The IR4PS3 Works just as promised - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 205 Old 04-27-2008, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
ody
Member
 
ody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: St Albert, AB,Canada
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I put myself on the email list to get the IR2BT a few weeks ago, and while I was waiting, I got this email

Quote:


Hello,
You demonstrate your interest in my IR for PS3 solution. The IR4PS3 Rev 2 is ready.
I now have full support from Logitech for IR4PS3.
My pricing for the IR4PS3 box with IR4PS3 logic is 40$.
If you already own a Sony BD remote you may extract the Sony BD Logic from your
original remote. The following video shows how to proceed:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wgfJAKEhZy4 or type IR4PS3 in
www.youtube.com
Important, this is a solderless integration.
If you prefer, I can buy the Sony BD remote for you at Best-Buy.ca at 24.99$+Tx. In
this case I’ll do the whole integration.
I don’t provide the Power Supply. Assume 8$ to 14$. I do suggest one in my
documentation.
The shipping cost with Canada Post should be around 9$ to 12$ with XpressPost:
Payment will be done to a PayPal account. I’ll provide this info if you wish to
proceed.
Regards,
Ben
ir4ps3athotmail.com

I had forgotten that I had put myself on that list months ago , after reading this:
http://www.remotecentral.com/article..._ir_remote.htm
It's now Rev 2. so now has it's own box just like the IR4BT.
I already had the sony BT remote, and a old cell phone charger that would work. So instead of waiting for the IR4BT email I decided to go for this.
It took all of 30min of watching the youtube video, using the door method to crack the sony remote open, to have a working IR4PS3 pluged in and working with my Harmony One just like the sony BT remote.
So if you're like me and don't need any more remotes laying around(sony ps3), have a old power supply that will work, and can follow directions. You can save a little bit of cash by going with the IR4PS3, and get rid of one remote you don't need anymore.
Worked well for me
Garth
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=983961
ody is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 205 Old 04-27-2008, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
ody
Member
 
ody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: St Albert, AB,Canada
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The .pdf

 

Ir4Ps3_rev2.pdf 289.1689453125k . file
ody is online now  
post #3 of 205 Old 04-27-2008, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, Earth
Posts: 2,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you order these kits from the US?
miata is offline  
post #4 of 205 Old 04-28-2008, 06:12 AM - Thread Starter
ody
Member
 
ody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: St Albert, AB,Canada
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by miata View Post

Can you order these kits from the US?

They do come from Canada, but I'm sure he'd send them to the US.
Email Ben and ask
Garth
ody is online now  
post #5 of 205 Old 04-28-2008, 11:11 AM
Member
 
vivarey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So let me get this straight. You paid $40 CDN plus ~$10 shipping, you provided your own power supply, and you destroyed your PS3 remote? I don't see this as a savings over IR2BT. However if you can't wait for the next batch of IR2BT, I suppose you don't have many options. If you are impatient, perhaps a better short-term solution is picking up with Nyko adapter.
vivarey is offline  
post #6 of 205 Old 04-28-2008, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Beerstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I like that he has built the power off sequence into the unit, instead of relying on the remote to do a macro. I have talked to MMueke about doing this with his product as well.

Is there a website for this yet? I would like to see more pictures, and read up a bit more on it.
Beerstalker is offline  
post #7 of 205 Old 04-28-2008, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
ody
Member
 
ody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: St Albert, AB,Canada
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivarey View Post

So let me get this straight. You paid $40 CDN plus ~$10 shipping, you provided your own power supply, and you destroyed your PS3 remote? I don't see this as a savings over IR2BT. However if you can't wait for the next batch of IR2BT, I suppose you don't have many options. If you are impatient, perhaps a better short-term solution is picking up with Nyko adapter.

It's not a short term solution, it's just as long term as the IR2BT.
If you don't have the sony bt remote then maybe it's not for you, or maybe you do and you just don't have enough remotes laying around collecting dust.
Garth
ody is online now  
post #8 of 205 Old 04-28-2008, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter
ody
Member
 
ody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: St Albert, AB,Canada
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beerstalker View Post

I like that he has built the power off sequence into the unit, instead of relying on the remote to do a macro. I have talked to MMueke about doing this with his product as well.

Is there a website for this yet? I would like to see more pictures, and read up a bit more on it.

Yes my PS3 turns off with one touch of the power button on my Harmony One, with out any macro.
I'm not sure of any web site, maybe email Ben and ask.
Garth
ody is online now  
post #9 of 205 Old 04-28-2008, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Airric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivarey View Post

So let me get this straight. You paid $40 CDN plus ~$10 shipping, you provided your own power supply, and you destroyed your PS3 remote? I don't see this as a savings over IR2BT. However if you can't wait for the next batch of IR2BT, I suppose you don't have many options. If you are impatient, perhaps a better short-term solution is picking up with Nyko adapter.

It's $40 USD + shipping, and if you don't have the PS3 remote already or you don't want to take yours apart, he sells an already assembled fully functional IR4PS3 for ~$68 USD + shipping.

But like someone else has already stated, this has the PS3 power off bluetooth sequence (macro) built into the device. No need to rely on your remote to simulate the PS press + hold, like many Universal Remote owners are finding difficulty doing. This to me makes it a more complete package than the IR2BT device, for anyone.

Eric
Current Concepts
Home Automation Specialists
Airric is offline  
post #10 of 205 Old 04-29-2008, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
NO1B4ME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Land O' Lakes, FLA.
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ody View Post

Yes my PS3 turns off with one touch of the power button on my Harmony One, with out any macro.
I'm not sure of any web site, maybe email Ben and ask.
Garth



Thanks for the link and the headsup. I just ordered 2 kits and paid for the fast shipping service with a total of 1 Benjamin Franklin .



I can finally control my 2 PS3's with my Hamrony One and my Pronto remote.

Thanks Again,
luis
NO1B4ME is offline  
post #11 of 205 Old 05-19-2008, 12:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
miata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, Earth
Posts: 2,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I Just got my IR4PS4 a couple of days ago. I went the kit route and the assembly was very straight forward if you watch the YouTube video. I originally purchased an 3V adapter from Radio Shack that did not work. I got quick feed back from Ben at IR4PS3 and exchanged the 3V for a 6V and everything worked fine.

Well, I have a Harmony 670, but my main squeeze is now a URX MX-350. I used the internet to get he codes for the Harmony and then learned the commands with the MX-350. Other than the select key, everything worked fine. Of course, the the select key is pretty important. Once I programmed the select key with the "X" key everything worked fine. I actually get real discrete off from an IR command -- unlike all competitive products that require the remote to run a macro that many URC and other remotes cannot deal with. I also get subtitles and audio options unlike with my Nyko set-up. My wife loves it since the same key now triggers the subtitles whether the source is OPPO DVD or PS3 Blu-ray. From her perspective, everything acts the same now.

I am now in hog heaven. I have a fully automated remote solution that incorporates the PS3. I use RF to an URC IR blaster that blasts an Xantech IR distribution system that has one IR emitter going to the IR4PS3 box and a bunch of others to the other components. The IR4PS4 is very responsive. I can blast up and down long video menus with all of the stuff in between my remote and the PS3. Works like a champ and perfect timing. I was just about ready to throw the PS3 out.
miata is offline  
post #12 of 205 Old 05-19-2008, 07:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Airric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Glad to hear it worked out for you Miata. I received mine a few weeks ago and it works flawlessy with my Pronto 3000/Xantech IR system. Response time is as instantaneous as any other piece of equipment in my rack, and it plain works, every time. Discrete power on and power off work perfect in EVERY scenario, and I've tried to torture test it.

I highly recommend the IR4PS3 for ANY remote. Ben's follow up service and response to questions/concerns has been top notch.

Eric
Current Concepts
Home Automation Specialists
Airric is offline  
post #13 of 205 Old 05-19-2008, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What is the link to his Web Site ???
Cain is offline  
post #14 of 205 Old 05-19-2008, 10:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, Earth
Posts: 2,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post

What is the link to his Web Site ???

No web site that I am aware off. The email address is ir4ps3@hotmail.com and if you want to know more about the product kit assembly there is a video on YouTube.
miata is offline  
post #15 of 205 Old 06-09-2008, 10:16 PM
Member
 
Rockhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my IR4PS3 today (only took 2 days XpressPost from Canada to the US... wow). Got it all hooked up with the power supply recommended from Best Buy, and the thing works perfect! finally, back down to one remote.... the URC TX-1000.

Thanks Ben, top notch product and service.
Rockhound is offline  
post #16 of 205 Old 07-02-2008, 07:43 AM
Newbie
 
NSMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivarey View Post

So let me get this straight. You paid $40 CDN plus ~$10 shipping, you provided your own power supply, and you destroyed your PS3 remote? I don't see this as a savings over IR2BT. However if you can't wait for the next batch of IR2BT, I suppose you don't have many options. If you are impatient, perhaps a better short-term solution is picking up with Nyko adapter.

The apparent advantage at the moment to the IR4PS3 is that the IR2BT now no longer works properly with the 2.40 update. The IR4PS3 functions fine, and relies on Sony's proprietary technology to operate, which means future updates will either cause no problems, or are likely to be resolved by Sony if problems do occur. I'll pay more for that.
NSMike is offline  
post #17 of 205 Old 07-02-2008, 08:06 AM
Member
 
x64Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


The apparent advantage at the moment to the IR4PS3 is that the IR2BT now no longer works properly with the 2.40 update.

ps3toothfairy still functions properly aswell.
x64Man is offline  
post #18 of 205 Old 07-05-2008, 01:33 PM
Member
 
banned phrase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can the ir4ps3 be powered by a usb power supply? (as mentioned on the ps3toothfairy website. not that i can find that particular cord anywhere...)
banned phrase is offline  
post #19 of 205 Old 07-05-2008, 01:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dark_Wizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver, NC
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by banned phrase View Post

can the ir4ps3 be powered by a usb power supply? (as mentioned on the ps3toothfairy website. not that i can find that particular cord anywhere...)

I believe only versions 3 & 4 can be powered by a USB. I ordered mine and it is version 4...can't wait till it gets here.

Bob
Dark_Wizard is offline  
post #20 of 205 Old 07-05-2008, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Airric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by banned phrase View Post

can the ir4ps3 be powered by a usb power supply? (as mentioned on the ps3toothfairy website. not that i can find that particular cord anywhere...)

The newest versions that are now shipping have a mini USB port for power. They still have the Type A connector so you have a choice of how you want to power it.

Eric
Current Concepts
Home Automation Specialists
Airric is offline  
post #21 of 205 Old 07-06-2008, 04:51 AM
Member
 
Gunserotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll just add my name to the list. The product works perfectly and support has been wicked. Ben should create a website but if you check out the youtube vide and read the *.pdf file it explains all.
Gunserotti is offline  
post #22 of 205 Old 07-06-2008, 11:09 AM
Member
 
banned phrase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any idea how long the process is, from e-mailing Ben until receiving? I e-mailed him about a week ago, but I've seen people say that it was months until he responded.
banned phrase is offline  
post #23 of 205 Old 07-06-2008, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dark_Wizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver, NC
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by banned phrase View Post

Any idea how long the process is, from e-mailing Ben until receiving? I e-mailed him about a week ago, but I've seen people say that it was months until he responded.

He answered my initial email regarding the product very quickly which was on Thursday. Sent him another email saying I wanted the unit and I needed his paypal info and he responded within a few hours, sent him the payment and an email stating so and he shipped the unit on Saturday also providing me a tracking number in an email.

Great experience for me, don't know what happened with the others but I am happy thus far.

Bob
Dark_Wizard is offline  
post #24 of 205 Old 07-06-2008, 01:05 PM
Member
 
banned phrase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, just wrote to him again. Hopefully I'll hear something soon. I dislike having that extra remote sitting beside my Harmony One!
banned phrase is offline  
post #25 of 205 Old 07-06-2008, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Ronnie 1.8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Castro Valley, CA (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Went to Amazon to order the PS3 remote, to prepare for assembly w/ the IR4PS3 kit, and the remote price incl shipping was $31.04. But the additional price for a fully assembled and tested IR4PS3 unit from Ben (vs the unassembled kit) is $28.20. So it's actually cheaper for me for Ben to assemble/test the unit. I cancelled my Amazon order before it shipped. I'll pay Ben the extra $$. He needs to be buying the PS3 remotes himself, but his profit appears to be absolutely minimum for his labor/time to assemble the unit. I know he can do it in 2 min per unit, but, still - I'd think he'd be charging $20 or something for his efforts. Great customer service. Looking foward to ditching the game controller when watching Blu-ray movies.
Ronnie 1.8 is offline  
post #26 of 205 Old 07-07-2008, 07:33 PM
Member
 
smashpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
sent an email last week and still no response. just got an email that ir2bt orders are going on tomorrow, but i think i'll go with this option instead.
smashpwnage is offline  
post #27 of 205 Old 07-07-2008, 09:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Ronnie 1.8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Castro Valley, CA (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I had to ping Ben a few times before he replied. He says his email volume has increased 30x as a result of the IR2BT delay (that is now resolved, I understand). I really like the fact tha the IR4PS3 solution utilizes the original PS3 remote module, so that's what I'm going with.

Ben says he expects to ship units the end of this week.
Ronnie 1.8 is offline  
post #28 of 205 Old 07-07-2008, 10:16 PM
Member
 
banned phrase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered my IR4PS3! It cost me just under $55 shipped (8-9 day to Texas). They say that the IR2BT guys believe that they have it future-proofed, but you never really know. I already have a PS3 remote, and I don't mind cannablizing it for this.


For those of you with the IR4PS3 and a Harmony remote... does the Harmony "Off" button turn off the PS3? Or do you have to select "Power Off" from the device menu? Same with turning it on. Can the Harmony turn it on, or does it have to be turned on in the device menu?
banned phrase is offline  
post #29 of 205 Old 07-08-2008, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by smashpwnage View Post

sent an email last week and still no response. just got an email that ir2bt orders are going on tomorrow, but i think i'll go with this option instead.

There is ANOTHER Solution in the Marketplace to Review

It is USER upgradable and possibly a better solution.
drhankz is offline  
post #30 of 205 Old 07-08-2008, 06:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Ronnie 1.8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Castro Valley, CA (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by banned phrase View Post

For those of you with the IR4PS3 and a Harmony remote... does the Harmony "Off" button turn off the PS3? Or do you have to select "Power Off" from the device menu? Same with turning it on. Can the Harmony turn it on, or does it have to be turned on in the device menu?

The IR4PS3 does have a PowerOff command that sends the macro PS (3 seconds) down down down up x x. This will turn of your PS3 from XMB, BD, game, CD. This is the default behavior of PowerOff. Yes, you can use your Harmony for turning your PS3 on, as well.

Did you receive a PDF from Ben? If so, all this info is in that file.

Question for you - how did you order your IR4PS3 already? Did you receive an email from Ben w/ the appropriate PayPal account info, and price? I'm on his list, and haven't received such info yet. I too want this unit over the IR2BT.
Ronnie 1.8 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off