Bluray Player Audio Support Comparison Chart - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 662 Old 07-19-2008, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

MSRP is also $699, not $599.

Done
adidino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 662 Old 07-19-2008, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,764
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

Done! Sorry.. missed that for some reason.

One more fix needed: BD-UP5000 have 7.1 analog out, not 2.0. It's BD-P1500 that has 2.0. Sorry for the confusion in my original post.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #33 of 662 Old 07-19-2008, 05:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

One more fix needed: BD-UP5000 have 7.1 analog out, not 2.0. It's BD-P1500 that has 2.0. Sorry for the confusion in my original post.

Done..
adidino is offline  
post #34 of 662 Old 07-19-2008, 07:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EWL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave7 View Post

FYI on another update - Marantz BD8002:

MSRP = 1999
Avail = now

It looks like you accidentally just pasted over the old msrp with the price of the Sony just above it.

This is a great chart, and once you have it updated, it shouldn't be too tough to manage...hopefully.

Thanks for the effort - you do the forum a great service.

Now if only a similar chart was created for the pre/pros.

The Marantz BD8002 is a Denon 3800 clone so it too does not decode DTS-HD HR and DD+. The 2 players should read like how the 3800 reads right now on the chart.

Pioneer broke my heart.
Denon broke my wallet.
Oppo broke my thinking.
EWL5 is offline  
post #35 of 662 Old 07-19-2008, 08:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dave7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Outside Philly
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EWL5 View Post

The Marantz BD8002 is a Denon 3800 clone so it too does not decode DTS-HD HR and DD+. The 2 players should read like how the 3800 reads right now on the chart.

Maybe you are mistaken? Possibly it is not as much of a clone player as people think and here is a difference.

I have a BD8002 and I believe I have outputted LPCM with no problems with these formats as far as I could tell at that time. Perhaps I missed something, but I don't think so. Refer to pages 11 & 12 of the manual online as well as Page 23.

I don't claim to be an expert. Perhaps you can instruct me as to how to test this.

Dave
dave7 is offline  
post #36 of 662 Old 07-19-2008, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EWL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave7 View Post

Maybe you are mistaken? Possibly it is not as much of a clone player as people think and here is a difference.

I have a BD8002 and I believe I have outputted LPCM with no problems with these formats as far as I could tell at that time. Perhaps I missed something, but I don't think so. Refer to pages 11 & 12 of the manual online as well as Page 23.

I don't claim to be an expert. Perhaps you can instruct me as to how to test this.

As in my Denon manual, look at your Marantz manual on page 12 footnote 3 in the upper left:

"For DTS-HD Master Audio, outputs audio signals decoded from DTS-HD Master Audio stream, and for DTS-HD High Resolution Audio, outputs audio signals decoded from DTS core stream."

Pioneer broke my heart.
Denon broke my wallet.
Oppo broke my thinking.
EWL5 is offline  
post #37 of 662 Old 07-19-2008, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EWL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dave, remember that we in the 3800 thread have already gone through all the drama and angst from not being able to "decode all." Hate to be the first to break the news to you but the Denon/Marantz players do not decode all.

Easy test would be to grab some BD's that have a DTS-HD HR track and check what the player displays. If you own the Queen Rock Montreal & Live Aid BD or any other number of concerts that have a DTS-HD HR track, give them a spin and see what decodes in the player.

Pioneer broke my heart.
Denon broke my wallet.
Oppo broke my thinking.
EWL5 is offline  
post #38 of 662 Old 07-19-2008, 09:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,764
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 192
All DTS-HD HR or MA tracks contain DTS core 5.1 track which can be decoded by most players. So, to determine if a player can really decode DTS-HD is a little bit tough. But if you play a DTS-HD HR or MA 7.1 disc (there are plenty of them), you can easily tell if your player can decode DTS-HD or not. If you only get 5.1 output from either analog or HDMI LPCM, your player is not capable of DTS-HD decoding but rather only decodes DTS core 5.1.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #39 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dave7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Outside Philly
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will check this when I get home again.

So the way I read this is:
DTS HD MA -> decodes to -> DTS HD MA
DTS HD HR -> decodes to -> DTS

I still don't see where it implies no decoding of DD+ though. Is this why they have a footnote "Outputs audio from an independent substream" and if so, why don't they just say "For DD +, outputs DD" like in footnote 3 for DTS?

BTW - the 3800 thread is way too long now to easily search for specific issues like this. This happens a lot for popular pieces of gear. While I also hate that you are the one to break the bad news to me, I appreciate the information. I wish there was a way to break some of these issue out into sub-threads or individual threads. I will check the 8002 thread and perhaps mention it there if it hasn’t been already.
threads.

Is there a fix for this on the way?

So back to the chart, if this is true, then it seems both the 3800 and the 8002 would have to be modified with footnotes that they will decode DTS HD MA, but DTS HD HR is reduced the std DTS, the same possibly with DD+.

Dave
dave7 is offline  
post #40 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 08:53 AM
Member
 
jimwhit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Never mind. I see it's been changed already. As well as a couple other things.

Good work!!!
jimwhit is offline  
post #41 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 12:30 PM
Member
 
KenS2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for putting this together.
KenS2000 is offline  
post #42 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EWL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave7 View Post

I will check this when I get home again.

So the way I read this is:
DTS HD MA -> decodes to -> DTS HD MA
DTS HD HR -> decodes to -> DTS

I still don't see where it implies no decoding of DD+ though. Is this why they have a footnote "Outputs audio from an independent substream" and if so, why don't they just say "For DD +, outputs DD" like in footnote 3 for DTS?

BTW - the 3800 thread is way too long now to easily search for specific issues like this. This happens a lot for popular pieces of gear. While I also hate that you are the one to break the bad news to me, I appreciate the information. I wish there was a way to break some of these issue out into sub-threads or individual threads. I will check the 8002 thread and perhaps mention it there if it hasn't been already.
threads.

Is there a fix for this on the way?

So back to the chart, if this is true, then it seems both the 3800 and the 8002 would have to be modified with footnotes that they will decode DTS HD MA, but DTS HD HR is reduced the std DTS, the same possibly with DD+.

Dave, I think you understand the DTS decoding now. Note that decoding of DTS-HD HR was never an advertised feature of the Denon/Marantz. I'm sure many feel it should given the premium price.

Concerning DD+, there really isn't a way to prove that it doesn't decode one way or the other since not one BD has been issued with DD+ (making it really a non-issue). The only one I'm aware of is a demo disc from Dolby that has it but I've never seen it myself.

Pioneer broke my heart.
Denon broke my wallet.
Oppo broke my thinking.
EWL5 is offline  
post #43 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CT_Wiebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tony,

Do you have any image editor software? I'm thinking of Adobe Photoshop Elements (any version from 4.0 to 6.0)? I have both 4.0 and 6.0 and I will try to see what I can do with them. You can create a picture (the graph function) in Excel (IIRC). I'm on vacation, but I can try to see what I can do.

From your most recent posts, it sounds like you've already done it (converted to Excel) manually. Is that true? I might be able to help in your conversion dilemma, send me a PM (we can exchange details via email).

- Claus {non-Santa model}
CT_Wiebe is offline  
post #44 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhatHappend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern MN
Posts: 1,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tony,
How are you making the OP image? The quality for me is not as good as the one by namechamps. The text looks kind of like a dot matrix printer.

If you have it in a Excel spread sheet, can you remove the cell boarders on the MSRP/Availability columns like the orgional table? I would also vote for a darker green.

Thanks for putting in the effort on this.
WhatHappend is offline  
post #45 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatHappend View Post

I would also vote for a darker green.

+1

to each his own...
slogun is offline  
post #46 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatHappend View Post

Tony,
How are you making the OP image? The quality for me is not as good as the one by namechamps. The text looks kind of like a dot matrix printer.

If you have it in a Excel spread sheet, can you remove the cell boarders on the MSRP/Availability columns like the orgional table? I would also vote for a darker green.

Thanks for putting in the effort on this.

I actually had to retype the entire chart in excel. Problem is, I don't have a very good utility to convert it to an image file. If anyone has any ideas about that, I will gladly try it. As for the change in green, no problem there. I will also correct the cell borders. I can't do much with the font quality until I find a good free excel to image utility.
adidino is offline  
post #47 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post

I can't do much with the font quality until I find a good free excel to image utility.

Have you tried saving the excel file as a web page?
(then no need to convert to an image file)

to each his own...
slogun is offline  
post #48 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 03:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
adidino is offline  
post #49 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by slogun View Post

Have you tried saving the excel file as a web page?
(then no need to convert to an image file)

Problem with that is the chart wouldn't show on this thread. It would become a link that people need to click on to view. I don't think you could show a webpage within a webpage.
adidino is offline  
post #50 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Much better. Better color, better width.

to each his own...
slogun is offline  
post #51 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 03:56 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,152
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 123
adidino,

According to reviews, the Philips 7200 will bitstream DTS-Master and it's available now.

S~

P.S. Thanks for taking this over.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #52 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Very nice. You might try a black font on the gold fields. But, it looks fine, regardless.

Let me add my thanks for taking this on. It's a huge help in sorting out the audio differences among the players.
BIslander is online now  
post #53 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CT_Wiebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

Very nice. You might try a black font on the gold fields. But, it looks fine, regardless.

Let me add my thanks for taking this on. It's a huge help in sorting out the audio differences among the players.

A black font on a gold field is a bad idea for some users who don't us the "standard" (for now) background. Messing with the basic colors can screw some users up, big time. It needs to have the maximum contrast and visibility for the majority of users.

- Claus {non-Santa model}
CT_Wiebe is offline  
post #54 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 05:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
So I upload the image once more. Clean it up a bit. Wha I realized but some reason didn't both trying is all I needed to do was copy and paste the excel spreadsheet to paint or any other image editing software and save it as a PNG. It was simple! I have no idea why didn't try that! I do it all the time in Powerpoint so I should have known better!! Anyway, I think the image looks much cleaner now.

Let me know what you guys think!

Tony
adidino is offline  
post #55 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EWL5 View Post

Dave, remember that we in the 3800 thread have already gone through all the drama and angst from not being able to "decode all." Hate to be the first to break the news to you but the Denon/Marantz players do not decode all.

.

Sorry if I'm opening an "old sore", but what about the low LFE issue on the Denons? That's a problem that would seem difficult to fix depending on your configuration. Are 3800 owners just ignoring it or just compensating for it somehow?

I too would add my thanks to adidino.
cpcat is offline  
post #56 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT_Wiebe View Post

A black font on a gold field is a bad idea for some users who don't us the "standard" (for now) background. Messing with the basic colors can screw some users up, big time. It needs to have the maximum contrast and visibility for the majority of users.

Black on gold generally provides better contrast than white on gold. But, perhaps there's something here I don't understand.
BIslander is online now  
post #57 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhatHappend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern MN
Posts: 1,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adidino View Post


Let me know what you guys think!

Tony

Looks good. You might want to make sure the dark boarders separating the Availability categories goes all the way to the left edge.
WhatHappend is offline  
post #58 of 662 Old 07-20-2008, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CT_Wiebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatHappend View Post

Looks good. You might want to make sure the dark boarders separating the Availability categories goes all the way to the left edge.

Very definitely.

adidino -- Now that I've jogged your memory on the conversion issue, you need to run the heavy black "border" (in your Excel spreadsheet) section separators all the way across the spreadsheet. That will make it easier to read.

- Claus {non-Santa model}
CT_Wiebe is offline  
post #59 of 662 Old 07-21-2008, 05:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Borders corrected. By popular demand, gold has black text. I agree, it does look easier to read. Thanks again everyone.
adidino is offline  
post #60 of 662 Old 07-21-2008, 05:21 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Thank You: looks great

I would like to see a load time listed for each player: that has become a big issue for many of us

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bd85k Wifi Enabled Blu Ray Disc Player Black , Lg Bh200 Super Blu Blu Ray Hd Dvd Combo Player , Sony Bdp S570 3d Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off