Official Panasonic DMP-BD35/55 Owners Thread - Page 493 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14761 of 14981 Old 04-08-2012, 03:45 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradymartin View Post

so with my new hd audio receiver and pannasonic 35 i just watched sunshine on blu ray. not sure why people say they cant tell a difference but hd dts did sound better and cleaner than the regular dts.

my question is if i want to watch a regular dvd with the 35, do i turn secondary audio back on to get regular dolby d and dts?

i had to turn secondary audio off to get hd audio

No. Just leave it off. It will automatically bitstream DD/DTS from DVDs.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14762 of 14981 Old 04-08-2012, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 123
No. As long as the digital output is set to bitstream, you'll get DTS and DD 5.1 on DVDs. The secondary audio setting has no effect on DVDs.

How did you do the dts-MA and DTS comparison?
BIslander is online now  
post #14763 of 14981 Old 04-28-2012, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have my 55 hooked up via HDMI to my Yamaha A2000 AVR. All other devices show how the sound is passing through the AVR on it's front panel except the 55. It always shows as PCM. How should I have the settings on the 55?
Dominic26 is offline  
post #14764 of 14981 Old 04-28-2012, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Set the digital output for Dolby and DTS to bitstream instead of PCM. Set secondary audio to off if you want to send the lossless codecs to your receiver for decoding.
BIslander is online now  
post #14765 of 14981 Old 04-30-2012, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

Set the digital output for Dolby and DTS to bitstream instead of PCM. Set secondary audio to off if you want to send the lossless codecs to your receiver for decoding.

Thanks. I knew it was there somewhere. I went from a 2.0 to a 5.1 system last Friday. I was trying to unleash the glorious sound all weekend.

Who was the "genius" that decided to put the Digital Output choice in a different color box? I thought it was the header for the two options below it. That's what I get for being lazy and going to the owner's manual in the first place.
Dominic26 is offline  
post #14766 of 14981 Old 05-09-2012, 06:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Georgeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I no longer have the BD35 in my HT ( a BD85 is ther ) but I do use it occasionally with my Sony LCD in the living room. Well last night I tried to play A NIGHT TO REMEMBER, the Criterion edition on DVD, and the 35 couldn't read the disc. No, it isn't the laser because I played another dvd on it instead of Night To Remember and it played just fine. I tried the DVD in question on my BD85 in the HT and it played fine there. I ran into a DVD that wouldn't play on my old BD30 once, but this is the first propblem I've had with the 35, which has played just about anything I've thrown at it. Oh, well.
Georgeb is offline  
post #14767 of 14981 Old 05-09-2012, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgeb View Post

I no longer have the BD35 in my HT ( a BD85 is ther ) but I do use it occasionally with my Sony LCD in the living room. Well last night I tried to play A NIGHT TO REMEMBER, the Criterion edition on DVD, and the 35 couldn't read the disc. No, it isn't the laser because I played another dvd on it instead of Night To Remember and it played just fine. I tried the DVD in question on my BD85 in the HT and it played fine there. I ran into a DVD that wouldn't play on my old BD30 once, but this is the first propblem I've had with the 35, which has played just about anything I've thrown at it. Oh, well.

Does it say first printing or second printing on the back of the case?
fmalczewski is offline  
post #14768 of 14981 Old 05-10-2012, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Georgeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmalczewski View Post

Does it say first printing or second printing on the back of the case?

It says First Printing, 1998.
Why do you ask ? Was there a second printing because of problems with the first one ?
Georgeb is offline  
post #14769 of 14981 Old 05-10-2012, 08:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgeb View Post

It says First Printing, 1998.
Why do you ask ? Was there a second printing because of problems with the first one ?

In this case there apparently was. Check out the A Night To Remember thread over at the Criterion Forum, right off the bat they talk of disc play issues. You should be able to get a free replacement from Criterion (by emailing Jon Mulvaney (mulvaney@criterion.com)), though I've read some pretty great things about the blu-ray, so that would be another option.

I never had the first printing, but read about its having had issues a couple years back.
fmalczewski is offline  
post #14770 of 14981 Old 05-11-2012, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Georgeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, thanks. I had a hard time loading it on the BD85 so maybe the next time it won't load. I'll contactCriterion and see if I can get a replacement.
Georgeb is offline  
post #14771 of 14981 Old 05-11-2012, 09:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by niualaals94 View Post

Could some one with either a 35 or 55 press "display" and take a photo of the screen. Would like to see how readable the "time remaining" or other information would be from across the room.

It would depend on the size of your screen, but from 12ft away from a 60" screen it's quite readable.
fmalczewski is offline  
post #14772 of 14981 Old 05-12-2012, 04:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Georgeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmalczewski View Post

In this case there apparently was. Check out the A Night To Remember thread over at the Criterion Forum, right off the bat they talk of disc play issues. You should be able to get a free replacement from Criterion (by emailing Jon Mulvaney (mulvaney@criterion.com)), though I've read some pretty great things about the blu-ray, so that would be another option.

I never had the first printing, but read about its having had issues a couple years back.

Again, thanks. I contacted Jon Mulvaney and he replied immediately. He will replace my problem copy of A Night To Remember. Nice to know that Criterion stands behind their products.
Georgeb is offline  
post #14773 of 14981 Old 05-12-2012, 07:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgeb View Post

Again, thanks. I contacted Jon Mulvaney and he replied immediately. He will replace my problem copy of A Night To Remember. Nice to know that Criterion stands behind their products.

They're pretty good about most things.
fmalczewski is offline  
post #14774 of 14981 Old 05-20-2012, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Georgeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad I have a replacement coming for this disc. It played on my BD85 after a few tries earlier,but yesterday I tried to play it in its entirety and it just wouldn't load.
Georgeb is offline  
post #14775 of 14981 Old 05-26-2012, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sourbeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
My BD-35 still works like a champ after three and a half years. And I never did a single firmware update.

TV - Panasonic 58PZ700U plasma
L/R - Ascend Sierra Towers with RAAL Tweets in piano black
C - Ascend Sierra Horizon with RAAL Tweet in piano black
Surr - Polk Fxi-A6
Sub - SVS PC-13 Ultra
AVR - Denon 4520-CI
Blu-ray - OPPO 103
Comcast Set Top Box
sourbeef is offline  
post #14776 of 14981 Old 05-26-2012, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 123
+1 for my BD55. It's played everything and never had a firmware update.
BIslander is online now  
post #14777 of 14981 Old 05-26-2012, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
JOE.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My BD10A which is used the most has only failed to play one movie and that was Avatar, This player is used three to four times a week. It has been great.

My BD 55 has been used to play about 15 Movies and did play avatar with out a problem.

My BD 85 has played about 40 Movies and has worked fine. all have latest firmware.

Samsung HL-T6176S 1080P DLP
Panasonic DMP BD55
Onkyo HT-SR800 7.1
Samsung PN50A650 1080P Plasma
Panasonic DMP BD 85 K
Samsung LN32C530F1F
Panasonic DMP BD10 A
JOE.G is offline  
post #14778 of 14981 Old 05-27-2012, 06:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
jnnt29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

+1 for my BD55. It's played everything and never had a firmware update.

Same for me as well!
jnnt29 is online now  
post #14779 of 14981 Old 05-28-2012, 01:16 PM
Member
 
Daniel Perales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnnt29 View Post

Same for me as well!



Well, I always did a firmware update with mine with no problem. But, I'm afraid to go any further because the next update might cripple my high definition component output (would max out at 480p instead of 1080i, which I'm using).


Danny
Daniel Perales is offline  
post #14780 of 14981 Old 05-28-2012, 05:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Perales View Post

Well, I always did a firmware update with mine with no problem. But, I'm afraid to go any further because the next update might cripple my high definition component output (would max out at 480p instead of 1080i, which I'm using).


Danny

Although newer players have gimped down component outputs, if they have them at all, I have not heard that manufacturers are putting governors on existing players that were sold as HD component output capable to cripple their component outputs. Have you heard of players that has happened to? But by all means, be careful of the cinavia infection being slipped into your player via a firmware update.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #14781 of 14981 Old 05-28-2012, 06:22 PM
Senior Member
 
JOE.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is cinavia infection? I goggled it but I am still confused.

Samsung HL-T6176S 1080P DLP
Panasonic DMP BD55
Onkyo HT-SR800 7.1
Samsung PN50A650 1080P Plasma
Panasonic DMP BD 85 K
Samsung LN32C530F1F
Panasonic DMP BD10 A
JOE.G is offline  
post #14782 of 14981 Old 05-29-2012, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kalani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich86 View Post

Although newer players have gimped down component outputs, if they have them at all, I have not heard that manufacturers are putting governors on existing players that were sold as HD component output capable to cripple their component outputs. Have you heard of players that has happened to? But by all means, be careful of the cinavia infection being slipped into your player via a firmware update.

As I understand it, the forced 480p over analog is a flag that gets set (or not) in the blu ray itself. Has nothing to do with the blu ray player's firmware. So far, the studios have not insisted on activating that flag. So BRs, as to those on the store shelves (and your own) TODAY, should be fine. Tomorrow and thereafter is anyone's guess... they could throw that switch at any time and new BRs from that point will be 480p only over analog, but again, all existing materials are fine.

I could be mistake, but that's my understanding of the situation, if that helps put your mind at ease, any.
Kalani is offline  
post #14783 of 14981 Old 05-29-2012, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I thought that this flag was gonna limit analogue out's to 576P....?

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #14784 of 14981 Old 05-29-2012, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kalani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachael Bellomy View Post

I thought that this flag was gonna limit analogue out's to 576P....?

PAL vs. NTSC.
Kalani is offline  
post #14785 of 14981 Old 05-29-2012, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm thinking that the dow-rez wasn't gonna be all the way down to 480P. I'd swear I read a number between 500 and 600..... it might have been 540P...?

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #14786 of 14981 Old 05-29-2012, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 103
It's even worse folks. The newest players that even have component out must limit their output to 480i*, not even 480p, and that's for every single commercial bluray movie you put in, regardless of year of release or ICT flag info saying what should happen.

*NTSC, 576i is allowed in some regions.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

m. zillch is offline  
post #14787 of 14981 Old 05-29-2012, 11:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOE.G View Post

What is cinavia infection? I goggled it but I am still confused.

It is new mandatory drm built into all blu-ray players licensed from Feb. 2012 on. It prevents proper playback of copied, networked, downloaded (basically anything other than the original retail version of the title) by shutting down the audio part way into the movie. It requires 2 components - a player that has cinavia in the firmware + a title that has cinavia hidden in the a/v codec that you are playing from something that is not a "trusted source".
If you do not rip titles to burnable media or a server somewhere for playback on your system via your blu-ray player, this should not be much of an issue for you, from what I have read. But if you play a copy of something for whatever reason from wherever, it might impact you.
I've taken to being careful about firmware updates to my players in order to avoid having cinavia shoved into my players because once in there, there is no way to get rid of it (ie. no way to revert to a previous firmware version).

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #14788 of 14981 Old 05-30-2012, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Another reason to have a media player or two like the Popcorn Hour.
Gary J is offline  
post #14789 of 14981 Old 05-30-2012, 03:09 PM
Newbie
 
Gupsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need Help!

I have the above blu ray player (firmware version 1.5)
Vid Camera - Canon VIXIA HF100
External Blu Ray Player:
ATAPI iHBS212 2:
Firmware Revision: 5L09
Interconnect: USB
Burn Support: Yes (Generic Drive Support)
Profile Path: None
Cache: 8192 KB
Reads DVD: Yes
CD-Write: -R, -RW
DVD-Write: -R, -R DL, -RAM, -RW, +R, +R DL, +RW
BD-Write: -R, -RE
Write Strategies: CD-TAO, CD-SAO, CD-Raw, DVD-DAO
Media: Insert media and refresh to show available burn speeds

Downloading video from SD Card to Mac.
Mac OS X 10.5.8
2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

Utilizing iMovie to import videos and clean up
Then importing to Roxio Toast to ultimately burn movies.

Issue:
Movies burn to disc.
However when I play them on my Blu Ray player NO Picture, just sound.
Have been on the Roxio Toast help area . . . they advised some changes.
Did those, same results
Utilized a Mac Forums blog . . . advised some changes, similar to Roxio's same results.
Confirmed video is on discs as they do play through my Mac.
Just don't play on my Blu Ray Player.

Burning to Verbatim BD-R 25 GB 6x speed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated . . . spent many dollars and now time trying to figure this out!
Gupsdad is offline  
post #14790 of 14981 Old 05-30-2012, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 103
^Are you dead sure commercially bought bluray movies don't have the exact same problem?

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass any more than we get to pick the ending of a play. High fidelity is an unbiased, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original source's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

m. zillch is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd35k 1080p Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd55k Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bh200 Super Blu Blu Ray Hd Dvd Combo Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off