The Official Samsung BD-P1500 Owner's Thread - Page 172 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5131 of 5647 Old 10-16-2009, 05:57 PM
Member
 
frozengash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
by the way i love the netflix streaming on my xbox360. great for kids shows/movies. just embarrassing when your friends know your kids are watching Beverly hills Chihuahua
frozengash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5132 of 5647 Old 10-16-2009, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gorthocar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by frozengash View Post

wait did you say netflix? on the 1500? you are teasing right...

Yes, a dream of what we wish would come true, but is very improbable to arrive on a 1500.

Bazinga!

gorthocar is offline  
post #5133 of 5647 Old 10-16-2009, 10:07 PM
Newbie
 
LexxM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought I'd repost this for new readers. Since Samsung seems incapable of delivering actual reliable improvement with every version of firmware and since Samsung seems to be uninterested to keep previous versions on their update site, it seems that we ought to have an archive online somewhere of all the previous versions of the BD-P1500 firmware.

http://www.mediafire.com/bd-p1500-firmware

And here is the list of what is there so that search engines can find it:

Samsung_BD-P1500_Firmware_1.3_cd_080808_01_BDP1500_XAA_ISO.zip
Samsung_BD-P1500_Firmware_1.3_usb_080808_01_BDP1500_XAA.zip
Samsung_BD-P1500_Firmware_2.0_cd_080929_01_BDP1500_XAA_ISO.zip
Samsung_BD-P1500_Firmware_2.0_usb_080929_01_BDP1500_XAA.zip
Samsung_BD-P1500_Firmware_2.1_cd_081126_01_BDP1500_XAA_ISO.zip
Samsung_BD-P1500_Firmware_2.1_usb_081126_01_BDP1500_XAA.zip
Samsung_BD-P1500_Firmware_2.3_cd_090105_01_BDP1500_XAA_ISO.zip
Samsung_BD-P1500_Firmware_2.3_usb_090105_01_BDP1500_XAA.zip
Samsung_BD-P1500_Firmware_2.4_cd_090416_01_BDP1500_XAA_ISO.zip
Samsung_BD-P1500_Firmware_2.4_usb_090407_01_BDP1500_XAA.zip
Samsung_BD-P1500_Firmware_2.4_usb_090416_01_BDP1500_XAA.zip
Samsung_BD-P1500_Firmware_2.5_rel20091007_cd_090928_01_BDP1500_XAA_ISO. zip
Samsung_BD-P1500_Firmware_2.5_rel20091007_usb_090928_01_BDP1500_XAA_USB .zip

Enjoy!
LexxM3 is offline  
post #5134 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 12:36 AM
Newbie
 
NCC-1701-Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I have been following this thread for some time (and I think I have searched it twice) but I keep having a problem with Dolby TrueHD. I have the BD-P1500 linked with a 1.3.HDMI-cable to the Samsung AV-R720 (I actually bought this in a special promo-package in one big box - thinking the two must work well together).
I have the sound output set as "Bitstream Audiophile" but whenever I choose a TrueHD-soundtrack the receiver does not recognize it (or at least the TrueHD-icon does not light up). I contacted Samsung in the Netherlands by mail and they advised me to take the receiver back to the store which will send it to their service center. I want to try all possible solutions before I do this - having had some bad experiences with service centers...
What else do I have to setup in order to enjoy uncompressed TrueHD-sound? Is there anything I missed? Thanks in advance!
NCC-1701-Q is offline  
post #5135 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 06:55 AM
Member
 
emerson8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problem with true-hd ?

For me it's just the opposite.. All dolby material, inc true-hd works perfectly but
DTS-hd/master either sync's badly (like 5-10 seconds off..) or drops-out from time to time
emerson8 is offline  
post #5136 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 07:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Matt1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorthocar View Post

Yes, a dream of what we wish would come true, but is very improbable to arrive on a 1500.

Agreed.

I would be very surprised if Samsung added any extra features to this player. The 1500 is discontinued so the only thing Samsung is going to do is provide DVD/Bluray compatibility updates, and that's probably because they have to.

DTS-MA decoding would be nice, but I'm guessing it would probably take more than a firmware update. There *may be* a hardware update to achieve that. Not to mention licensing. (really talking out my butt-hole here. Take it with a grain of salt.)


As far as Netflix goes, for the people who really want it. There is more than one way to get Netflix on your TV.

1. Like mentioned above. Xbox
2. The Roku box can be had for $99.00 from Netflix, or Amazon. It has wireless convenience, but your limited to what Netflix, and Amazon has to offer.
3. Tivo
4. Right off your PC/Mac/laptop. A few bucks for a cable or two and you can stream your Netflix account, Amazon, and everything else from your PC to the TV. Youtube, Hulu, etc. Games, slide shows, whatever. The only thing you need on your PC is a digital video/audio output.
5. If a new TV is on the horizon. Look for a model with network capabilities. Most of them too are very limited to what will be stream to the TV, but I think there is a much bigger chance of them getting Netflix, before the already discontinued 1500.

If it sounds good, it is good. ~ Duke Ellington

"Leave the gun. Take the cannoli." ~ Peter Clemenza

Visit my site for gear and photos
Matt1966 is offline  
post #5137 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Matt1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCC-1701-Q View Post

Hi all,

I have been following this thread for some time (and I think I have searched it twice) but I keep having a problem with Dolby TrueHD. I have the BD-P1500 linked with a 1.3.HDMI-cable to the Samsung AV-R720 (I actually bought this in a special promo-package in one big box - thinking the two must work well together).
I have the sound output set as "Bitstream Audiophile" but whenever I choose a TrueHD-soundtrack the receiver does not recognize it (or at least the TrueHD-icon does not light up). I contacted Samsung in the Netherlands by mail and they advised me to take the receiver back to the store which will send it to their service center. I want to try all possible solutions before I do this - having had some bad experiences with service centers...
What else do I have to setup in order to enjoy uncompressed TrueHD-sound? Is there anything I missed? Thanks in advance!

Found this:
http://en.kioskea.net/guide/details/...amsung-av-r720

It looks like that receiver will not decode HD audio of any kind. When sending audio from the 1500 via "Bitstream Audiophile" your receiver, if capable will decode the uncompressed audio and the appropriate tags (TrueHD, etc..) will be displayed. You should be able to enjoy uncompressed audio via the "PCM" setting on the 1500. Only difference is "True HD" will not be displayed. Somtehing like "PCM 7.1 audio" will be displayed. The difference is the 1500 is decoding the audio, not the receiver. There should be no difference in sound quality between the two. The one major disadvantage to this is the 1500 will not decode DTS-MA. (also an HD audio soundtrack).

Hope I got that right, but that's my evaluation.

If it sounds good, it is good. ~ Duke Ellington

"Leave the gun. Take the cannoli." ~ Peter Clemenza

Visit my site for gear and photos
Matt1966 is offline  
post #5138 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 09:15 AM
Member
 
Albert Noel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
call me oblivious, but, why on earth would anyone want a subpar quality streaming service on a device that we otherwise demand perfect picture and sound quality from?
personally, i could care less about netflix on the 1500. I'm not too lazy that i can't go to blockbuster and rent or go to bestbuy and buy a physical disc.
seems sort of counteractive to what we are trying to get from blu-ray in the first place.
Albert Noel is offline  
post #5139 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Matt1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albert Noel View Post

call me oblivious, but, why on earth would anyone want a subpar quality streaming service on a device that we otherwise demand perfect picture and sound quality from?
personally, i could care less about netflix on the 1500. I'm not too lazy that i can't go to blockbuster and rent or go to bestbuy and buy a physical disc.
seems sort of counteractive to what we are trying to get from blu-ray in the first place.

Somewhat true, but I wouldn't call it counteractive. It's a feature, nothing more.

The obvious thing is for people who already have a Netflix account (DVD & Bluray rentals) can also stream a large verity of movies for free. I do it via my computer. Depending on your internet connection, the quality is really not that bad. I'll say mine is right up there with, if not better than SD TV quality. Most newer movies actually look really good. I'd say right up there with digital stations. The other thing is movie streaming is fairly new and can only get better at this point.

If it sounds good, it is good. ~ Duke Ellington

"Leave the gun. Take the cannoli." ~ Peter Clemenza

Visit my site for gear and photos
Matt1966 is offline  
post #5140 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 10:14 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HD streaming is about equivalent to DVD (in my limited experience with it).
Non-HD Netflix streaming is bad.
Watching it on a smaller monitor (eg computer, or 52" HDTV at a distance) is acceptable.
I don't think it compares at all for a HT application (eg my 128" 2.40:1 screen).

Mike
Mike_WI is offline  
post #5141 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
B&W700guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt1966 View Post

Somewhat true, but I wouldn't call it counteractive. It's a feature, nothing more.

It is a feature that was never promised, never mentioned from Samsung. It was spun on this thread. It will never happen, so it is a moot point We mine as well converse about pigs flying
B&W700guy is offline  
post #5142 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
B&W700guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The new firmware works with all my different types of DVD's, CD's and Bluray's. Also, the commentary window doesn't automatically pop-up any more on Matrix. I need to test a few more discs, but it SEEMS that the audio comes up a little quicker when starting a bluray movie or changing chapters.
B&W700guy is offline  
post #5143 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Matt1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by B&W700guy View Post

It is a feature that was never promised, never mentioned from Samsung. It was spun on this thread. It will never happen, so it is a moot point We mine as well converse about pigs flying

Amen to that.

If it sounds good, it is good. ~ Duke Ellington

"Leave the gun. Take the cannoli." ~ Peter Clemenza

Visit my site for gear and photos
Matt1966 is offline  
post #5144 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
B&W700guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt1966 View Post

Amen to that.

You Betcha
B&W700guy is offline  
post #5145 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 10:57 PM
Newbie
 
NCC-1701-Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Matt,

thanks for the time you took to find this out. I have been re-reading the manual and it says that to enjoy TrueHD the player should indeed be on PCM - but to listen to DTS-HD it should be using Bitstream (audiophile).
I find it utterly confusing, even more because both products on their own display both icons (of TrueHD and DTS-HD - both on the player as on the boxes they came in). How do other owners of the BD-P1500 do this? Do you all keep switching audio-outputs?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt1966 View Post

Found this:
-not allowed to posts URL's yet-

It looks like that receiver will not decode HD audio of any kind. When sending audio from the 1500 via "Bitstream Audiophile" your receiver, if capable will decode the uncompressed audio and the appropriate tags (TrueHD, etc..) will be displayed. You should be able to enjoy uncompressed audio via the "PCM" setting on the 1500. Only difference is "True HD" will not be displayed. Somtehing like "PCM 7.1 audio" will be displayed. The difference is the 1500 is decoding the audio, not the receiver. There should be no difference in sound quality between the two. The one major disadvantage to this is the 1500 will not decode DTS-MA. (also an HD audio soundtrack).

Hope I got that right, but that's my evaluation.

NCC-1701-Q is offline  
post #5146 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 11:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
B&W700guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCC-1701-Q View Post

Hi Matt,

thanks for the time you took to find this out. I have been re-reading the manual and it says that to enjoy TrueHD the player should indeed be on PCM - but to listen to DTS-HD it should be using Bitstream (audiophile).
I find it utterly confusing, even more because both products on their own display both icons (of TrueHD and DTS-HD - both on the player as on the boxes they came in). How do other owners of the BD-P1500 do this? Do you all keep switching audio-outputs?

If your receiver will allow you to bitsteam DTS HD MA and DD TRUE HD, then set yor 1500 to Bitstream (audiophile). It will decode both.
B&W700guy is offline  
post #5147 of 5647 Old 10-17-2009, 11:35 PM
Newbie
 
NCC-1701-Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi B&W700guy,

well that is just the issue - I thought it was able to (hence the icons on the packaging) but according to the link above from Matt1966 it is not - if I read all information correctly. So that's why I asked about the changing settings-issue (if they are necessary everytime you switch between DTS-HD and TrueHD).


Quote:
Originally Posted by B&W700guy View Post

If your receiver will allow you to bitsteam DTS HD MA and DD TRUE HD, then set yor 1500 to Bitstream (audiophile). It will decode both.

NCC-1701-Q is offline  
post #5148 of 5647 Old 10-18-2009, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Matt1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCC-1701-Q View Post

Hi B&W700guy,

well that is just the issue - I thought it was able to (hence the icons on the packaging) but according to the link above from Matt1966 it is not - if I read all information correctly. So that's why I asked about the changing settings-issue (if they are necessary everytime you switch between DTS-HD and TrueHD).

I think your best bet is to leave the 1500 set to PCM. The Bitstream (audiophile) setting is for people who have receivers that will decode HD-Audio. The PCM setting if for people who do not have receivers that will decode the HD-audio or prefer the decoding done by the 1500. It's really just an option to make the player more versatile in different setups (more or less).

I found this thread over at AV Forums.
http://www.avforums.com/forums/av-am...ng-avr720.html

Couldn't find much info on your receiver here at AVS. Probably because that receiver by Samsung was never released in the U.S. and more than likely has been discontinued.


This is a snipit on the AV Forums.
Quote:


I too am interested in this product. A couple of things I have noticed in response to this thread:
- The Samsung (uk) website (poor that it is) does say that it "next gen HD sound decoder ready
Future format Dolby Digital +, True HD, DTS- HD can be played through HDMI when BDP send uncompressed PCM signal.".
It and a few other web sites suggest it comes with speakers and sub woofer. One of those is Pixmania where the price went down from **** to **** yesterday.
It is obviously new to the market but I will keep my eye on this one until there is more clarity over what you get.

So, the PCM setting is probably best for your receiver, although you could try experimenting with the "bitstream, re-encoded" option. Unfortunately, what you have is a worst case scenario, as far as DTS-MA is concerned. The 1500 does not decode it, and neither does your receiver. Setting the 1500 to "bitstream-audiophile" and you will not get HD-audio at all because your receiver does not decode either Dolby-HD, or DTS-HD.

If it sounds good, it is good. ~ Duke Ellington

"Leave the gun. Take the cannoli." ~ Peter Clemenza

Visit my site for gear and photos
Matt1966 is offline  
post #5149 of 5647 Old 10-18-2009, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
B&W700guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The 1500 will not internally decode DTS-HD or DTS-HD MA. It will decode DD TrueHD. The only way to play the DTS, HD codec is to use Audiophile Bitstream setting in the player. This is another thing that a few of the people spun on this thread would happen as a firmware update, Samsung never stated it would.

So, if your receiver is not HDMI 1.3 or does not support DTS-HD/MA or DD TrueHD, then you should set the player to PCM so you can get True HD. You may not be able to get DTS HD, but at least you can get DD TrueHD. See your Manual for the setting

Below is a list of all the players and what they decode, look for the 1500
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1050507
B&W700guy is offline  
post #5150 of 5647 Old 10-20-2009, 10:52 PM
Newbie
 
winniman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albert Noel View Post

did a hard power cycle and my issue with the audio on casino royal went away. now getting pcm audio just fine.

i tried my only Warner title and it played the menu just fine.
winniman, which ones did you try?


my non blu-ray matrix dvds no longer play the menu. there were some other titles I saw on another thread listed. there are several Warner titles not working.
winniman is offline  
post #5151 of 5647 Old 10-21-2009, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joebloggs13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just picked up Ronin. PLayed it last night with no issues. The quality isn't up to some others(mostly the sound), but I think that that is down to the original film.
joebloggs13 is offline  
post #5152 of 5647 Old 10-21-2009, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joebloggs13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joebloggs13 View Post

Just picked up Ronin. PLayed it last night with no issues. The quality isn't up to some others(mostly the sound), but I think that that is down to the original film.

Update: Watched a little more today, and audio is much better. I had the volume turned down low last night, everyone was sleeping. Today I had it up, and it sounded great!. Best car chase sequences ever shot on film. JoeB
joebloggs13 is offline  
post #5153 of 5647 Old 10-21-2009, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
JMCurtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by winniman View Post

my non blu-ray matrix dvds no longer play the menu. there were some other titles I saw on another thread listed. there are several Warner titles not working.

I talked with Samsung Tech today about the DVD menu problems, so now they're aware of it. No mention about a fix though.

Also reported the freeze/hiccup problem with the Star Trek Season One and Two seamless switching. Same here. no mention of a fix in the works.

At least they have it reported, and I referred them to posts here as well.
JMCurtis is offline  
post #5154 of 5647 Old 10-21-2009, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joebloggs13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just picked up The Mummy from Costco. Has anyone had any issues with this BD?
joebloggs13 is offline  
post #5155 of 5647 Old 10-22-2009, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joebloggs13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just need a refresher here. I know this unit doesn't decode DTS-MA but it does decode True HD correct? I have it set to bitstream currently, so it will pass the audio onto my HT. What other formats can it decode?
joebloggs13 is offline  
post #5156 of 5647 Old 10-22-2009, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Matt1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joebloggs13 View Post

Just need a refresher here. I know this unit doesn't decode DTS-MA but it does decode True HD correct? I have it set to bitstream currently, so it will pass the audio onto my HT. What other formats can it decode?

That's correct.

Although, If you have it set to bitstream (Audiophile) the 1500 is not doing the decoding, your receiver is. It's the prefered way as long as you have a receiver capible of decoding DTS-MA and all the other HD formats.

If it sounds good, it is good. ~ Duke Ellington

"Leave the gun. Take the cannoli." ~ Peter Clemenza

Visit my site for gear and photos
Matt1966 is offline  
post #5157 of 5647 Old 10-22-2009, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joebloggs13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt1966 View Post

That's correct.

Although, If you have it set to bitstream (Audiophile) the 1500 is not doing the decoding, your receiver is. It's the prefered way as long as you have a receiver capible of decoding DTS-MA and all the other HD formats.

Thanks Matt. That's what I figured. Can you remember offhand what it's capable of decoding internally?
joebloggs13 is offline  
post #5158 of 5647 Old 10-22-2009, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ralarcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt1966 View Post

Somewhat true, but I wouldn't call it counteractive. It's a feature, nothing more.

The obvious thing is for people who already have a Netflix account (DVD & Bluray rentals) can also stream a large verity of movies for free. I do it via my computer. Depending on your internet connection, the quality is really not that bad. I'll say mine is right up there with, if not better than SD TV quality. Most newer movies actually look really good. I'd say right up there with digital stations. The other thing is movie streaming is fairly new and can only get better at this point.

It may not be counteractive , but it certainly is counterintuitive, no question.

Cheers
Ralarcon is offline  
post #5159 of 5647 Old 10-22-2009, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Matt1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joebloggs13 View Post

Thanks Matt. That's what I figured. Can you remember offhand what it's capable of decoding internally?

A/V Quality
http://www.samsung.com/us/support/de...sub_class_cd=P

Dolby Digital Decoder Yes
DTS Decoder Yes
Dolby Digital Plus Decoder Yes
DTS HD Decoder No Not now, not ever.
Dolby True HD Decoder Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralarcon View Post

It may not be counteractive , but it certainly is counterintuitive, no question.

Cheers


If it sounds good, it is good. ~ Duke Ellington

"Leave the gun. Take the cannoli." ~ Peter Clemenza

Visit my site for gear and photos
Matt1966 is offline  
post #5160 of 5647 Old 10-22-2009, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joebloggs13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt1966 View Post

A/V Quality
http://www.samsung.com/us/support/de...sub_class_cd=P

Dolby Digital Decoder Yes
DTS Decoder Yes
Dolby Digital Plus Decoder Yes
DTS HD Decoder No Not now, not ever.
Dolby True HD Decoder Yes



Thanks for the info Matt. Even though it doesn't do DTS-MA it's still a good little stand alone BD player. JoeB.
joebloggs13 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off