Official Panasonic DMP-BD35/55 Owners Thread - Page 346 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10351 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
auskck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Diamondhead, MS
Posts: 1,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone post a link to the latest firmware update.
auskck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10352 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by riverwolf View Post

If you look back over recent posts, folks have still been finding them on the shelf at Best Buy and Costco, but you have to actually leave the house to find them. Obviously, actual inventory will be store dependent. There are probably other B&Ms that have stock as well...Sears and Circuit City also carried the 35, possibly the 55.

Production of the 35/55 appears to have stopped some time in December so it's just inventory in the supply chain until the replacement models start shipping in April, per the CES announcement.

-Brent

Thanks....went to my BB and none in, no Costco and no CC here anymore.
Guess I should look at other players then unfortunately....perhaps Ican sell what I buy now and then buy a new Panny when they release.
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #10353 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
goonstopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NJ near NYC
Posts: 4,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Wal-mart still sells the 30... Not sure what it is missing from the 35
goonstopher is offline  
post #10354 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you!
I will check on the differences and then go check this evening to see if my local has any in stock.

Edit: Hmmm....not showing on their page that they even carry it?
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #10355 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by auskck View Post

Could someone post a link to the latest firmware update.

Here:

BD55 Firmware Download


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Lee Bailey is offline  
post #10356 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
goonstopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NJ near NYC
Posts: 4,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-A-G-L-E-S View Post

Thank you!
I will check on the differences and then go check this evening to see if my local has any in stock.

Edit: Hmmm....not showing on their page that they even carry it?

My local walmart has had it for months. Price is 248... They have it everytime I go there (NJ)
goonstopher is offline  
post #10357 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
E-A-G-L-E-S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I will just go in then....thanks goonstopher and sorry everyone for the OT.
E-A-G-L-E-S is offline  
post #10358 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
sk20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone seen a "shimmer" in the picture on their display in some scenes on some disks (Blu-ray or DVD)? By "shimmer", I mean that an area of the image that should be stationary (it's something fixed, like a wall or door or floor) has a faint instability. For example, in the Blu-ray of "Eagle Eye", in the room where the president is going to deliver his State of the Union address, there's a tall brown door in the background, and it definitely shimmers. I can't tell if this is due to the source, the Panasonic BD55 player, the VP50 Pro, the drovision HDX cable, or the Kuro 141FD display, and I can't component swap because I only have one of each kind of component. I assume this artifacting is due to image compression/decompression, but I'd like to hear from others.
sk20 is offline  
post #10359 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 10:01 AM
Member
 
letsee13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my BD35 (Costco) a couple weeks ago. I've suddenly been having trouble with it, and I'm wondering if it is the player, the disc or my receiver. The BD35 is connected via HDMI to my Onkyo 605 receiver and then via HDMI to my Panasonic TV. (I also have a regular DVD/VCR player - Panasonic DMR-EZ485v - that is connected to the Onkyo via component and digital optical audio).

All the problems arise with back-ups I made of my own standard discs. These back-ups play fine and sound fine in my regular DVD player - Panasonic DMR-EZ485v - with none of the problems I describe below.

1. One of the discs won't read at all in my BD35 (and reads fine in my regular DVD player).

2. On two other discs (of different films), when it brings up the disc menus the volume becomes VERY loud and cannot be lowered using any of my regular controls (that I've found) - even muting the receiver has no effect - and when the film is started the sound goes back to normal (and controllable).

Any ideas? Did I change (or do I need to change) something in the set up by mistake maybe? I have the audio on the BD35 set to Bitstream and downconversion off and secondary audio off, if that makes any difference. The back-ups were made using DVD+R Verbatim discs (high quality) and with DVDShrink/AnyDVD backup software.

Thanks!
letsee13 is offline  
post #10360 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 10:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk20 View Post

Has anyone seen a "shimmer" in the picture on their display in some scenes on some disks (Blu-ray or DVD)? By "shimmer", I mean that an area of the image that should be stationary (it's something fixed, like a wall or door or floor) has a faint instability. For example, in the Blu-ray of "Eagle Eye", in the room where the president is going to deliver his State of the Union address, there's a tall brown door in the background, and it definitely shimmers. I can't tell if this is due to the source, the Panasonic BD55 player, the VP50 Pro, the drovision HDX cable, or the Kuro 141FD display, and I can't component swap because I only have one of each kind of component. I assume this artifacting is due to image compression/decompression, but I'd like to hear from others.

Not sure, but I typically blame this on the compressionist doing the work for the BD title release.

hard to say, back in the format war days, I probably improperly blamed this on BD in general -vs- HD-DVD.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #10361 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
krisjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by goonstopher View Post

Wal-mart still sells the 30... Not sure what it is missing from the 35


The BD30 was discontinued a long time ago. Perhaps some WalMarts still have some old stock. It is an excellent player HOWEVER it does not decode the hi-rez audio and it is NOT profile 2.0 (only 1.1 if that matters to you). The best you can do is bitstream it to an AVR that decodes. If you have such an AVR, then the BD30 would be a good choice (it works great for me). If you do buy it make sure to update with latest FW (version 2.7) so you take advantage of the improvements made since its release in Nov. 2007.
krisjan is offline  
post #10362 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
goonstopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NJ near NYC
Posts: 4,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yeah i wasn't suggesting it, i know nothing about it, just saying I see it locally if the posted above wanted to look into it.
goonstopher is offline  
post #10363 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
aseer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for responding. I tried fw 1.6 and 1.7 and track 8 on disc one was completely corrupted, I did not go back to 1.5. DTS-HD MA bitstreaming was the same mode I was using.

(track 8 was corrupted on both discs from Amazon, this for Jewel: The Essentials; It is the only disc where something like this has happened)

I'll try swapping the disc one more time but if you try that disc on your BD35 with 1.6 or 1.7, please let me know. (I am not sure I know how to successfully back down to 1.5 to see if it works).




Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

I played both disks all way through with no problems on my BD35. Firmware was version 1.5, and DTS-HD MA audio was output as bitstream.

aseer is offline  
post #10364 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
GBlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkammer View Post

I've also got broadband at my house but the computer and wireless router are in another room and there is no ethernet connector in the living room where the TV is. So, burning a Cd is the way for more of us than you might think. I haven't seen fit yet to buy wifi for my BD35 as the online content isn't that great yet. Maybe some day.

I have the same situation and just run a long (and I do mean long - 120') LAN cable from my router on the second floor to the basement home theater setup. I've successfully updated both my Panny BD55 and my Toshiba A30 this way.
GBlake is offline  
post #10365 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave_6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 1,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is the only big difference between the 35 and 55 being that the 55 has 7.1 analog outs? Ive been looking for a 55 but have found that they are very hard to find, so I thought about just waiting for the BD-80. If thats really the only difference though, I may just get a 35 since all my local BB's have them in stock.

Thoughts?

PSN: DaveS78
Dave_6 is offline  
post #10366 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I have both a 55 and a Pioneer BDP51FD and have spent considerable time comparing the two in respects of Blu Ray PQ/AQ and SD Upconversion PQ. Any one have both as well? Really curious what your thoughts are on the two in respects of performance? Happy to share my thouights, but do not want to unduly influence anyone.
winston9332 is offline  
post #10367 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
winston9332,
Please share your thoughts about these two players.

jsil is offline  
post #10368 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
winston, I think it's too late to influence anyone, at least with respect to the 55, given the price they're asking on Amazon.

I was getting close to returning my 55 to exchange for a Sony BPDS550, but after further reading, I'm not sure the Sony offers many (or any) advantages. It was cheaper at one of the local stores, but that sale has ended. I, for one, would like to hear more comparison information.

My own limited experience with upconversion indicates that this player provides highly variable results. Some movies (LOTR, Matrix) look great - certainly not BD quality, but passable. Others (Indiana Jones, Finding Nemo) look pretty poor, with a pretty grainy picture. Of course, I did change my TV at the same time as my DVD player, but this TV (LED DELP) has been superior to my previous TV (2001 lamp based DLP) in all other aspects, so I don't think that's it.
gakon is offline  
post #10369 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spiky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 1,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I doubt that store through Amazon actually has any stock.
Spiky is offline  
post #10370 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I have been studying the performance of three players: Samsung 2550, Panasonic 55 and Pioneer 51. In their day (just a brief two months ago), the Samsung and Panasonic were similarly priced and natural competition. The Samsung has the reon chip, which I had enjoyed in my Onkyo AVR, Onkyo HD DVD player and Samsung 5000. When the prices on the Pioneer dropped sub $300, I jumped on one out of the big following.

Here are my results based upon two Sony LCDs I have in my primary viewing area 52W4100 (120hz, 8 bit) and my secondary 46Z4100 (120hz, 10 bit) based upon outputting 1080p 24fps and bitstreaming codecs to my Onkyo 906s.

Blu Ray Performance:
Picture Quality: I would give the edge to the Pioneer, but ever so barely. The image seems a bit smoother and pops out on the screen. The adjustments are on a scale basis as opposed to the 55, which offers pre-set settings and manual adjustments. I noticed a slight green push of coloring in my 55 on my z series. This might be an illusion, but it did appear in movies that had a natually washed out looking image.
Load Times: Panasonic hands down. It loads BD java discs in nearly half the time as the Pioneer (45 seconds versus 1m30s to 2m on the pioneer)
Audio QualityI am bitstreaming, which puts the two on a level playing field (the Pioneer cannot currently decode DTS HD Master Audio). The edge goes to the Pioneer. Sounds are sharper, but this is only apparent on certain discs and is a slight advantage

SD DVD Performance:
This is where I think the difference between the two starts to show. The Panasonic is good, images are displayed well without jaggie lines or barcode contrast issues that appear to blink. That said, the Pioneer offers more detail. I do like the fact that the Panasonic can force 1080p24fps on dvds. The Pioneer cannot. I would grade the Pioneer an A with similar performance to the 2550 with the reon chip and the panasonic a B with performance that is good for most movies, but is not as sharp on my 52" tv. I could live with it on the 46, but the Pioneer is clearly better on the 52.

Featureset
Panasonic is the hands down winner with universal HD audio decoding over analogues, profile 2.0, and firmware updates over internet.

Ergonomics/Convenience
Panasonic is the winner as well. It is more responsive, quicker loading and about a quarter of the size of the Pioneer. I had to rearrange an entire cabinet to accomodate the Pioneer.

In summary, both are top notch machines. I am torn between which one will ultimately become my primary source. If I had to recommend one over the other, I would recommend the Panasonic to the larger public. For folks with expensive displays and a bit more patience for quirks, I would steer them towards the 51 (only at current prices of course).
winston9332 is offline  
post #10371 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 04:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,389
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston9332 View Post

Audio QualityI am bitstreaming, which puts the two on a level playing field (the Pioneer cannot currently decode DTS HD Master Audio). The edge goes to the Pioneer. Sounds are sharper, but this is only apparent on certain discs and is a slight advantage

I really don't see how this is possible. I don't see how one player will bitstream better than another.

DavidHir is online now  
post #10372 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post

I really don't see how this is possible. I don't see how one player will bitstream better than another.

Yes, it's amazing how often people hear differences between players when bitstreaming.
BIslander is online now  
post #10373 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 89
It is, in fact, not possible.

Gary J
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gary J is offline  
post #10374 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

It is, in fact, not possible.

I know, I know, I know - I have read the countless esoteric discussions that bit for bit is the same from each player. Then again, perception is reality. The surrounds are louder on the Pioneer - I cannot explain it, but I had friends over last weekend and did some blind sound tests and folks agreed the Pioneer "sounded" better.
winston9332 is offline  
post #10375 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 89
You said both bitstreaming not even just one. Sorry, that review loses all credibility.

Gary J
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gary J is offline  
post #10376 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
winston9332's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

You said both bitstreaming not even just one. Sorry, that review loses all credibility.

What? Both not even just one? Can you say that again in English?
winston9332 is offline  
post #10377 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
legierk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Elysian Fields, TX
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, for some reason today I bought an BD35 to replace my aging BD30. I'm still chuckling over the price I paid . I will pass down my BD30 (which is perfect in every way and never given me a single problem) to my father. So, did I make a good choice? (BTW, haven't hooked it up yet because...well, I wasn't watching a BD tonight...I'll keep the BD30 until I at least know it will play a few of my favorite movies).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
legierk is offline  
post #10378 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 05:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bob Fosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area (Marin County)
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoonsey View Post

I got some great service from Panasonic here in New Zealand - I also have a Mac and couldn't get the firmware upgrade to open once I had downloaded it (IT is definitely not one of my strengths) so just called Panasonic and the nice man burned a CD and sent it to me in the post. It arrived the following day, I loaded it into my BD-35 and Bob's your uncle.

Thats what I ended up doing---calling Panasonic. They are sending me the CD for the update. Not sure about Bobs' uncle though?
Bob Fosse is offline  
post #10379 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
eddysnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was watching the Godfather over the weekend and I noticed when I paused it, I got a red status bar on the bottom showing me where I was at time wise in the movie and what was left. Tonight when I was watching the searchers, I paused it and the bar never came up. To tell you the truth, I think the godfather was the first time I noticed the bar pop up when I paused it. Anyone know if this is something you can toggle on or off, I don't know why it didn't pop up tonight?
eddysnake is offline  
post #10380 of 14982 Old 02-18-2009, 07:10 PM
Member
 
iramack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's a software thing. Nothing to do with your player...........

Steve
iramack is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd35k 1080p Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd55k Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bh200 Super Blu Blu Ray Hd Dvd Combo Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off