Official Panasonic DMP-BD35/55 Owners Thread - Page 100 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 12:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by boylan13 View Post

Correct about the PZ85, but not about the 120 Hz LCD generalization. The PZ85 accepts 24p but converts it internally to 60Hz. The PZ800 and many Pioneer plasmas properly support 24p content at a multiple of 24 (Panasonic 2X, Pioneer 3X).

But most 120 Hz LCD TVs *do not* do 5:5 pulldown. They internally convert 24P to 60Hz then double it. There are a few exceptions but they are the exception, not the rule. Judder reduction on a 120Hz set is only effective if the set does 5:5 pulldown and displays 24p natively at 120 Hz.

-CB

On a related note, my Sony SXRD 60A3000 is 120hz. It accepts and to my understanding displays 1080p/24 at 4:4 (96hz). It does 5:5 (120hz) for anything else. From what you're saying, I'm not getting judder benefit if this is the case?

DavidHir is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 12:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post

On a related note, my Sony SXRD 60A3000 is 120hz. It accepts and to my understanding displays 1080p/24 at 4:4 (96hz). It does 5:5 (120hz) for anything else. From what you're saying, I'm not getting judder benefit if this is the case?

If your Sony SXRD set does 24p at 96Hz, then you should be OK. It just has to be an even multiple of 24Hz and it can't do the 2:3 conversion. Sounds like your set doesn't do 2:3 conversion of 24p material to 60Hz so it should be fine. And by the way, your set isn't an LCD, but you already knew that.

-CB

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
post #2973 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 12:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by boylan13 View Post

If your Sony SXRD set does 24p at 96Hz, then you should be OK. It just has to be an even multiple of 24Hz and it can't do the 2:3 conversion. Sounds like your set doesn't do 2:3 conversion of 24p material to 60Hz so it should be fine. And by the way, your set isn't an LCD, but you already knew that.

-CB

I did. However, for some reason I was thinking maybe Sony used some of the same fundamental processing technology in both types (SXRD/LCos and LCD).

DavidHir is offline  
post #2974 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 02:56 AM
Newbie
 
FZ1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi !

I plan to have
BD55 hdmi to panasonic projecteur PTAE 3000
BD55 analog 5.1 output to receiver NAD T742.

I read on several posts that the receiver cannot delay its analog inputs.

I read that you can delay up to 15ms in the BD55.

Problem :

A feature in the projector is frame interpolation which delay the video up to 130ms.
How can I further delay the sound to get rid of lipsynch issues ? If at all possible...

Thanks a bunch
FZ1977 is offline  
post #2975 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 06:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
wstanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canonsburg, PA (Steeler Country)
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Without getting into much detail, "the 30 day guarantee window" will get you money today.
wstanko is offline  
post #2976 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 06:55 AM
Member
 
chripuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boylan13 View Post

That's the theory. I plan on trying it myself for the BD50 that I still have in one of my systems, because the BD50 code doesn't map "select" properly on the Harmony 1000.

-CB

On the note of the Harmony remotes, what's the best bang for the buck (Under 150 preferrable?)

It'd be controlling a Panny 55, Denon AVR-488, Motorola Cable Box and a Sammy DLP...
chripuck is offline  
post #2977 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 07:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kevinw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NE Gwinnett-between Dacula and Braselton
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy81 View Post

That monoprice switch does not work. I had posted about that earlier since I had the same problem and I put a comment on monoprice regarding same. You need to get the 4x1 1.3b certified switch from monoprice. That one works great.

But what if you need to switch between 2 tvs? A 4x1 does not work. My Monoprice 4x2 HDX-402 works sort of. I Have an A2, Dish 622 and the 55k hooked up. It allows me to watch any on 1 TV but only DISH and the A2 on both at the same time. The 55 is one or the other not both

Aka- Fr8mvr
Kevinw is offline  
post #2978 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kevinw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NE Gwinnett-between Dacula and Braselton
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chripuck View Post

On the note of the Harmony remotes, what's the best bang for the buck (Under 150 preferrable?)

It'd be controlling a Panny 55, Denon AVR-488, Motorola Cable Box and a Sammy DLP...

I use the 880 to control everything, TV, Sat receiver, HD-DVD, Blu-ray, and my AV receiver

Aka- Fr8mvr
Kevinw is offline  
post #2979 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
wstanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canonsburg, PA (Steeler Country)
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone found a command for the 55 that does a simple 10 secondish repeat. I had that command on my replaced Samsung and it was very useful for those "what did he say" moments.

I'm using the Harmony database for the 55, and there are two commands that had great promise, but lacked usefulness. One, the repeat command, jumped back to the beginning of the chapter; the second, skip backward, does nothing. Very unfortunate IMHO for there are so many never to be used commands with no value to just watching the movie.
wstanko is offline  
post #2980 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy81 View Post

That monoprice switch does not work. I had posted about that earlier since I had the same problem and I put a comment on monoprice regarding same. You need to get the 4x1 1.3b certified switch from monoprice. That one works great.

Monoprice has several switches? Which model are you referring to?

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is offline  
post #2981 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Arnies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryChanin View Post

Hi Arnie,

I have a setup similar to what you are planning. I'm using a Panasonic BD55 and a Lexicon MC-8. As BIslander explains both outputs are simultaneously active.

However, on my Lexicon I have discovered the MC-8 automatically sets the INPUT SELECT parameter to AUTO when both digital and analog audio input connectors are assigned. However, when the INPUT SELECT parameter is set to AUTO, the MC-8 will not select the assigned analog audio input connector when a valid digital audio input source is present. So if your MC-4 functions like my MC-8, it will not be possible to play analog audio as long as the INPUT SELECT parameter is set to AUTO, the default setting, and there is an active digital signal.

Although it is not required to do anything in the Panasonic's menus to switch between analog and digital audio, it is necessary to change the Lexicon's INPUT SELECT parameter from AUTO to either DIGITAL OR ANALOG.

In the MC-8 this is done as follows:

MAIN MENU -> SETUP -> INPUTS -> BLU-RAY -> MAIN ADVANCED -> INPUT SELECT -> AUTO or DIGITAL or ANALOG

I hope this helps.

Larry

Thanks for the info that is good to know. What I think I am going to do is assign one input to BD and one input for DVD. That way even my wife will understand
Arnies is offline  
post #2982 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 07:39 AM - Thread Starter
 
Robert George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Trapped in time. Surrounded by evil. Low on gas.
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SIDE NOTE - RE: SXRD

Quote:


And by the way, your set isn't an LCD, but you already knew that.

Technically speaking, SXRD is indeed an LCD technology. LCoS is Liquid Crystal on Silicon. Conventional LCD is a transmissive medium, IE, light passes through the LCD panel. LCoS (and SXRD) use liquid crystal panels in a reflective configuration with a silicone substrate. LCoS offers many of the advantages of LCD, such as lower cost and easier to manufacture 1080x1920 panels coupled with some of the benefits of a reflective technology, mostly improved contrast and black level.
Robert George is offline  
post #2983 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 08:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nin1974 View Post

ok, what do you get extra? What's the big benefit?

I took the cue from others in this thread...they said the profiles were terrible for the 55 and 35...and that the profile for the 30 was more accurate and complete
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #2984 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 08:55 AM
 
wojtek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 2,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody tried the Blu-ray multi-region hack on these things?

There is one described on the UK site AVForums.com, but I am not sure if it works on the US models.
wojtek is offline  
post #2985 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:00 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 1,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnies View Post

I am probably going to buy the Panny 55. I have the Lexicon MC-4 so I will have to use both the analog outs and internal decoding for the blu -ray discs and coax and lexicon decoding for the digital signal of a DVD.. When you play a regular DVD is the bit stream to my lexicon via COAX always active or do I have to go into the 55 menu to toggle between the analog outs and coax is it one or the other active? or are both always active?

I hope it would be active so that when I play a regualr DVD I do not have to do anything. I hope someone knows the answer. Thanks in advance

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

It's always active. Set the digital outputs to bitstream, set HDMI audio to off, secondary audio to on, and you are good to go. That's how I am set up - analog for BD and bitstream over coax for DVD playback.

Does the BD55 have separate memory for SD & BD discs?

If not, the above would be fine for playing DVD's, but wouldn't you have to keep setting secondary-audio to OFF when playing Blu-ray's, so the player doesn't output lossy audio? As explained below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by boylan13 View Post

If you want to get the Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA logos on your receiver, then select bitstream for DTS and Dolby in the Digital Audio Output menu option and turn Secondary Audio OFF (with Secondary Audio ON it will send the lossy audio formats when you have menu clicks on the disc or Secondary Audio in the stream). But with Secondary Audio OFF you won't get audio from PiP commentary (BonusView content).

If you set it to PCM instead, then you can leave Secondary Audio ON and the BD55 will extract the encoded PCM track from DTS-HD MA and Dolby TrueHD, and mix in the menu clicks or Secondary Audio when it is present without having to resort to the lossy audio tracks. This is more important for titles with menu clicks than it is for Secondary Audio since BonusView comentary tends to lower the main soundtrack in the mix so much that it doesn't much matter whether you're getting it in full lossless surround that that point.

-CB


Paul
Paul H is offline  
post #2986 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:01 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,582
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUPERMANROB View Post

Ok I have the BD35 and have a question? I have the 35 going to my Denon3808 with HDMI then to my Mit's 734 DLP. Now it won't let me turn on the 24P option.I read on the Manual and it said that going thru the AVR will not let you turn on the 24P. Manual said you had to go straight to TV via HDMI and optical/coax audio to the AVR. Well I want to bitstream DTS-HD/MA, so this is not an option.
I have the 3808 set up to pass thru 1080P. I also have the Sony S350 and it lets me does this and the 24P lights up so I assume it works.
Is there a way around this or is it my equipment or set up?

Something doesn't sound quite right. The Mits will accept a 24p signal and the 3808 passes 24p. The TV will apply 3:2 and then double to get "Smooth 120". I just did a similar setup and it worked just fine. Try taking resolution off of auto first.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #2987 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JeffKB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 1,922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

Something doesn't sound quite right. The Mits will accept a 24p signal and the 3808 passes 24p. The TV will apply 3:2 and then double to get "Smooth 120".

If that's the way the TV handles 24p, then I don't see the advantage in sending 24p. You're still getting a 3:2 pulldown.

I'd like to think the set is taking 24p and converting the frame rate to 120 by multiplying by 5.
JeffKB is offline  
post #2988 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:18 AM
Member
 
Jesse5842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just wanted to start off by saying that the the Panasonic BD55 is definitely a great player however i am a little concerned about some of the titles and there load times. Three titles in particular incredible hulk, iron man and hellboy 2. These movies seem to take extra long to load when i have the ethernet connected.

All load times are based on unit already powered. The counting starts when disc tray closes and the counting ends when the movie main menu appears.

Here are the load times
without ethernet cable connected

Incredible Hulk - 1 minute 5 seconds
Iron Man - 1 minute 30 seconds
Hellboy 2 - 1 minute 21 seconds

Now here are load time with Ethernet cable connected to player

Incredible Hulk - 1 minute 40 seconds
Iron Man - 2 minutes 30 seconds
Hellboy 2 - 2 minutes 35 seconds

When the movies are loading up you can see the Panasonic display network connection started so i am assuming that it has something to do with the Bd-Live. If anyone else would be willing to do similar test to that i did and respond back the would be great.
Jesse5842 is offline  
post #2989 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
BWG707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevinw View Post

I use the 880 to control everything, TV, Sat receiver, HD-DVD, Blu-ray, and my AV receiver

Just curious, but is the Harmony 880 Windows Vista compatible?
BWG707 is offline  
post #2990 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:24 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,582
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffKB View Post

If that's the way the TV handles 24p, then I don't see the advantage in sending 24p. You're still getting a 3:2 pulldown.

I'd like to think the set is taking 24p and converting the frame rate to 120 by multiplying by 5.

It all depends on which device does the better job with 3:2 pulldown. The Mits DLP's are actually very smooth.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #2991 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:26 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,582
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse5842 View Post

I just wanted to start off by saying that the the Panasonic BD55 is definitely a great player however i am a little concerned about some of the titles and there load times. Three titles in particular incredible hulk, iron man and hellboy 2. These movies seem to take extra long to load when i have the ethernet connected.

All load times are based on unit already powered. The counting starts when disc tray closes and the counting ends when the movie main menu appears.

Here are the load times
without ethernet cable connected

Incredible Hulk - 1 minute 5 seconds
Iron Man - 1 minute 30 seconds
Hellboy 2 - 1 minute 21 seconds

Now here are load time with Ethernet cable connected to player

Incredible Hulk - 1 minute 40 seconds
Iron Man - 2 minutes 30 seconds
Hellboy 2 - 2 minutes 35 seconds

When the movies are loading up you can see the Panasonic display network connection started so i am assuming that it has something to do with the Bd-Live. If anyone else would be willing to do similar test to that i did and respond back the would be great.

Times seem about right. These titles are java heavy.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #2992 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JeffKB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 1,922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

It all depends on which device does the better job with 3:2 pulldown. The Mits DLP's are actually very smooth.

S~

Are you sure it's not doing the 5x frame rate conversion? That's one of the advantages of 120Hz - it's evenly divisible by 24 and 60.
JeffKB is offline  
post #2993 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWG707 View Post

Just curious, but is the Harmony 880 Windows Vista compatible?

I'm using my 880 with Vista and have had no problems.

lujan
719 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #2994 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:40 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,582
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffKB View Post

Are you sure it's not doing the 5x frame rate conversion? That's one of the advantages of 120Hz - it's evenly divisible by 24 and 60.

Yeap. No rear projection DLP at this time does a true 5:5. They do 3:2 to get to 60 and then double to get to 120.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #2995 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:40 AM
Member
 
Jesse5842's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse5842 View Post

I just wanted to start off by saying that the the Panasonic BD55 is definitely a great player however i am a little concerned about some of the titles and there load times. Three titles in particular incredible hulk, iron man and hellboy 2. These movies seem to take extra long to load when i have the ethernet connected.

All load times are based on unit already powered. The counting starts when disc tray closes and the counting ends when the movie main menu appears.

Here are the load times
without ethernet cable connected

Incredible Hulk - 1 minute 5 seconds
Iron Man - 1 minute 30 seconds
Hellboy 2 - 1 minute 21 seconds

Now here are load time with Ethernet cable connected to player

Incredible Hulk - 1 minute 40 seconds
Iron Man - 2 minutes 30 seconds
Hellboy 2 - 2 minutes 35 seconds

When the movies are loading up you can see the Panasonic display network connection started so i am assuming that it has something to do with the Bd-Live. If anyone else would be willing to do similar test to that i did and respond back the would be great.

Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

Times seem about right. These titles are java heavy.

S~

I know that the titles are java heavy but why does it make a such a substantial difference when you connect the ethernet cable. Also i do believe that POTC dead mans chest is java heavy and it can load that movie in 45 seconds.
Jesse5842 is offline  
post #2996 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Brandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWG707 View Post

Just curious, but is the Harmony 880 Windows Vista compatible?

all harmony remotes use the same software to my knowledge and it works perfectly on vista, including vista64.

logitech is a pretty good company, to not support vista would just be insane.
Brandito is offline  
post #2997 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:43 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,582
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse5842 View Post

I know that the titles are java heavy but why does it make a such a substantial difference when you connect the ethernet cable. Also i do believe that POTC dead mans chest is java heavy and it can load that movie in 45 seconds.

I connects to the internet. Think of it more like a computer than a standard DVD player. It loads whatever it needs to load into persistant memory.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #2998 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Brandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

I connects to the internet. Think of it more like a computer than a standard DVD player. It loads whatever it needs to load into persistant memory.

S~

i think this could be heavily related to the speed of your sd card as well, using a faster sd card could make a decent impact on load times.
Brandito is offline  
post #2999 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul H View Post

... but wouldn't you have to keep setting secondary-audio to OFF when playing Blu-ray's, so the player doesn't output lossy audio? As explained below: ...

That explanation refers to bitstreaming HD codecs over HDMI. The OP plans to use analog for BD and bitstream over S/PDIF for lossy. You can leave secondary audio ON and get lossless decodes over analog.
BIslander is online now  
post #3000 of 14982 Old 11-16-2008, 10:29 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 1,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

You can leave secondary audio ON and get lossless decodes over analog.

Yes. This is where there is confusion.

That would be great! Has this been verified?

Paul
Paul H is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd35k 1080p Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd55k Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bh200 Super Blu Blu Ray Hd Dvd Combo Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off