Official Panasonic DMP-BD35/55 Owners Thread - Page 402 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12031 of 15032 Old 05-06-2009, 06:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 422 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post

You need a wireless bridge

Yes that's what he said. The Linksys WGA600N works well for me. Plug it in and you're pretty much done.
Gary J is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12032 of 15032 Old 05-06-2009, 07:44 AM
Member
 
tnili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would suggest getting a used linksys wet54gs5. It gives you five ethernet ports so you can use it on other devices that are nearby. They usually go for around $70.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Linksys-Wireless...04126002r29521
tnili is offline  
post #12033 of 15032 Old 05-06-2009, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
SUOrangeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I recently bought two "recertified" Netgear WNDR3300s from NewEgg for ~$65 *total* to set up a 5GHz 802.11n bridge (thanks to DD-WRT). My Panasonic 55 seems to be quite happy with the connection.

-SUO

AVS files (Charts): GoogleDocs
SUOrangeman is offline  
 
post #12034 of 15032 Old 05-06-2009, 08:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,483
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 241
An....

I would encourage you to consider a second wireless router, not a wireless bridge like the devices often seen being advertised to connect game consoles, etc.

With a wireless router you can expand as in connect more than just the blu-ray player to it in your entertainment system. My setup has my Denon 3808, Wii, Xbox, BD55, an extra network cable just in case I need to plug something into it in the front room and it acts as a wireless repeater for all laptops that we may use in the front room home theater area. Way more flexibility and for me value by using a second wireless router.

I actually have 3 in my home. One in the back of the house to which a Sony 350 is attached, kids use it for access for their laptops in their rooms, another Wii attached to it. One in front room as already noted. The third one is the "Master" router and it is in my home office.

I use 1 Linksys WRT54GL and 2 Buffalo WHR54G's. But all Linksys wrt54GL's would work just fine.

By the way the WET Linksys mentioned above is more like a second router than the wireless bridge adapters I am referring to.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #12035 of 15032 Old 05-06-2009, 09:23 AM
Member
 
armada10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Buy a Linksys wrt54g2 for $50 and flash it with dd-wrt firmware http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT54G2, config to wireless bridge mode http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Bridge and you have yourself a 4 port wireless bridge. Be patient and follow instructions precisely during install.
armada10 is offline  
post #12036 of 15032 Old 05-06-2009, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,176
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 126
How much are used BD35 selling for?
bori is offline  
post #12037 of 15032 Old 05-06-2009, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
inphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

How much are used BD35 selling for?

$200+shipping.
inphoenix is offline  
post #12038 of 15032 Old 05-06-2009, 01:12 PM
Member
 
Anodyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Angier, NC
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my BD35 for $200 new but as a display from Best Buy. That was a couple of months ago.
Anodyne is offline  
post #12039 of 15032 Old 05-06-2009, 02:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
s2silber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone's interested in a slightly used 'BD55 PM me.
s2silber is offline  
post #12040 of 15032 Old 05-06-2009, 02:51 PM
Member
 
sacplasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the Costco coupon book for May they have a $50.00 off coupon for the Panasonic Blu-ray player. Yesterday they had about 50 of them on display on the floor.
sacplasma is offline  
post #12041 of 15032 Old 05-06-2009, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
s2silber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacplasma View Post

In the Costco coupon book for May they have a $50.00 off coupon for the Panasonic Blu-ray player. Yesterday they had about 50 of them on display on the floor.

Is that $50.00 off Costco's price, or list price?
s2silber is offline  
post #12042 of 15032 Old 05-06-2009, 05:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
s2silber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

If anyone is interested in a almost new BD35 PM me.

Interesting. Yours is "almost new" and mine is "slightly used." I guess the glass half-full principle applies to selling AV equipment, too.
s2silber is offline  
post #12043 of 15032 Old 05-06-2009, 09:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2silber View Post

Is that $50.00 off Costco's price, or list price?

Costco's price.
fmalczewski is online now  
post #12044 of 15032 Old 05-07-2009, 12:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,400
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian A View Post

Without going into the gory details too much, there are utilities over at RemoteCentral.com that allow one to analyze and generate hex codes. I had the same problem as you described (a Panasonic DVD-S97 and a Panasonic DMP-BD55 in the same system), so I changed the code set on the BD55 to "2" and generated new discrete on/off hex codes for my Pronto. Again, these are for code set #2:

Discrete Power On:
0000 0070 0000 0032 0080 0040 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0ace

Discrete Power Off:
0000 0070 0000 0032 0080 0040 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0030 0010 0010 0010 0010 0010 0030 0010 0ace

These codes are easily added to a Pronto configuration, but since the Logitech software is so restrictive and does not allow direct hex code entry I'm not sure how you will be able to add these. Maybe if you email the codes to Logitech support they will add them to their database.

Brian

Works great! Thanks again.

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 8.0.0_21
jcalabria is offline  
post #12045 of 15032 Old 05-07-2009, 06:01 AM
Member
 
highcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone been able to get the BR version of "Yes Man" to play all the way through? I get hung up at 11:30 repeatidly - after cleaning with no scratches etc... and can't jump chapters or anything past that point...
highcap is offline  
post #12046 of 15032 Old 05-07-2009, 06:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,171
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by highcap View Post

Has anyone been able to get the BR version of "Yes Man" to play all the way through? I get hung up at 11:30 repeatidly - after cleaning with no scratches etc... and can't jump chapters or anything past that point...

Did you try replacing it with a different copy?
fmalczewski is online now  
post #12047 of 15032 Old 05-07-2009, 06:56 AM
Member
 
highcap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmalczewski View Post

Did you try replacing it with a different copy?

I'm trying now, but thought I would ask since it's a relatively new release.
highcap is offline  
post #12048 of 15032 Old 05-07-2009, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,483
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 738 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Played rental version of Yes Man from Blockbuster just fine on my 55.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #12049 of 15032 Old 05-07-2009, 07:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
llep64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 22
how about "Bed time stories", I can't play it on my bd35k, it wont pass the extras.
llep64 is offline  
post #12050 of 15032 Old 05-07-2009, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Arnies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the difference between the Panny 55 and the new 80? Is it worth upgrading. I have the 55 and I am trying to see the advantage of upgrading. Is the picture better? Thanks
Arnies is offline  
post #12051 of 15032 Old 05-07-2009, 10:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bushman4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anodyne View Post

I have the 35 and I'm looking for a cheap and easy solution to get it on my wireless network. The router is in a completely different room so using Cat-6 is a bit impractical. Any suggestions for a cheap wireless adapter that will work or can be made to work?

Forgive me if I missed a previous thread or post on this... I searched but didn't see anything.

MONSTER has wireless ethernet hubs that only have to be pluged into an electrical outlet and the signal is carried through there. I've seen them around being discounted. They work and the signal is pretty strong
Bushman4 is offline  
post #12052 of 15032 Old 05-08-2009, 03:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by llep64 View Post

how about "Bed time stories", I can't play it on my bd35k, it wont pass the extras.

wow...if only this had come up before?!

remove your sd card and it should play fine
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #12053 of 15032 Old 05-08-2009, 03:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnies View Post

What is the difference between the Panny 55 and the new 80? Is it worth upgrading. I have the 55 and I am trying to see the advantage of upgrading. Is the picture better? Thanks

features the 80 has that the 55 doesn't:
amazon movie download
usb slot
and there is a note on the 80 that says "Film makers version with PHL Chip for accurate color"...it's not mentioned on the 55...so maybe it's better.

I don't know that I would upgrade just for these features...but if you needed a player for a second room, I would get the 80 and rotate the 55 to the lesser used room
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #12054 of 15032 Old 05-08-2009, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sergiohm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by highcap View Post

Has anyone been able to get the BR version of "Yes Man" to play all the way through? I get hung up at 11:30 repeatidly - after cleaning with no scratches etc... and can't jump chapters or anything past that point...

Worked fine on my 55, no glitches at all and a rental copy!
sergiohm is offline  
post #12055 of 15032 Old 05-08-2009, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
inphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
s2silber and bori,

Any offers for your BR players? I also have a 'almost new' 35K for sale.
inphoenix is offline  
post #12056 of 15032 Old 05-08-2009, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6,357
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2662 Post(s)
Liked: 1229
Just watched a couple of episodes of the Star Trek on Blu-ray. Does anyone one know what the "angle" button is on the BD35? I didn't see one called "angle"? Also, can you easily switch between the SD and HD versions? I thought you could but read that it will start you at the beginning of the episode every time you switch. I know it did when I tried it using the popup menu.

lujan
229 Ultra HD
782 HD
18 HD DVD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #12057 of 15032 Old 05-08-2009, 09:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
s2silber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by inphoenix View Post

s2silber and bori,

Any offers for your BR players? I also have a 'almost new' 35K for sale.

Nope.
s2silber is offline  
post #12058 of 15032 Old 05-08-2009, 09:57 AM
Member
 
Ned Racine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Lost my freakin remote!!!!....does anyone know the 3 digit remote code for the 55/35?
Ned Racine is offline  
post #12059 of 15032 Old 05-08-2009, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Wannabe Actuary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ned Racine View Post

Lost my freakin remote!!!!....does anyone know the 3 digit remote code for the 55/35?

better yet, just take the opportunity to buy a harmony remote
Wannabe Actuary is offline  
post #12060 of 15032 Old 05-08-2009, 08:15 PM
Member
 
Skidpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Triad/NC
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Code 632 is what I used on my cable remote to operate my 55...
Skidpad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Lg Bh200 Super Blu Blu Ray Hd Dvd Combo Player , Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd35k 1080p Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd55k Blu Ray Disc Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off