The Official Sony BDP-S350 Owners Thread - Page 226 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6751 of 6767 Old 11-30-2014, 12:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holiday121 View Post
Very interesting I did not know that. Can anyone else chime in on that. Has anyone had a cinavia protection pop up on there 350?

Also has anyone had a problem playing any of the newer movies?
My Sony BDP-S350 is running the most current firmware mentioned above and has no earthly idea what cinavia is and has been bullet proof playing back all titles thrown at it.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6752 of 6767 Old 11-30-2014, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,796
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Well I just bought two. Hopefully they turn out well.
Holiday121 is online now  
post #6753 of 6767 Old 11-30-2014, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holiday121 View Post
Well I just bought two. Hopefully they turn out well.
If you got well cared for and not excessively used players, I expect you'll do fine. My 350 currently lives in a secondary system in our mountain home - I'm watching a blu-ray on it as I write this . . it just keeps on playing . . :-)

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #6754 of 6767 Old 11-30-2014, 07:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,850
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 908 Post(s)
Liked: 519
I wish I had known there was still a market for this model. I gave one away not long ago. Is it the latest model not infected? Why else would one buy such an old model?
mdavej is offline  
post #6755 of 6767 Old 12-02-2014, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
I wish I had known there was still a market for this model. I gave one away not long ago. Is it the latest model not infected? Why else would one buy such an old model?
The S370/570 models are also clean of cinavia corrupted firmware. These seem to sell regularly on EBay if in good condition, from what I have seen.

btw . . no one will pry my Sony 350, 550, 1000es or Panasonic DMP-BD55 players from my cold dying fingers in any hurry!!!

A long-time audio/video addict!

Last edited by Rich86; 12-02-2014 at 08:17 PM.
Rich86 is offline  
post #6756 of 6767 Old 12-07-2014, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
DRC72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Hartford, CT
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich86 View Post
The S370/570 models are also clean of cinavia corrupted firmware. These seem to sell regularly on EBay if in good condition, from what I have seen.

btw . . no one will pry my Sony 350, 550, 1000es or Panasonic DMP-BD55 players from my cold dying fingers in any hurry!!!
My s550 is still going strong, although I wish I could add streaming apps to it. I guess the technology in it just can't do it. Bought me the Sony BDP-S3200 streaming player for the bedroom for $49. Great basic unit for streaming and BD playback.
DRC72 is offline  
post #6757 of 6767 Old 12-07-2014, 11:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dawgdaes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Huntington Woods MI
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
My was working great when I gave it to an employee.
Dawgdaes is offline  
post #6758 of 6767 Old 12-07-2014, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRC72 View Post
My s550 is still going strong, although I wish I could add streaming apps to it. I guess the technology in it just can't do it. Bought me the Sony BDP-S3200 streaming player for the bedroom for $49. Great basic unit for streaming and BD playback.
I don't have any great interest in streaming and my Sony TV can stream when/if I get the urge.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #6759 of 6767 Old 12-07-2014, 01:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dawgdaes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Huntington Woods MI
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I know it sound petty or picky but the boot time was wayyyyy to long for me.
Dawgdaes is offline  
post #6760 of 6767 Old 12-07-2014, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
DRC72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Hartford, CT
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich86 View Post
I don't have any great interest in streaming and my Sony TV can stream when/if I get the urge.
I use Netflix a lot and the player I bought (regular $120 got for $49)was to.good of value to pass up for the bedroom. My s550 is a great unit and is still an integral part of my home theater. My PS3 is my main streaming device for my home theater.

Last edited by DRC72; 12-07-2014 at 02:36 PM.
DRC72 is offline  
post #6761 of 6767 Old 12-18-2014, 11:26 AM
Member
 
sarahb75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Norton, Ohio
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Hi guys.

Hope someone might comment on my experience with the BDT-350. Originally bought unit due to needing 2 HDMI outputs to enable 3D with the early HDMI enabled Integra receiver & 73" Mits DLP that used to be in our theater room. (both of those products now gone, but still use the 350. We don't do 3D anymore)

Anyway, the 350 is not connected to the internet, but did update its firmware with a disc from Panasonic (in 2012 or 2013) after finding that unit would not play a newly bought Apocalypse Now Blu-ray. The update solved the problem.

Everything had been fine with the many Blu-rays played since that update. Then last week I loaded the Blu-ray of the original "Diehard" which I'd just bought, and was fresh out of the package. Got one of those "check disc messages". Loaded Diehard several times, but still a no go. So, just for the heck of it, loaded Apocalypse Now into the player. It is now suddenly a "no go" too.

But here's what really seems strange. Had heard that 20th Century Fox titles can be more complex and difficult to play than discs from some other studios. But I would assume that the Diehard disc can't be as complex as Avatar, or certainly Prometheous which is a much newer Blu-ray, and certainly more complex with its features & menus. Yet, Avatar & Prometheus both play fine.

Suspect that firmware might have nothing to do with a BDT-350 which just might be going bad. I have a BDT-100 which gradually stopped playing various Blu-rays. A firmware update gave no improvement, and the unit gradually went from playing around half of Blu-rays loaded, to totally losing its ability to play any Blu-rays, even adult titles. Am glad that the BDT-100 still does a great job with any DVD, and the unit was a freebie for buying a Panny plasma, anyway.

Also, I recently took a 3 year old BDT-110 out of our living room system because with both Blu-rays & DVDs it presents a white flash about once per minute which is accompanied by a brief lapse of audio. My wife was particularly annoyed by a word or 2 of dialog continually being dropped. (wondering what characters had just said was turning dramas into mysteries)

Hate to sound like nothing but a griper, folks, but after recommending Panasonic Blu-ray players to friends & family since getting my 1st Panny Blu-ray, the DMP-BD60 in November 2009, I've now lost trust in the quality control that attends Panny's players. That first Panny player has turned out to be the only one of my 4 Panasonic Blu-rays that has never developed problems. And since last Spring I've ended my run with Panny Blu-rays by obtaining Sony S5100 & S5200 models.
I hated to abandon Panasonic because even going back to the VCR days, Panny VHS units were a great value, and with years of heavy use, provided reliable service.

Anyway, guys, have been running off at the mouth too much already, but any comments someone might offer about the strange situation with our BDT350, would be most appreciated. I just wonder why a player will simply lose the ability to play a disc it previously had no trouble with, even though that disc is in mint condition.
sarahb75 is offline  
post #6762 of 6767 Old 12-18-2014, 11:45 AM
Member
 
sarahb75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Norton, Ohio
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 48
An Apology

I'm sorry guys. It's not a good excuse, but have been up all night & did not intend to invade your Sony Blu-ray owners thread. (although I do have Sony S5100 & S5200 Blu-rays)

In the active topics listing I'd have sworn that somebody with a Panasonic BDT-350 had just posted on this thread and I made the mistake of thinking I was clicking onto a BDT-350 owner's thread. Will try to be a lot more careful and not tie things up by being irrelevant.
sarahb75 is offline  
post #6763 of 6767 Old 02-20-2015, 09:34 PM
Newbie
 
porsche944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by neogeo64 View Post
I moved to a smaller house without cat5, only wifi so my home electronics have not been "jacked in" to the internet for some time. before i would update over the Internet without problems. well today for some reason i had some free time and decided to check if my Sony bps350 had a firmware update (currently v24). I saw. v26 was out so i downloaded the zip, extracted the 2 files and burned to a CD-R. when i placed the CD into the player it recognized it was v26 and proceeded to update. after 10 minutes of the screen flashing from vup to 0/9 over and over i realized somthing was wrong. No button combonation worked to open the drive, no disconnecting power cable combos either. at this point i realized i bricked it and had nothing to lose by opening it up. I didn't have a hole anywhere for a paperclip to release the disc so this is how i got the disc out:

1. unscrewed 2 side screws and 3 rear side screws opens the top panel.
2.flip the bottom 3 tabs with finger and side tab with screwdriver at the same time as a top tab released the front bezel.
3.disconnected the 2 cables crossing over the top of the drive as well as the fan cable.
4.unscrewed 2 small black screws on heatsink side of drive holding bracket, disconnect the red sata cable on the same side.
5.unscrew 4 drive screws holding drive to frame, this releases the drive.
6. with drive in my hand unscrew 4 bottom screws and 2 front/ 2 back (small) screws. this opens up the drive and the disc fell out.
7. put it back together in reverse order

after plugging the unit back in i still got the alternating vup. & 0/9 screens. about 10mins later i then got an error msg on the lcd and the drive opened. I unplugged. the player and plugged it back in. pressed power and it welcomed me with the familiar welcome and wait on the lcd. I checked firmware and still showing v24. this time i plugged it into my router and pc monitor(hdmi) and proceeded to update via the internet.
success! It is now v26

moral of the story, save yourself the headache and update online.
Neogeo64, I can't thank you enough. I just went through the very same thing. After spending an hour on the phone with Sony tech support, who was unable to remove the disk, but happy to recommend paid, out-of-warranty service for their own failed upgrade. I found the service manual (Googled Sony BDP-S350 service manual), took it apart, manually removed the disk, still had the same problem, Googled some more, found your post and, voila, followed your lead to success. What serendipity. You saved me a paid trip to the service center, or, more likely, replacing the player. Thanks again!
porsche944 is offline  
post #6764 of 6767 Old Yesterday, 06:19 PM
Newbie
 
was_a_guru's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unhappy Unable to get 7.1 Sound from Sony BDP-S350

I have a Sony BDP-S350 connected to my Yamaha RX-V565 via HDMI. I have a 7.1 Sony speaker sound system.

I can calibrate the speaker using the Yamaha auto setup and all the speakers are recognized (see File 1). When a select the HDMI channel for the Sony and play a Blu-Ray calibration disk, select 7.1 and start speaker identification part, it in order correctly outputs test sounds to all the speakers EXCEPT the two surround back channels. The test sounds for those come through the surround right and surround left speakers respectively NOT the surround right and left back speakers.

I used the Yamaha "Option" button to look at the data for the Sony and it only shows Channel 3/2/0.1 (i.e. 5.1 not 7.1 (see File 2).

I've tried a number of different audio options/selections on both the Sony and Yamaha to no avail.

Any idea of what gives?

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	File 1.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	27.3 KB
ID:	578993   Click image for larger version

Name:	File 2.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	24.1 KB
ID:	579001  
was_a_guru is offline  
post #6765 of 6767 Old Today, 12:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 37
If your receiver supports 7.1 and you have it set as connected to 7.1 speakers, the S350 should send 7.1 down the line to it.
A couple of suggestions if you haven't thought of these maybe.
In the player:
Make sure your audio setting is "Direct" (NOT Mixed).
Be sure "Dolby Digital" & "DTS" are not set to downmix to pcm.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #6766 of 6767 Old Today, 07:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,850
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 908 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Also try bitstream instead of PCM.
mdavej is offline  
post #6767 of 6767 Old Today, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Toknowshita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Some manufacturers are hobbling the PCM output. IOW use bitstream.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Toknowshita is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony , Sony Bdp S350 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player , sony bdp-s350 , unable to get 7.1 sound
Gear in this thread - S350 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off