The Official Samsung BD-P1500 Owner's Thread - Page 101 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3001 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 12:54 PM
Member
 
wozman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London Ontario Canada
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was wondering if anyone here can shed some light for me about this player. I currently picked up a Yamaha HTR-6160 Receiver, and have the popular PS3 hooked up to the receiver with HDMI. However the PS3 does all the decoding in it, and hence doesn't produce the TRUE-HD logo on my receiver, it only shows it in PCM. Sound is still terrific, but I am probably going to get a second Blu-Ray player in the new year, and want to know if this player, currently at all box stores, (Best Buy) leaves the signal normal, and lets my receiver do the decoding? so my Yamaha Receiver will show the TRUE-HD sound that I thought I was getting. Any info greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Display#1: Pioneer Kuro Plasma PDP-5020FD (Living Room)
Display#2: Panasonic Plasma TC-P55ST60 (Rec-Room)
Display#3: Samsung LED SmartTV - UN32EH5300 (Bedroom)
Receiver: Pioneer VSX-1326-k -- Speakers: Bose Acoustimass 6 Series III
BD Player: Sony BDP-S350 -- PS3 & PS4
HTPC: Home Theatre PC
wozman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3002 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 01:04 PM
Member
 
zooba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wozman View Post

Was wondering if anyone here can shed some light for me about this player. I currently picked up a Yamaha HTR-6160 Receiver, and have the popular PS3 hooked up to the receiver with HDMI. However the PS3 does all the decoding in it, and hence doesn't produce the TRUE-HD logo on my receiver, it only shows it in PCM. Sound is still terrific, but I am probably going to get a second Blu-Ray player in the new year, and want to know if this player, currently at all box stores, (Best Buy) leaves the signal normal, and lets my receiver do the decoding? so my Yamaha Receiver will show the TRUE-HD sound that I thought I was getting. Any info greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Yes the 1500 can bitstream all audio codecs so that compatible receivers can decode them directly.
zooba is offline  
post #3003 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 02:08 PM
Member
 
erzak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any idea if it makes For Your Eyes Only playable? I did a search on Samsung's website and Google (on the firmware version) and came up with nothing.
erzak is offline  
post #3004 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 02:53 PM
Member
 
ducky124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jwmart View Post

I upgraded to the latest firmware just a few minutes ago, and noticed as the player was booting back up (after it had powered down after the update was complete) a screen came up with a notice on it (a few lines of text). I didnt catch what was on that notice because I had pressed the menu button a half a second before it appeared so as soon as it displayed, it was gone. Can anyone tell me what that message said? Thanks in advance.

1 for English
2 for Spanish
3 for french

and macrovision version
ducky124 is offline  
post #3005 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 03:15 PM
Newbie
 
kranke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by erzak View Post

Any idea if it makes For Your Eyes Only playable? I did a search on Samsung's website and Google (on the firmware version) and came up with nothing.

Yes it finally plays on my 1500.
kranke is offline  
post #3006 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
amb7247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
if the player says you have the latest firmware I would believe it would mean that you have a connection. As logn as you are using a regular patch cable and have DNS and DHCP set to auto then you shoudl be getting an IP. Another way is to go to yoru router and see what is connected to it on the LAN.

Xbox Live: ShadyFusion23

PSN: Nukleard1sa5t0r

amb7247 is offline  
post #3007 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 04:26 PM
Member
 
catttman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 1500 just asked or told me a update is here yes/no I hit yes so see what it does 7:45 12-2-09
catttman is offline  
post #3008 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 04:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
blastoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
V2.1 - This firmware version has a fix so my network configuration doesn't interfere with the operation of the player! Nice improvement.

John
blastoff is offline  
post #3009 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 04:55 PM
Newbie
 
HenryKrinkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any other changes like audio codecs or Netflix in 2.1?
HenryKrinkle is offline  
post #3010 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 05:24 PM
Member
 
fumanstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.samsung.com/us/support/do...sp_nm=BD-P1500

Looks like just a compatibility update for some movies.
fumanstan is offline  
post #3011 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
ragged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Ha, just updated fw. Redid settings then turned it off. Was watching TV, for 20 minutes and the player just turned on and then off by itself. Must be a ghost in the machine!
ragged is online now  
post #3012 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 06:18 PM
Member
 
Dick Laurent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragged View Post

Ha, just updated fw. Redid settings then turned it off. Was watching TV, for 20 minutes and the player just turned on and then off by itself. Must be a ghost in the machine!

Yeah, mine has been real shaky after 2.1 as well. It's been rock solid, until tonight...

"A skilled TV repairman, or the shop in which you buy your set, can detach the audio section of the unit from the amplifier and plug it into your hi-fi rig." - Martin Mayer, Hi-Fi, 1956
Dick Laurent is offline  
post #3013 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 07:16 PM
Member
 
kpmac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When they release compatibility updates, I wish they'd indicate which movies they supposedly address.
kpmac1 is offline  
post #3014 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 09:32 PM
Newbie
 
Vladman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please help me with step by step instruction how can I change regional code of my player from region C to multizone.
Thanks in advance
Vladman is offline  
post #3015 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 09:34 PM
Newbie
 
Vladman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Player is Samsung BD-P1500
Vladman is offline  
post #3016 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 10:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Upgraded to 2.1 on my 1500 via USB and everything is working great. For Your Eyes Only now plays and the 1500 also now plays the only other disc I had issues with (Biggest Loser workout video on DVD). Snappy loading times. Very happy with the 1500 so far. Have played approximately 45-50 movies with no issues now.

The only thing I hate is that after a firmware update I have to re-input the time and date info and audio options default back to factory settings. Annoying.

But so far the 1500 has been a keeper.
ack_bk is offline  
post #3017 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 10:54 PM
Newbie
 
betacub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jepp114 View Post

Press the popup menu button, then info, the popup menu again and that should get rid of it.

Not so much, unfortunately. I've seen that solution presented for removing the BonusView icon, but it didn't work for the Angle icon.

Note that this is on a standard def disc. Hitting the popup menu button just took me back to scene selection screen, where info didn't have any effect.
betacub is offline  
post #3018 of 5645 Old 12-02-2008, 11:10 PM
Member
 
3D Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe the only way to prevent the "ANGLE" icon from displaying is to disable onscreen messages altogether:

Setup / Display Setup / Screen Messages (set this to "OFF")


. . . Just have to remember to turn Screen Messages back "ON" again after watching the problem disc. Someone correct me if I'm wrong here.
3D Guy is offline  
post #3019 of 5645 Old 12-03-2008, 12:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
SlaughterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alsip, IL
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sure this has already been answered, but does this player support DTS-HD at all? Also can it in fact be upgraded to a 2.0 player? My Ps3 is dead and I need a new player that supports both HD audio formats, and I would like a player that is also Profile 2.0. This player is on sale today at Amazons o it seems like a good choice if it can do these things...

NVM, looks like this PDF just answered all my questions.
SlaughterX is offline  
post #3020 of 5645 Old 12-03-2008, 04:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Low Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladman View Post

Please help me with step by step instruction how can I change regional code of my player from region C to multizone.
Thanks in advance

Sorry, Samsung has only allowed Region A players to be automatic multizone as long as the format is NTSC. All others do not multizone.

Yes, my 2010 Panasonic 42C2 performs better than an S2 No floating blacks and keeps the lowest black levels.
Low Tech is offline  
post #3021 of 5645 Old 12-03-2008, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
dxjnorto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Saint George, UT
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ack_bk View Post

Upgraded to 2.1 on my 1500 via USB.

Yeah, just noticed that firmware update. No Netflix or Pandora. Maybe that was an empty hope for the 1500?
dxjnorto is offline  
post #3022 of 5645 Old 12-03-2008, 09:14 AM
Member
 
brickwindow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
About the Netflix Streaming...

I called support last week and was able to get through to a level 2 technician to ask about Netflix support. The guy I spoke with was very nice and told me that they have been receiving a lot of "inquiries" regarding both current/future Netflix compatibility with the 1500.

I asked if there are any plans to upgrade the 1500 at some point to include Netflix streaming, and was told that there is no plan to add Netflix support. He said if I want Netflix streaming my only option would be the 2500/2550 models. I asked if there is any hope at all that I might see a firmware update to provide the functionality or if it was a hardware limitation? Again, he was very polite and and apologetically said they have no plans to add it to the 1500 and only the 2500/2550 provide that functionality.

He definitely sidestepped any information regarding the hardware, and I could hear from his voice that he has probably dealt with this question numerous times. He seemed sincerely empathetic, but it's pretty obvious now that they are intentionally crippling the 1500 to differentiate it from their higher end offerings.

I actually sold my 1500 on craigslist last night and hope to pick up a 2500 if they drop back under $300 at big river this month. My real dream would be a Samsung player with HQV, Netflix streaming, and Divx support via USB! Anyone know if that is in the pipeline
brickwindow is offline  
post #3023 of 5645 Old 12-03-2008, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickwindow View Post

About the Netflix Streaming...

I called support last week and was able to get through to a level 2 technician to ask about Netflix support. The guy I spoke with was very nice and told me that they have been receiving a lot of "inquiries" regarding both current/future Netflix compatibility with the 1500.

I asked if there are any plans to upgrade the 1500 at some point to include Netflix streaming, and was told that there is no plan to add Netflix support. He said if I want Netflix streaming my only option would be the 2500/2550 models. I asked if there is any hope at all that I might see a firmware update to provide the functionality or if it was a hardware limitation? Again, he was very polite and and apologetically said they have no plans to add it to the 1500 and only the 2500/2550 provide that functionality.

He definitely sidestepped any information regarding the hardware, and I could hear from his voice that he has probably dealt with this question numerous times. He seemed sincerely empathetic, but it's pretty obvious now that they are intentionally crippling the 1500 to differentiate it from their higher end offerings.

I actually sold my 1500 on craigslist last night and hope to pick up a 2500 if they drop back under $300 at big river this month. My real dream would be a Samsung player with HQV, Netflix streaming, and Divx support via USB! Anyone know if that is in the pipeline

Bottomline is that I would not believe what a CSR says. I doubt he is allowed to discuss future capabilities until there is a press release.

That said, I personally do not think Samsung will be offering Netflix streaming via the 1500 anytime soon. They clearly want to differentiate the 2500/2550 over the 1500 and Netflix and Pandora allow them to do just that. I can't blame you for wanting a 2500. Once they offer internal DTS-HD-MA decoding that will be one terrific player for the money. HQV alone is worth the extra money IMHO. Please report back if you get a 2500 and let us know how it stacks up to the 1500. Especially in terms of upconversion.
ack_bk is offline  
post #3024 of 5645 Old 12-03-2008, 09:31 AM
Member
 
fumanstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ack_bk View Post

Upgraded to 2.1 on my 1500 via USB and everything is working great. For Your Eyes Only now plays and the 1500 also now plays the only other disc I had issues with (Biggest Loser workout video on DVD). Snappy loading times. Very happy with the 1500 so far. Have played approximately 45-50 movies with no issues now.

The only thing I hate is that after a firmware update I have to re-input the time and date info and audio options default back to factory settings. Annoying.

But so far the 1500 has been a keeper.

Glad to hear about For Your Eyes Only as I have that coming from Amazon. Updating mine now.
fumanstan is offline  
post #3025 of 5645 Old 12-03-2008, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
rocinante67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 2.1 upgrade also fixes the problem with the "bonusview" message appearing and staying on screen during playback.
rocinante67 is offline  
post #3026 of 5645 Old 12-03-2008, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocinante67 View Post

The 2.1 upgrade also fixes the problem with the "bonusview" message appearing and staying on screen during playback.

Excellent. I was going to check on this and did not have time last night.
ack_bk is offline  
post #3027 of 5645 Old 12-03-2008, 09:51 AM
Member
 
brickwindow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ack_bk View Post

Bottomline is that I would not believe what a CSR says. I doubt he is allowed to discuss future capabilities until there is a press release.

That said, I personally do not think Samsung will be offering Netflix streaming via the 1500 anytime soon. They clearly want to differentiate the 2500/2550 over the 1500 and Netflix and Pandora allow them to do just that. I can't blame you for wanting a 2500. Once they offer internal DTS-HD-MA decoding that will be one terrific player for the money. HQV alone is worth the extra money IMHO. Please report back if you get a 2500 and let us know how it stacks up to the 1500. Especially in terms of upconversion.

ack_bk- I definitely hear you on the CSR reliability. The guy I spoke with laughed a little at the third time of me asking essentially the same question. It became pretty obvious he knew, that I knew, he couldn't say what EVERYONE knows with the omission of Netflix from the latest firmware.

As for the 2500 purchase, I'm beginning to tire of the Amazon perpetual price roller coaster. I wanted to pick up the 2500 last week at 299 and wanted to wait to sell my 1500 over the weekend. Then I saw it dropped to 269! I sold my player when I went to put in my order on Sunday night it up to 349? I'll probably just buy it and do a 30 day adjustment when it drops again.

BTW, Does anyone know if any other players compare or exceed Samsungs HQV models for upscaling? I have been looking at some Panasonics because of the Divx support, but everything seems to point to the 2500/2550 being the best for upscaling and overall PQ in the sub $400 range. Any input is appreciated.

Thanks!
brickwindow is offline  
post #3028 of 5645 Old 12-03-2008, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickwindow View Post

BTW, Does anyone know if any other players compare or exceed Samsungs HQV models for upscaling? I have been looking at some Panasonics because of the Divx support, but everything seems to point to the 2500/2550 being the best for upscaling and overall PQ in the sub $400 range. Any input is appreciated.

Thanks!

I have heard that the upscaling in the Panasonic 35/55 is solid, but I doubt it could match the HQV used in the 2500. Cnet gives the 2500 excellent marks for upscaling and stated that it is "a hair behind the Oppo983" which is considered by many to be the best upscaling player out there for the money. I have personally spent time with an Oppo983 and compared it side by side with my PS3 and the Oppo was definitely a superior upscaler. And I also feel that my PS3 is a slightly better upscaler than my 1500. So that should tell you something

Do you have an HDMI 1.3 receiver that can decode DTS-HD-MA via bitstreaming?
ack_bk is offline  
post #3029 of 5645 Old 12-03-2008, 10:16 AM
Member
 
digason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 2.1 firmware play Casino? Works with 1.3 but not 2.0.

302 Blu-ray Discs and counting.
digason is offline  
post #3030 of 5645 Old 12-03-2008, 10:48 AM
Member
 
fumanstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickwindow View Post

I'll probably just buy it and do a 30 day adjustment when it drops again.

Amazon doesn't do that anymore though, at least according to their new policy. Although maybe you could fight for it.
fumanstan is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off