Official Panasonic DMP-BD35/55 Owners Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Please, please. Can we keep this thread limited to discussions about the operations of the BD35/BD55? There are plenty of other threads for chat about SD vs. HD quality and such.
BIslander is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
flyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeb53 View Post

I'm not giving up, and I know its only been one movie. I was told get Planet Earth for a good example of High-Def. I guess I was expecting something more as compared to an upconverted DVD. Like you say it depends on how the movie is made and copied to Blu-Ray.

Mike,
Is your TV 1080P? Just curious because if it's native is 720 or 768 like mine, I changed the player (Sammy 2550) to output 720P so the BR will do the deinterlacing and not my TV. I played with both settings, 1080i and 720P on the BR and I have to say the 720P is slightly better but that is because of the better deinterlacer on the BR vs. my TV.

Now, my opinion, for what it's worth, is that BR IS better than upconverted SD DVD and the Sammy has the Reon, although the Reon is VERY good.

I do think that while BR is very good on my TV it still doesn't match what I've seen on a 1080P native panel.
flyers is offline  
post #63 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
flyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry my bad, yes, this thread is about the BD-35/55.
flyers is offline  
post #64 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
smithb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeb53 View Post

I'm not giving up, and I know its only been one movie. I was told get Planet Earth for a good example of High-Def. I guess I was expecting something more as compared to an upconverted DVD. Like you say it depends on how the movie is made and copied to Blu-Ray.

"sremick" presented your answer. The reality is that based on your screen size and your viewing distance you should only begin to see a difference, which is exactly what you experienced. Sitting closer or having a bigger screen will continue to magnify the difference even more.
smithb is offline  
post #65 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert George View Post

Not directly, unfortunately. I did own the BD30 for a while, but have not used that player for a few months now. Visual memory is not very reliable, as you well know. I will say this. When I had the BD30, I recall I felt is was pretty much the same image as the PS3. I later found the Samsung 1500 to be slightly sharper and preferred the image of the LG BH200 overall, though only by a very slight margin. I also recall I found the image quality of the Sony S500 to be very slightly better than the BD30. With that as a reference, while I can't say how the BD35 compares directly to the BD30, I can say I prefer the video performance of the BD35 to all the players I liked a little better than the BD30.

How's that for being obtuse?

Will there be noticeable improvement on a 50" screen over the BH200? Did you have the BD35 set to 4:4:4 output?
rveras is offline  
post #66 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 10:42 AM
Member
 
trek5200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me whether the 35 or 55 has Frame Advance?
trek5200 is offline  
post #67 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by trek5200 View Post

Can anyone tell me whether the 35 or 55 has Frame Advance?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...7&postcount=17

to each his own...
slogun is offline  
post #68 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert George View Post

Not directly, unfortunately. I did own the BD30 for a while, but have not used that player for a few months now. Visual memory is not very reliable, as you well know. I will say this. When I had the BD30, I recall I felt is was pretty much the same image as the PS3. I later found the Samsung 1500 to be slightly sharper and preferred the image of the LG BH200 overall, though only by a very slight margin. I also recall I found the image quality of the Sony S500 to be very slightly better than the BD30. With that as a reference, while I can't say how the BD35 compares directly to the BD30, I can say I prefer the video performance of the BD35 to all the players I liked a little better than the BD30.

How's that for being obtuse?

Well, I would agree with you, but I think that FW 2.5 improves PQ. You shoud take this into account before your opinion.
Brian-HD is offline  
post #69 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 11:12 AM
Member
 
hobbyinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by trek5200 View Post

Can anyone tell me whether the 35 or 55 has Frame Advance?

Yes, but mine does not work well. There is Frame-by-Frame (pg 20). However, after I pause, it only lets me advance 3 or 4 frames. There is also slow motion. After you pause, you can pick three or four different speeds. If you pick the first speed, you have time to hit pause before the next frame. Doing this you can get frame by frame. Do others have problems with the Frame-by-Frame feature?
hobbyinn is offline  
post #70 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ILJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know it might be early in the life cycle of the 55, but has anyone hooked it up to an older, non HDMI receiver yet? Any issues with analog out, either 5.1 or 7.1?

I'm asking because my brother's got a beautiful Kuro but an older receiver. The 55 seems like the best option to get him going on Blu Ray.

*************************************************

Still looking for a movie theatre that shows movies the way they're SUPPOSED to be viewed...



...with a bitrate meter and screencaps.
ILJG is offline  
post #71 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 11:45 AM
Member
 
pecosbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Princeton
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ILJB I will receive the 55 tonight and it will be hooked up via 7.1 analog to my Arcam AVR 300, Will report tomorrow on it
pecosbill is offline  
post #72 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 11:49 AM
Member
 
CO-RCFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Moving this question over from the other thread....sorry for duplicating...

Just wondering if anyone has tried the 35 or 55 at 1080p/60 rather than 24 and if it is acceptable/good/bad/great as some players don't do well with 60 vs 24..... I have an XBR3 that will only do 1080P/60..... Thanks!

G
CO-RCFlyer is offline  
post #73 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
tcfish19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^

I will be doing just this connecting to analog. I have a Pioneer PDP5070 and a Yamaha rx-2095 receiver and Dynaudio speakers. My 55 is set to arrive on the 16th and will post my thoughts once hooked up. I am using an Oppo 981 for DVD playback currently. I'm looking forward to the improvement over PPV HD from Comcast. Artifact free HD for the first time, I can't wait.

Upgrayedd. Which he spells thusly, with two D's, as he says, "for a double dose of this pimping".
tcfish19 is offline  
post #74 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 12:02 PM
Member
 
BrentSP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILJG View Post

I know it might be early in the life cycle of the 55, but has anyone hooked it up to an older, non HDMI receiver yet? Any issues with analog out, either 5.1 or 7.1?

I'm asking because my brother's got a beautiful Kuro but an older receiver. The 55 seems like the best option to get him going on Blu Ray.

I have a non/hdmi Marantz 8500 and the 55 works great with it using the 7.1 outs. Only thing I don't like is not being able to use the Marantz's THX/DPL IIx 7.1 processing for 5.1 material. I wish I could just set the speakers to large on the Panny and send it to the Marntz to take care of the bass managment and THX etc processing. Thats not the players fault though.
BrentSP is offline  
post #75 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 12:16 PM
Member
 
motobonsai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have followed this thread and I am getting this as soon as I can get it in the store. I have an older receiver and I've seen people say that they are going to hook it up analog. I only know about optical.
What exactly does it mean to hook it up analog and why would you do it? Is analog the old red and yellow cables?
motobonsai is offline  
post #76 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
DeathKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got home and the 35 was sitting there waiting for me. Now to hook this bad boy up!
DeathKnight is offline  
post #77 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Saluki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKnight View Post

Got home and the 35 was sitting there waiting for me. Now to hook this bad boy up!

So quit typin' & get busy!

Saluki is offline  
post #78 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
iolmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not that it is an issue at this point, but is there anyway to see what firmware version is currently installed. I could find nothing in the menu.
iolmaster is offline  
post #79 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
 
Robert George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Trapped in time. Surrounded by evil. Low on gas.
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rveras View Post

Will there be noticeable improvement on a 50" screen over the BH200?

At normal viewing distance? Almost certainly not. The differences between current players, including the BH200, is subtle even at 106". Put it this way, if the BH200 was BD Live, faster loading, and a little smoother in operation, I wouldn't have the BD35.

Quote:


Did you have the BD35 set to 4:4:4 output?

I don't see a menu selection for this. I am speculating the processor in the BD35 is upsampling chroma all the time but only those displays that can take advantage of this are doing it.
Robert George is offline  
post #80 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
 
Robert George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Trapped in time. Surrounded by evil. Low on gas.
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Well, I would agree with you, but I think that FW 2.5 improves PQ. You shoud take this into account before your opinion.

Perhaps, but I did clearly state that I had not used the BD30 in a few months and I was not willing to make a direct comparison based on visual memory. I assume my comments can be taken at face value.
Robert George is offline  
post #81 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian-HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert George View Post

Perhaps, but I did clearly state that I had not used the BD30 in a few months and I was not willing to make a direct comparison based on visual memory. I assume my comments can be taken at face value.

I just want a clear understanding of what you are saying.

Thank You
Brian-HD is offline  
post #82 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 01:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian-HD View Post

Well, I would agree with you, but I think that FW 2.5 improves PQ. You shoud take this into account before your opinion.

I never saw any difference in PQ when I had the BD30 and 2.5 installed.

DavidHir is online now  
post #83 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert George View Post

At normal viewing distance? Almost certainly not. The differences between current players, including the BH200, is subtle even at 106". Put it this way, if the BH200 was BD Live, faster loading, and a little smoother in operation, I wouldn't have the BD35.



I don't see a menu selection for this. I am speculating the processor in the BD35 is upsampling chroma all the time but only those displays that can take advantage of this are doing it.

Like TVs that can accept DeepColor? My TV, a Panasonic 50PZ800, has the ability to accept this signal so you can see the benefits of the BD35's chroma upsampling. I just want to know if it is a visible improvement.

By the way why didn't you include the java loading screen timing on your measurements? I remember my Samsung 1400 will take approximately the same time as my BH200 to get to the Java loading screen but once it got there it was not contests. For example, at the Ratatouille "hula hoops" load screen the 1400 expend over a minute there. The load screens only last 15 secs on the BH200!!
rveras is offline  
post #84 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gmarceau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 58
How does the picture quality of this player compare to the denon 3800? Anyone seen both?

I might get this modified to play all region stuff and forget an Oppo. Sorry Oppo...

"If you weren't such an ignorant troll, you'd be adorable" -rogo
gmarceau is offline  
post #85 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 02:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I was reading this page,FedEx rang the doorbell. My 55 came one day early from CC. Wooppee ! ! Now to read the manual and hook her up. The new Indy movie should be here tomorrow for the first audition. Will let you know then. Bye unDTS-MA Pio 51. I have an old Denon AVR 3802 w/analog in. Mits HC 1000 on 92" Firehawk. Yum yum....
wanab is offline  
post #86 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can you comment on deinterlacing performance for 1080i contents or does it have an option to automatically switch output between 1080p24 for film based 1080p content and 1080i60 for video based 1080i content like the PS3.

Addicted to shiny round discs with HD content


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

BDP-83 EAP (second group)
xradman is offline  
post #87 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
DeathKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watched a bit of Cloverfield. Picture quality is A+. Bitstreamed the Dolby TrueHD track to my 605 (brutal in the bass department). For giggles I decided to enable 24p output to see what would happen. I use my LCD (Philips 42" 1080p, 42PFL3603D/27) as my PC monitor and under the supported resolutions it lists 1080i/24. Apparently it also supports 1080p/24 because the player says that it's outputting 24p and the LCD is playing it back just fine at 1080p. Of course the TV is kind of barebones in info department so I can't really tell whether or not it's running at 24fps. It does run at 24fps at 1080i though (tried it with my PC... kind of funny). If it's true then it could be a case of TV sharing the same guts as higher-end models and they simply didn't disable some features. 24p isn't advertised as a feature nor is it in the TV's specs.

Anyway, enough of the aside. The 35 is wonderful so far

[edit]

Guess I was mistaken on one thing. Checked the LCD's manual and it does say that it supports 24-60Hz at 1080p.
DeathKnight is offline  
post #88 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by motobonsai View Post

I have followed this thread and I am getting this as soon as I can get it in the store. I have an older receiver and I've seen people say that they are going to hook it up analog. I only know about optical.
What exactly does it mean to hook it up analog and why would you do it? Is analog the old red and yellow cables?

No, you're thinking of composite cables. Analog connection here means using Component cables, they look similar to composite and fit the same way. For Component cables here you need a set of five cables, three for video, two for audio. Component cables will carry the high definition bandwidth.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

to each his own...
slogun is offline  
post #89 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TommyV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 2,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert, Thank you for your great review. I too owned the LG BH200 and while there was a lot to love about the player, there were too many huge drawbacks. The biggest being that my unit was plagued by the infamous audio dropout issue. After reading of the numerous users reporting the exact same issue and running through 5 and 6 units before they found a problem free one, I decided to throw in the towel on that deal.

I would love a closer comparison of the SD DVD PQ on the BD55 vs LG BH200 because IMO, after updating the fw, the BH200 has probably one of the best SD DVD pictures of any unit I have seen. That is compared to my XA2 and HTPC with NVidia 8600GT which the BH200 was neck and neck with. If the BD55 can hold its own compared to the BH200, that is a really good sign.

Also, can someone please refer to the manual for the BD55 and clear up if in the speaker setup for the analog outs, it includes: Small/Large setting, speakers level adjustment and distance adjustments. The BD10 and BD50 at least included these so I would think the BD55 is the same. Would be nice if they added an adjustable crossover so it can be set at 80 Hz instead of locked at 100.
TommyV is offline  
post #90 of 14982 Old 10-15-2008, 04:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Can anybody who now owns a BD35 or BD55 comment on whether they could hear a sound quality difference with the internally decoded advance sound codecs DTS-MA and Dolby True HD? Can you tell they are uncompressed and better sounding than traditional DTS and Dolby Digital?
Bigmoviefan is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd35k 1080p Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd55k Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bh200 Super Blu Blu Ray Hd Dvd Combo Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off