Official Pioneer Elite BDP-05FD & BDP-51FD Owners Thread / Vs 1.32 DTS-HD MA - Page 102 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3031 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

These new Pioneer BD players paired to a Kuro display is a match made in heaven!

good, I would hope so...........
WestCoastD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3032 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
bzal1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ruined this post is more for you since I respect your opinions the most. Somehow I went away and we are on FW 1.2 how did this happen and when? Is the the freeze-ups improving and How do we get it?
bzal1122 is offline  
post #3033 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
jqmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post

Well from reading through various responses here and elsewhere, it looks like v1.02 still has a few glitches to work out. Going to compile and update the glitch list on pg1 in an hour or so.

This might have been mentioned before but with v1.02 (and the 51) there appears to be a rather large lag in the unit's response if too many remote commands are sent after each other in too short a period of time. The unit appears to have frozen...but may in fact still be responding to commands that have already been received...just taking forever to process them. So much so that, in my case, the unit was playing the disc but showing on the screen "Pause" with the overlay and the unit showed on its own display that the unit was paused. It would not respond to buttons pushed on the unit itself so I finally held down the power button until the unit shut itself off. Everything was fine on restart.
jqmn is offline  
post #3034 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stew4msu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Wylie, Texas, USA
Posts: 7,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I see. I could make it another 100 pages long by next week.

Actually, I don't think you do see. For some people, this thread reached the 100 page mark long ago. For others, like me, it'll be a long time before it gets there.

"The dream never dies, just the dreamer."

Stew4msu is offline  
post #3035 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:13 PM
Member
 
TTman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMoreRavens View Post

I am about to get a BDP05FD and I just want to make sure it can do 1080p/60 before buying it? My Sony KDSR60XBR2 can only do 1080p/60.

I will be running it through my Pioneer Elite VSX94TXH and I am not sure what that can do?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Mike

Mike,

I'm using the same set up, only with the VSX92THX. It works just fine.

Spectacular actually....
TTman is offline  
post #3036 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:24 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Huh? It seems to me that you can set the player to output 1080p/60 in the menu independent of high speed/deep color.

As one of the other posters pointed out, the restriction apparently only applies if you use "Auto" as the output resolution while also using "High Speed" OFF.

The current manual on the Pioneer site says it just this way.

My memory may be going, but I think that's a change from the first 51FD manual we saw here which had it that you couldn't get 1080p/60 at all with High Speed OFF.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #3037 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
AndyGood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

Your "banter" is verbose.

Thats how I roll......
AndyGood is offline  
post #3038 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Shsinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by petmic10 View Post

Yeah, but 20 or so pages were fueled by The Bland's POS comments.

And another 25 pages of responses to the blands comments. I give him credit for single handly being able to generate a 5 pg increase in posts on a given day. Add in 5 pages over the last few days of Andy Good's comments and responses and we are already up to 55 pages of banter.
Shsinclair is offline  
post #3039 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
AndyGood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post

Andy,

I too preferred component with my previous CRT RPTV (Sony KP-57WS520). However, once calibrated, HDMI and component very close. With a CRT RPTV (with well focused & calibrated 7" guns is probably around 1200 or 1300 x 1080) at 1080i over component, I would suspect there would be no differences over 1080i with the different players you've used. I suppose you could see a very slight difference with higher quality DACs using component.

I agree and wonder whether going HDMI (digital) yields a different picture among the players.
AndyGood is offline  
post #3040 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Gotcha Stew!

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
joerod is offline  
post #3041 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Shsinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by petmic10 View Post

Yeah, but 20 or so pages were fueled by The Bland's POS comments.

And another 25 pages of responses to the blands comments. I give him credit for single handly being able to generate a 5 pg increase in posts on a given day. Add in 5 pages over the last few days of Andy Good's comments and responses and we are already up to 55 pages of banter.
Shsinclair is offline  
post #3042 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dholmes54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Kentucky
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks Shurtterman I love sweet tea!!! If my Pioneer needs updating will Pioneer send me the disc I need? I got my Integra 9.8 & Onkyo 805 updated with a lot of help on another forum,my computer skills suck!!Ive never been taught anything about computers I just asked someone 7 yrs ago how to turn one on & have learned a little.thanks again for the help!!
dholmes54 is offline  
post #3043 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:42 PM
Member
 
bostonfan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Went to BB mag a few days ago to order an o5 with the 12% off
they couldnt find the skew so i had to use there internet and look
it up in this thread.. anyhow got it hooked up and so far very happy
with it, for you guys with a elite 92 or 94 reciever you will love how
well they match up, great looking pair, the menu operations are VERY
fast on this machine, yes it loads slow, no i dont care, my hd a-35 is
slow as well and i could care less as long it works great once loaded.

Pioneer pdp 5070
pioneer 94 thx

Ray
bostonfan2 is offline  
post #3044 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:45 PM
Member
 
jenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Upgraded my 05 when 1.02 was released. Upgrade went fine and operationally things seemed OK. My issue is that I am now unable to "see"
my top menus on edited AVCHD discs created with Pinnacle Studio 12. The 05 display reads "Top Menu" but the TV screen is black. These discs all worked fine under the shipping firmware.

I have no problem with commercial BR discs. Can we add this to the bug report. Thanks !
jenix is online now  
post #3045 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My wife and I watched Stargate Continuum in Blu-Ray on the 05 - I was very impressed. The picture looked at least as good as DirecTV HD if not better. My TV is a 2005 Sony KDS-R60XBR1, 1080i. I also sampled some of the other discs I had and the picture was beautiful. Updated the firmware from 1.00 to 1.02 without issue. Oh, and I was able to reprogram my Harmony remote specifying BDP-05FD and it knew what that was.

Steve
stevel is offline  
post #3046 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 04:56 PM
Member
 
bostonfan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevel View Post

My wife and I watched Stargate Continuum in Blu-Ray on the 05 - I was very impressed. The picture looked at least as good as DirecTV HD if not better. My TV is a 2005 Sony KDS-R60XBR1, 1080i. I also sampled some of the other discs I had and the picture was beautiful. Updated the firmware from 1.00 to 1.02 without issue. Oh, and I was able to reprogram my Harmony remote specifying BDP-05FD and it knew what that was.


No kidding, Kudos to logitech, i was amazed I could program my
harmony one so fast for the o5 . If only it could work on my wife.....
bostonfan2 is offline  
post #3047 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,718
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by aandpwoodley View Post

Could some pls state what the benefits are of High spead either being on or off.

If you chain supports high speed use it. For the whys and wherefores read.

"Don't worry be happy"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sillysally is offline  
post #3048 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,718
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

From what I've read at AVS over the past six years, that's not how digital signals work. With video you either get the full signal, or you see serious sparkles, blocking, or no image at all. Audio signals would be similar -- go or no go.

I would have to disagree, and that is because of the 51/05 and all the "funky stuff" it is outputting and of course If your chain supports the high speed "funky stuff".
btw I am not sending back my 1000hd HDMI cables that i got as a gift . And my new monoprice 1.3 cat 2 cables came today.

"Don't worry be happy"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sillysally is offline  
post #3049 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
CrossRoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got home a while ago from exchanging my 51 for an 05. I am now updating the firmware. My initial impressions are that the 05 is a little slower than the 51 and that the door opening and closing is not quite as smooth. It makes a slgiht clicking noise that the 51 did not. The look of the 05 is nicer and a better match with my Elite 94 receiver, although the 51 was a nice looking piece in and of itslef. The 05 did play LOTR FOTR right out of the box which my 51 did not. I will post further impressions later.
CrossRoad is offline  
post #3050 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Majestyk View Post

I wasn't aware these players were so collectable.

That was a good one.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Owner, AudioXtream.
Authorized Dealer for Kef, Triad, Bryston, Auralic, Audeze, Grado, Audioquest, Marantz
adidino is offline  
post #3051 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 05:17 PM
Member
 
darita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 05 last week. This may be a stupid question, but how do I tell if I have 1.00 or 1.02 firmware? If I need 1.02, how do I get it?
darita is offline  
post #3052 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 05:21 PM
Member
 
No Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Andy,

Curious about the Magnavox. Would it output 1080p24?

If not, are you saying that you would have a hard time telling the difference?

Yes, the Mag outputs 1080p24.
No Fun is offline  
post #3053 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,718
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by aroide View Post

Agree. This players has some of the best analog sound quality among affordable players. I just really glad it makes and excellent transport for CD play. Many DVD players suck as transports. My favorite was my old Denon DVD-2800II (still collecting dust in my garage).

Yep, my 51 is very good for 2ch analog going to my MK IV SE Tube headphone Amp/per-amp.

"Don't worry be happy"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sillysally is offline  
post #3054 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,718
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I did just put in a brand new lamp today so the difference is harder to see... I admit though, both look good. The first pic is without the x.v. Color engaged on my 200. Both have the same settings (except the x.v. color does its own gamma and black level that can't be changed)... I do apologize for the slight blurriness. I was trying to hurry since we have company showing up here any minute...

Joe you need to calibrate.

"Don't worry be happy"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sillysally is offline  
post #3055 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,718
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by GmanAVS View Post

I was in the Magnolia/BB this afternoon to check out the 05 since I have 2 more days before my 51 return window closes.

The 05 really looks slick but it wasn't plugged into any display so I couldn't play with it; on the other hand a 51 was and i sort of sat down and checked how it played on a 60" pdp.

The 51 was paired directly with an in house calibrated 151FD but nobody had gone through the settings, so I did quickly (source direct (1080p24), 4:4:4 , professional) and then chapter skipped through PotC Worlds End (which I had just watched last night at home on my 50" panny pz700u)



WOW

All I can say is that Robert may have told the truth a while back.... the picture was the best I had ever seen, even being in a fairly lit room, perhaps it is the 151FD or the DCT, I really didn't care, the result was amazing.

Now I really have pdp~~~~~display envy.....

I am here to tell you that Robert is not going out on a limb if he did not feel strongly about what he is saying.
I just hope you don't have a HD collection like I do. I have now replaced 8 of my HD with BDs, and I only have Pioneer to blame for that because of my BDP-51.

"Don't worry be happy"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sillysally is offline  
post #3056 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
CrossRoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just put The Prestige in the 05. Joe can you or someone else who has had both the 51 and the 05 comment here. The 05 actually seems like it has a softer picture to me. It may be all in my head, but the 05 looks alot like my Panny BD 30. Its not a bad picture by any means, but it isn't what I remember from the 51. I am using all of the same settings and equipment. Nothing has changed except for the 05 in place of the 51. I know these players are supposed to be identical except for the cosmetics and video dac for component. (I use HDMI) Am I just crazy or has anyone else experienced this?
CrossRoad is offline  
post #3057 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 05:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,718
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

good, I would hope so...........

No need to hope its a fact!

"Don't worry be happy"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sillysally is offline  
post #3058 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 05:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,809
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyGood View Post

Thats how I roll......

Concise.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #3059 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
CrossRoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm seeing some jaggies I didn't see before too.
CrossRoad is offline  
post #3060 of 30754 Old 08-30-2008, 06:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,809
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post

I would have to disagree, and that is because of the 51/05 and all the "funky stuff" it is outputting and of course If your chain supports the high speed "funky stuff".

I don't have the technical background to evaluate cable bandwidth as an engineer, but if the cable can't handle the high speed "funky stuff" there should be more than a subtle degradation of audio and video. The signal degradation should be very easy to determine.

As it's been explained to me here at AVS, as the noise level of a transmission through a HDMI cable increases, the signal will go from all bits arriving at their destination abruptly to not enough bits arriving at the same destination. That's one reason whole house installers are not comfortable putting long HDMI multi connected runs in walls.

My HDMI cables will all be 2'-3' feet plus one at 6'-10' with easy access to exchang them if they cause a problem.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Excellent Pioneer Bdp 05fd Blu Ray Player , Pioneer Bdp 51fd Bonusview Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off