Samsung BD-2550/BD-P2500 Master Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 7068 Old 09-15-2008, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
SteveCaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcdon283 View Post

For the most part, the player is quiet, but it is quite noisy when loading up certain discs. But when the movie begins, it's awfully quiet. You can only hear it if your standing next to it with your ear next to the player.

Yeah.... it really depends but where it counts this player just doesn't give away that its operating!

Love this machine.... I just love the fact that I'm back to watching movies again instead of playing around with the setting constantly!
SteveCaron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 7068 Old 09-17-2008, 07:45 PM
Newbie
 
zaxxon2000T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a Toshiba HD-DVD that went bad. BB gave me an exchange credit and I picked the Samsung up. It was the very 1st HD-DVD player. I have 2 PS3's already. Should I keep it or sell it?
zaxxon2000T is offline  
post #273 of 7068 Old 09-18-2008, 04:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Keep it and get rid of both the !@%&@(*&!! ps3 pieces of crap!!
zrdb is offline  
post #274 of 7068 Old 09-18-2008, 06:33 PM
Member
 
sszudzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zrdb View Post

Keep it and get rid of both the !@%&@(*&!! ps3 pieces of crap!!

Excellent suggestion !

Honestly, why don't you try plugging the 2550 into your system and see how you like it compared to the POS3? If you think it's better then just keep it, otherwise sell it to me at a huge discount!

--Steve
sszudzik is offline  
post #275 of 7068 Old 09-18-2008, 06:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
WRX_Rocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviec View Post

Took mine back because of loud pops thru my speakers while playing golden compass also some audio dropouts on some dolby tru titles.
reminds me of the same thing my bd-30 did before a firmware update fixed it.i am using a onkyo 805 reciever.
I like the 1080p24 picture from my panny bd-30 better than the same from this player and I was surprised because the 2550 has the HQV chip.

Just an FYI - the "pop" issue (through bitstream) is a well known and documented problem on the 905/875/805 firmware post. You need to install the latest DSP update to your 805, which is very easy with a CD. It is the FW update that has everyone really ticked off, and can't be done at home. But the DSP update will fix the pop problem. The FW is what is needed for synch issues.
WRX_Rocky is offline  
post #276 of 7068 Old 09-18-2008, 08:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sszudzik View Post

Excellent suggestion !

Honestly, why don't you try plugging the 2550 into your system and see how you like it compared to the POS3? If you think it's better then just keep it, otherwise sell it to me at a huge discount!

--Steve

To put it bluntly-I don't have and don't want a ps3-I needed a dedicated bluray player that does a good job with dvds-to compliment my Oppo 983 and this fills the bill quite nicely.
zrdb is offline  
post #277 of 7068 Old 09-18-2008, 10:10 PM
Member
 
sszudzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zrdb View Post

To put it bluntly-I don't have and don't want a ps3-I needed a dedicated bluray player that does a good job with dvds-to compliment my Oppo 983 and this fills the bill quite nicely.

zrdb, just to make sure, my first comment was to you, in agreement actually. The second comment was back to the OP.
sszudzik is offline  
post #278 of 7068 Old 09-21-2008, 02:19 PM
Newbie
 
dennpars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having an issue with crackling sound in DTS mode when using this player. Generally during explosion sequences like the depth charge scene in U571 and the scene 22 in x2 where the fire guy blows up the police cars.

I have switched to normal 5.1 and the issue goes away. I can also play DTS track on my DVD player and the issue is not there. Only DTS in the BD player.

I have an older receiver so I'm piping sound in via the 7.1 analog jacks out to the Ext. In on the Denon 3802.

Anyone else have this issue?
dennpars is offline  
post #279 of 7068 Old 09-21-2008, 09:25 PM
Member
 
pablo234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: D/FW
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennpars View Post

I'm having an issue with crackling sound in DTS mode when using this player. Generally during explosion sequences like the depth charge scene in U571 and the scene 22 in x2 where the fire guy blows up the police cars.

I have switched to normal 5.1 and the issue goes away. I can also play DTS track on my DVD player and the issue is not there. Only DTS in the BD player.

I have an older receiver so I'm piping sound in via the 7.1 analog jacks out to the Ext. In on the Denon 3802.

Anyone else have this issue?

Yes. On Live Free or Die Hard I get the same popping sound through the analog outputs during the scene where the natural gas explosions are happening underground. When I switch to a digital signal and let my receiver decode the signal the popping sounds go away.
My receiver only decodes Dolby 5.1 and regular MTS which is why I purchased this player. I thought I would get the Dolby HD sound without having to upgrade my receiver but I'm not too sure Dolby HD is being passed through the analog outputs.
pablo234 is offline  
post #280 of 7068 Old 09-23-2008, 11:26 AM
Member
 
agro1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hoping someone can help me out here...I just got the BD-P2550 from Best Buy and for some reason it is having a problem syncing with my projector (Infocus IN76). It will pick up the signal, but then loose it randomly and my PJ goes into "searching for signal" mode and can't pick it back up. I was thinking it might be my cable...the HDMI cable I am using is about 3 years old and is about 25ft long. Could this be an older version 1.1 HDMI cable that isn't compatable with the newer HDMI players ? Thanks in advance for any help.

EDIT - if I unplug the HDMI cable from the blu ray player and plug it back it, it will sync up and play no problem but then it will loose the signal after about 5 minutes....
agro1 is offline  
post #281 of 7068 Old 09-23-2008, 03:24 PM
Member
 
agro1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hoping someone can help me out here...I just got the BD-P2550 from Best Buy and for some reason it is having a problem syncing with my projector (Infocus IN76). It will pick up the signal, but then loose it randomly and my PJ goes into "searching for signal" mode and can't pick it back up. I was thinking it might be my cable...the HDMI cable I am using is about 3 years old and is about 25ft long. Could this be an older version 1.1 HDMI cable that isn't compatable with the newer HDMI players ? Thanks in advance for any help.

EDIT - if I unplug the HDMI cable from the blu ray player and plug it back it, it will sync up and play no problem but then it will loose the signal after about 5 minutes....
agro1 is offline  
post #282 of 7068 Old 09-23-2008, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stew4msu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Wylie, Texas, USA
Posts: 7,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by agro1 View Post

Could this be an older version 1.1 HDMI cable that isn't compatable with the newer HDMI players ?

No, but it could be a problem with that HDMI cable or the connector on the back of one of the units. Try another cable.

"The dream never dies, just the dreamer."

Stew4msu is offline  
post #283 of 7068 Old 09-23-2008, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
2 weeks on and still going strong-this player is a keeper as far as I'm concerned!
zrdb is offline  
post #284 of 7068 Old 09-25-2008, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
SteveCaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zrdb View Post

2 weeks on and still going strong-this player is a keeper as far as I'm concerned!

I totally 100% agree. I had the Philips BDP7200 and though it was a good machine as well I had to return it becaue the DVD drawer started making funny sounds while retracting and since there were none available at the time I picked up the BDP2550. It's a superior machine in every way to the Philips I had and so far this thing has played everything flawlessly.
SteveCaron is offline  
post #285 of 7068 Old 09-25-2008, 07:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,511
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by agro1 View Post

I was thinking it might be my cable...the HDMI cable I am using is about 3 years old and is about 25ft long. Could this be an older version 1.1 HDMI cable that isn't compatable with the newer HDMI players ? Thanks in advance for any help.

I think it's your 25-ft long HDMI cable that was not rated to pass 1080p signal. Try HDMI 1.3 certified cable from monoprice.com. But long cables are always problematic.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #286 of 7068 Old 09-25-2008, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jose_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lafayette, La. U.S.A.
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any reason not to get this player ?

Will it do all the onboard decoding and pass it to the analog outputs ? ie. dts-ma

I really need a single solution player. (BlueRay and SD-DVD)
to go w/ my Epson 1080UB projector.

I need 5.1 analog outputs because my Anthem AVM-30 doesn't have hdmi.

I was planning on using my old Oppo 970 and wait for the Oppo 83.

Regards,
Jose
Jose_L is offline  
post #287 of 7068 Old 09-25-2008, 10:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,511
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose_L View Post

Is there any reason not to get this player ?

Will it do all the onboard decoding and pass it to the analog outputs ? ie. dts-ma

No, it doesn't decode DTS-HD HR and MA tracks. But you will still get DTS core out of those tracks.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #288 of 7068 Old 09-25-2008, 04:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose_L View Post

Is there any reason not to get this player ?

Will it do all the onboard decoding and pass it to the analog outputs ? ie. dts-ma

I really need a single solution player. (BlueRay and SD-DVD)
to go w/ my Epson 1080UB projector.

I need 5.1 analog outputs because my Anthem AVM-30 doesn't have hdmi.

I was planning on using my old Oppo 970 and wait for the Oppo 83.

Regards,
Jose

I'll let you in on a little secret-I have an Oppo DV-983H and this player-that's how much I care about watching my dvds with the best pq I can get.
zrdb is offline  
post #289 of 7068 Old 09-27-2008, 09:04 AM
Member
 
pablo234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: D/FW
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone verify if Dolby HD is being passed through the analog outputs? My H/K receiver can decode Dolby 5.1 Digital but not Dolby HD. It seems like the sound is better through the digital output. In I Am Legend there is a scene in the early part of the movie where Will Smith loses control of the car and does a 360 turn through a barricade. I've watched this scene over and over again and through the digital output the sound of the car hitting each pylon as it does a 360 degree turn is very well mapped from each speaker. When I listen from the analog output the placement of the sound of the car hitting each pylon is not as clear. The LFE effects are better through the digital output as well.
I was going to buy the Panasonic BD50 over the BD30 because I understood that the BD30 did not pass Dolby HD or DTS-HD through it's analog output like the BD50 does. I assumed this Samsung did based on its price but now I'm not so sure. Still love the PQ of this player though!
pablo234 is offline  
post #290 of 7068 Old 09-27-2008, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevivoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

I think it's your 25-ft long HDMI cable that was not rated to pass 1080p signal. Try HDMI 1.3 certified cable from monoprice.com. But long cables are always problematic.

I have a 33 foot cable I bought 3 years ago and have never had an issue with any blu-ray, HD DVD or Sat. 1080i/60, 720p/60, 1080p/24 signal.

Could be a HDMI port issue rather than cable. You can try component or move something close with a shorter cable and re-test. I also had an IN76 for about a year and never had an issue with HDMI (33 feet) and 1080p.
kevivoe is offline  
post #291 of 7068 Old 09-28-2008, 06:27 AM
Member
 
TSalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice price drop on the 2550. 2500 now on Samsungs site...
TSalt is offline  
post #292 of 7068 Old 09-28-2008, 07:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,511
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevivoe View Post

I have a 33 foot cable I bought 3 years ago and have never had an issue with any blu-ray, HD DVD or Sat. 1080i/60, 720p/60, 1080p/24 signal.

Could be a HDMI port issue rather than cable. You can try component or move something close with a shorter cable and re-test. I also had an IN76 for about a year and never had an issue with HDMI (33 feet) and 1080p.


You're just lucky. HDMI itself is only speced to 15-ft or so. Any longer, the quality of the cable plays a big role. It's very common for long HDMI cable to not be able to carry 1080p signal. The contirbuting factors include cable itself, the HDMI transmitter on the player and HDMI receiver chip on the TV. The same cable that works in your setup may not work in another setup.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #293 of 7068 Old 09-29-2008, 01:31 PM
Senior Member
 
M@verick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSalt View Post

Nice price drop on the 2550. 2500 now on Samsungs site...

Yeah I saw that...the price just brought this player into my range. However I'm still wary of Samsung. Their reputation isn't the best.
M@verick is offline  
post #294 of 7068 Old 09-29-2008, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Does anyone that has or had the Toshiba XA2, have you done a comparision with the BD-P2550 on SD upscaling ability? Which one do you consider the better performer?
bori is offline  
post #295 of 7068 Old 09-29-2008, 11:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 92
What is the difference between the BD-2550 and the BD-2500?
bori is offline  
post #296 of 7068 Old 09-29-2008, 11:51 PM
Member
 
sszudzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

What is the difference between the BD-2550 and the BD-2500?

Apparently nothing. I had heard that the 2550 was going to be BD-Live out of the box, but according the the Samsung site, it's still only profile 1.1 and BD-Live "Ready".
sszudzik is offline  
post #297 of 7068 Old 10-02-2008, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tarheel72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pablo234 View Post

Can anyone verify if Dolby HD is being passed through the analog outputs? My H/K receiver can decode Dolby 5.1 Digital but not Dolby HD. It seems like the sound is better through the digital output. In I Am Legend there is a scene in the early part of the movie where Will Smith loses control of the car and does a 360 turn through a barricade. I've watched this scene over and over again and through the digital output the sound of the car hitting each pylon as it does a 360 degree turn is very well mapped from each speaker. When I listen from the analog output the placement of the sound of the car hitting each pylon is not as clear. The LFE effects are better through the digital output as well.
I was going to buy the Panasonic BD50 over the BD30 because I understood that the BD30 did not pass Dolby HD or DTS-HD through it's analog output like the BD50 does. I assumed this Samsung did based on its price but now I'm not so sure. Still love the PQ of this player though!

As far as the LFE is concerned, if you use the analog inputs you will lose about 10db of bass so you will need to go into your receiver and up the LFE for the analog inputs about 10db to compensate. The player does not have a compensation for this. As for the rest of your question, its a samsung, so it is junk. I have lots of samsung stuff, including a TV, but my 1200 is a mess and I will never give them my money again.
Tarheel72 is offline  
post #298 of 7068 Old 10-03-2008, 11:34 AM
Newbie
 
prostar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up BD-2550 at BB. So far so good. Excellent HD PQ and DVD upscaling. However two things bug me. Does anyone know how to disable the Bonus View icon from popping on screen during the movie? What is the deal that some Blu-ray titles will resume play where stopped and others must start over at beginning?
prostar5 is offline  
post #299 of 7068 Old 10-03-2008, 03:55 PM
Member
 
pablo234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: D/FW
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarheel72 View Post

As far as the LFE is concerned, if you use the analog inputs you will lose about 10db of bass so you will need to go into your receiver and up the LFE for the analog inputs about 10db to compensate. The player does not have a compensation for this. As for the rest of your question, its a samsung, so it is junk. I have lots of samsung stuff, including a TV, but my 1200 is a mess and I will never give them my money again.

Thanks for the tip on the LFE channel. I'll bump it up and see how it sounds. This is my first Samsung piece and so far I've been very pleased with this player. Although I'm still not sure if Dolby HD is being outputed through the analog outputs.
pablo234 is offline  
post #300 of 7068 Old 10-04-2008, 04:41 PM
Member
 
ncvinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not sure if this question was answered in this thread becuase I could not find a definitive answer. Anyway, I thought this was BD-LIVE out of the box and when I tried to watch BD-LIVE with the follwing movies: 21 and Iron Man, it tells me BD-LIVE is not present and to check my network connection. When I look at the manual it has a BD-LIVE menu option which I do not see. I have my blu-ray player connected to the lan port on the player and I see it has an IP addres in my router. Has anyone been able to get BD-LIVE to work?
ncvinny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off