Official Samsung BDP-1500 Master Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 392 Old 05-10-2008, 09:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
m1fuller68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw the Samsung 1500 in walmart today but I would only take it if it was free. To many issues in the past.
m1fuller68 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 392 Old 05-10-2008, 12:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
wabkab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by m1fuller68 View Post

I saw the Samsung 1500 in walmart today but I would only take it if it was free. To many issues in the past.

It is filtering into some Best Buys. Hopefully we'll get some buyers input soon. One of these days/generations, they may get it right. It does look nice.

Tony B
wabkab is offline  
post #93 of 392 Old 05-10-2008, 02:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Wazzey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Evansville, In.

Went to wallyworld and they don't have any yet. Went to BB and they had a price sign up for it but they don't have any ordered and they couldn't order any either.

Mike's attempt at a Theater

DIY motorized masking system

"Name?" Shropshire Slasher
"Occupation?" Shropshire Slasher
Wazzey is offline  
post #94 of 392 Old 05-10-2008, 03:25 PM
Member
 
jmacd27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by baltneu View Post

Don't know what you guys are talking about.........have a Samsung plasma, 5884, the tv is fantastic, best picture I have ever seen.
Also have Samsung 1400 Blu Ray player, have ugraded the firmware a few times, the unit is flawless, perfect.

I have the exact same tv and Blu Ray player and my experiences are the same, both have been flawless and a joy to own.
jmacd27 is offline  
post #95 of 392 Old 05-10-2008, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
 
audiophreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my store got in 2 yesterday, i sold both of them. Im waiting for more so i can put one on display, and once i do ill chime in on how it is.
audiophreak is offline  
post #96 of 392 Old 05-10-2008, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
gushin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My local Best Buy had 3 of them in. But none were hooked up to a TV and there was no price tag anywhere near them. The store was so hectic (everybody buying for Mother's Day) I didn't bother to ask any sales associates about it. But they are out there.
gushin is offline  
post #97 of 392 Old 05-11-2008, 09:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I picked up the Samsung BDP-1500 from BB and used a 12% off coupon. Took care of the tax here and saved me a little bit on top of that.

Before I comment on the sammy it's only fair to provide some background.

I'm coming from a HTPC env, so the load times on teh disc seem a tad slow to me. I realize others have said it's inline to what one would expect from other stand alone but I have to say my several year old PC can load up bluray/hd-dvd much much faster. Again I realize this isn't a fair comparision as the PC's are much more powerful. What the PC doesn't have currently is bitstreaming of the hidef codecs in all it's glory and this is where these standalones (currently) shine.

I got Cloverfield from Blockbuster and it sounds great. Oh and I also picked up an Onkyo 606 with 10% off from circuit city which will decode the hidef audio codecs.

The network connection does appear to work. I plugged it into my router and it appears to connect to it's server and look for updates. It reported there was none to download currently.

It's pretty skinny and light (atleast compared to the goliath Onkyo). On the setup menu there was an option to turn on 24fps if your TV supports it. Mine doesn't. This was one reason I didn't go with the cheaper Philips 7200 where one reviewer complained about "jaggies" on 1080p60hz though others have pointed out that that may have been a defective unit. Additionally I liked the fact this thing has an ethernet connection as well as a USB which I don't know what for (yet - haven't opened the manual).

Incase anyone is interested, this appears to play BDROM (as in backup discs??) According to the sticker on it as well as DVD-R/DVD-RW/CD. It won't work with DVD+R/RW. Why? Don't know.

The pic quality - well jury is still out. The ONE disc I tried Cloverfield seems grainy and a tad dark. Doesn't mean there is anything wrong with the player. More likely my own setup is not tweaked yet.
ymarker is offline  
post #98 of 392 Old 05-11-2008, 10:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^Is that Cloverfield on dvd? I didn't think it came out on blu until June.
leem6453 is online now  
post #99 of 392 Old 05-11-2008, 10:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rlsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 5,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Cloverfield is not out on Blu-ray yet, and in any case, seems a very poor choice for reference material.

Cloverfield was deliberately filmed to look like people were carrying around a video camera. So it has all of the imperfections one would expect from such cinematography.

I suggest trying some of the reference titles from Sony or Disney: Casino Royale, Ratattoille, Pirates, etc.
rlsmith is offline  
post #100 of 392 Old 05-11-2008, 11:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by leem6453 View Post

^Is that Cloverfield on dvd? I didn't think it came out on blu until June.

Correction : Day after tomorrow.
ymarker is offline  
post #101 of 392 Old 05-12-2008, 07:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can anyone who has the player confirm that the player's TrueHD decoding is limited to 2.0?

Thanks,

Scott

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #102 of 392 Old 05-13-2008, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ive been looking at this player as well. No stores in Charlotte, NC seem to have this player though. Checked Best buy and Walmart. Sounds like a good player although I am leery of Samsung!
Andrew P is offline  
post #103 of 392 Old 05-13-2008, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
jongig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northeast PA.
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Integra 9.8 and use my HTPC for playing Bluray but I'd like to upgrade to a player that will work with the Integra and give me full HD audio. Will this player work and provide the bitstream to the Integra?

I'd like to purchase this but no reason to if I still will not be able to play the new HD audio from Blurays.
jongig is offline  
post #104 of 392 Old 05-13-2008, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
georule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Somebody please test load time for Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer. From a cold powered-off start with the disc already in the tray, I get 3m 0s for a Sony S300 from the moment I push the Power button on the remote to the point where the red copyright warning screen on the movie comes up. I dream of a stand-alone (i.e. non-PS3) unit being able to do that in less than 1 minute some day. . . .
georule is offline  
post #105 of 392 Old 05-13-2008, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
 
rallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Salisbury, MD
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apparently, BB's website says it does decode Dolby True HD, but only into 2 channel. Anyone have any verification of this?

Thanks.
rallen is offline  
post #106 of 392 Old 05-13-2008, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I saw one of these at the Ocean, NJ Walmart today. I couldn't find the price though. Looks like it has a nice feature set.
RWetmore is online now  
post #107 of 392 Old 05-13-2008, 08:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I picked one up today at a Walmart. I have not had time to hook it up but read through the manual. The manual is confusing on the TrueHD 2.0 issue- it appears it will only bitstream 2 channels???

This is what the manual states:

When the player outputs HD audio bitstream (Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio) from the optical jack to an HDMI 1.3 receiver only 2 channel PCM audio will be heard.


Call me confused ..?? I will have time to test it tomorrow and report back.

It does say it will re-encode all audio to DTS.


Scott

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #108 of 392 Old 05-13-2008, 10:31 PM
Member
 
friedriceballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada...eh (Edmonton, AB)
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKoprowski View Post

I picked one up today at a Walmart. I have not had time to hook it up but read through the manual. The manual is confusing on the TrueHD 2.0 issue- it appears it will only bitstream 2 channels???

This is what the manual states:

When the player outputs HD audio bitstream (Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio) from the optical jack to an HDMI 1.3 receiver only 2 channel PCM audio will be heard.


Call me confused ..?? I will have time to test it tomorrow and report back.

It does say it will re-encode all audio to DTS.


Scott

Yes please do report back , but I believe the 2 channel PCM limitation applies to the optical audio output specifically, otherwise they would specify an HDMI issue.

"Don't you hate it when patients come to you with information they found on the web?"
friedriceballer is offline  
post #109 of 392 Old 05-13-2008, 11:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKoprowski View Post

I picked one up today at a Walmart. I have not had time to hook it up but read through the manual. The manual is confusing on the TrueHD 2.0 issue- it appears it will only bitstream 2 channels???

This is what the manual states:

When the player outputs HD audio bitstream (Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio) from the optical jack to an HDMI 1.3 receiver only 2 channel PCM audio will be heard.


Call me confused ..?? I will have time to test it tomorrow and report back.

It does say it will re-encode all audio to DTS.


Scott

TosLink (fiber optic/SPDIF) does not have enough bandwidth to carry multichannel hidef audio - hence the manual is saying you'll only get 2.0. Additionally it states the player can, if you'd like re-encode the audio. Under setting however you can choose to bitstream it as is and it sends it across untouched assuming your receiver can decode it.
ymarker is offline  
post #110 of 392 Old 05-14-2008, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fireman325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the tip ymarker. I've been thinking about grabbing this player, but was hesitant on account of the 2.0 thing. My receiver can decode the bitstream codecs so it won't be an issue for me.

Steve

fireman325 is offline  
post #111 of 392 Old 05-14-2008, 07:57 AM
 
iknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post

TosLink (fiber optic/SPDIF) does not have enough bandwidth to carry multichannel hidef audio - hence the manual is saying you'll only get 2.0. Additionally it states the player can, if you'd like re-encode the audio. Under setting however you can choose to bitstream it as is and it sends it across untouched assuming your receiver can decode it.


I hope that is correct. I am looking to buy this player and my receiver (Denon 3808) is capable of decoding HD. Can anyone test whether it can bistream multichannel (not just 2.0) hidef audio through HDMI?
iknown is offline  
post #112 of 392 Old 05-14-2008, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Kishiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone who owns this player check if it exhibits the pause powerdown "feature" that the BDP-1400 has. Clarifiacation: The BDP-1400 will, if you press the "pause" button while watching a movie, pause, and after a couple of minutes go into "stop" mode by itself. And then after even some more minutes it will finally turn itself off.


I would like someone to test the following;
Press 'pause' (") while wathcing a movie. Leave the player for a couple of hours. Check if the player is a.) still on, and b.) still in pause mode.
Kishiro is offline  
post #113 of 392 Old 05-14-2008, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WLA CA
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Until they fix the 5k fiasco I would stay clear from this player, True HD will not be 5.1/7.1 until Oct fw is released for this unit. As usual Sam released a piece of hardware that is pretty much useless without the proper software written for it. No Reon chip and no 5.1 analogs either, I would wait for the Panny no doubt.
Nimo is offline  
post #114 of 392 Old 05-14-2008, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jpco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 1,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why are there so many players that promise future compatibility with a firmware update? If they are sure the functionality is there, then why not deliver it with the unit? It doesn't seem that these promises are binding, especially with Samsung. I'll wait until the player delivers what is promised in basic functionality out of the box.
jpco is offline  
post #115 of 392 Old 05-14-2008, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
yellowcanary73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: McKinney,Texas
Posts: 2,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Most manufacturers use the customers as their testers.
yellowcanary73 is offline  
post #116 of 392 Old 05-14-2008, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nimo View Post

Until they fix the 5k fiasco I would stay clear from this player, True HD will not be 5.1/7.1 until Oct fw is released for this unit. As usual Sam released a piece of hardware that is pretty much useless without the proper software written for it. No Reon chip and no 5.1 analogs either, I would wait for the Panny no doubt.

Huh? Where did you read about the TrueHD issue? I will test it out this evening but all indications are the 1500 will decode 5.1 TrueHD- it will only pass 2.0 if you use the optical. DTS-HD may happen with a future firmware update.

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #117 of 392 Old 05-14-2008, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Woodshed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKoprowski View Post

Huh? Where did you read about the TrueHD issue? I will test it out this evening but all indications are the 1500 will decode 5.1 TrueHD- it will only pass 2.0 if you use the optical. DTS-HD may happen with a future firmware update.

I finally got 1 today. I will also test and report back a quick review. Everything I have read indicates that this player will bitstream all HD codecs to a processor, 5.1 or 7.1.
Woodshed is offline  
post #118 of 392 Old 05-14-2008, 02:00 PM
Member
 
REVolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
look forward to your thoughts. i'm awaiting for my local BB to get these in stock.
REVolution is offline  
post #119 of 392 Old 05-14-2008, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
iove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have a link to an office Samsung spec sheet? Couldn't find it on the Samsung web site.
iove is offline  
post #120 of 392 Old 05-14-2008, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hooked it up when I got home (before the wife and kids) and played with it for 30 minutes or so. Huge improvement over my Philips BDP9000 in terms of speed and has slightly better pic quality which I think may be the fact that the 1500 does not have a BTB issue with my display like my older player. All my discs played fine and POTC and Superbad loaded in a third of the time then what I was used to. It does appear that TrueHD is multichannel when the player decodes it. I use "appear" because my display on my Onkyo 674 receiver (which is HDMI 1.1) reads the TrueHD as "Multi 48:" The interesting thing is if I use TrueHD on my HD-DVD player it reads "Multi 48: 3/2.1." I'm not sure the difference as the sound is clearly coming out all 5.1 speakers with the blu-ray player. I compared the TrueHD track with the uncompressed Multi-PCM track and they were almost identical- all the surrounds were definately seperate channels- so may it is just a quirk with my receiver.

Overall I am impressed so far. I also connected the player online and searched for a firmware update and it connected without issue and told me no new firmware was available.

Oh yeah- I also tested the recoding feature and the audio was very good when the player recoded everything to DTS. We'll see if any issues come up but so far I think it may be a sleeper hit this summer.

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off