The Official Sony BDP-S350 Owners Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jlangner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rveras View Post

Double check the following settings:

Audio Output Priority: HDMI
Audio HDMI: Auto
BD Audio Setting: Direct
Audio ATT: Off
Dolby Digital: Dolby Digital
DTS: DTS
Audio DRC: Standard

Ok, got it. ty

Blu-Ray: 40
Yamaha RX-V663
Sony BDP-S350
jlangner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
dbailey100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad1963 View Post

I spoke with ABT this afternoon, they are expecting their shipment probably Wednesday. They are getting 500 units of the SONY BDP S350 and have only 45 pre-orders to fill. The pre-orders will be filled and shipped immediately.


Interesting. When I pre-ordered mine a few days ago, Michael told me that they had about 70 pre-orders. My guess is that it has increased since then, but perhaps quite a few folks cancelled theirs. I think the total pre-order number is well within the 500 units that ABT is expecting from Sony.
dbailey100 is offline  
post #93 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 04:51 PM
Newbie
 
HTdreamming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rveras View Post

Double check the following settings:

Audio Output Priority: HDMI
Audio HDMI: Auto
BD Audio Setting: Direct
Audio ATT: Off
Dolby Digital: Dolby Digital
DTS: DTS
Audio DRC: Standard

+1
and you may also need to hit the straight button the front of the yamaha to turn the processing back on. Which I believe will turn the processing back on including the TrueHD decoder.

Randy
HTdreamming
HTdreamming is offline  
post #94 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
dbailey100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlangner View Post

As far as the Flash Memory. The slot is very small. I had a SamDisk 2GB flash drive so wanted to try it. No go, its too wide.

http://www.officemax.com/omax/catalo...i_sku=21250691

Uh oh! That's not good. Is Sony trying to force us to buy their USB drives?

Or, do you mean the USB slot on the back is deeper than normal and therefore the Sandisk need to be inserted into it more but can't?
dbailey100 is offline  
post #95 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stew4msu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Wylie, Texas, USA
Posts: 7,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
What does the use of a flash drive gain you (what's it for?)?

"The dream never dies, just the dreamer."

Stew4msu is offline  
post #96 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Woodshed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
480i over HDMI anyone?
Woodshed is offline  
post #97 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jlangner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbailey100 View Post

Uh oh! That's not good. Is Sony trying to force us to buy their USB drives?

Or, do you mean the USB slot on the back is deeper than normal and therefore the Sandisk need to be inserted into it more but can't?

Its too wide to fit in the hole. The plastic case is.

Blu-Ray: 40
Yamaha RX-V663
Sony BDP-S350
jlangner is offline  
post #98 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
pnkflyd51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hopkinton, MA (originally from Bloomington, IN)
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
> Its too wide to fit in the hole. The plastic case is.

You might be able to get a cheap 1 foot USB extension cable to use to plug your stick in via. I have a 3 year old Sony RPTV that takes it's firmware updates with- my sticks were all too big (wide) but I had an extension cable and it worked just fine.

Just a thought...
pnkflyd51 is offline  
post #99 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon Spackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post

Well, scratch this one and the BDP-S550 off my (already very short) list.

For me at least,
No Source Direct = No Reon/Realta/VP50/etc for 1080i Blu-ray and 480i DVD = NO SALE!

Thanks for the quick work in scanning the manual guys, this cements my decision for the Pioneer BDP-51FD based on my needs to use the Reon chip in my processor for maximum quality. The BDP-51FD has no competition in its pricerange for use with an external video processor IMO.

For someone who does not have a receiver or processor with something like Reon/Realta and have no intention of buying one, though, the S350 unit is obviously still a good deal.

Told you some months back that the Panasonic S350, uhh, I mean Sony S350 would not have direct out

Just enjoy HD in whatever form you can (Sat, Cable, D-VHS, OTA, HD DVD, or BD).
Jon Spackman is offline  
post #100 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 06:35 PM
Newbie
 
VenDiaJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The BDP-S350 doesn't seem to like my Sharp XV-Z12000 DVI port. I have been using an HDMI to DVI adapter cable to plug my HD Cable box into the projector for years, but if I try the same thing with the Sony, the projector says "no digital signal" and the player grays out the HDMI selection in the setup menu. The only way I can see the menu is with the component cables. I went to Best Buy and plugged the player into one of their tvs via HDMI and it displayed immediately. The player manual says that the conversion cable should work if the DVI device (projector) is HDCP compliant. Sharp tech support had no info on whether the XV-Z12000 (mark1) is HDCP compliant through the DVI port. Anyone out there know the answer?
VenDiaJ is offline  
post #101 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 427
it's been asked and I'm asking again, what is the power up time and how long does it take to load Ratatouille? thanks.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #102 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 06:52 PM
Member
 
jimbo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Central Coast, CA USA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Folks - If the video output is via the COMPONENT jacks, will the HDMI output full 7.1 lossless audio?
jimbo88 is offline  
post #103 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 06:56 PM
Member
 
JSKMDWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern California
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I am planning to use the new Integra DTC-9.8 preamp to do all of my decoding. Since the Sony S350 outputs all formats over bitstream, will I be missing anything?
thanks.

Would I have stayed happy not knowing how good it could be? 

My theater in print http://www.hometheater.com/writer/26443

Mocha Theater Construction thread http://www.avsforum.com/t/1527883/mocha-theater-construction 

JSKMDWK is offline  
post #104 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
JSKMDWK ,
You will have no problems at all.

jsil is online now  
post #105 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
jimbo88 ,
HDMI will give you 7.1 lossless audio. What's your set up.

jsil is online now  
post #106 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSKMDWK View Post

I am planning to use the new Integra DTC-9.8 preamp to do all of my decoding. Since the Sony S350 outputs all formats over bitstream, will I be missing anything?
thanks.

Based on initial reports, you will not be able to fully utilize the Integra DTC-9.8's high quality Reon video processor for deinterlacing content such as 1080i/30fps Blu-ray discs - most concerts and nature documentaries on Blu-ray (for example Nine Inch Nails, Galapagos, Nature's Journey, etc) along with a few 1080i/24fps (Short Circuit, Beer League, etc) films. Instead, you will have to rely on the $399 BDP-S350's internal video processing chip to do the deinterlacing unless you want to be messing around in the S350 player's setup menu every time you switch between a movie and concert; for reference, note that Secrets of Home Theater and HiFi found that the $499 Panasonic BD30 bobs 1080i/30fps Blu-ray Discs to 1080p, losing much resolution in the process. There are other 3rd gen player options by different manufacturers which allow you to output the original resolution, be it progressive or interlaced, to external video processor chips such as the one in the DTC-9.8 for optimal video quality with both Blu-ray and DVD. It is a shame to see that video processor go to waste.

For audio, though, you will be mostly covered. You will be able to hear all sound lossless via bitstream. However, when you want to watch PiP commentaries or other extras that require subaudio, you will be required to enter the player's setup menu and toggle the subaudio on (disabling lossless DTS-HDMA in the process) in order to hear any audio at all from the commentary... And after done watching the commentary go back in tho the player's setup menu toggle it back off so you can get lossless quality again with DTS-HDMA. A standalone player with builtin DTS-HDMA decoding would allow you to leave the player in PCM mode and get lossless no matter what while also allowing for subaudio from PiP commentaries without issue, though you could still use bitstream mode if you chose as well.

If you can put up with the aforementioned potential quality loss with interlaced material and the setup menu hassles of subaudio, the BDP-S350 may be okay for you however.
Ruined is offline  
post #107 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 07:22 PM
Member
 
jimbo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Central Coast, CA USA
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsil View Post

jimbo88 ,
HDMI will give you 7.1 lossless audio. What's your set up.

I want to video output via component cables to my (older) Pioneer PDP-5030HD plasma (it doesn't have HDMI inputs) and audio output via HDMI to my Onkyo SR705.

Just want to make sure the S350 can be set to output video separately from the HDMI audio.
jimbo88 is offline  
post #108 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 07:24 PM
TRT
AVS Special Member
 
TRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Blah-Blah-Blah! I've read enough. The PS3 is still the best blu-ray player on the market.
TRT is offline  
post #109 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 07:27 PM
TRT
AVS Special Member
 
TRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRT View Post

Blah-Blah-Blah! I've read enough. The PS3 is still the best blu-ray player on the market.

...not withstanding the fact that it plays SACD's over HDMI, I have had no problems at all with any of my BD's. Audio or video!
TRT is offline  
post #110 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRT View Post

Blah-Blah-Blah! I've read enough. The PS3 is still the best blu-ray player on the market.

No 480i over HDMI for DVD output to a scaler.
No bitstream of HD nextgen codecs for those who want to use their receiver/prepro for decoding.
No native IR support.
Can be loud (depending on your luck).
Big and can't be stacked.
Subjectively not the best looking piece of gear on the block.
Functionally more complex than it needs to be for Blu-ray playback due to obvious reasons.

In other words, its not even close to the best for many
Ruined is offline  
post #111 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 07:38 PM
Member
 
silvertone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Plano
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the S550 will also NOT output at 'source direct'?

Please say it ain't so!!

Belinda was mine 'til the time that I found her.......
silvertone is offline  
post #112 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 427
nobody powered their newly received unit yet? ::

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #113 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 71
What's the boot time?
RWetmore is offline  
post #114 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 07:50 PM
TRT
AVS Special Member
 
TRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post

No 480i over HDMI for DVD output to a scaler.
No bitstream of HD nextgen codecs for those who want to use their receiver/prepro for decoding.
No native IR support.
Can be loud (depending on your luck).
Big and can't be stacked.
Subjectively not the best looking piece of gear on the block.
Functionally more complex than it needs to be for Blu-ray playback due to obvious reasons.

In other words, its not even close to the best for many

Bullet 1: I have three 777ES changers running into my Integra DTC-9.8 from a Escient Manager-Not an issue.
Bullet 2: The LPCM works beautifully
Bullet 3: 25 bucks for the bluetooth remote? OK, so I have to use that one along with my Harmony One. Big deal! So what!
Bullet 4: You can't be serious.
Bullet 5: It sits nicely in my BDI stand, but they do make ears for the PS3.
Bullet 6: Again; You can't be serious.
Last but not least; Bullet 7: It is the simplest piece of gear I have ever owned. It also talks to my computer making it the cheapest server on the planet.

As a custom installer, our company doesn't sell them because there is no money to be made. I have 14 units of gear + amps, and the PS3 is everybody's [in my home] favorite unit. Thank goodness it doesn't bitstream the new CODEC's, because it would be in the same boat as the rest of the player's with the popping noises and handshake issues that have plagued us early adopters. When a stand-alone gets released that can beat this unit, I'll give it its due consideration, but for now the PS3 is hard to beat!
TRT is offline  
post #115 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 07:52 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,792
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post

In other words, its not even close to the best for many

You missed:

No multi-channel analog audio output for those that need that.

Incorrect Studio RGB output (no BTB or Peak White data) for folks who can't use YCbCr video output.

-----------------------------------

That said, if you have a receiver that accepts HDMI YCbCr video and high bandwidth, multi-channel LPCM audio and "does the right thing" with it (which means most current HDMI receivers), and don't mind buying an add-on device to enable use of common programmable remote controls, the quiet 40GB PS3 makes a pretty durned nifty and fast-performing profile 2.0 Blu-Ray player which has a proven track record of regular upgrades via software and ALREADY decodes all the lossless audio formats (no waiting for firmware still to come).

For folks in this very common situation, it is hard to see anything to recommend the summer crop of new, stand alone players.

And while you are watching a movie you don't even have to look at it....
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #116 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 08:03 PM
TRT
AVS Special Member
 
TRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

You missed:

No multi-channel analog audio output for those that need that.

Incorrect Studio RGB output (no BTB or Peak White data) for folks who can't use YCbCr video output.

-----------------------------------

That said, if you have a receiver that accepts HDMI YCbCr video and high bandwidth, multi-channel LPCM audio and "does the right thing" with it (which means most current HDMI receivers), and don't mind buying an add-on device to enable use of common programmable remote controls, the quiet 40GB PS3 makes a pretty durned nifty and fast-performing profile 2.0 Blu-Ray player which has a proven track record of regular upgrades via software and ALREADY decodes all the lossless audio formats (no waiting for firmware still to come).

For folks in this very common situation, it is hard to see anything to recommend the summer crop of new, stand alone players.

And while you are watching a movie you don't even have to look at it....
--Bob

The 777ES changers have analog outputs IF I had needed them, but with a newer pre-pro (DTC-9.8) it's not a issue. If Sony, or anyone else for that matter, had put ALL of the features audiophiles want in these players, the unit would have cost 5K.
TRT is offline  
post #117 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvertone View Post

Does anyone know if the S550 will also NOT output at 'source direct'?

Please say it ain't so!!

Looks like Pioneer didn't build the Sony standalones this year like gen1 & gen2

Highly, highly, highly unlikely the S550 would output when the S350 doesn't. The S550 is an S350 with onboard memory + more comprehensive audio decoding. It appears you will have to buy a BDP-51FD/BDP-05FD if you want a 3rd gen "Source Direct" player under $1000.
Ruined is offline  
post #118 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
jimbo88,
Needs help can the s350 output video from component and audio out from HDMI to his Onkyo 705.

jsil is online now  
post #119 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 08:18 PM
TRT
AVS Special Member
 
TRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post

Looks like Pioneer didn't build the Sony standalones this year like gen1 & gen2

Highly, highly, highly unlikely the S550 would output when the S350 doesn't. The S550 is an S350 with onboard memory + more comprehensive audio decoding. It appears you will have to buy a BDP-51FD/BDP-05FD if you want a 3rd gen "Source Direct" player under $1000.

Here's what I don't understand. Why not get a good BD player for blu-ray and a good DVD player like the Oppo and cover all of the bases for less money? Why does everything have to be in one unit? I can name a thousand reasons for having more than one player in your rack and one big con for having just one (all-in-one) player.
TRT is offline  
post #120 of 6745 Old 07-08-2008, 08:18 PM
 
mjg100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post

No 480i over HDMI for DVD output to a scaler.
No bitstream of HD nextgen codecs for those who want to use their receiver/prepro for decoding.
No native IR support.
Can be loud (depending on your luck).
Big and can't be stacked.
Subjectively not the best looking piece of gear on the block.
Functionally more complex than it needs to be for Blu-ray playback due to obvious reasons.

In other words, its not even close to the best for many

I have an HD DVD player that I can use for that. Heck you can buy a HD DVD player for $60.00 if you need 480i over HDMI.
mjg100 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Sony , Sony Bdp S350 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - S350 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off