Official Panasonic DMP-BD35/55 Owners Thread - Page 501 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15001 of 15018 Old 12-29-2014, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
ausdavep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
You can control it through Viera Link if you turn it on and your tv remote has the applicable buttons (and your brand of tv talks nice via hdmi too)
ausdavep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15002 of 15018 Old 12-29-2014, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhett7660 View Post
Hello all, I did a search but was unable to find what I was looking for. Does anybody know if you can control the DVD player via the network port? I have it connected and I was wondering so that I don't have to connect a repeater to the front of it.

I downloaded the manual and it does not mention anything about controlling the unit via network commands.
The CD, DVD and BD discs can not be controlled via the network connection, so sorry, no.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..
m. zillch is offline  
post #15003 of 15018 Old 12-29-2014, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
rhett7660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ausdavep View Post
You can control it through Viera Link if you turn it on and your tv remote has the applicable buttons (and your brand of tv talks nice via hdmi too)
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
The CD, DVD and BD discs can not be controlled via the network connection, so sorry, no.

That is what I was afraid of. Thank you both.

"Me Personally, I want to slay the dragon"
rhett7660 is offline  
post #15004 of 15018 Old 12-29-2014, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy sullivan View Post
Very informative and really helpful. If you assume I haven't joined this century perhaps you can offer something other than sarcasm. I put pictures on dvd's so that I can send them to family and friends. They all have dvd players. What would you suggest.
Andy, the format you're using with your camera may be the problem. jpeg files are very popular and convenient. However, jpeg files can change when you transfer the file. jpeg is referred to as a "lossy format" since some of the data is discarded when you make changes to the file. Formats such as RAW, PNG or BMP are better choices since format preserves all the original data when you make changes to the photo. Those formats are referred to as "lossless formats." I shoot photos in RAW then convert to jpeg when sending a photo to someone.
The only downside with the lossless formats, they are much larger and consume a lot more memory on the card. Of course, larger files means less pictures per card.

Here's a link to article that will provide information on the subject:

Formats such as RAW, PNG or BMP are better choices for photos since format preserves all the data when changes are made to the file.
eaayoung is offline  
post #15005 of 15018 Old 12-29-2014, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaayoung View Post
Andy, the format you're using with your camera may be the problem. jpeg files are very popular and convenient.
And jpegs are the only still image format the DMP-BD35 can play, so any further discussion of what "might" be better is irrelevant. RAW, PNG, and BMP will not work on his machine. He also had no gripes about the image quality he got from his camera when he played the SD card directly rather than burning it to disc. He wrote: "I put the SD card in my 35 and the pictures looked fantastic. I then down loaded the pictures onto a top quality dvd and the pictures lost a little sharpness. Not horrible but noticeable. Seems like the computer is the obvious culprit. Any other suggestions? "


I'm confident his direct images on the camera card he finds to be "fantastic" are jpeg. Moving, aka transferring, such files from one location to another causes no alteration to the file itself so they would look identical if played from a memory card or from an optical disc or from a hard drive, his issue is he burned them to disc in "stand alone, set-top DVD player compatible mode" (rather than directly as a computer file) so his software down res'd the camera's multi-megapixel image down to VGA quality [480p/ ~ .3 Megapixel] so as to make it NTSC friendly and playable on grandma's DVD player from the 90's.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..

Last edited by m. zillch; 12-29-2014 at 07:23 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #15006 of 15018 Old 01-03-2015, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhett7660 View Post
Hello all, I did a search but was unable to find what I was looking for. Does anybody know if you can control the DVD player via the network port? I have it connected and I was wondering so that I don't have to connect a repeater to the front of it.

I downloaded the manual and it does not mention anything about controlling the unit via network commands.
You will need the repeater. The network port is for firmware upgrades and BD Live only.
Dominic26 is offline  
post #15007 of 15018 Old 02-04-2015, 06:51 PM
Member
 
loknload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Panasonic DMP-BD35 Copyright Violation?

I just moved into a new house and finally got my system set up in the new media room. I used the same HDMI cables and same settings as before on my DMP-BD35, Denon receiver, and my Panasonic plasma TV. I went to play some demo material and I really like the opening scene of the remake of Flight of the Phoenix so I slapped it in and the BD35 acted like it was going to read it and stopped and flashed "Copyright Violation" on the screen. I played several othe blu-ray discs without any other problems. I also have a PS3 so I puth the Flight of the Phoenix disc in the PS3 and the PS3 wouldn't even recognize there was a disc in it. I was also able to play every other blu-ray I have in the PS3. Not done yet, I put the Flight of the Phoenix disc in the cheap Samsung 5700 blu-ray player downstairs hooked directly to a Samsung LED TV and it played just fine. So, I have no clue why the disc won't play in my BD35 or the PS3. Both of them are run to my Denon 3808ci via HDMI and then HDMI out of the Denon to my plasma. Any ideas?

Maybe it's time for a new blu-ray player? I'm not spending $500 on the Oppo but I don't have a problem spending a couple hundred. If it is time for a new one, what has good build quality and great video performance in that price range? I could care less about streamin capabilities because I have that with the PS3.
loknload is online now  
post #15008 of 15018 Old 02-05-2015, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by loknload View Post
I just moved into a new house and finally got my system set up in the new media room. I used the same HDMI cables and same settings as before on my DMP-BD35, Denon receiver, and my Panasonic plasma TV. I went to play some demo material and I really like the opening scene of the remake of Flight of the Phoenix so I slapped it in and the BD35 acted like it was going to read it and stopped and flashed "Copyright Violation" on the screen. I played several othe blu-ray discs without any other problems. I also have a PS3 so I puth the Flight of the Phoenix disc in the PS3 and the PS3 wouldn't even recognize there was a disc in it. I was also able to play every other blu-ray I have in the PS3. Not done yet, I put the Flight of the Phoenix disc in the cheap Samsung 5700 blu-ray player downstairs hooked directly to a Samsung LED TV and it played just fine. So, I have no clue why the disc won't play in my BD35 or the PS3. Both of them are run to my Denon 3808ci via HDMI and then HDMI out of the Denon to my plasma. Any ideas?

Maybe it's time for a new blu-ray player? I'm not spending $500 on the Oppo but I don't have a problem spending a couple hundred. If it is time for a new one, what has good build quality and great video performance in that price range? I could care less about streamin capabilities because I have that with the PS3.
Sounds like it could be a handshake issue between the player and the TV. It's not a copy of a BD right? If it's a copy and a Sony title chances are it's got that watermark on it.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #15009 of 15018 Old 02-05-2015, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Good question. The BD35 was made before Cinavia was introduced, I'm pretty sure, however there may still be something in a copied signal which the machines can still sense.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..
m. zillch is offline  
post #15010 of 15018 Old 02-05-2015, 10:03 AM
Member
 
loknload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post
Sounds like it could be a handshake issue between the player and the TV. It's not a copy of a BD right? If it's a copy and a Sony title chances are it's got that watermark on it.
Not a copy. It is one of the first blu-ray discs I ever bought when blu-ray first hit the market. What gets me is that I don't have this issue with any other BD, I didn't have this issue before I moved a re-set up my system, and the PS3 doesn't recognize it at all. So what do I need to do to cue the handshake issue? I am using monoprice high speed HDMI cables between my player and PS3 and my Denon AVR and the same cable from the monitor out of my AVR to the TV.
loknload is online now  
post #15011 of 15018 Old 02-05-2015, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Comes up a lot when you put "Copyright Violation" in Search this Thread.
Gary J is online now  
post #15012 of 15018 Old 02-05-2015, 10:25 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Sounds more like the disc if it doesn't play in your PS3, either. Try a gentle cleaning.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #15013 of 15018 Old 02-05-2015, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by loknload View Post
Not a copy. It is one of the first blu-ray discs I ever bought when blu-ray first hit the market. What gets me is that I don't have this issue with any other BD, I didn't have this issue before I moved a re-set up my system, and the PS3 doesn't recognize it at all. So what do I need to do to cue the handshake issue? I am using monoprice high speed HDMI cables between my player and PS3 and my Denon AVR and the same cable from the monitor out of my AVR to the TV.
If it's not difficult - try swapping out cables.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #15014 of 15018 Old 02-05-2015, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Good question. The BD35 was made before Cinavia was introduced, I'm pretty sure, however there may still be something in a copied signal which the machines can still sense.
You are correct, the Panasonic DMP-BD 35 & 55 are cinavia free.
I have never run into this problem, but other owners have diagnosed the issue as a problem with the disc. Cleaning the disc or replacing it solved the problem for them.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is online now  
post #15015 of 15018 Old Yesterday, 01:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a used and in very good condition, BD35 that I thought (and the manual confirms) would play DVD as well as BD. I cannot get any DVD to play in this player. I reset the player back to factory settings and did everything I could think of, but everytime I stick a DVD disc in the player it says "No Disc".
Shaun Michael Hinds is offline  
post #15016 of 15018 Old Yesterday, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Brandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thought I'd share in case anyone wasn't aware. I have used a harmony remote since I bought this BDP and having discrete on and off commands is important for keeping things in sync. Originally I used the codes for the bd55 for my bd35 so I could discrete on and off, well at some point Logitech removed those commands so I was left with power toggle. Through experimentation I found if you use the bd30 commands with harmony remotes you can get those discrete commands back.

Not sure if anyone else has reported on this but in the off chance they haven't here ya go.
Brandito is offline  
post #15017 of 15018 Old Yesterday, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Thanks Brandito.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there is no concept of "accounting for taste". We don't "pick" the level of bass, etc., any more than we pick the ending of a play. High fidelity means an unmodified, neutral, exact copy (or "reproduction") of the original artist's tonal balance, timing, dynamics, etc..
m. zillch is offline  
post #15018 of 15018 Old Today, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaun Michael Hinds View Post
I have a used and in very good condition, BD35 that I thought (and the manual confirms) would play DVD as well as BD. I cannot get any DVD to play in this player. I reset the player back to factory settings and did everything I could think of, but everytime I stick a DVD disc in the player it says "No Disc".
It sounds like the DVD laser on the laser assembly has died. I expect your player will not play CDs either? You might try cleaning the laser, in case some dirt has attached to the DVD laser.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Lg Bh200 Super Blu Blu Ray Hd Dvd Combo Player , Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd35k 1080p Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd55k Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off