Official Pioneer Elite BDP-05FD & BDP-51FD Owners Thread / Vs 1.32 DTS-HD MA - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzalc3 View Post

With v1.0 firmware.

Possibly another title glitch then. Does the Patriot have any significant BD-J features? The BD-J discs are the ones that I noticed the lipsync issues with on v0.80 firmware.
Ruined is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by D_B_0673 View Post

That is not good news

It's a new design, there are going to be bugs; it would be unrealistic to think otherwise. Most Blu-ray players have to go through several firmware iterations before all the bugs are worked out, unless they are based on another pre-existing design that has already went through that process.
Ruined is offline  
post #153 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
BigDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hazard, KY
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post

Possibly another title glitch then. Does the Patriot have any significant BD-J features? The BD-J discs are the ones that I noticed the lipsync issues with on v0.80 firmware.

Ruined - I think it was Patriot Games instead of The Patriot he had trouble with. But I don't think either of those have significant BD-J - although I have the Ryan films on HD-DVD, so I may be wrong.

BigDad is offline  
post #154 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 08:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,642
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1421 Post(s)
Liked: 1537
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyGood View Post

I am skeptical too with the "hair"/slight sharper claims, seems like I have heard this before. The reality is that for videophiles, you may shell out bigger dollars to dissect the slight video differences among DVD players, to go down that road with bluray players, I think we are looking for something that may not be there. No, the answer is that we are addicted to this hobby and the BS that goes with it and the fact of the matter is that Pioneer makes an attractive player which is reason enough.

I'd be willing to bet in a double-blind A/B test, sharpness differences (if any) would be very minimal at best with any recent BR player regardless of price. That's not to say there aren't valid reasons for choosing player A over player B, but I'm just not sure picture sharpness is one. With that said, I'm seriously considering the 05 or 51.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #155 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 08:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,642
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1421 Post(s)
Liked: 1537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post

Its not a speedy DVD player, but among the Blu-ray players its one of the few that allows you to output native 480i to an external scaler/chip for deinterlacing. So if you are looking for an all-in-one solution and have a nice video processor this is your best bet.

I thought that someone (Chris or Pioneer rep?) said this would be one of the fastest BR players on the market with a 10 second boot up time. Did that not pan out or is it promised in a future firmware upgrade?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #156 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gonzalc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pretoria, South Africa
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post

Possibly another title glitch then. Does the Patriot have any significant BD-J features? The BD-J discs are the ones that I noticed the lipsync issues with on v0.80 firmware.

Ruined,

Patriot Games doesn't have any BD-J features.. It only includes somes interviews and a trailer...
You had trouble with top gun and which other title? I am beginning to think that is a problem with paramount titles, but I could be wrong...

I have clear and present danger as well and wlll give it a spin to see if there is any problem... I tested with Casino Royale and didn't find any trouble..

Chris. My DVD and Blu Ray collection
Sony VPL HW55ES, ST 100, B&W 803 Diamonds mains, B&W HTM2 Diamond center channel,B&W 805 Diamond surrounds, B&W DB1 subwoofer, Anthem D2v, Parasound Halo A51+A21,Oppo BDP 103D,PS Audio Power Plant Premier
gonzalc3 is offline  
post #157 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

I thought that someone (Chris or Pioneer rep?) said this would be one of the fastest BR players on the market with a 10 second boot up time. Did that not pan out or is it promised in a future firmware upgrade?

Chris stated it starts in ~14 seconds, and indeed the tray does eject in ~14 seconds as I stated in my post in the first page. Splash screen is ~18 seconds and disc load is at ~22 seconds. These times will vary +/- 5 seconds depending on your equipment & HDMI handshaking.

So the player does start up very fast. Where it could use improvement is in media detection. After you close the tray, half of the time quoted in my loadtimes on page 1 is spent detecting the disc. If they could speed up that algorithm then it would be really fast not only at starting up but also on disc loads.
Ruined is offline  
post #158 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzalc3 View Post

Ruined,

Patriot Games doesn't have any BD-J features.. It only includes somes interviews and a trailer...
You had trouble with top gun and which other title? I am beginning to think that is a problem with paramount titles, but I could be wrong...

I have clear and present danger as well and wlll give it a spin to see if there is any problem... I tested with Casino Royale and didn't find any trouble..

If you check out my post on the first page I detailed pretty well the issues I've had thus far with 1.0.
Ruined is offline  
post #159 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
bzal1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you guys tell me if thisplayer allows a 480i output so that my pioneer 5010 can do the upscaling? Ruined how are you playing your sd-dvd with pioneer 51fd doing the upscaling or do you have it source direct? How are your results in each setting
bzal1122 is offline  
post #160 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by bzal1122 View Post

Can you guys tell me if thisplayer allows a 480i output so that my pioneer 5010 can do the upscaling? Ruined how are you playing your sd-dvd with pioneer 51fd doing the upscaling or do you have it source direct? How are your results in each setting

Yes it outputs 480i w/ source direct enabled. I have source direct going to a Reon processor. 51FD by itself appears to not fair nearly as well as the Reon, but I only briefly tested SD performance.
Ruined is offline  
post #161 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gonzalc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pretoria, South Africa
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post

If you check out my post on the first page I detailed pretty well the issues I've had thus far with 1.0.

From those titles I have the mummy and top gun.. I will give it a try... If you have Patriot Games, could you try it?

Thanks,

Chris. My DVD and Blu Ray collection
Sony VPL HW55ES, ST 100, B&W 803 Diamonds mains, B&W HTM2 Diamond center channel,B&W 805 Diamond surrounds, B&W DB1 subwoofer, Anthem D2v, Parasound Halo A51+A21,Oppo BDP 103D,PS Audio Power Plant Premier
gonzalc3 is offline  
post #162 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 08:41 AM
Newbie
 
Chip913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post

You should be able to set the 9.8 for "1080p" instead of "Through" in the 9.8 HDMI setup menu. You need to do this in order to enable Reon processing, otherwise it will just pass 480i to your TV with Source Direct enabled.

My HDTV is a 3 year old Sony that is only 1080i. Should I set the 9.8 to 1080i so the source direct 51FD should allow the Reon to kick in? I used to use a Denon 2910 source direct and had the same results, sound was weak with HDMI like now with the 51FD. My best results with it were HDMI from Denon to TV, bypassing the 9.8, and optical sound. But I want to run everything from the 51FD through the 9.8. I'm wondering if I have a bad unit, or just not set up right.
Chip913 is offline  
post #163 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
voltes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll try to help out time the DVD layer changes tonight. Here's some that I've gathered

Star Wars ep 4
Layer switch at 63:08 at the start of chapter 28.

Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers: Special Extended Edition (2002)
The layer change in part one occurs at 48:42 just after the visit to the Dead Marshes by the Black Rider and the Fell Beast.
The layer change in part two occurs at 50:38 just as the male townsfolk are being led out to defend the walls for the coming battle of Helm's Deep.

Die Hard with A Vengeance
Layer Change: A fairly poorly placed layer change in the middle of a scene at 56:06

These were all searched in google.
voltes is offline  
post #164 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzalc3 View Post

From those titles I have the mummy and top gun.. I will give it a try... If you have Patriot Games, could you try it?

Thanks,

I don't have Patriot Games unfortunately.
Ruined is offline  
post #165 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by voltes View Post

I'll try to help out time the DVD layer changes tonight. Here's some that I've gathered

Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers: Special Extended Edition (2002)
The layer change in part one occurs at 48:42 just after the visit to the Dead Marshes by the Black Rider and the Fell Beast.
The layer change in part two occurs at 50:38 just as the male townsfolk are being led out to defend the walls for the coming battle of Helm's Deep.

I can do this one, too.
Ruined is offline  
post #166 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip913 View Post

My HDTV is a 3 year old Sony that is only 1080i. Should I set the 9.8 to 1080i so the source direct 51FD should allow the Reon to kick in? I used to use a Denon 2910 source direct and had the same results, sound was weak with HDMI like now with the 51FD. My best results with it were HDMI from Denon to TV, bypassing the 9.8, and optical sound. But I want to run everything from the 51FD through the 9.8. I'm wondering if I have a bad unit, or just not set up right.

It sounds like you have it setup wrong. You should set the Integra to 1080i and that should at least give a cleaner interlaced output than running the DVD straight to the TV will get you. Unfortunately you will still likely be bottlenecked by the Sony's 1080i>1080p conversion, but having the Reon deinterlace 480i and upscale/re-interlace to 1080i will probably give you better results than having the TV deinterlace 480i itself.

As for the weak sound, have you used the Audyssey calibration on the 9.8? Also, do you have the Pioneer's HDMI Audio setting to "Auto"? That should provide you with bitstream sound on SD and thus should give you same results as coax/optical. Also make sure HDMI control is set to off on the 51FD to prevent the TV from interfering with it.
Ruined is offline  
post #167 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 09:06 AM
Newbie
 
Bilbo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

Maybe I'm the only one, but I would really appriciate some screenshots of the PQ on Blu-ray and DVD I currently own Arcam DV139 and hope to replace it soon with a Pioneer..

Thanks for a great forum!
Bilbo77 is offline  
post #168 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilbo77 View Post

Hi guys,

Maybe I'm the only one, but I would really appriciate some screenshots of the PQ on Blu-ray and DVD I currently own Arcam DV139 and hope to replace it soon with a Pioneer..

Thanks for a great forum!

I don't think you are going to gain much PQ idea from a screenshot. You will be seeing the camera's or video capture device's quality, not the player's.
Ruined is offline  
post #169 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
John Ballentine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post

It's a new design, there are going to be bugs; it would be unrealistic to think otherwise. Most Blu-ray players have to go through several firmware iterations before all the bugs are worked out, unless they are based on another pre-existing design that has already went through that process.

My 18 month old Sony BDP-S1 (1st generation) is on it's ELEVENTH firmware upgrade. It has gone from a potential boat anchor to a somewhat formidable player - thanks solely to the continuing firmware updates).
John Ballentine is offline  
post #170 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 09:17 AM
Newbie
 
tony @ suffolk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stowmarket, Suffolk, UK
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Folks. Sorry to note that all previous postings have been lost!

I was originally very keen to acquire this player when its clone eventually appears in the U.K., but my intention to use its analogue 7.1 outs into my surround processor appear to be not really viable because remarkably this player appears pretty hopeless in this respect!

I note from a previous posting that bass cutoff point is set at 100Hz for small speakers; what would it be for large speakers please?

Also, there appears to be no distance setting to allow for delays - very few (and certainly not my) processors allow you to set this parameter for analogue bypass.

Quite frankly I'm rather shocked that a company like Pioneer should produce a player so deficient in this area - or have I got this wrong?
tony @ suffolk is offline  
post #171 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uw69 View Post

That says a lot about Pioneer's commitment to their players.

Psssttt...He said Sony.

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
post #172 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vader424242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony @ suffolk View Post

Hello Folks. Sorry to note that all previous postings have been lost!

I was originally very keen to acquire this player when its clone eventually appears in the U.K., but my intention to use its analogue 7.1 outs into my surround processor appear to be not really viable because remarkably this player appears pretty hopeless in this respect!

I note from a previous posting that bass cutoff point is set at 100Hz for small speakers; what would it be for large speakers please?

Also, there appears to be no distance setting to allow for delays - very few (and certainly not my) processors allow you to set this parameter for analogue bypass.

Quite frankly I'm rather shocked that a company like Pioneer should produce a player so deficient in this area - or have I got this wrong?

Nope, you have it about right. The 100Hz cutoff is speculative (Pioneer has not officially stated this), but consistent with other BD players. If your speakers are set to large, there is no cutoff, as you are bypassing any BM completely (no crossover, no RB). Rumor has it that Pioneer might add more BM functionality in a future FW upgrade, but if it is to both the 51 and 05, just the 05, or is being held for the upcoming 09 is unknown...

Peace... Vader
 

"Ya see, we plan ahead. That way we don't do anything right now. Earl explained it to me." - Valentine McKee

 

One sub to rumble them all. One sub to shake them. One sub to humble them all. And in the darkness break them....

Vader424242 is offline  
post #173 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 09:36 AM
Newbie
 
Bilbo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are probably right, but I've been waiting for this player half a year and would be greatfull for a preview :-)
Bilbo77 is offline  
post #174 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
voltes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilbo77 View Post

You are probably right, but I've been waiting for this player half a year and would be greatfull for a preview :-)

ill try to grab a screenshot while im testing the layer change tonight. i might even plop in the hqv benchmark disc. i just hope i remember where i put it lol
voltes is offline  
post #175 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mrjktcvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bzal1122 View Post

I have a question for you guys. If you guys are stating that the sd dvd playback on the 51fd isnt as great as say a toshiba hd player im lost. I thought we were all in source direct mode and if that is so aren't we passing the discs native output on to the next connected device in the chain? I am wrong on this or are you changing the source direct to 1080p on the 51fd when playing sd-discs.

Also does anyone know what type of upscaler is in my Pioneer PDP-5010 my AVR has a Farojda dcdi.


It would be up to you to decide if you prefer the Faroudja to the upscaling of the 5010. I use my Reon simply because I paid for it, not necessarily because it looks better than the 5010's upscaling. Bottom line, the 5010 upscales pretty well.
mrjktcvs is offline  
post #176 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
John Ballentine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeInNVa View Post

Psssttt...He said Sony.

Yes. Sony. But Pioneer has been just as efficient (firmware wise) w/ their first generation HD1 (which is kind of a sister machine to the BDP-S1)
John Ballentine is offline  
post #177 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeInNVa View Post

Psssttt...He said Sony.

Pioneer made all of the 1st and 2nd gen players for Sony.
Ruined is offline  
post #178 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HTMan34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Ballentine View Post

Yes. Sony. But Pioneer has been just as efficient (firmware wise) w/ their first generation HD1 (which is kind of a sister machine to the BDP-S1)

Also the HD1 is still a rock solid BD player for a 1st gen player and being almost 2 years old!

Go Celtics!
HTMan34 is offline  
post #179 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
where are the people who are buying these getting them? Best Buy?
b_scott is offline  
post #180 of 30790 Old 08-12-2008, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gonzalc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pretoria, South Africa
Posts: 1,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Now that there are a certain number or players out there with the 51FD v 10 firmware, I think it will be useful to create a new thread with the list of bugs found so far. This will help a lot to pioneer...

Chris. My DVD and Blu Ray collection
Sony VPL HW55ES, ST 100, B&W 803 Diamonds mains, B&W HTM2 Diamond center channel,B&W 805 Diamond surrounds, B&W DB1 subwoofer, Anthem D2v, Parasound Halo A51+A21,Oppo BDP 103D,PS Audio Power Plant Premier
gonzalc3 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Excellent Pioneer Bdp 05fd Blu Ray Player , Pioneer Bdp 51fd Bonusview Blu Ray Player , Blu Ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off