 3800 to a Denon 3808. My firmware is one release short of the very latest for each of these components. I've watched many MA titles with no issue, and selected the MA track manually many times before. I don't think there is anything wrong with this title in particular. It plays great all the way through (a reference MA demo disc for sure).

I noticed the same thing with my Denon 3808 last week with Master and Commander. Has anybody else had this with a Denon product? I believe I have the most recent updates on the 3808.
Perch33 is offline  
post #2197 of 2238 Old 11-12-2009, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
B&W700guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nordo View Post

Onkyo fixed it with an update to the DSP, but "forgot" to tell the public.
It took the dedicated guys on the AVS forum to find it and release it to us.

Thats not true for me. I received all my 885 upgrades from Onkyo i called them and asked

My Media Room Photos:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
B&W700guy is offline  
post #2198 of 2238 Old 07-23-2010, 09:40 PM
Member
 
steevo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Onkyo SR707. I have the BOOM. It happens on DTS-HD tracks. My problem is when I go to Onkyos website - there are NO firmware updates available for this model.

Amazing that this continues to be an un adressed issue.

Some guy
steevo123 is offline  
post #2199 of 2238 Old 07-24-2010, 07:25 AM
Member
 
steevo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Now Onkyo is telling me there is NO firmware update for the 707. This is really frustrating.

With a flaw this bad - and they act like theres nothing they can do and I should just send it in.

Some guy
steevo123 is offline  
post #2200 of 2238 Old 07-24-2010, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
jasonvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by steevo123 View Post

Now Onkyo is telling me there is NO firmware update for the 707. This is really frustrating.

With a flaw this bad - and they act like theres nothing they can do and I should just send it in.

Have you reproduced it on a known BluRay with this issue(one of the titles listed in this thread)? It was my understanding this was fixed before the x06 models even shipped and certainly before the x07. I'm wondering if you have stumbled on something else instead, or just a random glitch. I get digital audio glitches on my 805 sometimes that remind me of the DTS-MA gunshot (which I did truly experience on AVP2 and it scared the crap out of me)

jasonvr is offline  
post #2201 of 2238 Old 05-14-2011, 02:07 PM
Senior Member
 
AYColumbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I know this is an old thread, but I recently started experiencing this issue and wanted to add my AVR to the list with this problem.

I have the Sony STR-DA5500ES.

I get the problem consistently on the Stand By Me title at ~32:23. However, I also get it inconsistently, i.e., sometimes it happens and sometimes it doesn't. I've heard the pops on Stand by Me at least in 4 or 5 different places.

It also happened on TRON Legacy at the end of Chapter 11 as the elevator was plummeting around 1:18:40 to the end of the chapter. I thought my speakers were going to fry it was so bad.

Only happens when bit streaming to the AVR. If I use LPCM (Oppo BDP-93) I have no issues. Also, I do not have this issue with the LG BD390 so I don't know what to make of this.

Isn't bit streaming the same regardless of the source? If that's the case, why do I get the pop from the Oppo but not the LG?

AYColumbia is offline  
post #2202 of 2238 Old 05-14-2011, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
jasonvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by AYColumbia View Post

I know this is an old thread, but I recently started experiencing this issue and wanted to add my AVR to the list with this problem.

I have the Sony STR-DA5500ES.

I get the problem consistently on the Stand By Me title at ~32:23. However, I also get it inconsistently, i.e., sometimes it happens and sometimes it doesn't. I've heard the pops on Stand by Me at least in 4 or 5 different places.

It also happened on TRON Legacy at the end of Chapter 11 as the elevator was plummeting around 1:18:40 to the end of the chapter. I thought my speakers were going to fry it was so bad.

Only happens when bit streaming to the AVR. If I use LPCM (Oppo BDP-93) I have no issues. Also, I do not have this issue with the LG BD390 so I don't know what to make of this.

Isn't bit streaming the same regardless of the source? If that's the case, why do I get the pop from the Oppo but not the LG?

I'll give the same advice I gave last July - have you reproduced using a known bad Bluray? I don't know if the disks you list have it (but I would bet that Tron does not).

Also, since bitstreaming from one BD player causes issues but bitstreaming from another doesn't it really doesn't sound like this issue. It should affect you universally regardless of where the bitstream is coming from.

jasonvr is offline  
post #2203 of 2238 Old 05-14-2011, 03:57 PM
Senior Member
 
AYColumbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonvr View Post

I'll give the same advice I gave last July - have you reproduced using a known bad Bluray? I don't know if the disks you list have it (but I would bet that Tron does not).

Also, since bitstreaming from one BD player causes issues but bitstreaming from another doesn't it really doesn't sound like this issue. It should affect you universally regardless of where the bitstream is coming from.

The BD titles I own and have viewed multiple times with no issues are:
-Golden Compass
-Fantastic Four
-Close Encounters of the Third Kind
-Master and Commander (not the import)
-Flight of the Phoenix
-Flyboys

I'm just at a loss right now. Oppo seems to think it's the AVR, yet it only pops under certain conditions it seems. I'm working with their support on this. There are so many components that it's slow going trying to determine where the cause is. I've also replaced all my cables with new high-speed category 2 from FireFold just to be sure it wasn't the cables.

Here's the low down on the Stand By Me BD:
  • Consistently (~8 of 10 tries) will pop from the Oppo at ~32:23. But it only does this, in bitstreaming, if I play to that point uninterrupted, i.e., no pausing, fast forwarding, rewinding or via time stamp. Jumping to beginning of chapter and playing to pop point pretty much does it every time. This is the 2nd BD which is the replacement amazon.com sent as I initially thought it may have been the BD.
  • Also pops in other parts of the movie but not consistently, more like 1 or 2 out of 10 tries.
  • Does not pop through the LG BD390 when bitstreaming at all.
  • Using PowerDVD 10 Ultra and TMT 3 Platinum causes the same pops via my ASUS NJ71q laptop (ATI HD5730 Mobility)
  • Using PowerDVD 10 Ultra and TMT 3 Platinum via my HTPC (ATI HD5670) also pops
As for TRON Legacy, it was the 4th viewing and this is the first time it did this so there's something going on as this did not happen on the previous viewings. Every title that has exhibited this in the past few weeks has been a title with DTS-HD MA audio and non-repeatable. The only consistent/repeatable pop is on Stand By Me at 32:23. If someone else has this BD and can try this that would be much appreciated. Please note, per above, that you'll need to jumpt to chapter 6 and play to 32:23 uninterrupted. If it doesn't happen the first time, jump back and play again. You may have to do this a few times. Thank you.

@admins,
Do you think we need a separate thread for this issue? I don't want to hijack this one.

AYColumbia is offline  
post #2204 of 2238 Old 05-15-2011, 12:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nordo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Noosa,Australia
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just because the dvd has great LFEs, it doesn't mean it has the "bomb". There is a list of known dvds/tracks which have the bomb. I think the list is at the start of this thread (or close to it). Jason?
Nordo is offline  
post #2205 of 2238 Old 05-15-2011, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,023
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Right. The first post of this thread lists the discs known to have triggered this problem. The OP should definitely try one of those.

That said, unless one of those causes the issue as described in the first post, I'd recommend posting this in the Oppo thread or the AVR thread for assistance. From the description, it sounds like other Blu-ray players don't create this problem with the particular AVR. That suggests it is something about the Oppo/AVR combo that is amiss.

A temporary solution is to set the Oppo to output LPCM instead of bitstream. There should be no loss in audio quality.

____________________

Build Thread:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nathan_h is online now  
post #2206 of 2238 Old 05-15-2011, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
AYColumbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post

Right. The first post of this thread lists the discs known to have triggered this problem. The OP should definitely try one of those.

That said, unless one of those causes the issue as described in the first post, I'd recommend posting this in the Oppo thread or the AVR thread for assistance. From the description, it sounds like other Blu-ray players don't create this problem with the particular AVR. That suggests it is something about the Oppo/AVR combo that is amiss.

A temporary solution is to set the Oppo to output LPCM instead of bitstream. There should be no loss in audio quality.

Thanks nathan_h, yes, that's exactly what my current solution is, i.e., I'm using LPCM.

AYColumbia is offline  
post #2207 of 2238 Old 05-15-2011, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I heard this popping like fireworks out of the surround and rear surround speakers at one spot watching Tron Legacy the other night and just figured it was part of the soundtrack. It lasted about 10 seconds or so. I'm using the 7.1 analog outputs on my Denon 3800 to my Yamaha RX-Z9's analog input however. Is this what the issue is, or is it just part of the soundtrack?
StevenC56 is offline  
post #2208 of 2238 Old 05-15-2011, 12:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Urlacher5454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Yamaha RX-V765 and the only movie I've heard popping on is Bambi. That has a weird soundtrack though (DTS-HD HR 7.1) and it only happened when I paused the movie.
Urlacher5454 is offline  
post #2209 of 2238 Old 05-15-2011, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
AYColumbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post

I heard this popping like fireworks out of the surround and rear surround speakers at one spot watching Tron Legacy the other night and just figured it was part of the soundtrack. It lasted about 10 seconds or so. I'm using the 7.1 analog outputs on my Denon 3800 to my Yamaha RX-Z9's analog input however. Is this what the issue is, or is it just part of the soundtrack?

Yes, exactly what it was and about how long it lasted. It happened around the 1:18:40 time mark which is during the plummeting elevator scene. It came out of the mains and L/R sides on my system. Freaked out myself and my guests.

AYColumbia is offline  
post #2210 of 2238 Old 05-15-2011, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by AYColumbia View Post

Yes, exactly what it was and about how long it lasted. It happened around the 1:18:40 time mark which is during the plummeting elevator scene. It came out of the mains and L/R sides on my system. Freaked out myself and my guests.

Isn't this odd since I'm using analog multi channel? Is this one of the non repeatable situations I read about in this thread? I've never had this happen on any other movie. There's no mention of it on Yamaha's website, and I don't think the firmware can even be updated on my receiver anyway.
StevenC56 is offline  
post #2211 of 2238 Old 05-15-2011, 08:00 PM
Member
 
TK-713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too have the same issue. The problem is with reciever. It does this on alot of DTS MASTER disks and on the BD movie TANGLED and at the very end credits when the song starts playing i get this pop noise out of all the speakers. There is alot of movies that does this.

I have the PIONEER ELITE SC-09tx and have tryed to email PIONEER and no one there seems to give a **** about the problem. Way to go PIONEER seems u guys are taking a down hill and dont care aout selling quality products anymore.

I have also read that some people got this problem fixed by a firmware update or hardware change out.

This seems to be a big issue not only for PIONEER but other recievers as well, but at least some of them are making an effort to fix the problem.

COME ON PIONEER get your **** together PLEASE.....
TK-713 is offline  
post #2212 of 2238 Old 05-16-2011, 05:19 AM
Senior Member
 
AYColumbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post

Isn't this odd since I'm using analog multi channel? Is this one of the non repeatable situations I read about in this thread? I've never had this happen on any other movie. There's no mention of it on Yamaha's website, and I don't think the firmware can even be updated on my receiver anyway.

Not if the problem is in your 3800. For me, the TRON Legacy "fireworks" has been non-repeatable so far. I replayed chapter 11 6 or 7 times over the weekend and could not get it to happen.

AYColumbia is offline  
post #2213 of 2238 Old 05-16-2011, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by AYColumbia View Post
Not if the problem is in your 3800. For me, the TRON Legacy "fireworks" has been non-repeatable so far. I replayed chapter 11 6 or 7 times over the weekend and could not get it to happen.
I'm afraid to even watch the movie again now. I hope none of my speakers were damaged-It was extremely loud. From what I've read in this thread this will be just as loud and potentially damaging even if your volume is turned down. No firmware update for my Denon 3800 to correct this issue either. Has it been determined for sure that the DTS chip is the cause?
StevenC56 is offline  
post #2214 of 2238 Old 05-16-2011, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
AYColumbia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post

I'm afraid to even watch the movie again now. I hope none of my speakers were damaged-It was extremely loud. From what I've read in this thread this will be just as loud and potentially damaging even if your volume is turned down. No firmware update for my Denon 3800 to correct this issue either. Has it been determined for sure that the DTS chip is the cause?

Yeah, I know how you feel. I really don't know much about this as I stumbled onto this thread because of my issues. I actually had not even heard of the "bomb" issue until now so I can't really answer but there are plenty of others here who know about it. Also seems that my issue is not the "bomb" issue. You did bring up something I didn't try and that is turn the volume way down and see if the pops are affected. Thanks.

AYColumbia is offline  
post #2215 of 2238 Old 05-23-2011, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I sent DTS an email asking about this issue and they never responded. Has anybody else here contacted them and received a reply?
StevenC56 is offline  
post #2216 of 2238 Old 05-26-2011, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's not a DTS problem, it's an Onkyo problem...

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #2217 of 2238 Old 05-26-2011, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,631
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post

I sent DTS an email asking about this issue and they never responded. Has anybody else here contacted them and received a reply?

DTS did respond in this thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...5#post13463175
laugsbach is offline  
post #2218 of 2238 Old 05-26-2011, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,631
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimwhite View Post
It's not a DTS problem, it's an Onkyo problem...
Yamaha as well...
laugsbach is offline  
post #2219 of 2238 Old 05-26-2011, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PeterTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimwhite View Post
It's not a DTS problem, it's an Onkyo problem...
It's most certainly a DTS problem. It's their decoding application.

The DSP only carries out the instructions. DTS wrote those instructions.

My opinions do not reflect the policies of my company
PeterTHX is offline  
post #2220 of 2238 Old 05-26-2011, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimwhite View Post

It's not a DTS problem, it's an Onkyo problem...

My decoding is being performed by my Denon Blu-ray player.
StevenC56 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Onkyo Tx Sr705 Receiver , Panasonic Blu Ray Disc Player Dmp Bd30k
Gear in this thread - Sr705 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off