Official Pioneer Elite BDP-05FD & BDP-51FD Owners Thread / Vs 1.32 DTS-HD MA - Page 1033 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #30961 of 30974 Old 09-19-2016, 09:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkard View Post
If you've the chance to route 2ch analog out into your amplifier, check out a favorite music track as pure direct. The benefits of the DACs in the Pio should shine. Almost legendary sound via analog audio according to owners on the board.

Only feed it clean media, and I hope that it'll keep providing you excellence for years to come. You'll find some great help here from the years of posts by many knowledgeable and kind folk.

Enjoy.

Mike K
Thanks. I've read about the DACs but haven't gotten around to listening to the analog output yet. I'll do that soon. Only one Blu-ray has stalled and it was a Redbox rental that I should have cleaned.
phil.butler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #30962 of 30974 Old 09-19-2016, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil.butler View Post
Thanks. I've read about the DACs but haven't gotten around to listening to the analog output yet. I'll do that soon. Only one Blu-ray has stalled and it was a Redbox rental that I should have cleaned.
phil.butler,

Hey, you've got the Elite! I didn't see that at first.

Nice unit. Contributor Rick R on this forum ran that set-up analog audio and VIDEO. Look for his posts, as I think that he was one who wrung everything available out of his Pio and enjoyed it for years before moving on to OPPO. Be sure you find the pure (i.e. analog direct (unprocessed, without A-D conversion) to the amplifiers) inputs for your Pioneer DACs into your receiver. You will like.

If you've a fondly remembered title on DVD, give this player a spin. You've probably never seen your flick looking this good.

When you've time, go back to the beginning (1000 plus pages !!!) and start searching and reading a bit back and forth to get a flavor of the user experiences with this. Agony and ecstasy. Particular attention can be paid to the different re-sets and clearing of differing memories. But always, first and foremost, dig into to crunchies of cleaning your media and your machine. At some points, it'll get into surgical detail with pictures (aka "Tech-porn") of how to revive a unit failing because of contamination issues.
Stray dust mites can cause grief, never mind the peanut-butter fingers of the average rental customer!

Again,
Enjoy.

Mkard is offline  
post #30963 of 30974 Old 09-23-2016, 06:11 AM
Member
 
Engineer99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Western Mass
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is there any hope for a firmware update at this point?
I just received the new Frankenstein Complete Legacy Collection. The discs with more than one flick per disc won't go past the menu where you select which one to watch. The Son of Frankenstein/Ghost of Frankenstein is an example. I tried using MakeMkv and it presently can't decrypt these discs either. I had hoped to watch the mkv file with my WDTV.

Edit: I checked and found the latest version of MakeMkv and it seems to be tackling the job.

Last edited by Engineer99; 09-23-2016 at 06:32 AM.
Engineer99 is offline  
post #30964 of 30974 Old 09-26-2016, 10:12 AM
Member
 
Tasuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: UMATILLA, OR. U.S.
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 7
PIONEER BDP-05FD; MALFUNCTION/Firmware Reinstallation...

so, i've been watching my recently purchased STAR TREK; THE NEXT GENERATION complete series set on this player, second disc in.
second episode to the last on that disc, we quit for the night. a couple/three days later, we resume,
to find that suddenly there is, -wait for it- NO AUDIO!!

i check everything, try switching discs, no audio on FINAL FANTASY ADVENT CHILDREN,
and i begin to figure something electronic just gave out in the player.

i try both ANT-MAN and ZOOTOPIA, DISNEY releases both, and BOTH throe up the same identical INCORRECT REGION banner
straight after the initial Disneyland castle loading screen, and i figure, perhaps this is a software issue, like a PC or something?

so i go and download and burn another CD-R of PIONEER's firmware, reinstall it to the player, and... VIOLA!
Perfectly Functional BDP-05FD once again.

so, an urgent piece of advice to any PIONEER BDP-05FD owner with an iffy/malfunctioning player;
try reloading the most recent Firmware; it might just wind up fixing your player...




Mkard likes this.

Catch the Spirit of a True ΩPIONEER
Tasuke is offline  
post #30965 of 30974 Old 09-26-2016, 11:07 AM
Member
 
Tasuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: UMATILLA, OR. U.S.
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Just to clarify; i DID IN FACT update my player's Firmware to most recent/final update 2013
as soon as i received the unit from the EBAY seller late-2015/early-2016.

from thence forward it DID IN FACT operate FLAWLESSLY right up until just the other day when the events described above took place...

Catch the Spirit of a True ΩPIONEER
Tasuke is offline  
post #30966 of 30974 Old 09-27-2016, 01:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Tasuke,

That was a really good save! What at first might have been "unrelated" behaviors in your rig actually helped to open an opportunity to stir things up in a likely area. I hadn't seen much of that (re-install current FW) recommended earlier in this, or other threads. Just recently I have seen that exact advice on newer models of three brands of mid- to upper-level AVRs.

Good catch, and I hope that you discover a path to resume using your fine player.
Mike K

btw, if you left the disc in the night before, and powered-up with a disc in the tray to resume watching the next day, you are much braver than I. Or, did I misunderstand?


Last edited by Mkard; 09-27-2016 at 01:47 AM. Reason: Typo word order
Mkard is offline  
post #30967 of 30974 Old 09-27-2016, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Tasuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: UMATILLA, OR. U.S.
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 7
yes, my habits are to leave the current disc in the player whenever i'm dealing with a continual series. never been a problem for me, Yet, at least.

just to clarify, re-installation, DID INDEED SOLVE my problem, restoring the player to full operation.
i've watched two more episodes so far, with no faults whatsoever.

hopefully, anyone stumbling onto these posts with an iffy/malfunctioning BDP-05FD can fix their player
by replicating what i've done with mine. Good Luck to everyone in such a position...
Mkard likes this.

Catch the Spirit of a True ΩPIONEER
Tasuke is offline  
post #30968 of 30974 Old 09-28-2016, 12:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tasuke View Post
yes, my habits are to leave the current disc in the player whenever i'm dealing with a continual series. never been a problem for me, Yet, at least.

just to clarify, re-installation, DID INDEED SOLVE my problem, restoring the player to full operation.
i've watched two more episodes so far, with no faults whatsoever.

hopefully, anyone stumbling onto these posts with an iffy/malfunctioning BDP-05FD can fix their player
by replicating what i've done with mine. Good Luck to everyone in such a position...

Glad to hear no issues. Always good news.
Regards powering up with a disc in unit, I know that start-up time seemed to me to be really excessive when I inadvertently left a Blu-ray in when shutting down at night. I dimly recall this behavior having been a discussion a couple of times here but probably not escalating to an "issue".

Watched a newer Blu-ray last night on the BD-51 without any grief. I had forgotten how nice it can look. 2015's "Where to Invade Next?", played w/o a hitch. Not a home theater movie, but looked real good on a Sony display in the family-rm set up. The spouse just got back from Europe and loved some of the movie's scenery.

We had just gotten a new Yamaha (581) to replace the problematic old AVR, and I am convinced that the Yamaha is passing a cleaner video than we got before. Or, I've been watching too much Netflix. Or, I just liked the movie.

As has been pointed out by a few, eventually the kludgie Blu-ray standard will have drifted so far from the 2007/08's implementation, that this Pioneer unit will be unable to handle the "new releases". But, until the -51FD proves unable (years from now I hope!), I will continue to enjoy what it does well.

'tchuss


Last edited by Mkard; 09-28-2016 at 12:33 AM. Reason: Typo, syntax
Mkard is offline  
post #30969 of 30974 Old 09-28-2016, 12:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Tasuke said: [ ... hopefully, anyone stumbling onto these posts with an iffy/malfunctioning BDP-05FD can fix their player
by replicating what i've done with mine. Good Luck to everyone in such a position... ]


Tasuke,

You are so right. And, you are very much helping to carry on in the spirit of "having fun and helping out" that has made this a nice place for the last 7 years.

Thank you. Best to all.

Mike

Mkard is offline  
post #30970 of 30974 Old 09-28-2016, 12:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by timrh23 View Post
I guess I have a bricked player. I see some discussion of re-flashing the ROM. Is there any info on how to go about that procedure? I can solder and program I just need some details...

timrh23,

Pretty close description and solved some years ago at : post #30288 of 30969 Old 01-28-2013, 03:56 AM

I hope that this might be helpful.

Mike

Mkard is offline  
post #30971 of 30974 Old 10-04-2016, 01:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Blu-Ray lock-up

Well, found a recent movie that I can't get to play. grrr.

Specter, the most current Bond 007 flick wouldn't play no matter what trick I used. Got to the 20th Century Fanfare and then NADA. I cleared all memories, but no go. I tried all of the "top-menu/Next Section/FastForward/Skip/pause-frame-advance/etc. etc.____ no joy. I just couldn't fool the damn thing into playing the movie. So I did the next reasonable thing and moved the disc to another room properly equipped with an OPPO. All is fine.

Okay movie, but no-one seemed to be "on fire" to make it more than a formulaic rehash. I expected better.

Good luck to all.

Mkard

Mkard is offline  
post #30972 of 30974 Old 11-09-2016, 08:36 AM
Member
 
FurryNutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Star Trek: Beyond played in my 05FD the other night.
FurryNutz is offline  
post #30973 of 30974 Old 11-09-2016, 07:22 PM
Member
 
S_G7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkard View Post

If you've a fondly remembered title on DVD, give this player a spin. You've probably never seen your flick looking this good.
Have you had the chance to compare the DVD upscaling of the BDP-51FD to one of the Oppo bluray players and which did you prefer? I have the BDP-51FD and BDP-320 and both used to be my players of choice for DVD playback. I've always been curious if one of the Oppos would be significantly better for DVD playback, but haven't made the jump yet.
S_G7 is offline  
post #30974 of 30974 Old 11-09-2016, 08:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mkard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The Great Southwestern Heatsink
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_G7 View Post
Have you had the chance to compare the DVD upscaling of the BDP-51FD to one of the Oppo bluray players and which did you prefer? I have the BDP-51FD and BDP-320 and both used to be my players of choice for DVD playback. I've always been curious if one of the Oppos would be significantly better for DVD playback, but haven't made the jump yet.
S_G7,

I have an OPPO -95 and usually use it for Blu-ray as it is on my biggest screen with full 5.1 plus heights. On the few occasions that I run a DVD through it, I must say that by "just that much!" I think that the Pioneer BD-51 does better with the up-scale of a quality pressed DVD. The OPPO does fine, but the edge goes to the old Pioneer, IMO. I haven't a clue why. Blu-ray is opposite result by a similar margin. The OPPO is a fine machine, but then the BD-51 commanded an even higher price upon its debut @3 years earlier.

Pioneer is still doing the job in my family room. I never hesitate to feed it a well liked DVD for an evening's easy entertainment. Oh, I did the firmware mod to allow foreign movie play (DVD only) so that determines a lot of what it gets fed.

Cheers.
S_G7 likes this.


Last edited by Mkard; 11-09-2016 at 09:01 PM. Reason: spelling
Mkard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Excellent Pioneer Bdp 05fd Blu Ray Player , Pioneer Bdp 51fd Bonusview Blu Ray Player



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off