The Official Samsung BD-P1500 Owner's Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rutlian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpdunsta View Post

Since I seem to be the only having issues where discs simply can't be read, I'll assume that I have a faulty player. I guess I'll wait until Wal-Mart gets these in stock so I can exchange it.

I will try the the transporter tonight, And report afterwards.

Peter
Enjoy HD no matter what......
rutlian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Classico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scaesare View Post

LOL Nice.

To be clear, I just want to get the unit up a bit for a little airflow across the bottom of the chassis (which is used as a passive heatsnk). It's not vibrating like a washing machine or anything, and I'm not a believer in the "better A/V thru vibration isolation" movement.


When you are reading BILLIONS of pits/second, "vibration" will have an affect on the PQ and SQ. If that tight little blu ray gets "off track" just a little for even a split second, you have degradation. Even with error correcting, that can only do so much. Why error correct if you can help eliminate the error caused by vibrations?

If your system is in or on a rack or shelf each unit has it's own set of vibrations cause by other equipment. By properly isolating the player (and the other equipment)from the shelf/rack you help the player play BETTER.

With the various solutions offered here the "ugly" rubber cork solves BOTH height AND vibration for the least amount of money. The Vibrapods are a more elegant solution but cost more. As far as vibration isolation is concerned the others are pretty much TRANSMITTERS rather than isolators of vibration, and make your situation WORSE rather than better. So you have a cool running unit that vibrates and degrades your A/V experience. You cannot change the laws of physics. It DOES matter.

I would encourage doubters to give one of those a try. If you cannot hear or see a difference (and yes 3 in a triangle is the best for this) then take them back. Just remember there is a sound (forgive the pun) reason that the better equipment is dampened internally to eliminate vibration--IT MAKES A DIFFERENCE.

Classico
Classico is offline  
post #723 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scaesare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 4,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

-Steve
scaesare is offline  
post #724 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 03:46 PM
Member
 
jimbo1mcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Play Casino Royale on your P1500, bitstreamed to your Onkyo 705, into your 7.1 Polk audio, with Yamaha sub-woofer setup. She might last awhile, but if the volume is sufficient, she will leave during the final scenes with the automatic weapons firing!!!
jimbo1mcm is offline  
post #725 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can actually get her to leave sooner if you use vibration isolation as Classico suggested
rveras is offline  
post #726 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 04:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mak99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: seattle/renton, wa
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by scaesare View Post

...and I'm not a believer in the "better A/V thru vibration isolation" movement.

Don't knock it until you try it! Remember that your sub is probably the biggest potential source of unwanted vibrations...and we all like to shake the house off the foundations!

Remember, this is an easy, inexpensive tweak that you can do...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Classico View Post

I would encourage doubters to give one of those a try. If you cannot hear or see a difference (and yes 3 in a triangle is the best for this) then take them back. Just remember there is a sound (forgive the pun) reason that the better equipment is dampened internally to eliminate vibration--IT MAKES A DIFFERENCE.

Classico

I'm with Classico on this one...I agree with his point. (pun intended!)

still one of my favorite bumper stickers of all time...

FREE TIBET! *
* with purchase of equal or lesser Tibet
mak99 is offline  
post #727 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rutlian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rveras View Post

You can actually get her to leave sooner if you use vibration isolation as Classico suggested

LOL......, Or you can play Rambo IV, in the part where rambo is having a flashback then suddenly no picture in a second after that is the loud boom from the sub. That will keep her out of the hometheater for a week. he he

By the way I will try this because I have the Onkyo 705, polk audio rm7500 and infinity sub (sorry not a yamaha)

Peter
Enjoy HD no matter what......
rutlian is offline  
post #728 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 04:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
wabkab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a couple of extremely quick (fraction of second) combined audio/video hesitations during the last 30 minutes or Ratatouille. I think it was the disc from Netflix as I saw some scratches toward the outer part of the disc. Playing without a glitch have been:Hairspray(netflix), Bucket List, Yes-Live @ Montreaux and Vacation in SD. All HDMI to Receiver. Bitream-audiophile setting. Trying Across the Universe from Netflix tonight.

PS Got a Blu ray of Twister from Sams for 19.95

Tony B
wabkab is offline  
post #729 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 04:56 PM
Member
 
RunnerFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So after dealing with my HDMI dropout issue, which I explained in post 619 of this thread, for longer than I could stand I took my 1500 back to Best Buy today and exchanged it for another. This one is doing it to so I now have to definitely believe it's a communication issue between the 1500 and my TV.

Is there any specific department I need to speak with at Samsung to make them aware of the issue or will Tech Support know what I'm talking about when I call?

In the meantime I'm going to go with component cables and hopefully watch movies un-interrupted by video dropouts.
RunnerFL is offline  
post #730 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Har Katir View Post

I use chrome wire shelves rack. No heat problems at all on all of my components.

Pics Please

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
PSN = lovswr
XBOX Live = lovswr
lovswr is offline  
post #731 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 06:15 PM
Newbie
 
Perini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can somebody let me know if there is anything sketchy about the 1500's ability to upscale DVD's?

I noticed a huge difference on my PS3 when upscaling standard definition DVD's. So far, with the 1500, I notice NO difference whatsoever between 480i and 1080p.

Am I missing something?
Perini is offline  
post #732 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scaesare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 4,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbo1mcm View Post

Play Casino Royale on your P1500, bitstreamed to your Onkyo 705, into your 7.1 Polk audio, with Yamaha sub-woofer setup. She might last awhile, but if the volume is sufficient, she will leave during the final scenes with the automatic weapons firing!!!

Uhh... putting Casino Royale, starring Daniel Craig, on is only going to guarantee my wife STAYS in the room.

Cannon fire at the beginning of Master & Commander is a pretty good workout.... depsite the almost unbearable audio distortion the vibration induces in to the sound track.

-Steve
scaesare is offline  
post #733 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 07:54 PM
Member
 
wanab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't even have to play it that loud....she leaves right away. But she comes back later with a SLEDGEHAMMER ! ! OUCH.......But seriously folks this is a great player,now to wait for the Pio 1018.

Dickie
wanab is online now  
post #734 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 09:08 PM
Member
 
bpdunsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpdunsta View Post

Since I seem to be the only having issues where discs simply can't be read, I'll assume that I have a faulty player. I guess I'll wait until Wal-Mart gets these in stock so I can exchange it.

Well, my luck continues....

Received "Be Kind, Rewind" today from Netflix. I put it in the BD-P1500 and it actually played! Woohoo!

I got about halfway through the movie and it started to stutter, like as if there was a smudge on the disc. I eject the disc, clean it off, and put it back in the BD-P1500. This time, the disc can't be read! I took the disc out and put it in my PS3 where it played without a hitch....of course, with the fan, I thought Trump was landing his helicopter in my family room, but nevertheless the disc played.

I have 82 days left to return this player....hopefully the Wal-Marts in my area will have some inventory of these before then.
bpdunsta is offline  
post #735 of 5647 Old 06-18-2008, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
wabkab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Twister without a glitch tonight.

Tony B
wabkab is offline  
post #736 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 02:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rutlian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found a dual fan powered by usb fan for laptop where you put it under the laptop both sides of the unit have some sort of circular leg like a half a toy marbles, anyhow this could be a good alternative or maybe even better because it can sit under the 1500 with like about half inch gap between the bottom of the 1500 it is dual fan made by gearhead it described as dual-cool notebook cooling fan. I found it with BIG LOTS store in Highland WA. They cost only 13.00 bucks their return policy is 30 days and I have not actually watch a full movie yet but this is designed for the laptop I do have a laptop that it gets really hot after a few hours. I am assuming this unit will not do any harm with my 1500 I tested the cooling fan it makes a minimal noise but it is tolerable my rack is inside the cabinet but even if your rack is visible the fan noise is still okey. I took some pictures of the product.
LL
LL
LL
LL
LL

Peter
Enjoy HD no matter what......
rutlian is offline  
post #737 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 02:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rutlian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
more pictures these times I took a picture of the gap between the 1500 and the cooling fan. The fan has on and off mode, You can leave it on so that when you turn on your 1500 it will kick in also same thing it will shut off when you turn off your 1500, the bottom of the cooling fan has 4 transparent rubber stopper same thing on the other side to give you some gap between the 1500 and the cooling fan. I tried to move it but it is secured unless you put force to move it. But it will not slide down due to rubber stopper. Tonight I will test it. I am mainly concerned of the heat, I only have 1 audio drop and I don't believe it cause by the heat. I placed my hand on top of the 1500 to feel any vibration but nothing so I assumed that eventhough my samsung will sit on top of this cooling fan there should be no skipping while playback. I will find it out tonight.
LL
LL
LL

Peter
Enjoy HD no matter what......
rutlian is offline  
post #738 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 04:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 70
This fan seems to work similar to the Antec which is still available. The only thing I don't like is that the Gear Head is plastic while the Antec is metal. You can often get the Antec for a good price after rebate. Watch for sales if you think you need a fan.
rwestley is offline  
post #739 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 04:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
badboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: East of the Sun, West of the Moon (Home Farm, Emmerdale, Yorks)
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by RunnerFL View Post

So after dealing with my HDMI dropout issue, which I explained in post 619 of this thread, for longer than I could stand I took my 1500 back to Best Buy today and exchanged it for another. This one is doing it to so I now have to definitely believe it's a communication issue between the 1500 and my TV.

Is there any specific department I need to speak with at Samsung to make them aware of the issue or will Tech Support know what I'm talking about when I call?

In the meantime I'm going to go with component cables and hopefully watch movies un-interrupted by video dropouts.

I take it you've never contacted Samsung before.

In all probability, Samsung tech support will state they've never had any reports of issues with this player, don't know what you are talking about, and suggest it's all operator error or a bad disc that you must replace. Then in a month or two they will release a firmware update that addresses the issue they knew nothing about and your problem will be solved, but newer ones will arise. Just speaking from my experiences with Samsung, so your experiences may vary (and probably will). Good luck.
badboi is offline  
post #740 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wnorris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, it happened again. On Tuesday night I watched Kiss of the Dragon. I have a 1080i Samsung DLP (doesn't support 1080p input).

On Wednesday night I hit the eject button on the Samsung, it powers up and spits out the disc. The player continues to boot (my TV still says no signal) and I insert Be Kind Rewind and close the tray.

The tray closes, my screen goes black for a few seconds, and pops up not supported mode. I look at the front panel of the Samsung, and sure enough, it states 1080p output.

So I drag out my AV cables again, hook it up, and check the system setup. Sure enough, under video options, it is set to 1080p/24.

So once again, the system settings have changed automatically to a resolution my TV doesn't support. This is the second time this week that it has done that same thing. All the other firmware settings remain unchanged, except for those two.

My unit is going back today for an exchange. It is either defective, or there is a flaw with the firmware. I reported it to Samsung and naturally they had not heard anything about it. They wanted me to plug and unplug cables and do a bunch of other stupid stuff that has nothing to do with the firmware changing itself.
wnorris is offline  
post #741 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mrjktcvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnorris View Post

They wanted me to plug and unplug cables and do a bunch of other stupid stuff that has nothing to do with the firmware changing itself.

Welcome to the wonderful world of having your player connected to the internet. Where is the menu item that blocks auto updates?

I don't understand the whole BD-Live mentality....do people really want to have to run a virus checker disk after every disk change and/or powerup, just so they can have access to features that have little or nothing to do with what was presented during the film's run in public movie theaters?
mrjktcvs is offline  
post #742 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnorris View Post

Well, it happened again. On Tuesday night I watched Kiss of the Dragon. I have a 1080i Samsung DLP (doesn't support 1080p input).

On Wednesday night I hit the eject button on the Samsung, it powers up and spits out the disc. The player continues to boot (my TV still says no signal) and I insert Be Kind Rewind and close the tray.

The tray closes, my screen goes black for a few seconds, and pops up not supported mode. I look at the front panel of the Samsung, and sure enough, it states 1080p output.

So I drag out my AV cables again, hook it up, and check the system setup. Sure enough, under video options, it is set to 1080p/24.

So once again, the system settings have changed automatically to a resolution my TV doesn't support. This is the second time this week that it has done that same thing. All the other firmware settings remain unchanged, except for those two.

My unit is going back today for an exchange. It is either defective, or there is a flaw with the firmware. I reported it to Samsung and naturally they had not heard anything about it. They wanted me to plug and unplug cables and do a bunch of other stupid stuff that has nothing to do with the firmware changing itself.

I don't have the 1500 yet but I have the 1400. After every firmware upgrade, my resolution is automatically set to 1080p when I have a 1080i set. It's a pain to have drag out the component video cables to reset it.
slimm is offline  
post #743 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 09:07 AM
Member
 
Carcaridon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perini View Post

Can somebody let me know if there is anything sketchy about the 1500's ability to upscale DVD's?

I noticed a huge difference on my PS3 when upscaling standard definition DVD's. So far, with the 1500, I notice NO difference whatsoever between 480i and 1080p.

Am I missing something?

I was hoping someone could touch on this issue too. This is my first foray into blu-ray and the upconversion that I'm seeing is pretty bad. It actually looks worse than a regular DVD, so I must be doing something wrong.

Samsung BD-P1500
Onkyo TX-SR705
Mitsubishi WD65736

Thanks.

Heath
Carcaridon is offline  
post #744 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wnorris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimm View Post

I don't have the 1500 yet but I have the 1400. After every firmware upgrade, my resolution is automatically set to 1080p when I have a 1080i set. It's a pain to have drag out the component video cables to reset it.

Yes. This is exactly the behavior it is having, but no firmware is being installed. I have to drag the cables out, change the settings, unhook the cables.

It's a pain since my equipment is in an AV rack, I don't have any open inputs to permanently leave them connected to my receiver, so I have to run them to the extra inputs on the TV a few feet away.

And usually when I get to watch a movie, it's like, I need to be in bed by 11:30 and it is 9:30, and the movie is two hours long... perfect.

But, oh wait, I have to spend 30 minutes dragging stuff out and putting it away, so now there is no time for the movie tonight...
wnorris is offline  
post #745 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 10:04 AM
Newbie
 
Perini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carcaridon View Post

I was hoping someone could touch on this issue too. This is my first foray into blu-ray and the upconversion that I'm seeing is pretty bad. It actually looks worse than a regular DVD, so I must be doing something wrong.

Samsung BD-P1500
Onkyo TX-SR705
Mitsubishi WD65736

Thanks.

Well, I'd go so far as to say that I don't think there's ANY upscaling on board the 1500.

I have a Toshiba HD-A30 and a PlayStation 3, both of which do an excellent job of anti-aliasing and upscaling. The 1500 doesn't appear to do *anything*.

Bummer.
Perini is offline  
post #746 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnorris View Post

Yes. This is exactly the behavior it is having, but no firmware is being installed. I have to drag the cables out, change the settings, unhook the cables.

It's a pain since my equipment is in an AV rack, I don't have any open inputs to permanently leave them connected to my receiver, so I have to run them to the extra inputs on the TV a few feet away.

And usually when I get to watch a movie, it's like, I need to be in bed by 11:30 and it is 9:30, and the movie is two hours long... perfect.

But, oh wait, I have to spend 30 minutes dragging stuff out and putting it away, so now there is no time for the movie tonight...

Well, my 1500 should arrive tomorrow and I'm hoping it doesn't happen to this one. If it does, I'll be sure to issue an update.
slimm is offline  
post #747 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 11:15 AM
Member
 
Carcaridon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perini View Post

Well, I'd go so far as to say that I don't think there's ANY upscaling on board the 1500.

I have a Toshiba HD-A30 and a PlayStation 3, both of which do an excellent job of anti-aliasing and upscaling. The 1500 doesn't appear to do *anything*.

Bummer.

Everything I've read about this states that it's supposed to. I wonder what the deal is. Are we the only two seeing this? I can't believe that's true.

Heath
Carcaridon is offline  
post #748 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rutlian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

This fan seems to work similar to the Antec which is still available. The only thing I don't like is that the Gear Head is plastic while the Antec is metal. You can often get the Antec for a good price after rebate. Watch for sales if you think you need a fan.

Hi there,
Can you show us picture of your 1500 with the fan on it? or atleast the fan I tried to go to CC website but got a different photos, I am doing a trial and error only, I have 30 days to play with the fan I got. I may not even need a fan for my 1500. I only use my 1500 atleast 2 times week and that's 2 movies if I got lucky 3 movies in a week.

Peter
Enjoy HD no matter what......
rutlian is offline  
post #749 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 11:30 AM
Member
 
Carcaridon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carcaridon View Post

Everything I've read about this states that it's supposed to. I wonder what the deal is. Are we the only two seeing this? I can't believe that's true.

I talked to Samsung tech support on their website and they're stating that you should lower the resolution output from 1080p to 720p when viewing standard DVD's and return the setting when watching blu-ray's. Interesting.

Heath
Carcaridon is offline  
post #750 of 5647 Old 06-19-2008, 11:41 AM
Member
 
adrian457's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

This fan seems to work similar to the Antec which is still available. The only thing I don't like is that the Gear Head is plastic while the Antec is metal. You can often get the Antec for a good price after rebate. Watch for sales if you think you need a fan.

I purchased the Antec cooler per rwestley's recommendation yesterday from Fry's. I bought it online for $24.99 and picked it up at store. $25 and change total plus to my surprise there was a $15 mail-in-rebate for it. The rebate is only available till today. For some reason it was a 2 day rebate. So in the end it will only cost me $11 plus change. If you want to get this at Fry's, pre-order it online as in-store price is $39.99 and they do not price match their website. For those that need to ship it because there's no Fry's near, it includes free shipping.

Review of the cooler. After doing a movie fest (5 movies) on Sunday, by the time we got to the 5th movie I started getting small audio drops. Not enough to get me to stop the movie but I noticed them. The player and the disc were extremely hot. During the other movie changes the player and disc were hot as well. So I bought the cooler and put it underneath. With the weird shape of it, the player's sides hang of it. I wish it was the shape of other coolers (rectangle shaped) but does it's job of pulling air away from the unit. As rwestley stated it does turn on and shut off when you power up and down the player, so no need to fiddle with it. With the cooler on high I cannot even hear it. It also does have a little blue led light by where the fan speed adjuster is. I watched 2 flicks yesterday and the player and disc were absolutely cool to the touch and no audio dropouts. Antec does make an A/V cooler but it's $70+ for it. This is a great alternative.

Thank you rwestley for the great recommendation.

Apologize for the long post.
adrian457 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off