Official Blu-Ray Player Audio Setup Thread - All Audio Questions Go Here - Page 58 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1711 of 1739 Old 12-19-2014, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,979
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 182
HDMI is digital. You can't send analog audio over HDMI.
BIslander is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1712 of 1739 Old 12-20-2014, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin. W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post
HDMI is digital. You can't send analog audio over HDMI.

That I know. So I updated my question so its better understood.
Kevin. W is offline  
post #1713 of 1739 Old 12-20-2014, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,979
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Analog input uses the Denon DACs, HDMI uses the Yamaha DACs.

As a general rule, digital transmission is preferable because it takes advantage of the processing tools in the pre pro, which are better than those in most players. With analog, all processing happens in the player.
BIslander is online now  
post #1714 of 1739 Old 02-22-2015, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
zedrein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Solutions For "2.0" Home Theater Setup With Blu-Ray Player?

Here's the situation: I bought my parents a great little Yamaha 6.1 surround sound setup several years ago (pre-HDMI ins & outs) and my dad refuses to connect anything but the Left and Right channels [some gripe about not wanting to put nails in walls]. The subwoofer and other 4 surround speakers [including the center channel] are just on top the TV stand for show, apparently. The problem is that when we watch movies from the $100 Samsung blu-ray player that I also gifted them, the dialogue is way too faint relative to the soundtrack, if I crank the receiver to compensate, the music makes our ears bleed. The blu-ray player is streaming audio from the classic orange digital coax cable on the back directly into the Yamaha and video is outputted to the HDtv via HDMI. I found a digital coax to analog stereo audio transcoder from monoprice -- will it help our problem?

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2
zedrein is offline  
post #1715 of 1739 Old 02-22-2015, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,979
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Is the sound system configured as 2.0 with the other speakers set to Off or None? When properly configured, multichannel tracks will be downmixed to stereo so that dialog, which is primarily in the center channel, well not be lost.

Last edited by BIslander; 02-22-2015 at 11:57 AM.
BIslander is online now  
post #1716 of 1739 Old 02-22-2015, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
zedrein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post
Is the sound system configured as 2.0 with the other speakers set to Off or None? When properly configured, multichannel tracks will be downmixed to stereo so that dialog, which is primarily in the center channel, well not be lost.
I'm pretty certain that all of the other surround channels are off because when I look at the orange LCD display on the Yamaha receiver, only the "L" and "R" lights are lit up. Like I say, it's a strange phenomena when watching movies, the actors almost sound like they're whispering!
zedrein is offline  
post #1717 of 1739 Old 02-25-2015, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,478
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
4 or 8 DACs Downmixed to 2Ch Analog Output on Today's High-End BD Players?

Considering that Blu-ray movies, DVD-AUDIO, and SACDs are for the most part recorded as multi-channel sources, why are manufacturers such as Denon, Marantz, Pioneer, and Yamaha putting so much into 2ch analog output by downmixing audio coming from 4 stereo DACs or 8 monaural DACs on their more expensive players? To me, this doesn't make sense. Wouldn't it make more sense to either (1) use a stereo DAC and let the processor downmix everything from the disc to the 2ch output, (2) use a single multi-channel DAC and have everything downmixed to the 2Ch output, or (3) considering all the work involved with 4 stereo DACs or 8 monaural DACs, use corresponding respective multi-channel analog output? I just hate wasting resources, especially if today's midpriced to high-end audio/video receivers are now using superior DACs starting with the Sabre ESS9006 Premier series DAC.

Last edited by Big C; 02-25-2015 at 11:33 AM.
Big C is offline  
post #1718 of 1739 Old 03-05-2015, 11:29 AM
Member
 
spectre08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 5
This may have been addressed in the previous 58 pages, but I couldn't find it.

My audio is through an LG soundbar with 2 optical inputs.

I have the TV (LG 55UB8200), a PS4, and a Panasonic BDT3600 Blu-ray player

Would it be best to connect the PS4 and BD player directly to the soundbar with an optical cable or to connect the tv to the soundbar with an optical cable?

What are the pros and cons either way?
spectre08 is offline  
post #1719 of 1739 Old 03-10-2015, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
captclueless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I posted this in the sony bdps570 thread too, but I'll post it here too.
So the last 2 movies I have tried playing that use dolby atmos audio. When the player is set to AUTO for hdmi audio, the audio goes in and out. If I set it to pcm, it works fine on both, however, maybe this is a placebo effect, but I think the lower, bassy sounds are more prevelent when it's set to auto. the bass isn't as bassy in pcm. Maybe it's just me, but yeah. Any ideas? I am going to an onkyo 705 (yes I know it's old)


Last edited by captclueless; 03-10-2015 at 12:29 PM.
captclueless is offline  
post #1720 of 1739 Old 05-11-2015, 01:52 PM
Member
 
Knight7m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When connecting analog stereo or fronts L&R (from 5.1 or 7.1) outputs from Blu ray player (Cambridge or Oppo), do I get DTS HD and Dolby True HD, and are they high quality sound ?
(I have dedicate analog stereo preamp, no digital inputs)

Remind you, DVD players (like Arcam 137) will not process Dolby digital 5.1 correctly through analog stereo outputs, some low frequencies are missing.

Also, are all blu ray movies come with DTS HD and Dolby True HD ?

Anyone care to answer and thank you.

Last edited by Knight7m; 05-11-2015 at 02:01 PM.
Knight7m is offline  
post #1721 of 1739 Old 05-11-2015, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,979
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Blu-rays almost always have a high resolution track, usually DTS-HD Master Audio, sometimes TrueHD, and very occasionally PCM. The player will decode that track, not a lesser version, although some players will use a lossy track if you tell it to include secondary audio.

Downmixing is a bit of a mystery, however. LFE may not always be included, for example. It varies from player to player and DTS, Dolby, and PCM sources may not be handled identically.
BIslander is online now  
post #1722 of 1739 Old 12-12-2015, 07:51 AM
 
Rocky3RD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 48
From what I read and learned, in terms of sound quality there is no difference between setting the bluray player in PCM of bitstream, correct?
Rocky3RD is online now  
post #1723 of 1739 Old 12-12-2015, 11:44 AM
 
Rocky3RD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 48
PCM vs Bitstream

I have been doing a lot of reading on best Audio settings for a home theater system consisting of BD player connected via HDMI to a 5.1 Dolby Atmos-ready HTIB.
I keep getting mixed reviews on whether to set my BD player on "PCM" or "Bitstream" for best sound. According to the below link, it makes sense that if we are HDMI-connected, PCM is the way to go.
Please read:
http://www.gamespot.com/forums/plays...ear--29010594/
Rocky3RD is online now  
post #1724 of 1739 Old 12-12-2015, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,979
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Sound tracks are mastered as PCM. Studios usually compress them to save space on a disc, using lossless codecs such as TrueHD and DTS HD Master Audio. On playback, the track must be decompressed, turning it back into PCM.

The PCM setting means the player does the decompression. Bitstream means the compressed track is sent to the receiver for decompression. As long as both devices have lossless decoders, the result is the same either way.

With Atmos, it may depend on the capabilities of the player and the receiver. The device manuals will contain that information.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Last edited by BIslander; 12-12-2015 at 12:01 PM.
BIslander is online now  
post #1725 of 1739 Old 12-12-2015, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AllenA07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky3RD View Post
I have been doing a lot of reading on best Audio settings for a home theater system consisting of BD player connected via HDMI to a 5.1 Dolby Atmos-ready HTIB.
I keep getting mixed reviews on whether to set my BD player on "PCM" or "Bitstream" for best sound. According to the below link, it makes sense that if we are HDMI-connected, PCM is the way to go.
Please read:
http://www.gamespot.com/forums/plays...ear--29010594/
As discussed in the Atmos thread, just set it to bitstream and stop thinking about it!
MarkMul1 likes this.
AllenA07 is online now  
post #1726 of 1739 Old 12-27-2015, 03:06 PM
Newbie
 
Grant330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by idle jet View Post
Official Blu-Ray Player Audio Setup Thread - All Audio Questions Go Here<br><br>
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------<br><br>
Mod edit: Merged thread problem. Official Blu-Ray Player Audio Setup Thread - All Audio Questions Go Here next post V
Maybe this is a new thread. I am definately a new user. I purchased a Sony BDP-S6500 bluray machine yesterday and I have it going into my Denon AVR-2313CI AVR. The AVR has satisfactorily played HD content through a home media/PowerDVD computer before so I know it works. For the life of me I can not find the Audio settings in the bluray GUI that allow the Denon to see HD content. The only indicator of sound type to the Denon is "DTS" not DTS - HD or Dolby's equivalent HD. Help please
Grant330 is offline  
post #1727 of 1739 Old 12-27-2015, 03:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12,776
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1790 Post(s)
Liked: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant330 View Post
Maybe this is a new thread. I am definately a new user. I purchased a Sony BDP-S6500 bluray machine yesterday and I have it going into my Denon AVR-2313CI AVR. The AVR has satisfactorily played HD content through a home media/PowerDVD computer before so I know it works. For the life of me I can not find the Audio settings in the bluray GUI that allow the Denon to see HD content. The only indicator of sound type to the Denon is "DTS" not DTS - HD or Dolby's equivalent HD. Help please
Set Audio to Auto and BD Mix to OFF. It must also be connected directly to your AVR by HDMI, not coax and not passing through your TV first.
mdavej is offline  
post #1728 of 1739 Old 12-27-2015, 03:17 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 6,474
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 365
You should ask in the Sony 6500 thread. Very common mistake with this player. Set Audio Mix to Off (page 31 of Owner's Manual)

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #1729 of 1739 Old 01-01-2016, 10:55 AM
Newbie
 
Grant330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Set Audio to Auto and BD Mix to OFF. It must also be connected directly to your AVR by HDMI, not coax and not passing through your TV first.
Thanks guys. Worked immediately. Instructions are not necessarily intuitive.
Grant330 is offline  
post #1730 of 1739 Old 01-01-2016, 11:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12,776
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1790 Post(s)
Liked: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant330 View Post
Thanks guys. Worked immediately. Instructions are not necessarily intuitive.
Glad to hear it. Not intuitive at all. It boggles my mind that Sony's defaults are the worst possible settings and have been for many generations of players.
mdavej is offline  
post #1731 of 1739 Old 01-04-2016, 09:32 PM
Member
 
arjunshriram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Darbee Visual Presence

I just installed my new Oppo BDP-105D but the problem is that even with Darbee enabled in Settings and set on Hi-Def and the level set at 120% I cannot see any difference in the picture even when toggling between the various demo modes.
arjunshriram is offline  
post #1732 of 1739 Old 01-05-2016, 05:16 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19,602
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1591 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by arjunshriram View Post
I just installed my new Oppo BDP-105D but the problem is that even with Darbee enabled in Settings and set on Hi-Def and the level set at 120% I cannot see any difference in the picture even when toggling between the various demo modes.
Make sure you are using the HDMI1 output, not HDMI2.

Use 1080p for the output resolution, not Source Direct.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #1733 of 1739 Old 01-06-2016, 03:44 AM
Member
 
arjunshriram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Make sure you are using the HDMI1 output, not HDMI2.

Use 1080p for the output resolution, not Source Direct.

-Bill


What do you mean by Source Direct?
arjunshriram is offline  
post #1734 of 1739 Old 01-06-2016, 05:05 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19,602
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1591 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by arjunshriram View Post
What do you mean by Source Direct?
Could we confine these questions to just one thread, please?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #1735 of 1739 Old 01-06-2016, 11:06 PM
Member
 
arjunshriram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Could we confine these questions to just one thread, please?

-Bill


Sorry. How can I delete or move it?
arjunshriram is offline  
post #1736 of 1739 Old 01-07-2016, 04:59 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19,602
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1591 Post(s)
Liked: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by arjunshriram View Post
Sorry. How can I delete or move it?
Just stop posting in this thread. Pick an OPPO thread and stick to it. You have a 105D so that would be the one to use.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #1737 of 1739 Old 01-09-2016, 09:19 AM
Member
 
arjunshriram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Just stop posting in this thread. Pick an OPPO thread and stick to it. You have a 105D so that would be the one to use.

-Bill
Done.
arjunshriram is offline  
post #1738 of 1739 Old Today, 01:20 PM
Newbie
 
Barogar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Pionneer BDP-80fd and SC-57 AVR, is it better to have PCM or Bitstream from my blu-ray player to my AVR ?
Barogar is online now  
post #1739 of 1739 Old Today, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,979
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 182
With an HDMI connection it doesn't matter. For optical or coax connections, use bitstream.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
BIslander is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Samsung , Samsung Bd P1600 Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off