Samsung BD-2550/BD-P2500 Master Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Players > Samsung BD-2550/BD-P2500 Master Thread

Blu-ray Players

flyers's Avatar flyers
08:57 AM Liked: 10
post #541 of 7068
10-29-2008 | Posts: 489
Joined: Nov 2003
There has been a lot of questions on when Netflix plans on streaming HD content. Check out the link. I think this is a good sign of things to come and frankly much sooner than I was expecting.

http://www.engadget.com/2008/10/29/h...box-360-first/
gonzo99's Avatar gonzo99
09:21 AM Liked: 10
post #542 of 7068
10-29-2008 | Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2006
I have a BD-P1200 and was wondering if there is any difference between the HQV upscaling in these two players.
lexx's Avatar lexx
10:23 AM Liked: 10
post #543 of 7068
10-29-2008 | Posts: 356
Joined: Jan 2004
Just bought the P2550 and have a couple of newbe questions.

My TV is capable of 1080p/60, and I'm connected via an HDMI cable I probably bought about three years ago when I purchased my TV. There's a note at the bottom of page 20 in the P2550 manual that states to get 1080p you must have a category 2 HDMI cable.

I watched a portion of a blue ray movie last night, and it seems pretty good, but could I be watching it in 1080i intead of 1080p because of my HDMI cable? There are no marking on the cable, and again, it's 3 years old.

Help appreciated
flyers's Avatar flyers
10:38 AM Liked: 10
post #544 of 7068
10-29-2008 | Posts: 489
Joined: Nov 2003
I don't know about CAT2 cable, any HDMI cable will transmit 1080P resolution.

On the front display of the Samsung, it tells you what resolution you are watching the movie, 720P, 1080i or 1080P. If you set is 1080P capable and you are watching 1080i then you need to change it in the Samsung menu.
davisdog's Avatar davisdog
11:06 AM Liked: 10
post #545 of 7068
10-29-2008 | Posts: 1,215
Joined: Sep 2002
flyers/lexx,
I think the original spec for HDMI requires them to transmit an HDTV signal (but not secifically 1080p). Cat1 HDMI cables are certified at speeds less than 1080p requires, Cat2 are higher...but as long as the cables are not too long (distance will effect it), almost any hdmi cable should work ok for 1080p/60. If the 2550 is showing it's sending 1080p and your TV is showing a nice/clean picture than I'd say your ok with your current cable and save the money...of course you could go out and buy a $300 Monster Cable ...but that will give you the same picture as a $30 cable from Fry's
flyers's Avatar flyers
11:16 AM Liked: 10
post #546 of 7068
10-29-2008 | Posts: 489
Joined: Nov 2003
Thanks for the clarification davisdog. Yeah, I don't buy into those expensive 120HZ type cables that they want a fortune. I get the middle of the road cable especially since my distance is 3ft max.
Valnar's Avatar Valnar
11:32 AM Liked: 11
post #547 of 7068
10-29-2008 | Posts: 1,808
Joined: Aug 2000
Monoprice.com has the best prices on quality cables. If you want to get a good cable for peace of mind, go here and search for this category:
28AWG HDMI 1.3a Category 2 Certified Male to Male Cables

I've been using them for awhile. 'Just a satisfied customer.
Valnar's Avatar Valnar
11:46 AM Liked: 11
post #548 of 7068
10-29-2008 | Posts: 1,808
Joined: Aug 2000
I have an MX-700 remote and the Windows configuration software (MX-700 editor) does not have these listed yet in the database. Does anyone have a device file for these Samsung Blu-ray players?
anettis's Avatar anettis
11:58 AM Liked: 11
post #549 of 7068
10-29-2008 | Posts: 197
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valnar View Post

Monoprice.com has the best prices on quality cables. If you want to get a good cable for peace of mind, go here and search for this category:
28AWG HDMI 1.3a Category 2 Certified Male to Male Cables

I've been using them for awhile. 'Just a satisfied customer.

I second that - they are is my first stop when I need a cable. Crazy inexpensive and high quality.
lexx's Avatar lexx
01:42 PM Liked: 10
post #550 of 7068
10-29-2008 | Posts: 356
Joined: Jan 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by davisdog View Post

........ If the 2550 is showing it's sending 1080p and your TV is showing a nice/clean picture than I'd say your ok with your current cable and save the money...of course you could go out and buy a $300 Monster Cable ...but that will give you the same picture as a $30 cable from Fry's

Many thanks. I'll stick with what I have. Crystal clear.
JFISHER's Avatar JFISHER
06:46 PM Liked: 10
post #551 of 7068
10-29-2008 | Posts: 256
Joined: Oct 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveCaron View Post

If distance is the big issue I can only recommend looking around for a bridge that will meet your need. I was reading on the web that some individuals have purchased a 2nd Wireless router and config'd it as a bridge. The other bonus I can see with that is you'll be able to connect more than 1 item wirelessly in your home entertainment center. I actually would've gone that route had I not already spent $99 on my XBOX 360's wireless adapter 6 months ago. The Linksys WRT54G2 is $49.95 so for 100 bucks and some cat 5 cable I could've connected both my 360 and BDP2550 with other LAN ports to boot. Instead I spent $49.95 for the WRT54G2, $99.95 for the XBOX 360 wireless adapter and $79.95 for the WGA54G Game / Bridge Adapter. Damn, I could've used that money on some Blu-Rays

Anybody know how to configure a 2nd Wireless router as a bridge? That is exactly what I want to do.
jdougjones's Avatar jdougjones
07:56 PM Liked: 10
post #552 of 7068
10-29-2008 | Posts: 68
Joined: May 2005
I'm thinking of getting one of these for my bedroom and want to use it occasionally with wireless headphones. Does it simultaneously output to HDMI and optical outputs so I can just mute the TV to use the headphones? Or, will I need to go into the settings each time and adjust which output to use?
davisdog's Avatar davisdog
08:28 PM Liked: 10
post #553 of 7068
10-29-2008 | Posts: 1,215
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdougjones View Post

I'm thinking of getting one of these for my bedroom and want to use it occasionally with wireless headphones. Does it simultaneously output to HDMI and optical outputs so I can just mute the TV to use the headphones? Or, will I need to go into the settings each time and adjust which output to use?

It does HDMI, Optical and Analog at the same time...I've got HDMI running through my TV and Optical & Analog to my Receiver and I can hear it through both my TV and Stereo
hoyty's Avatar hoyty
06:35 AM Liked: 10
post #554 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 242
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valnar View Post

I have an MX-700 remote and the Windows configuration software (MX-700 editor) does not have these listed yet in the database. Does anyone have a device file for these Samsung Blu-ray players?

I have an 850 and I haven't looked at DB recently. I think the older Samsung Blu-Ray's are in there (1200 or 1400) try one of those and most likely most of the commands will work fine. That is what I did with my 5000.
SteveCaron's Avatar SteveCaron
08:29 AM Liked: 10
post #555 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 610
Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFISHER View Post

Anybody know how to configure a 2nd Wireless router as a bridge? That is exactly what I want to do.

This site may be helpful.

http://www.wi-fiplanet.com/tutorials...le.php/3639271

In reality wireless bridge adapters are just single output wireless routers so if you think about it its kind of a scam because they charge a lot more for bridges.
Raj's Avatar Raj
08:37 AM Liked: 10
post #556 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 190
Joined: Jun 2002
I took my BD300 back to BB and picked up the 2550 as I really like Pandora.

All well until this morning when I tried to fire it up - Seems locked up, I think it has the word Pending or something in the display that won't go away even when powering off.

Both units did a pretty good job however the 2550 responsiveness seems really slow compared to the LG.

I might end up taking this one back to now that Tivo and Netflix announced they will be doing streaming starting in December.... I would then get one of the new Panasonic Blu Ray players that appear to be getting pretty good reviews.
flyers's Avatar flyers
10:39 AM Liked: 10
post #557 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 489
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raj View Post

I took my BD300 back to BB and picked up the 2550 as I really like Pandora.

All well until this morning when I tried to fire it up - Seems locked up, I think it has the word Pending or something in the display that won't go away even when powering off.

Both units did a pretty good job however the 2550 responsiveness seems really slow compared to the LG.

I might end up taking this one back to now that Tivo and Netflix announced they will be doing streaming starting in December.... I would then get one of the new Panasonic Blu Ray players that appear to be getting pretty good reviews.

I think with the new firmware it might take a little more time to load Netflix and Pandora but I've had mine for a while now and never had any freezing up issues. Did you do a hard reset (pull the plug) and see if that corrected the issue? If it doesn't my suggestion is to return it for another one.
Raj's Avatar Raj
11:06 AM Liked: 10
post #558 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 190
Joined: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyers View Post

I think with the new firmware it might take a little more time to load Netflix and Pandora but I've had mine for a while now and never had any freezing up issues. Did you do a hard reset (pull the plug) and see if that corrected the issue? If it doesn't my suggestion is to return it for another one.

I did pull the plug - same result. I had watched a Netfllix the night before and then stopped before it was done and powered off.

The controls are sluggish compared to the LG. I think it's going back permanently.
caesarv's Avatar caesarv
12:05 PM Liked: 10
post #559 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 176
Joined: Dec 2007
I was all set to buy the 2550/2500 because it has NetFlix capability. However, now TiVo will also have that capability (see today's AVS home page), and on top of that, TiVo can probably store the movies if the internet connection is slow or has hiccups.
Since I already have a TiVo HD, I guess the only criteria for my Blu-ray choice is now just image quality and DVD quality (and price of course!). Hmmm... Samsung or Sony 350? Any suggestions?
anettis's Avatar anettis
12:41 PM Liked: 11
post #560 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 197
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by caesarv View Post

I was all set to buy the 2550/2500 because it has NetFlix capability. However, now TiVo will also have that capability (see today's AVS home page), and on top of that, TiVo can probably store the movies if the internet connection is slow or has hiccups.
Since I already have a TiVo HD, I guess the only criteria for my Blu-ray choice is now just image quality and DVD quality (and price of course!). Hmmm... Samsung or Sony 350? Any suggestions?

I suspect that more and more devices will support NetFlix (kudos to NetFlix marketing - I bet Blockbuster will be hurting from this soon). While the TiVo may be able to store a NetFlix instant download (not really sure) - if it did it would also capture the hiccups that would be caused by a slow internet connection - so it really does not make much sense to store it on TiVo UNLESS you streamed it at a time of the day when internet access is good then watch it when internet access is not so good.
flyers's Avatar flyers
12:45 PM Liked: 10
post #561 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 489
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by caesarv View Post

I was all set to buy the 2550/2500 because it has NetFlix capability. However, now TiVo will also have that capability (see today's AVS home page), and on top of that, TiVo can probably store the movies if the internet connection is slow or has hiccups.
Since I already have a TiVo HD, I guess the only criteria for my Blu-ray choice is now just image quality and DVD quality (and price of course!). Hmmm... Samsung or Sony 350? Any suggestions?

I can't comment on TiVo but I can on the your Blu Ray choices. I had the Sony 350 and returned it. The upscaling on SD-DVD's wasn't good (if you care of course) and while the BR picture was good, I don't think it's quite as good as the Samsungs. If you don't care about Netflix or Pandora you don't have to do the update on the 2500. If you want BD-Live you will have to do the update on the 2550 since the 2550 did not have BD-Live out of the box whereas the 2500 does.

So basically, if upscalling is not a concern between those two I would definitly choose the Sammy.
wabkab's Avatar wabkab
01:22 PM Liked: 10
post #562 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 969
Joined: Oct 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyers View Post

I can't comment on TiVo but I can on the your Blu Ray choices. I had the Sony 350 and returned it. The upscaling on SD-DVD's wasn't good (if you care of course) and while the BR picture was good, I don't think it's quite as good as the Samsungs. If you don't care about Netflix or Pandora you don't have to do the update on the 2500. If you want BD-Live you will have to do the update on the 2550 since the 2550 did not have BD-Live out of the box whereas the 2500 does.

So basically, if upscalling is not a concern between those two I would definitly choose the Sammy.

But if you don't do updates you will not get playback compatability issues fixed.
wabkab's Avatar wabkab
01:24 PM Liked: 10
post #563 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 969
Joined: Oct 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by anettis View Post

I suspect that more and more devices will support NetFlix (kudos to NetFlix marketing - I bet Blockbuster will be hurting from this soon). While the TiVo may be able to store a NetFlix instant download (not really sure) - if it did it would also capture the hiccups that would be caused by a slow internet connection - so it really does not make much sense to store it on TiVo UNLESS you streamed it at a time of the day when internet access is good then watch it when internet access is not so good.

My local Blockbuster closed it's doors and has a sign referring people to another existing location.
Stephen Tu's Avatar Stephen Tu
05:15 PM Liked: 10
post #564 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 1,109
Joined: May 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by anettis View Post

While the TiVo may be able to store a NetFlix instant download (not really sure) - if it did it would also capture the hiccups that would be caused by a slow internet connection - so it really does not make much sense to store it on TiVo UNLESS you streamed it at a time of the day when internet access is good then watch it when internet access is not so good.

This is just totally bogus. We don't know if Tivo's implementation will keep a bigger buffer or not, but having a hard disk does make this more feasible. If it does use a bigger buffer, it won't "capture the hiccups". Hiccups happen when you run out of buffer, the data coming in isn't keeping up with what's needed by the decoder for smooth playback. The hiccups aren't part of the actual data being stored, they are a symptom of lack of data. If you have a big enough buffer, and fast enough connection, then if the connection slows down then you just continue to decode the buffered data without hiccups and hopefully the connection gets back up to speed and keeps starts increasing the buffer again before you run out of data.

Slow connection just means you need longer at the start for the buffer to fill up, and a larger buffer if the connection speed in filling the buffer is slower than the decoder draining it.
anettis's Avatar anettis
09:29 PM Liked: 11
post #565 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 197
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Tu View Post

This is just totally bogus. We don't know if Tivo's implementation will keep a bigger buffer or not, but having a hard disk does make this more feasible. If it does use a bigger buffer, it won't "capture the hiccups". Hiccups happen when you run out of buffer, the data coming in isn't keeping up with what's needed by the decoder for smooth playback. The hiccups aren't part of the actual data being stored, they are a symptom of lack of data. If you have a big enough buffer, and fast enough connection, then if the connection slows down then you just continue to decode the buffered data without hiccups and hopefully the connection gets back up to speed and keeps starts increasing the buffer again before you run out of data.

Slow connection just means you need longer at the start for the buffer to fill up, and a larger buffer if the connection speed in filling the buffer is slower than the decoder draining it.

If the connection is too slow the buffer may keep running out and thus the device may decide to drop the steam at a lower bitrate. This is what the standard Roku device does. If Tivo follows suit then it will still be lower quality when played back. I am not saying this is definitely how it will be implemented but it is one possibility. No need to get argumentative.
caesarv's Avatar caesarv
10:00 PM Liked: 10
post #566 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 176
Joined: Dec 2007
I agree with Stephen.
While we don't know yet if TiVo will store the stream to disk, this certainly seems feasible and probably likely. We shall see.
If the connection drops momentarily or slows down, the increased buffer size should make this transparent (within reason). Having 750GB of storage instead of 1GB can't hurt! In any case, I have a solid 6mbps connection so I am not too worried about it.
davisdog's Avatar davisdog
10:22 PM Liked: 10
post #567 of 7068
10-30-2008 | Posts: 1,215
Joined: Sep 2002
ps...You can always plug a larger USB drive on the back of the Samsung and in the menu default it to use that for buffer...that should give plenty for HD if the 1Gb isnt already enough
JFISHER's Avatar JFISHER
07:55 AM Liked: 10
post #568 of 7068
10-31-2008 | Posts: 256
Joined: Oct 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveCaron View Post

This site may be helpful.

http://www.wi-fiplanet.com/tutorials...le.php/3639271

In reality wireless bridge adapters are just single output wireless routers so if you think about it its kind of a scam because they charge a lot more for bridges.


Thanks. That is exactly what I want to do. I read through everything but I am not sure I can find the correct firmware to flash a WRT310N. There are so many different files that can be downloaded and I would hate to get the wrong one and mess up a new router. I don't know why linksys does not provide the wireless bridge mode in their routers.
roscoe1972's Avatar roscoe1972
09:13 AM Liked: 10
post #569 of 7068
10-31-2008 | Posts: 134
Joined: Feb 2006
The DVD noise reducer seems to cause an odd shimmering in some objects on the screen. I have tried it on low and it does sharpen the image a bit, however this movement of static objects is annoying. Anyone else notice this?
cimbom's Avatar cimbom
10:14 AM Liked: 10
post #570 of 7068
10-31-2008 | Posts: 15
Joined: Oct 2008
Sorry if it's a stupid question but I really don't know much about audio setups. I am wondering if I can connect BD-P 2550 to my existing old HTIB speakers without using a receiver.

Also, is it possible to download firmwares through build-in ethernet port without using a computer?

Thanks in advance for all the replies.

Reply Blu-ray Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3