Samsung BD-2550/BD-P2500 Master Thread - Page 49 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 7068 Old 12-17-2008, 02:22 PM
Member
 
mmmccall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I've searched this thread but haven't found someone with exactly the same problem as me so I thought I'd post it-

I have my 2550 hooked straight up to my panasonic plasma in my bedroom (No AVR or amp or anything) and am just using the tv speakers. I have been experiencing audio drop outs every 10 minutes or so on some discs (Lost Season 4 as one example). The audio will cut out for a couple seconds and then come right back in. I've read some other problems with this but most others use AVR or some sort of receiver so since I'm using my tv speakers, its slightly different.

Is this a settings issue and if so, what should I use as settings? My inclination is to change speaker settings to turn on only front left, front right, and center speaker (turn off side surrounds and back surrounds) and set all speaker size to small. Will this fix the problem?
mmmccall is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 7068 Old 12-17-2008, 02:35 PM
Member
 
mmmccall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmccall View Post

I've searched this thread but haven't found someone with exactly the same problem as me so I thought I'd post it-

I have my 2550 hooked straight up to my panasonic plasma in my bedroom (No AVR or amp or anything) and am just using the tv speakers. I have been experiencing audio drop outs every 10 minutes or so on some discs (Lost Season 4 as one example). The audio will cut out for a couple seconds and then come right back in. I've read some other problems with this but most others use AVR or some sort of receiver so since I'm using my tv speakers, its slightly different.

Is this a settings issue and if so, what should I use as settings? My inclination is to change speaker settings to turn on only front left, front right, and center speaker (turn off side surrounds and back surrounds) and set all speaker size to small. Will this fix the problem?

Changed my mind....now I'm thinking I should set front speakers to Large, and turn all other speaker options off.......Any thoughts?
mmmccall is offline  
post #1443 of 7068 Old 12-17-2008, 04:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,061
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 250
If you're using HDMI,whatever speaker settings you change will not make a difference. If you have audio dropout on all discs, go exchange your player ASAP. Samsung only offers 90-day labor. After 90-day,you will have to pay $85 flat fee + shipping for any warranty service.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #1444 of 7068 Old 12-17-2008, 06:10 PM
Member
 
ronorkis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just updated my firmware on in the 2500, and cannot play Grindhouse Planet Terror or Death Proof. It tried to load, then goes back to the Netflix/Pandora screen. Is the player very picky about what movies it can and cannot play? I put in Dark Knight, worked fine. I then put in Transformers, won't play. Tries to load, but never plays
ronorkis is offline  
post #1445 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 04:41 AM
Member
 
jdougjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmccall View Post

I've searched this thread but haven't found someone with exactly the same problem as me so I thought I'd post it-

I have my 2550 hooked straight up to my panasonic plasma in my bedroom (No AVR or amp or anything) and am just using the tv speakers. I have been experiencing audio drop outs every 10 minutes or so on some discs (Lost Season 4 as one example). The audio will cut out for a couple seconds and then come right back in. I've read some other problems with this but most others use AVR or some sort of receiver so since I'm using my tv speakers, its slightly different.

Is this a settings issue and if so, what should I use as settings? My inclination is to change speaker settings to turn on only front left, front right, and center speaker (turn off side surrounds and back surrounds) and set all speaker size to small. Will this fix the problem?

I have the exact same setup and problem. My guess is it's a problem unique to the Panasonic/Samsung combination. I even updated the firmware on my TH-42PZ77U which didn't help. It's annoying. I previously had an HD-A2 hooked up using same cable and had no problem. What model TV do you have?
jdougjones is offline  
post #1446 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallace_1000 View Post

Thanks for the info SteveCaron, i am glad to hear that the loss of signal during start-up is normal. I just found it strange that 720p has jaggies while 1080i does not. My set is 1366 x 768, so i am thinking that 720p is probably the best setting to go with? Has anyone else found that 1080i produces a better picture with this player or does it all come down to the tv?

Yes, I have a panny AE900U 720p projector and it seems to look better at 1080i. In fact I was curious to know why and here is what I found. First, with 1080i you can turn on 24fps with the player, second the player does not pass the HQV benchmark test on the jaggies patterns in 720p and it fails a lot of the cadence test too. That's what I found so far.
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #1447 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 08:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,061
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholicJeffL View Post

First, with 1080i you can turn on 24fps with the player,

That is because 24fps is not activated in 1080i. 24fps means 1080p @ 24Hz instead of 1080p @ 60Hz normally. 1080i is just 1080i @ 60Hz. There is no 24fps mode for 1080i.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #1448 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 09:50 AM
Member
 
wallace_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholicJeffL View Post

Yes, I have a panny AE900U 720p projector and it seems to look better at 1080i. In fact I was curious to know why and here is what I found. First, with 1080i you can turn on 24fps with the player, second the player does not pass the HQV benchmark test on the jaggies patterns in 720p and it fails a lot of the cadence test too. That's what I found so far.

So 1080i is the way to go? Where did you find the test results showing that the player fails the HQV benchmark test on 720p?
wallace_1000 is offline  
post #1449 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anybody know if this thing will play avchd burned onto a dvd? My originial 2550 would-then I got a 2500 and upgraded the firmware to the latest version, now all it does is spit the disc out-is samjunk trying to make us use bluray blanks for this format? Jeez.
zrdb is offline  
post #1450 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 12:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,061
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by zrdb View Post

Does anybody know if this thing will play avchd burned onto a dvd? My originial 2550 would-then I got a 2500 and upgraded the firmware to the latest version, now all it does is spit the disc out-is samjunk trying to make us use bluray blanks for this format? Jeez.

Make sure your AVCHD is actually AVCHD formated. From what I gather, the new firmware for 1500/25x0 still supports true AVCHD formated disc but doesn't support BD on DVD formated disc (which was supported in older firmware) that commonly mistaken as AVCHD. There are slight differences between the two. See this link for details: http://www.elurauser.com/articles/avchd_to_bluray.jsp
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #1451 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 01:23 PM
Member
 
tke743's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I've read through this entire thread, and can't seam to get a firm answer on this.
Does this player play DVD film content at 24fps like my XA2 or the new Oppo Blu-ray?
Forgive me if I missed this.
tke743 is offline  
post #1452 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 03:51 PM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallace_1000 View Post

So 1080i is the way to go? Where did you find the test results showing that the player fails the HQV benchmark test on 720p?

I have the blu-ray and standard HQV benchmark disks
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #1453 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

That is because 24fps is not activated in 1080i. 24fps means 1080p @ 24Hz instead of 1080p @ 60Hz normally. 1080i is just 1080i @ 60Hz. There is no 24fps mode for 1080i.

I am not sure exactly what you mean. My projector is 720p native and can except a 1080i signal. When you feed it a 1080i signal then on the projector you have the option to set 24fps on or off. I have the player output set to 1080i and it gives you the option for 24fps. However on a couple of disks that I have that say they are 1080i I notice the projector is doing the 24fps not player and signal says 1080i/60. When I put in a 1080p disk the 24fps is grayed out and it says the signal is 1080/24p. If I set the player to 1080p I don't get any picture at all. What exactly is going on here?
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #1454 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 04:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Make sure your AVCHD is actually AVCHD formated. From what I gather, the new firmware for 1500/25x0 still supports true AVCHD formated disc but doesn't support BD on DVD formated disc (which was supported in older firmware) that commonly mistaken as AVCHD. There are slight differences between the two. See this link for details: http://www.elurauser.com/articles/avchd_to_bluray.jsp

After much research I found a much simpler way to do-it would be nice if I could find the originial BD-P2550 firmware and install that-as to where one could find it I don't know, in 2 hours of googleing I found nothing.
zrdb is offline  
post #1455 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 07:09 PM
Member
 
wallace_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholicJeffL View Post

I have the blu-ray and standard HQV benchmark disks

Thanks audioholicJeffL, i will set it at 1080i then. As far as i can tell my tv handles both 720p and 1080i well.
wallace_1000 is offline  
post #1456 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 07:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,061
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioholicJeffL View Post

I am not sure exactly what you mean. My projector is 720p native and can except a 1080i signal. When you feed it a 1080i signal then on the projector you have the option to set 24fps on or off. I have the player output set to 1080i and it gives you the option for 24fps. However on a couple of disks that I have that say they are 1080i I notice the projector is doing the 24fps not player and signal says 1080i/60. When I put in a 1080p disk the 24fps is grayed out and it says the signal is 1080/24p. If I set the player to 1080p I don't get any picture at all. What exactly is going on here?


What I meant is that if you set to output 1080i from player, the 24fps setting in player is no longer valid. Majority of BDs are encoded in 1080p/24. Concerts and documentaries are usually 1080i. Your TV needs to correctly identify the 3:2 telicined 1080i signal and properly de-interlace it into 1080p/24 and scale down to 720p.

1080i60, 1080p24 and 1080p60 are three different signal formats. If your TV can only accept 1080i or 720p, you can only feed it 1080i or 720p, not 1080p24 or 1080p60.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #1457 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 07:29 PM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

What I meant is that if you set to output 1080i from player, the 24fps setting in player is no longer valid. Majority of BDs are encoded in 1080p/24. Concerts and documentaries are usually 1080i. Your TV needs to correctly identify the 3:2 telicined 1080i signal and properly de-interlace it into 1080p/24 and scale down to 720p.

1080i60, 1080p24 and 1080p60 are three different signal formats. If your TV can only accept 1080i or 720p, you can only feed it 1080i or 720p, not 1080p24 or 1080p60.

Somehow I don't think is quite correct with this player. If I have it set to 1080i and I leave the 24fps off on the player then with a 1080p movie my projector says the signal is 1080/60i and I have the option of turning on or off cinema reality which is what the projector calls 24fps. If I then go into the player and turn 24fps on the projector says the signal is 1080/24p and the cinema reality option is grayed out like when a 720p signal is present. However, my projector will not except the player set to 1080p. Kind of confusing but do you follow what I am saying?

Looking over the manual for the projector it does list 1080/24p as a signal that it will handle.
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #1458 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 07:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,061
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Now I get what you're saying. If seems that your TV indeed can accept 1080p/24 but not 1080p/60. So leave the player at 1080p24 mode is the best option for you.

If your TV won't accept 1080p/24 signal, like mine, you won't be able to see a confirmation message box on TV to confirm 24fps mode when you turn it on. All you see should be a blank screen just like when you select 1080p mode (which is actually 1080p/60). Without click on the confirmation message box, the player will restore to non-24 fps mode after a few seconds.

So, if you do see a confirmation box when you turn on 24fps mode, you're fine with 1080p/24.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #1459 of 7068 Old 12-18-2008, 08:20 PM
Senior Member
 
audioholicJeffL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Now I get what you're saying. If seems that your TV indeed can accept 1080p/24 but not 1080p/60. So leave the player at 1080p24 mode is the best option for you.

If your TV won't accept 1080p/24 signal, like mine, you won't be able to see a confirmation message box on TV to confirm 24fps mode when you turn it on. All you see should be a blank screen just like when you select 1080p mode (which is actually 1080p/60). Without click on the confirmation message box, the player will restore to non-24 fps mode after a few seconds.

So, if you do see a confirmation box when you turn on 24fps mode, you're fine with 1080p/24.

I am glad we got that sorted out
audioholicJeffL is offline  
post #1460 of 7068 Old 12-19-2008, 07:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dark Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just wanted to report that I received my BD-P2500 from Amazon earlier this week. I was probably one of the last to get in on the $100 off/4 blu-ray deal before the player went out of stock, so I ended up paying under $300 total with the 4 movies. So far I have been extremely impressed with this player. I immediately flashed to the newest firmware, which took all of 10 minutes, and It's played everything I've thrown at it flawlessly. The upscaling is AMAZING on SD movies that are encoded well. The Pixar stuff and Star Wars dvds are literally hard to distinguish from HD when using the player to upscale. The netflix streaming looks extremely good as well, especially the 720p (HD) streams. I did have one instance where I had to reset my router, because my powerline ethernet dropped the connection in the middle of a movie, but other than that, no hiccups to report. I've been getting max bars for the HD movies, and 2 bars short of full for the SD stuff, which I'm guessing is still the max due to the encoding for the specific movies? I think one of the most impressive things about this player has been the sound though. With all speakers set to large, and HDMI going through my AVR, I'm getting amazing sound! Bring on the firmware for the master audio!
Dark Rider is offline  
post #1461 of 7068 Old 12-19-2008, 12:17 PM
Member
 
milou6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tke743 View Post

Ok, I've read through this entire thread, and can't seam to get a firm answer on this.
Does this player play DVD film content at 24fps like my XA2 or the new Oppo Blu-ray?
Forgive me if I missed this.

No, to the best of my knowledge and memory of this thread. But DVD is encoded at 60 fps (even if it was a film transfer) so the native DVD rate is 60 fps. Forcing it back to 24 is not necessarily a good way to go as it can introduce artifacts and jitters (dividing 60 into 24). A solution is to stick with BD transfers since the native rate for movies is 24 like the original film.
milou6 is offline  
post #1462 of 7068 Old 12-19-2008, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
curtishd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone who needs a remote PM me as I have an extra.
curtishd is offline  
post #1463 of 7068 Old 12-19-2008, 05:04 PM
Member
 
pmaddock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nextoo View Post

The chart is wrong.

Just to clarify - its my understanding that the 2550 will bitstream DTS-MA to a HDMI audio capable reciever, it just won't interally decode DTS-MA for its 7.1 analog outputs.

I should also mention its my understanding that a firmware update plugging this 'gap' is wishful thinking. Apparently its more than firmware can do as the underlying hardware to decode DTS-MA for the analog outs just isn't there.

Paul Maddock
pmaddock is offline  
post #1464 of 7068 Old 12-19-2008, 05:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,061
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmaddock View Post

Just to clarify - its my understanding that the 2550 will bitstream DTS-MA to a HDMI audio capable reciever, it just won't interally decode DTS-MA for its 7.1 analog outputs.

correct so far.
Quote:


I should also mention its my understanding that a firmware update plugging this 'gap' is wishful thinking. Apparently its more than firmware can do as the underlying hardware to decode DTS-MA for the analog outs just isn't there.

There are many conflicting information about this but Samsung itself suggested it is possible to do so and it aims to release such firmware by the end of this year. We will see after 12/31/08.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #1465 of 7068 Old 12-19-2008, 07:28 PM
Member
 
caesarv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Santa Rosa CA
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

correct so far.
There are many conflicting information about this but Samsung itself suggested it is possible to do so....

I know my company sometimes installs the hardware up front, and then, at some later date, finally get around to putting in the firmware code to activate it.
caesarv is offline  
post #1466 of 7068 Old 12-19-2008, 08:23 PM
Member
 
Ridewithme38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HELP!!

Now i'm having problems with two Blu-rays right out of the box!

Sleeping Beuty plays all the previews at the begining of the disc but when it hits the main menu(When it should hit the main menu)All i get it a Black Screen with 00:00 and i can't do anything....Works perfect on the Sony S-300

A Christmas Story...plays about half way though then gets jittery and locks up...works perfect in the S-300

Now i didn't buy the extended warrenty from Best Buy...and i think you can only return with in a week...I don't see a firmware upgrade anywhere....What do i do!!!
Ridewithme38 is offline  
post #1467 of 7068 Old 12-19-2008, 09:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,061
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 250
I believe BB return period is 30-day. Check your receipt. Try exchange in BB first. If not possible, you have to deal with Samsung warranty support.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #1468 of 7068 Old 12-19-2008, 11:36 PM
Newbie
 
tbh999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cypress, TX, USA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I bit the bullet and just purchased a Blu-Ray player (Samsung BD-P2500). It helped the the drawer on my old DVD play has been sticking the the last couple of years...

First some background on my network:
  • Smoothwall 3.0 Firewall (DHCP, transparent Proxy, snort...)
  • Dell Power Connect 2716 (16 port managed 10/100/1000 switch)
  • D-Link DIR-655 WiFi router used as a WiFi access point as well as a four port switch at my home theater rig (DHCP off, Static IP, etc)
  • ReadyNAS NV+ - music library (as well as the WINS server)
The BD-P2500 is connected to the D-Link 10/100/1000 switch (along with a DirecTV HR21-100 DVR and two Squeeze Boxes [one wired and one WiFi]). All devices, other than the BD-P2500, can connect to the Internet and the system has been working for well over a year...

Issue: The BD-P2500 connected to the Samsung FTP site and downloaded the latest software (081128 or something like that) without any problems. However, when I tried to connect to the Netflix website I get an error saying that the unit can not connect to my home network. I have tried both static and dynamic IP addresses, three different CAT-5e cables, turning my proxy off and removing the D-Link out of the equation by connecting strait to the other switch, all give the same error. Additionally, I can ping to the BD-P2500 from a PC.

Any ideas?

DirecTV Since 1997

Cable companies are evil and must be dealt with
tbh999 is offline  
post #1469 of 7068 Old 12-20-2008, 10:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Does 24fps mode work if you bypass the Pre/Pro and connect the player directly to the TV? Integra is Onkyo's high end brand and I've read that some ppl have to turn off the OSD in their Onkyo AVR in order for it to pass the 24fps mode.

Bypassing the pre/pro does work, but I'm able to pass 24p from an LG BD300, a Toshiba HDXA2 and a Panasonic BD55 with no problems, so it's got to be a combo of the player and the preamp/processor.

But I'll try turning off the on-screen menu and also trying a couple of the other inputs on the pre/pro.

Thanks,

-Chris

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
post #1470 of 7068 Old 12-20-2008, 11:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Josuah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbh999 View Post

However, when I tried to connect to the Netflix website I get an error saying that the unit can not connect to my home network.

Can you ping your gateway from another computer that is set up the same as your BD-P2500? Your gateway may not accept pings.

Josuah is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off