Samsung BD-2550/BD-P2500 Master Thread - Page 139 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4141 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 10:05 AM
Member
 
johnny5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The cnet review of the 2500 has the following comment.

"The BD-P2500 has comprehensive soundtrack support, with onboard decoding for Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio, as well as bit-stream output for both formats. Onboard decoding means that even those with older receivers will be able to enjoy Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio in full resolution over the HDMI output or the analog outputs."

Does this mean my older receiver, yamaha vx-r1600, should be able to play 7.1 DTS-HD MA via the HDMI output if its set to PCM???
johnny5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4142 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 10:14 AM
Newbie
 
Gaddis78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I've played "Quantum of Solace" successfully on my Samsung 2550....no glitches or skips at all.
Gaddis78 is offline  
post #4143 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
alokeprasad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkTV View Post

Honestly, rather than sharing media with a PC, I'd almost rather be able to plug in a USB drive full of photos, music or videos and have the player access it directly. That way, I could, say, set up a photo slide show to run in the background on my TV when company visits without running a separate computer.

Can't the 2500 already display pictures off the USB drive?

I have thousands of MP3 files on my home network. It would be great if the 2500 could access those and feed it to an AV receiver.
alokeprasad is offline  
post #4144 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 10:37 AM
Member
 
nymjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Regarding analog audio output: I'm running a 5.1 setup, 2550 set to bitstream audophile. Thing is that when doing the speaker setup, the fronts and center play correctly but the surrounds play through the corresponding fronts (left surround plays via left front; right through right) and the sub doesn't play at all. Any thoughts as to settings or testing?
nymjk is offline  
post #4145 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 11:24 AM
 
ResIpsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny5 View Post

The cnet review of the 2500 has the following comment.

"The BD-P2500 has comprehensive soundtrack support, with onboard decoding for Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio, as well as bit-stream output for both formats. Onboard decoding means that even those with older receivers will be able to enjoy Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio in full resolution over the HDMI output or the analog outputs."

Does this mean my older receiver, yamaha vx-r1600, should be able to play 7.1 DTS-HD MA via the HDMI output if its set to PCM???

Yes, that's exactly what it means
ResIpsa is offline  
post #4146 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,814
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by nymjk View Post

Regarding analog audio output: I'm running a 5.1 setup, 2550 set to bitstream audophile. Thing is that when doing the speaker setup, the fronts and center play correctly but the surrounds play through the corresponding fronts (left surround plays via left front; right through right) and the sub doesn't play at all. Any thoughts as to settings or testing?


Sounds like you also have optical or coax digital audio connected and your AVR picked up the digital audio (2.0 stereo for test tones) instead of analog 5.1.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #4147 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 12:40 PM
Member
 
johnny5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ResIpsa View Post

Yes, that's exactly what it means

Then my 2500 had issues. When connected via HDMI, I didn't see the rear speaker icons light up on the receiver's display for 7.1 movies. Also the test tone would not output to the analog surround rear connections.

I just sent it in for repair, of course the labor warranty has expired(bought the unit in November and hooked it up in January). Anyone else have this issue?
johnny5 is offline  
post #4148 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 01:51 PM
Newbie
 
Dubaruba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please forgive me if this has already been answered.

I am looking for a way to listen to audio (either Pandora or an audio CD) through my BD-P2550 with the TV turned off.

Currently the Blu-Ray player is attached by HDMI cable through an Onkyo A/V receiver and into a Samsung PN50A550 TV. When I turn off the power on the TV, the audio output from the Blu-Ray player stops.

Is there a work around for this problem or am I stuck with the annoying "Samsung" screen saver any time I want to listen to music?

Thanks in advance for helping out a newbie.
Dubaruba is offline  
post #4149 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,814
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubaruba View Post

Please forgive me if this has already been answered.

I am looking for a way to listen to audio (either Pandora or an audio CD) through my BD-P2550 with the TV turned off.

Currently the Blu-Ray player is attached by HDMI cable through an Onkyo A/V receiver and into a Samsung PN50A550 TV. When I turn off the power on the TV, the audio output from the Blu-Ray player stops.

Is there a work around for this problem or am I stuck with the annoying "Samsung" screen saver any time I want to listen to music?

Thanks in advance for helping out a newbie.

It's not entirely Samsung's fault. It is how HDCP works/enforces.

Try this way:

1. Don't turn on your TV.
2. Turn on the receiver.
3. Turn on the player and somehow play the music.

If your receiver is designed properly, you will be able to listen to music without TV on. Not all the receiver can do this though.

However, if you already have TV on, the player will have HDCP linke from TV to player by design. Receiver is just act as a relay device. If you shut off the TV, the link is broken and your player should stop sending out anything that requires HDCP.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #4150 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nextoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubaruba View Post

Please forgive me if this has already been answered.

I am looking for a way to listen to audio (either Pandora or an audio CD) through my BD-P2550 with the TV turned off.

Currently the Blu-Ray player is attached by HDMI cable through an Onkyo A/V receiver and into a Samsung PN50A550 TV. When I turn off the power on the TV, the audio output from the Blu-Ray player stops.

Is there a work around for this problem or am I stuck with the annoying "Samsung" screen saver any time I want to listen to music?

Thanks in advance for helping out a newbie.

Try running optical from the 2550 to the Onkyo (in addition to your HDMI). Tune in Pandora, turn your TV off and switch to the optical input on the Onkyo.
nextoo is offline  
post #4151 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 02:36 PM
Newbie
 
Dubaruba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

Try running optical from the 2550 to the Onkyo (in addition to your HDMI). Tune in Pandora, turn your TV off and switch to the optical input on the Onkyo.

Great idea. I will try this tonight! Thanks!
Dubaruba is offline  
post #4152 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 03:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
pcdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nymjk View Post

Regarding analog audio output: I'm running a 5.1 setup, 2550 set to bitstream audophile. Thing is that when doing the speaker setup, the fronts and center play correctly but the surrounds play through the corresponding fronts (left surround plays via left front; right through right) and the sub doesn't play at all. Any thoughts as to settings or testing?

What receiver and connection are you using? Bitstream audiophile will send the compressed HD audio over HDMI 1.3 so that the receiver can decode it, assuming that your receiver has the proper codecs to decode it. If you're not using HDMI 1.3 or your receiver doesn't have DDTrueHD or DTSMA codec support then you should be using PCM (if using HDMI), or you'll have to use analog outs from the player into your receiver (if you don't have HDMI). If you don't care about HD audio at all then you can just use the bitstream reencode instead.
pcdo is offline  
post #4153 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 06:31 PM
Member
 
hdtv_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why do SD DVD menus always pixelate for a second when you select menu items? I also noticed the Samsung/Neflix/Pandora logos are heavily pixelated after a DVD stop. But they are smooth after you stop a Blu-ray or when you leave the Netflix menu. Bad Reon chip! Bad!
hdtv_crazy is offline  
post #4154 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
kevinjs123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just went through the FW update and have "A Netflix" as an option. But I do not have "B Pandora" I did the update check to see it missed something but is telling me no new ones. Do I have do do something special to get pandora or should it have loaded just like netflix?
kevinjs123 is offline  
post #4155 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
alokeprasad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinjs123 View Post

I just went through the FW update and have "A Netflix" as an option. But I do not have "B Pandora" I did the update check to see it missed something but is telling me no new ones. Do I have do do something special to get pandora or should it have loaded just like netflix?

Do you have BD-2550 or BD-P2500? Only the former has Pandora.
alokeprasad is offline  
post #4156 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 07:07 PM
Member
 
heticor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got BD-2550, I look through the menu and the owner manual. I could not find where it could be activate.

any advise? thanks
heticor is offline  
post #4157 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by heticor View Post

I got BD-2550, I look through the menu and the owner manual. I could not find where it could be activate.

any advise? thanks

How did you upgrade the firmware? internet or disc/usb?
laserjock II is online now  
post #4158 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 07:24 PM
Senior Member
 
kevinjs123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by alokeprasad View Post

do you have bd-2550 or bd-p2500? Only the former has pandora.

Oooh....2500
kevinjs123 is offline  
post #4159 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 07:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
VisionOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Posts: 11,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by heticor View Post

I got BD-2550, I look through the menu and the owner manual. I could not find where it could be activate.

any advise? thanks

you need the updated online manual.

http://org.downloadcenter.samsung.co.../P2550_XAA.pdf


VisionOn is online now  
post #4160 of 7068 Old 04-03-2009, 08:50 PM
Newbie
 
prostar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by heaneyj View Post

Has anyone with a 2500 successfully watched 'Quantum of Solace' or 'Twilight'?

yes both.....should I have anticipated a problem???
prostar5 is offline  
post #4161 of 7068 Old 04-04-2009, 06:41 AM
Newbie
 
TheBigVanilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had the BD-P2550 for a few months now. The only recurring problem I've had is, depending on the disc, the "Bonus View" icon will show up onscreen even when I have that function turned off. Has anyone else had this problem? It happened all through "Twilight" as well as that post-apocalyptic movie with Rhona Mitra (title escapes me). Nothing I do with the remote affects this.

Any ideas?
TheBigVanilla is offline  
post #4162 of 7068 Old 04-04-2009, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikeynavy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBigVanilla View Post

I've had the BD-P2550 for a few months now. The only recurring problem I've had is, depending on the disc, the "Bonus View" icon will show up onscreen even when I have that function turned off. Has anyone else had this problem? It happened all through "Twilight" as well as that post-apocalyptic movie with Rhona Mitra (title escapes me). Nothing I do with the remote affects this.

Any ideas?

I posted about this a few days ago...you're not the only one. I went to Samsung's web site and they are supposedly aware of the situation and incorporating into the next firmware update...whenever that is. To turn it off I had to go into the main player menu and change "On-screen menus" to "Off." Unfortunately, that also turns off the little bar at the top that shows you when you fast forward or rewind, or whether it's a Blu-Ray or DVD in the player. Temporary fix though...my girlfriend was annoyed when those kept popping up during Twilight.
mikeynavy1 is offline  
post #4163 of 7068 Old 04-04-2009, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
ab2ab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtv_crazy View Post

Why do SD DVD menus always pixelate for a second when you select menu items? I also noticed the Samsung/Neflix/Pandora logos are heavily pixelated after a DVD stop. But they are smooth after you stop a Blu-ray or when you leave the Netflix menu. Bad Reon chip! Bad!

Yes, and its VERY annoying!!

I've noticed it and its definitely some sort of bug as I've had two earlier model 2550's (10/08 build dates) and one 01/09 build date model and latter does not exhibit the problem as the earlier ones. Also, you will notice that if you select the "low" setting on the Sharpness and Noise Reduction modes, you will find that this setting will introduce obvious jaggies and artifacts (SD DVD) beyond what is normally expected when selecting these modes.

Anyway, I still have my 2550 from eoutlet (I only use it to compare SD performance with my Oppo 981; I use my Samsung 1400 for BD because it offers better PQ than the 2550 on my display) and hopefully Samsung addresses this issue with a FW fix soon. However, they won't know unless you inform them.
ab2ab is offline  
post #4164 of 7068 Old 04-04-2009, 11:58 AM
Member
 
nymjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcdo View Post

What receiver and connection are you using? Bitstream audiophile will send the compressed HD audio over HDMI 1.3 so that the receiver can decode it, assuming that your receiver has the proper codecs to decode it. If you're not using HDMI 1.3 or your receiver doesn't have DDTrueHD or DTSMA codec support then you should be using PCM (if using HDMI), or you'll have to use analog outs from the player into your receiver (if you don't have HDMI). If you don't care about HD audio at all then you can just use the bitstream reencode instead.

Connected to Denon 3805 via both optical digital and analog (and Pana plasma via HDMI). Further oddity is that NOW it works just fine, no matter what the 2550's setting is (although when set to PCM output does not send any digital to 3085, only when set to one of the two bitstream outputs).
nymjk is offline  
post #4165 of 7068 Old 04-04-2009, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mikeynavy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ab2ab View Post

Yes, and its VERY annoying!!

I've noticed it and its definitely some sort of bug as I've had two earlier model 2550's (10/08 build dates) and one 01/09 build date model and latter does not exhibit the problem as the earlier ones. Also, you will notice that if you select the "low" setting on the Sharpness and Noise Reduction modes, you will find that this setting will introduce obvious jaggies and artifacts (SD DVD) beyond what is normally expected when selecting these modes.

Anyway, I still have my 2550 from eoutlet (I only use it to compare SD performance with my Oppo 981; I use my Samsung 1400 for BD because it offers better PQ than the 2550 on my display) and hopefully Samsung addresses this issue with a FW fix soon. However, they won't know unless you inform them.

My 01/09 build still does it, so it isn't necessarily the month it was manufactured.
mikeynavy1 is offline  
post #4166 of 7068 Old 04-04-2009, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Opusnbill7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also haven't noticed it on my 10/08 built one, so I think there must be something else involved...
Opusnbill7 is offline  
post #4167 of 7068 Old 04-05-2009, 04:42 AM
Member
 
heticor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Quote:
Originally Posted by heticor View Post
I got BD-2550, I look through the menu and the owner manual. I could not find where it could be activate.

any advise? thanks
you need the updated online manual.

http://org.downloadcenter.samsung.co.../P2550_XAA.pdf

Thanks very much, I got mine from eoutlet , I don't know what software version I had.
I will download the update.
heticor is offline  
post #4168 of 7068 Old 04-05-2009, 06:36 AM
Member
 
heticor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I download the latest usb file from samsung site, then I hookup the ubs drive to the bd, every thing looked ok, then it turns off. After that I turned it on, check for the software version and it did not change. hooked up the uSB drive again the BD said that a new version of software was available, I did the whole process again. it turned off when it finished then I turned on again, nada the software version still the same.

What I did wrong?
heticor is offline  
post #4169 of 7068 Old 04-05-2009, 07:32 AM
Senior Member
 
feisty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by heticor View Post

I download the latest usb file from samsung site, then I hookup the ubs drive to the bd, every thing looked ok, then it turns off. After that I turned it on, check for the software version and it did not change. hooked up the uSB drive again the BD said that a new version of software was available, I did the whole process again. it turned off when it finished then I turned on again, nada the software version still the same.

What I did wrong?

I upgraded via the Ethernet cable directly and initially had a problem also. Initially got nowhere like you. Since mine was a refurb. unit form E-outlet, I opened the disc drawer to see if someone had left a disc. inside. No disc. However, once I closed the drawer, the unit came alive and the download went smoothly! Try opening and closing the disc. drawer.
feisty1 is offline  
post #4170 of 7068 Old 04-05-2009, 07:42 AM
rjf
Member
 
rjf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just found out that the 2550 is discontinued!! i LOVE mine but am i bit concerned about Pandora being dropped. do you think it'll continue to be supported? i love Pandora on this player!!! can't be beat! so happy i got mine and have been loving it since it was released!
rjf is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off