Blu Ray Component Output.... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 03-21-2008, 09:30 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
slyck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Component cable run in my walls to my Mits hd1000u...
Can any Blu Ray players upconvert or play blu ray discsthru Component cable or do i have to run HDMI cable in my walls?

any info is much appreciated

Thanks
slyck1
slyck1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 03-21-2008, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, in order to upconvert, you need to run video through HDMI.
Scoob is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 03-21-2008, 09:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
fa8362's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There might be some, but I'm not aware of any blu-ray players without component outputs. 1080p, however, isn't available over component and 480p is the limit on DVD via component.
fa8362 is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 03-21-2008, 09:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
nith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HDCP compliant won't allow upconvert over analog. A Sony A/V Receiver allows upconvert over component but it is a wash since any material that has a copyright protection, it falls back to either 480i/p.
nith is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 03-21-2008, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
slyck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats what I figured...
Now I have to run HDMI without destroying everything...

Thanks
slyck1 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 03-21-2008, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviman33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
slyck1,

All Blu-Ray disc will playback at 1080i or 720p via component. However, your Blu-Ray player will not allow you to upconvert SD DVD's. SD DVD's will playback at 480p.

I'm in the same situation as you with component cables run thru walls. And i don't want two disc players in my HT. So this is the work around. Rip your SD DVD's. When you playback ripped copies of SD DVD's, your Blu-Ray player can then upconvert to either 720p or 1080i.

I don't have a library of DVD's, I'm a renter. I rent the DVD, rip it, watch it and then trash it.

Jon
aviman33 is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 03-21-2008, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
slyck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well my Mitsu projector is 720p or 1080i, so I can watch bluray discs at those resolutions?
Thats beautiful!

Ya thats not too bad, ripping SD dvds is not really an issue, perfect!
slyck1 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 03-22-2008, 05:02 PM
Member
 
Dalelutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Narvon, PA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviman33 View Post

slyck1,

All Blu-Ray disc will playback at 1080i or 720p via component. However, your Blu-Ray player will not allow you to upconvert SD DVD's. SD DVD's will playback at 480p.

I'm in the same situation as you with component cables run thru walls. And i don't want two disc players in my HT. So this is the work around. Rip your SD DVD's. When you playback ripped copies of SD DVD's, your Blu-Ray player can then upconvert to either 720p or 1080i.

I don't have a library of DVD's, I'm a renter. I rent the DVD, rip it, watch it and then trash it.

Jon

I have started doing the same thing to watch standard dvds on my pioneer bdp 94. However I am interested in knowing what people think of the pioneer's upconverting capabilities. I have heard that the toshiba hddvd players are better. Do you or anyone know how the pioneer stacks up against other upconverters?
Dalelutz is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 03-22-2008, 11:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilian.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ex-50Hz, now 60Hz
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
There are already quite a few recent threads on 'upconvert' and 'component'. Is there a real need for another?

For example:
Can I use Blue Ray with Component Outlet?

Is there a BD Player that can output 720p/1080i through Component Video Cables?

I keep seeing people who mention that ripped DVDs can be upconverted via component without further qualifications, as if all players do that. Well, my Panny BD30 won't do it, it just gives you 480p.

Audiosceptics accept audio trials using 25 people. A recent Oxford study with over 353,000 patient records from 639 separate clinical trials shows for every 1,000 people taking diclofenac or ibuprofen there would be 3 additional heart attacks, 4 more cases of heart failure and 1 death every year.

Kilian.ca is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 03-23-2008, 06:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
aviman33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilian.ca View Post

I keep seeing people who mention that ripped DVDs can be upconverted via component without further qualifications, as if all players do that. Well, my Panny BD30 won't do it, it just gives you 480p.

Well, it's works on my Sony BDP-300. Playing the ripped disc allows me to choose output formats 480i, 480p, 720p, & 1080i on BDP-300. Then on my projector menu it displays the format being received. And it's telling me it's receiving exactly the output I'm choosing on the projector. In my case 1080i.

When I play the original disc, I can also change output formats on the BDP-300, but the projector menu only verifies receiving signal as 480i or 480P.

As far as the component upconvert quality of the BDP-300, it looks good to me. My SD-DVD player is a Zenith DVB-318, which is an excellent upconverter. But it's just too inconvenient to do a side by side comparison.

Concerning your the BD-30, go into it's menu and select to output 1080i with your ripped disc in the player and then check what your display device is receiving.

Not sure why your down on this thread, HDMI stuff is covered out the wazoo. I know that very few people are concerned with component output, other than us projector people. But for us it's a big issue, we have cables buried in walls, programmed remotes and racks already filled with equipment. The last thing i need is a 2nd media player just to upconvert SD DVD's.

John
aviman33 is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 03-23-2008, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilian.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ex-50Hz, now 60Hz
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I didn't say the Sony S300 won't do it: I know it does but the Panny doesn't. This isn't about the Sony or the merits of upconverting at all. Have you actually tried getting upconversion of non-protected DVDs via component on the Panny? Do you think I made a post without first checking the settings?

Audiosceptics accept audio trials using 25 people. A recent Oxford study with over 353,000 patient records from 639 separate clinical trials shows for every 1,000 people taking diclofenac or ibuprofen there would be 3 additional heart attacks, 4 more cases of heart failure and 1 death every year.

Kilian.ca is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 03-23-2008, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviman33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, I guess the Panny BD-30 won't do it, since you say so. However, I don't see why it wouldn't since the protection is stripped off in the copy process.

John
aviman33 is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 03-23-2008, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not a fanboy here, but nothing does a better job upconverting in my house than my Toshiba HDA2. My Blu-ray player does a descent job, but not nearly as good as the Toshiba.

Also, even at 1080i, I'll take HDMI over component any day. It's just a better picture.
leem6453 is online now  
post #14 of 22 Old 03-23-2008, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aviman33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by leem6453 View Post

Not a fanboy here, but nothing does a better job upconverting in my house than my Toshiba HDA2. My Blu-ray player does a descent job, but not nearly as good as the Toshiba.

Also, even at 1080i, I'll take HDMI over component any day. It's just a better picture.

Your missing the point, some of our TV's and projectors don't have HDMI inputs. And concerning the HDA2, that is an excellent upconverter, but also requires a ripped SD-DVD in able to upconvert via component.

John
aviman33 is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 03-23-2008, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh...sorry. I guess I got a little excited there.
leem6453 is online now  
post #16 of 22 Old 07-18-2008, 04:18 PM
Member
 
ChuckSF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Francisco peninsula
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilian.ca View Post

I didn't say the Sony S300 won't do it: I know it does but the Panny doesn't. This isn't about the Sony or the merits of upconverting at all. Have you actually tried getting upconversion of non-protected DVDs via component on the Panny? Do you think I made a post without first checking the settings?

In the Panasonic BD30 manual on page 7 it says:

"You can enjoy high definition images by connecting to a component video terminal that supports 720p and 1080i signals.
...
To enjoy high definition/progressive video
- Connect to a television that supports 480p or higher
- Set "Component Video Resolution" to "480p", "720p" or "1080i". (=> 22)
- Set "HDMI Video Mode" to "Off". (=> 22)
Otherwise, the video is output as 480i. "

DOES THIS MEAN UPCONVERSION?

If I insert a fully featured A/V receiver between the player and the LCD TV, may I presume that the same 720p upconversion will be passed through?

Chuck
ChuckSF is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 07-18-2008, 07:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
txrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using a DVD+RW works well for temporary ripping of SD-DVDs if your player can play them.

If it isn't 720p or 1080i/p it isn't HD. If it is 720p or 1080i/p it may not be HD content.
txrose is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 07-18-2008, 11:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilian.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ex-50Hz, now 60Hz
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckSF View Post

In the Panasonic BD30 manual on page 7 it says:

"You can enjoy high definition images by connecting to a component video terminal that supports 720p and 1080i signals.
...
To enjoy high definition/progressive video
- Connect to a television that supports 480p or higher
- Set "Component Video Resolution" to "480p", "720p" or "1080i". (=> 22)
- Set "HDMI Video Mode" to "Off". (=> 22)
Otherwise, the video is output as 480i. "

DOES THIS MEAN UPCONVERSION?

Yes, up to 1080i in Blu-ray discs (with 480i/p resolution as in the extras) and only to 480p for DVD-Video, which is only de-interlacing, not upconversion (see p.22 under 'component video resolution'). I'll say it again: the Panny will NOT upconvert non-protected (ripped) DVDs via component.

Audiosceptics accept audio trials using 25 people. A recent Oxford study with over 353,000 patient records from 639 separate clinical trials shows for every 1,000 people taking diclofenac or ibuprofen there would be 3 additional heart attacks, 4 more cases of heart failure and 1 death every year.

Kilian.ca is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 07-19-2008, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
aviman33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by txrose View Post

Using a DVD+RW works well for temporary ripping of SD-DVDs if your player can play them.

I've been using DVD -R's. Burn time on rw disc is too long.
aviman33 is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 07-19-2008, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviman33 View Post

slyck1,

All Blu-Ray disc will playback at 1080i or 720p via component. However, your Blu-Ray player will not allow you to upconvert SD DVD's. SD DVD's will playback at 480p.

I'm in the same situation as you with component cables run thru walls. And i don't want two disc players in my HT. So this is the work around. Rip your SD DVD's. When you playback ripped copies of SD DVD's, your Blu-Ray player can then upconvert to either 720p or 1080i.

Jon

That sounds like a good case for one of these "media centers" where you can rip+store DVDs. Most DVDs these days are dual-layer (even movie-only), so to get the best video quality you would NOT want to compress them down to a single-layer disc. Since dual-layer DVD-Rs are still much more expensive than single-layer DVD-Rs, trashing all those discs would seem to be an expensive option, and it might make the media center cost more palatable.

Yamaha DSP-A1 Integrated Amp
(4) Polk Monitor 10B's w/SoniCaps and Mills resistors (R/L F/R)
(2) Polk Monitor 4's w/peerless tweets (dual centers)
B&O TX2 Turntable
Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 Elite LD
Samsung BD-P2550 Blu-Ray/DVD
Princeton AF3.0HD Monitor
Optoma HD65 Projector
Stanton is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 07-19-2008, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
aviman33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post

That sounds like a good case for one of these "media centers" where you can rip+store DVDs. Most DVDs these days are dual-layer (even movie-only), so to get the best video quality you would NOT want to compress them down to a single-layer disc. Since dual-layer DVD-Rs are still much more expensive than single-layer DVD-Rs, trashing all those discs would seem to be an expensive option, and it might make the media center cost more palatable.

I've been using the Best Buy Dynex brand. They run frequent sales. Very cheap.
aviman33 is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 07-19-2008, 10:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 17,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilian.ca View Post

There are already quite a few recent threads on 'upconvert' and 'component'. Is there a real need for another?

For example:
Can I use Blue Ray with Component Outlet?

Is there a BD Player that can output 720p/1080i through Component Video Cables?

I keep seeing people who mention that ripped DVDs can be upconverted via component without further qualifications, as if all players do that. Well, my Panny BD30 won't do it, it just gives you 480p.


Thanks for the links.


OP, please try the search engine first before starting a new thread topic.

"Retired" AVS Moderator
rboster is offline  
Closed Thread Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off