Official Blu-Ray Player Audio Setup Thread - All Audio Questions Go Here - Page 57 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1681 of 1706 Old 11-29-2013, 03:18 AM
Member
 
james16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can i use only 1 hdmi connection from the panasonic bdt500 for both video and audio as my denon 1912 is capable for 3D. Will it be the same as this player connected directly to the tv for video and another hdmi to the rcvr as opposed to using a single hdmi.

Hoping you can give me the best insights. I'm also planning a L/R analog connection for audio cd playback.

Do i have to invest for high quality hdmi cables and analog cables as well?

I want to maximize my sound system. Thanks
james16 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1682 of 1706 Old 11-29-2013, 03:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by james16 View Post

Can i use only 1 hdmi connection from the panasonic bdt500 for both video and audio as my denon 1912 is capable for 3D. Will it be the same as this player connected directly to the tv for video and another hdmi to the rcvr as opposed to using a single hdmi.

Hoping you can give me the best insights. I'm also planning a L/R analog connection for audio cd playback.

Do i have to invest for high quality hdmi cables and analog cables as well?

I want to maximize my sound system. Thanks
Yes, you can use a single connection to a 3D capable receiver.
Quality cables need not be expensive.
BIslander is online now  
post #1683 of 1706 Old 11-29-2013, 08:10 AM
Member
 
james16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any sound difference in using 2 hdmi (1 audio and 1 video) over a single hdmi? Thanks

Would i use the surround back connection as my stereo for cd playback?
james16 is offline  
post #1684 of 1706 Old 11-29-2013, 08:19 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,519
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by james16 View Post

Is there any sound difference in using 2 hdmi (1 audio and 1 video) over a single hdmi? Thanks

Would i use the surround back connection as my stereo for cd playback?
I've experimented with both methods. My answer is no. I use one HDMI cable for my Oppo and Panasonic. You would use the front for stereo playback of CDs.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #1685 of 1706 Old 11-29-2013, 08:37 AM
Member
 
james16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok thank you!
james16 is offline  
post #1686 of 1706 Old 12-16-2013, 09:51 PM
Newbie
 
mgrissom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 2026 Racine WI 53405
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the best way to go and how much better is it? Looking for opinions please as I have done little since hooking up my system 2 years ago.

I watch Netflix, both blue ray and DVD videos, use a cable box for TV viewing , and play CD's. I would like to try some other formats for audio via one of the OPPO blu-ray players.
I am considering a OPPO 103D or a OPPO 105. I'm looking for a simple solution to best sound.

Current System;
Panasonic 65 inch Plazma TV 2012
STD Cable box with HDMI output
Peach Tree Dac-It
Panasonic BD30 Blu-Ray player
YBA 100 Passion Integrated Stereo Amp (has 1 set of Balanced inputs)
Speakers 2 channel VMPS RM30 series II

Right now I have the cable box and blu ray player connected to the TV via HDMI and everything is coming out of the tosh link cable on the TV to the peach tree Dac-It, which is connected to the YBA via single ended RCA.
It works and sounds pretty good but the Coaxial hook up on the Peach Tree is suppose to be better than the tosh link and has 192/24bit resolution where the tosh link only has 96/24 bit.

If I purchase the OPPO 103D, I could leave everything hooked up the same and take advantage of the coaxial output to the Peach Tree Dac-It. Which I would think will improve the audio. Or run the HDMI from the cable box to the OPPO and tack advantage of the Darbee video processing and the coax output to the Dac-it.

If I purchased the OPPO 105 I could eliminate the Dac-It, go directly from the balanced stereo outputs of the OPPO to the balanced inputs of the YBA. (I am guessing this last scenario would be the most elegant and sound the best.) albeit at the highest cost.

Another route I have just considered is running from the 103D via the 2 channel outputs to the YBA eliminating the Peach Tree.

Unless I move which does not seem to be in the cards I will not be doing any surround sound.

Thanks for any advice from those who have experience with any of this.
mgrissom is offline  
post #1687 of 1706 Old 01-06-2014, 07:04 PM
Member
 
minertwofour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So my area I'd slated for a dedicated theater in our new house has now become a kid's area for the next 10 years or so...

I'm thinking of adding a projector into an already finished basement area - that's an issue. I'll have a remotely placed projector and bluray player at one end of the room, another bluray player, TV, Onkyo TX-NR609 AVR at the other end of the room. Everything can be hard wired into the LAN if necessary.

How can I get the audio from the projector bluray player to the AVR (or even the other bluray player) without running an extra HDMI cable to the AVR (steel beam crossing the room in the joist area)?

I've searched and searched, and everyone wants to know how to stream audio TO a bluray player, never FROM a bluray player.

Please tell me a bluray player can serve as a quasi-DLNA server. What are the least expensive (and simplest - as few boxes as possible) options? DLNA? Bluetooth? Hopefully I'm overlooking something painfully obvious.
minertwofour is offline  
post #1688 of 1706 Old 02-04-2014, 03:15 PM
Newbie
 
lemurboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings,

I have a hopefully simple question about the lossless Dolby hd/DTS hd formats. I own a Panasonic BDT500 player, and use the 2 channel analog outs to an older stereo receiver. I am trying to find out if the downmixing process maintains the integrity of the lossless soundtracks as far as the sample/bit rates go. Does the player simply mix the channels or does it send a compressed version?

Thanks
lemurboy is offline  
post #1689 of 1706 Old 02-12-2014, 02:31 PM
Newbie
 
Boccaccio70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi-
I've entered a new realm in both ausio and video.
In Ausio: I upgraded to a Prima Lluna Tube Integrated Amp ($3200) , a Prima Luna tube Audio CD player ($2400) and a pair of Martin Logan Electro-Motion Electrostatic hybrids speakers ($2200). And 2 SVS Sealed Box 13" Ultra Subwoofers ($3200) to Cover the bottom.
In Video: the 2113 model Samsung 55" "no bezel" LED TV $2600)

I am looking at buying the Oppo 105 Darbee Blu-Ray player. The Prima Luna CD player is audio only, and includes a toslink digital out, but there is no corresponding Toslink "INPUT" on the Prima Luna Integrated amp (?). Only analog RCA ins and outs . Using the Oppo as a DAC bridge might be the solution,, using the Oppo analog outputs feeding the PL amp in "Theater bypass" mode as the front 2-channels of the 5.1 Home Theater system.
Is the Oppo105 Darbee a good sonic match for a modern tube amp/ Electrstaic hybrid floorstanding speaker system?
Boccaccio70 is offline  
post #1690 of 1706 Old 02-14-2014, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
pronesti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have a Blu-Ray Player Audio Setup Question?

 

Here is my system;

 

NAD T175 preamp with the following listening modes:

  • Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital EX, ProLogic II, ProLogic IIx, DTS, DTS ES, DTS 24/96, DTS NEO:6, EARS and Stereo Enhanced Surround Modes

     

My Blu-Ray Player is a Sony BDP-S3100, and my audio settings are

Digital Audio Output: Auto

BD Audio Mix: off

DTS Neo:6: on

Autio DRC: off

Downmix: Surround

 

Here is my question when I play a DVD (not a blu-ray disk), my NAD only allows two listening modes Dolby Digital, and Stero Downmix why can't I get all the other listening modes above?

 

I know if I go to PCM mode I get all the listening modes on my NAD, but then the Blu-Ray Player is doing the decoding.

pronesti is offline  
post #1691 of 1706 Old 02-14-2014, 09:25 AM
Newbie
 
pronesti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Just testing.

pronesti is offline  
post #1692 of 1706 Old 03-31-2014, 10:16 PM
Newbie
 
MitchS4972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Anybody know if there is a Codec Support pack for the BDP s3200..?

 

After updating with the latest firmware from Sony, not all of the XViDs (avi's) I have are playing.  They play fine on my XBoX360, but the BDP returns a message of "The is corrupt or unsupported".  Figuring it's a codec issue.

 

Any help would be appreciated.  Tried to contact Sony, but the "Tech" didn't seem to interested in helping me out without charging me.  :-(

 

Thanks.

MitchS4972 is offline  
post #1693 of 1706 Old 07-06-2014, 09:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OK, seriously hoping someone can help me here.

I have a Pioneer BDP-51FD connected by HDMI to a Pioneer VSX-919AH.

I can not get the PQLS to function no matter what I try.

Tried disconnecting all other units (including TV), numerous hard re-starts of both units.

Tried updating firmware to latest versions on both units. (1.74 on BDP and StM 1056 for the AVR)

I have checked all Kuro settings on both units and verified the sound fields are appropriate for 2 channel PQLS playback.

At wits end, any and all suggestions appreciated.

Thanks.
pitfa17 is offline  
post #1694 of 1706 Old 10-01-2014, 02:56 PM
Member
 
airspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am also having a hard time setting up my audio for the Panasonic 360 blu-ray. It is my first one.

I have a Yamaha AV receiver HTR-5550 purchased in Aug. 2002.
It supports
Dolby Pro Logic/Dolby Pro Logic II
Dolby Digital/Dolby Digital + Matrix 6.1 ( this is a 5.1 channel system) it creates a virtual center rear speaker.
DTS/DTS + Matrix 6.1
Cinema DSP
it has only two optical inputs, no hdmi out or inputs. I have a Philips 3575 DVR connected to its component in and one of the optical inputs. Its main purpose was to convert vhs to dvds. That project is on hold now so I will be using it to record from the satellite dish. The other optical connects from the TV to the Yamaha av receiver.

I have a Sharp LC-60E79U HDTV. My Satellite dish network 722K and Panasonic blu-ray 360 Player is connected to it directly via HDMI. And a optical goes out to the av receiver from the TV. The Sharp TV doesn't specify what it supports but has a dolby digital trademark on the manual. I have no idea if the TV has a decoder. Even if it did, I read the optical audio couldn't handle it anyway.

The satellite dish has a Dolby Digital Plus trademark on the back of the unit.

The Yamaha av receiver has a indication of what it is using. When I play a blu-ray, it indicates Dolby Pro logic II, PCM, DSP. And that L & R input signals are being received. (I have sound out of all 5.1 channels. Probably from the DSP feature.)
I know its not receiving Dolby digital cause a selection on DSP Movie Theater 2 is not available.

I took the optical out, off the Philips 3575 DVR and the TV so I can rearrange the optical inputs. So I now added the Satellite box and the Panasonic 360 Blu-Ray Player optical outputs directly to the Yamaha av receiver. I am now indicating DTS and its sound field and all 5.1 channels receiving. Now I just have to figure out if I can connect Philips 3575 DVR RW to the av receiver DVD input while the blu ray is connected to the dvd input via the optical audio cable at the same time.

I hope I didn't confuse anyone.

thank you for any help!
airspeed is offline  
post #1695 of 1706 Old 11-13-2014, 02:48 PM
Member
 
-kenny-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Difference in audio output between players

I've been reading some bluray player reviews and one thing i noticed is that some players are said to have "very dynamic and punchy sound" while others "lack detail" or "could do with some more punch"

So the question that raised is: to hear this difference, does the audio output need to be set to pcm?

Seeing as how, with that setting, the audio is being processed by the bluray player itself, before being sent, pre-processed, to the av receiver.
As with bitstream the audio goes straight to the av receiver, unprocessed, right?
So it seems to me the only way the bluray player has influence on the sound is to set it to pcm. Or am i wrong?

Sent with Tapatalk from my Oneplus One
-kenny- is online now  
post #1696 of 1706 Old 11-13-2014, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by -kenny- View Post
I've been reading some bluray player reviews and one thing i noticed is that some players are said to have "very dynamic and punchy sound" while others "lack detail" or "could do with some more punch"

So the question that raised is: to hear this difference, does the audio output need to be set to pcm?

Seeing as how, with that setting, the audio is being processed by the bluray player itself, before being sent, pre-processed, to the av receiver.
As with bitstream the audio goes straight to the av receiver, unprocessed, right?
So it seems to me the only way the bluray player has influence on the sound is to set it to pcm. Or am i wrong?

Sent with Tapatalk from my Oneplus One
Those "reviews" should be taken with an enormous grain of salt, unless bias free, level-matched equal testing is done amongst the various models.
The truth is they will sound the same under those conditions.
bradman is offline  
post #1697 of 1706 Old 11-13-2014, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
PCM simply means the player does the decoding, which is nothing more than unzipping a compressed file. The AVR still does all the actual processing. As noted, those reviews suggest a lack of understanding of audio processing.
BIslander is online now  
post #1698 of 1706 Old 11-14-2014, 04:47 AM
Member
 
-kenny-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post
PCM simply means the player does the decoding, which is nothing more than unzipping a compressed file. The AVR still does all the actual processing. As noted, those reviews suggest a lack of understanding of audio processing.
So wether i buy a 100 dollar player, or a 1000 dollar player, has no effect on the audio? The only thing that makes a difference is the avr and speakers?

Sent with Tapatalk from my Oneplus One
-kenny- is online now  
post #1699 of 1706 Old 11-14-2014, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Yep, makes no difference when using a digital connection to the receiver. If you use the analog output of a player, then there will be a difference because the player will be doing the processing and the digital-analog conversion.
BIslander is online now  
post #1700 of 1706 Old 11-14-2014, 07:05 AM
Member
 
-kenny-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
That makes sense. Thanks for the info. Wonder why these reviewers put those 'lies' out there though.

Sent with Tapatalk from my Oneplus One
-kenny- is online now  
post #1701 of 1706 Old 11-14-2014, 08:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,186
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by -kenny- View Post
That makes sense. Thanks for the info. Wonder why these reviewers put those 'lies' out there though.

Sent with Tapatalk from my Oneplus One
Because they are paid to make one player look better than another. The ones who aren't paid are simply ignorant. Bits are bits. One is no better than another.

Having said that, I'm sure some players do process the sound in ways that make it different. But I prefer to hear exactly what's on the disc, which all players do equally well.
mdavej is offline  
post #1702 of 1706 Old 11-14-2014, 10:19 AM
Member
 
-kenny-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yeah i figured it was something like that :-) guess i was just naïve to beleive those reviews...

Sent with Tapatalk from my Oneplus One
-kenny- is online now  
post #1703 of 1706 Old 11-23-2014, 04:21 PM
Member
 
Bellavance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Longueuil, QC Canada
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sony BDP-S6200 only outputs PCM Sound - Help !

My Sony BDP-S6200 Blu-ray player is connected to my Onkyo TX-NR929 Receiver by HDMI.

Player only outputs PCM sound from all Blu-ray discs, so I can't get DTS HD Master Audio from my receiver.

What have I done wrong?
Bellavance is offline  
post #1704 of 1706 Old 11-23-2014, 08:32 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,519
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Your original post is in the 6200 thread.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #1705 of 1706 Old 11-23-2014, 10:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Digiti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Queens N.Y. U.S.A.
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bellavance View Post
My Sony BDP-S6200 Blu-ray player is connected to my Onkyo TX-NR929 Receiver by HDMI.

Player only outputs PCM sound from all Blu-ray discs, so I can't get DTS HD Master Audio from my receiver.

What have I done wrong?
Does the player have a setting for audio output called "bitstream"?That is the setting you need to use in order for the avr to show DTS Master Audio,DD etc. In addition make sure you pick the correct codec on the blu ray disk you are playing's menu.
Digiti is offline  
post #1706 of 1706 Old 11-24-2014, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
What are the player audio output settings?
BIslander is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Samsung , Samsung Bd P1600 Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread - P1600 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off