PS3 Firmware 2.4x- Master Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2008, 03:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
seanoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NT, Australia
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NOT YET. July 2nd (SCEE) will update this post when necessary.

Video of In Game XMB
http://www.viddler.com/explore/sceablog/videos/40/

Video of Trophies
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6auW52RC12E


Features so far

~ Send and receive messages while in-game
~ Launch different game while still in-game
~ Check downloads while in-game
~ View thumbnails of pictures
~ Activate/change BT headset while in-game
~ Date and time displayed after pressing PS button
~ Play music from HDD while in-game (supported games not yet known)
~ Google search bar
~ Trophy support

from WatchImpress (jp - en google translation)
"Video" is related, HDD recording and video storage media, "FUREMUNOIZURIDAKUSHON", "BUROKKUNOIZURIDAKUSHON" (sofa cushion hardness setting, lol, I have no idea)can be set, including upconverted output. このほか、Blu-ray Discのアップコンバート、DVDビデオのDTS-ES、DTS 96/24、Blu-ray DiscのDTS-ES Matrixの再生に対応する。 In addition, Blu-ray Disc up conversion, DVD video DTS-ES, DTS 96/24, Blu-ray Disc playback of DTS-ES Matrix support.

BabelFish
With “video” relation, it reaches the point where it can set “frame noise reduction” and “block noise reduction” vis-a-vis the animated picture which is retained in HDD and the record media, corresponds to also rise conversion output. In addition, DTS-ES and DTS 96/24 of the rise conversion and DVD video of Blu-ray Disc, it corresponds to the playback of DTS-ES Matrix of Blu-ray Disc.
seanoff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2008, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
seanoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NT, Australia
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JULY 2.

Wednesday then.
seanoff is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pugnax555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


~ Play music from HDD while in-game (supported games not yet known)

Burnout Paradise will be one of the games. Shortly after this update comes out there will be a game update (mid-July or so).

Anybody know if there are any changes to the media playback capabilities?
Pugnax555 is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 10:33 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,959
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 983
Anything expected here for folks who use this puppy just for playing Blu-Ray discs?
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Old 06-30-2008, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
GumboChief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If nothing happens with bluray support, I will probably skip this one.
The store never seems to update the trailers, and this is the one use I have for it (acknowledging that I will be locked out)
GumboChief is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 12:03 PM
Member
 
bobvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had problems with the last update picture freezes due to handshaking issues and my HDMI connction getting lost, I read somewhere that formatting the HD can help I have not played a movie since I reformetted.
bobvan is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 12:17 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,959
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobvan View Post

I had problems with the last update picture freezes due to handshaking issues and my HDMI connction getting lost, I read somewhere that formatting the HD can help I have not played a movie since I reformetted.

Often, such problems are nothing more than the HDMI plug having come a little bit loose. The HDMI plugs are just a friction fit and it only takes a tiny bit of looseness to screw up the signal. If you moved the PS3 at all when doing the upgrade that could be what happened. Check both ends of the cable as sometimes HDMI plugs work loose just due to the weight of the cable itself.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Old 06-30-2008, 12:30 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,959
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 983
Dang! No Trophies for playing Blu-Ray movies? Not even if you find an "Easter Egg"?



--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Old 06-30-2008, 12:47 PM
Member
 
bobvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Often, such problems are nothing more than the HDMI plug having come a little bit loose. The HDMI plugs are just a friction fit and it only takes a tiny bit of looseness to screw up the signal. If you moved the PS3 at all when doing the upgrade that could be what happened. Check both ends of the cable as sometimes HDMI plugs work loose just due to the weight of the cable itself.
--Bob

Thanks for the suggestion Bobby

I did that when I lost the signal shutting the main power to the PS3 fixed that problem. I dont move the PS3 its always on my Tosh Regza. I never had these issues before the 2.36 update i got freezing on both BD and SD movies, anyhow I will update to 2.40 later this week. BTW reformatting is no biggie since I use this unit as a BD player only. I use a 360 to game.

-Bob-
bobvan is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
David Barteaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobvan View Post

Thanks for the suggestion Bobby

I did that when I lost the signal shutting the main power to the PS3 fixed that problem. I dont move the PS3 its always on my Tosh Regza. I never had these issues before the 2.36 update i got freezing on both BD and SD movies, anyhow I will update to 2.40 later this week. BTW reformatting is no biggie since I use this unit as a BD player only. I use a 360 to game.

-Bob-

Too bad. The PS3 has some decent games...why don't you use it to its full potential?

David Barteaux is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 03:14 PM
Member
 
bobvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Funny thing is im not a huge gamer (Ironic since I own both systems) I mainly play NHL games. its a good thing since I would of lost all my game saves with the reformat. I realize that I could purchase a mem card to back up my games should I decide to start gaming with the PS.
bobvan is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 03:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hopstretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West of Boston
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanoff View Post

~ Send and receive massages while in-game

Awesome! No more having to get in the bloody car to go down to the rub 'n tug after a hard night of COD4. This is gonna be huge.
Hopstretch is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
trophies?
whotony is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Bytre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobvan View Post

Funny thing is im not a huge gamer (Ironic since I own both systems) I mainly play NHL games. its a good thing since I would of lost all my game saves with the reformat. I realize that I could purchase a mem card to back up my games should I decide to start gaming with the PS.

Throw a USB hard drive (or even large flash drive?) on and backup before a format.
Bytre is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 11:55 PM
Member
 
bobvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytre View Post

Throw a USB hard drive (or even large flash drive?) on and backup before a format.

I did not know I can do that can you save game files on a flash drive?
bobvan is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
K.L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanoff View Post

~ Play music from HDD while in-game (supported games not yet known)

I think it supports all games just like the XMB can be invoked within all games in 2.40.
K.L. is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pugnax555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by K.L. View Post

I think it supports all games just like the XMB can be invoked within all games in 2.40.

It's something that any game could take advantage of, but each individual game will need to be patched/updated to do so.
Pugnax555 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
K.L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pugnax555 View Post

It's something that any game could take advantage of, but each individual game will need to be patched/updated to do so.

Thanks, I checked it again and you are right
http://blog.us.playstation.com/2008/...ware-v240-faq/
Quote:


Currently only music stored on the HDD is accessible in games that support this feature. We'd also like to reiterate that Firmware v2.40 merely enables custom soundtracks. It's up to developers to include this feature in upcoming games (or to patch existing ones).

K.L. is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
seanoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NT, Australia
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
babelfish video news in OP
seanoff is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 09:38 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,959
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 983
Golly! So there ARE going to be some Blu-Ray related improvements in this release! I'm particular looking forward to being able, at long last, to adjust the hardness of my sofa cushion!

It looks like the poster who has been fixated on the PS3's inability to decode DTS ES Matrix should be a happy camper.

I suspect that Blu-Ray "up-conversion" means the ability to play 1080i/60 Blu-Ray discs (live concerts, primarily) as 1080p/60 output. I certainly hope that is an option that can be turned off as I suspect my Anthem Statement D2 will do a better job of that de-interlacing.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Old 07-01-2008, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pugnax555 View Post

It's something that any game could take advantage of, but each individual game will need to be patched/updated to do so.

Hm. Stardust HD has had what sounds like this feature since I started playing it back in January -- using my own music from my PS3's HD rather than the built-in game music.

So how is this new feature different, if programmers could already build the feature into the game?

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is online now  
Old 07-01-2008, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pugnax555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdclark View Post

Hm. Stardust HD has had what sounds like this feature since I started playing it back in January -- using my own music from my PS3's HD rather than the built-in game music.

So how is this new feature different, if programmers could already build the feature into the game?

I believe the difference is that there is now a Sony-supported API that allows developers to do this. Previously it was doable, but it was up to the developer to figure it out on their own and code it themselves. Now they can just use supported system calls to do it.

EDIT: Also it looks like Stardust HD was a Sony title, so it's probably the same libraries that they're using for it.
Pugnax555 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 10:49 AM
Member
 
gourmetcoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to famitsu in Japan information, news comming from Sony Of Japan the new firmware 2.40 will add the following features not mentioned before?



Friends list has been expanded from 50 to 100
Linear PCM Output Support has been added to Music.
You can now print folders under Photo that Organized by Month, Year or by Album Name.
Support for the following has been made Both for DVD & Blu-Ray Playback: DTS-ES , DTS 96/24, DTS-ES Matrix. In addition the ability to upconvert media via external storage i.e user created content can now be upconverted.

If these two things are true its great news.

PSN: OsamaBinBoulay
gourmetcoffee is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eddy_winds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Dang! No Trophies for playing Blu-Ray movies? Not even if you find an "Easter Egg"?



--Bob


My mom works for Sony, and she brought home a copy of "Starhawk BETA"
I quickly slipped it into my trusty PS3, and started playing.


GOOZEX Game/Movie Exchange
eddy_winds is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Maxx_75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Algona, WA
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still no ability to output audio via HDMI and optical at the same time ? I am hoping that this sneaks in at some point.

"My ignorance amuses me." .......Manfred Powell

Blu-Ray = 381 HD DVD = 1
My Collection
Maxx_75 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cyberbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Here's some information from this WatchImpress article:
http://www.watch.impress.co.jp/av/docs/20080701/sce.htm

I'll translate a few things so it's a bit more clear what the update adds:
Supports upconversion of recorded Blu-ray Discs (like 1080i programs recorded from HD broadcasts - to 1080p). This applies to BDAV discs, not BD-ROMs or BDMVs.

Also newly supports upconversion of video on the hard drive, memory sticks, and SD cards, as well as frame noise reduction and block noise reduction for this media.

When playing back DTS off of DVD, it now supports playback of DTS-ES and DTS 96/24, as well as Blu-ray Disc DTS-ES Matrix soundtracks.

A new addition is a mini control panel for music playback, as well as support for MP3 Surround files. MP3 Surround files are converted to LPCM for output.
cyberbri is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 01:08 PM
Member
 
rio203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: chicago ill
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i would like to know when put a cd in the ps3 i want my avr to do all of the decodeing is their a setting in the ps3 that will allow me to do this

Monitor audio gs60's
Monitor audio lcr center
Monitor audio gs fx surrounds
Oppo bdp83
Kuro pro 101fd
Direct tv hr22
Integra dhc 40.1 processor
rio203 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pugnax555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rio203 View Post

i would like to know when put a cd in the ps3 i want my avr to do all of the decodeing is their a setting in the ps3 that will allow me to do this

What decoding? The data is stored on the CD as a raw 2-channel PCM stream. There's nothing for your receiver to decode.
Pugnax555 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 01:28 PM
Member
 
rio203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: chicago ill
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what mean is i had a panny blu-ray when i would put a hdcd in my marantz would decode it

Monitor audio gs60's
Monitor audio lcr center
Monitor audio gs fx surrounds
Oppo bdp83
Kuro pro 101fd
Direct tv hr22
Integra dhc 40.1 processor
rio203 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pugnax555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rio203 View Post

what mean is i had a panny blu-ray when i would put a hdcd in my marantz would decode it

Ahhh, gotcha. Yes, there is some extra data that can be decoded on HDCDs. The PS3 can certainly be made to recognize the HDCD flag and decode it, but whether or not they ever incorporate this is another matter. I'd guess that it's mostly a licensing issue (yet another fee they'd have to pay for every PS3 out there).

EDIT: Don't ever expect to see this on the PS3, as Microsoft now holds the patents for HDCD.
Pugnax555 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off