Official Pioneer Elite BDP-05FD & BDP-51FD Owners Thread / Vs 1.32 DTS-HD MA - Page 1025 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #30721 of 30742 Old 05-24-2014, 01:51 PM
Senior Member
 
vlach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post

My (likely incorrect) recollection is that the S/PDIF connection only officially supports up to 20/48kHz, anything beyond that is a non-standard implementation that may or may not work.
Yes, DTS 24/96 is a lossy compressed bitstream, so it's still within the bandwidth of S/PDIF, it works just like DD/DTS.

24/96 when lossy...duh...totally makes sense, and i knew that but somehow forgot...thanks for the reminder smile.gif

vlach is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #30722 of 30742 Old 05-24-2014, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 126
I believe that support for 96/24 over S/PDIF depends on the specific equipment being used. My Denon 2900 player outputs stereo PCM at 96/24 over S/PDIF, but my Panasonic BD player does not. DTS 96/24 is a different matter since the player is just a transport sending whatever is in the DTS package for decoding and processing by a receiver.
BIslander is online now  
post #30723 of 30742 Old 05-27-2014, 04:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

I believe that support for 96/24 over S/PDIF depends on the specific equipment being used. My Denon 2900 player outputs stereo PCM at 96/24 over S/PDIF, but my Panasonic BD player does not. DTS 96/24 is a different matter since the player is just a transport sending whatever is in the DTS package for decoding and processing by a receiver.

Hmm. So will Pioneer be able to internally convert full spectrum audio with no loss of density, and then output via Analogs in the case at hand?

Mostly idle curiosity.

Mkard is offline  
post #30724 of 30742 Old 05-27-2014, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Probably, although it may depend on what DSPs are engaged.
BIslander is online now  
post #30725 of 30742 Old 05-28-2014, 11:47 PM
Senior Member
 
vlach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

I believe that support for 96/24 over S/PDIF depends on the specific equipment being used. My Denon 2900 player outputs stereo PCM at 96/24 over S/PDIF, but my Panasonic BD player does not. DTS 96/24 is a different matter since the player is just a transport sending whatever is in the DTS package for decoding and processing by a receiver.

Thanks for the feedback Bislander. I'm starting to believe this limitation does indeed vary from player to player as opposed to having anything to do with the S/PDIF format itself. I've had no issues whatsoever with my 51FD after 6 years of ownership and swore i would hang on to it until it would just die, however i now have an additional reason (besides slow loading speed, no ethernet connectivity) to switch to Oppo. I want the ability to pass 2 channel of uncompressed PCM at 24/96 & 24/192 to my DAC. SACD & DVD-Audio playback is just icing on the cake.

vlach is offline  
post #30726 of 30742 Old 06-03-2014, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kemitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlach View Post

Thanks for the feedback Bislander. I'm starting to believe this limitation does indeed vary from player to player as opposed to having anything to do with the S/PDIF format itself. I've had no issues whatsoever with my 51FD after 6 years of ownership and swore i would hang on to it until it would just die, however i now have an additional reason (besides slow loading speed, no ethernet connectivity) to switch to Oppo. I want the ability to pass 2 channel of uncompressed PCM at 24/96 & 24/192 to my DAC. SACD & DVD-Audio playback is just icing on the cake.

This is precisely why I still have my old reliable Oppo DV-981HD in my setup along with my 51FD. wink.gif

~kyle
kemitchell is offline  
post #30727 of 30742 Old 07-05-2014, 10:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OK, seriously hoping someone can help me here.

I have a BDP-51FD connected by HDMI to a VSX-919AH.

I can not get PQLS to function no matter what I try.

Tried disconnecting all other units (including TV), numerous hard re-starts of both units.

Tried updating firmware to latest versions on both units. (1.74 on BDP and StM 1056 for the AVR)

I have checked all Kuro settings on both units and verified the sound fields are appropriate for 2 channel PQLS playback.

At wits end, any and all suggestions appreciated.

Thanks.
pitfa17 is offline  
post #30728 of 30742 Old 07-15-2014, 08:19 PM
Newbie
 
johnchabin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have trouble playing LOTR Extended Edition? I can play other Blu-Ray titles, just not this one. The disks are brand new.

I am at FW 1.74.
johnchabin is offline  
post #30729 of 30742 Old 07-16-2014, 08:57 AM
Newbie
 
johnchabin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update: Got another CAN'T PLAY on a different disk. Blew the player out with clean compressed air and it seems to be ok now.
johnchabin is offline  
post #30730 of 30742 Old 08-01-2014, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kemitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnchabin View Post
Anyone have trouble playing LOTR Extended Edition? I can play other Blu-Ray titles, just not this one. The disks are brand new.

I am at FW 1.74.
I have all three extended editions and have watched them several times on my 51FD, never had a single issue.

~kyle
kemitchell is offline  
post #30731 of 30742 Old 08-06-2014, 01:37 PM
Member
 
Xtempo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was watching Alantis and not far into the movie the player locks onto the video. near the end of the movie it pauses. I have to unplug it to turn it off and brefily it works normal/.

I have never had this problem with the BDP51FD before. Does it sound like the disc is bad or is the player dying?
Xtempo is online now  
post #30732 of 30742 Old 08-10-2014, 05:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Rick R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtempo View Post
I was watching Alantis and not far into the movie the player locks onto the video. near the end of the movie it pauses. I have to unplug it to turn it off and brefily it works normal/.

I have never had this problem with the BDP51FD before. Does it sound like the disc is bad or is the player dying?
Sounds like the disc, would not play through otherwise. Make sure there is no dust on the disc, blow it off with compressed air from about a foot away. Similarly as an earlier poster has done it might help to blow out the drive with compressed air. In both cases make sure the can has not been shaken and blow a short burst away from the disc/tray aperture to get rid of any residue. With blowing out the drive I find it best to fit the tube nozzle and with the tray open insert the nozzle through the tray aperture from underneath, this will make sure only a burst of air goes in and not liquid. Hope this helps
Rick R is offline  
post #30733 of 30742 Old 08-22-2014, 05:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've got a BDP-05FD that was picked up cheap. It was a 50/50 chance if it would play a disc or not. I simply opened it up and cleaned the lense with a qtip and 91% isopropyl alcohol, I really didn't have much to lose. Wet one end of the qtip and wiped then dried it with the other. Had to remove the lable and black cover on the drive, they stuck right back no problem, then the little white wheel lifted right out. I also had to pick up a remote just to get it going, got one for another model (VXX3316) and it worked fine.

So far it has played every disc I've put in. Fingers crossed.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg drive1.JPG (112.6 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg drive2.JPG (95.1 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by BeatnikV; 08-22-2014 at 05:25 PM.
BeatnikV is offline  
post #30734 of 30742 Old 08-22-2014, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
NYC Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good luck, the BDP-05FD is a great machine with the best of both worlds. It has great video and audio!!!

I love my BDP-05FD.
NYC Guy is offline  
post #30735 of 30742 Old 08-22-2014, 06:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Actually this is my first blu ray, it's been on a shelf for at least a year after I found it. Finally my rear projector went out and I picked up an old lcd then remembered the Pioneer and decided to pull it out and have a look.

Someone had it updated to 1.72, I'm kind of leary to load the 1.74 firmware with it working now.
BeatnikV is offline  
post #30736 of 30742 Old 08-22-2014, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeatnikV View Post
...
Someone had it updated to 1.72, I'm kind of leary to load the 1.74 firmware with it working now.
Upgrade only if something won't play because of the security software. Otherwise I leave it alone.
erkq is offline  
post #30737 of 30742 Old 08-23-2014, 06:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'll take your advise, don't fix what ain't broke.

I spent hours trying everything suggested, even used the air compressor through the front slot. It played three complete movies last night, so I'll leave it be.
BeatnikV is offline  
post #30738 of 30742 Old 08-23-2014, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeatnikV View Post
I'll take your advise, don't fix what ain't broke.

I spent hours trying everything suggested, even used the air compressor through the front slot. It played three complete movies last night, so I'll leave it be.
You scored a real find for $20! It may as well have been free. Enjoy!
erkq is offline  
post #30739 of 30742 Old 08-23-2014, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
NYC Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post
Upgrade only if something won't play because of the security software. Otherwise I leave it alone.
That is my motto also with BD players!
NYC Guy is offline  
post #30740 of 30742 Old 08-23-2014, 10:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yeah, couldn't not take a chance for a twenty.

Quick odd question. Is there a way to dim that home screen Pioneer logo ?
BeatnikV is offline  
post #30741 of 30742 Old 08-23-2014, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeatnikV View Post
Yeah, couldn't not take a chance for a twenty.

Quick odd question. Is there a way to dim that home screen Pioneer logo ?
Not that I've found. Annoying, ain't it?
erkq is offline  
post #30742 of 30742 Old 08-23-2014, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Annoying is right, it stays ghosted on the screen a while after the movie starts.
BeatnikV is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Excellent Pioneer Bdp 05fd Blu Ray Player , Pioneer Bdp 51fd Bonusview Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off