Official Panasonic DMP-BD35/55 Owners Thread - Page 53 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1561 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
snsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by General Kenobi View Post

That is discouraging to hear... I was really hoping that the new Panny would do a better job if the internal decoding or have a better DAC than before. I've been using a Panny 10A connected via 5.1 analog out to a Denon 3801 but I also have a coax to the 3801. I found some TrueHD tracks to sound pretty weak from the Panny... they lacked a fullness and seemed to slightly mute some of the score and aural sounds. When I would switch to the coax input on my receiver it would sound better.

I suppose it is going to depend how good the DAC is in the receiver?

I tried the optical and the analog and I thought the analog sounded much better. You can't produce Tru HD over optical so not sure he's doing it right. I notice a big difference between the analog and the optical out. I even think to a certain degree that optical just on dolby digital 5.1 sounds a little tinny rather than a more fuller sound using the decoding of the player. I have the Onkyo 790. It may be difference in recievers and such. But analog should sound better than using optical when using anything that's tru hd. The DTS MA on The Incredible Hulk sounds amazing through analog. That's my cense though.

SNSGUY
snsguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1562 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 02:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayridescarbon View Post

Hi Chris,

Thanks, as you might have read further, I ended up changing the IP and DNS setting according to what my computer said and got the connection to pass.

However, despite having a working connection, several attempts throughout the day to try the firmware update process failed saying to try again later. It appears the panasonic support website is up and running, so I don't know why it won't work.

If I changed the IP and DNS settings and its passing the connection test, do I need to change the default proxy server settings? Right now the default has nothing listed for setting and 0 listed for the ports.

Yes, I have to unplug the computer from the modem when I plug in the patch to the 55.

Thanks

Jay

Dumb question, but are you sure there *IS* a firmware upgrade available? I haven't seen any firmware upgrades on my (review sample) BD55 lately. If the firmware is up to date, it won't do an update.

-CB

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
post #1563 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 02:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tspeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
wee! My bd35 just arrived from Amazon. I'm going to connect it via HDMI to my Onkyo, I want the Onkyo to handle the audio decoding.

Do I need to know anything about the settings as far as quirks go? I read the last 5 pages and didn't pick up on anything so forgive me if I missed it.

Is there a firmware update already?

I Bet You Wish You Could! - Roger Wilco

Directions for updating your Onkyo xx5 receivers firmware. **Newly updated 7-22-2009**Re-uploaded 7-14-2013**

Something from damninteresting.com

Tspeer is offline  
post #1564 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eben View Post

From p. 14 of U.S. manual: "With installation where your broadband modem is connected directly to your PC, a router must be installed."

I have Verizon DSL, and I connect the DSL modem directly to my PC. I don't plan to use the broadband connection for anything other than downloading updates (I'd have to move the modem for this purpose). So, could I connect the DSL modem directly to the BD55, or will I have to get a router? (FYI: I have only one PC and one DSL modem. The modem would be in use by only one device at a time, either the PC or the BD55.)
TIA,
Eben

You don't even need to get a router. Just get a cheap Ethernet switch like this one. Plug the modem's Ethernet cable into jack #1, your PC into jack #2, and your BD55 into jack #3, and that's it...you're good to go. Nothing to configure, and you'll never have to touch those cables again.
Schwa is offline  
post #1565 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 03:06 PM
Member
 
sroberts1220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Panny BD30 and am considering upgrading to the BD35. I have no interest in BD Live and I download my firmware updates to cd and would continue to do so. Here are my questions: Is the picture on blu rays and regular dvd's really any noticeably better than the BD30, and is it noticeably faster at loading than the BD30?
sroberts1220 is offline  
post #1566 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 03:06 PM
Member
 
jayridescarbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boylan13 View Post

Dumb question, but are you sure there *IS* a firmware upgrade available? I haven't seen any firmware upgrades on my (review sample) BD55 lately. If the firmware is up to date, it won't do an update.

-CB

I'm pretty sure there are no updates for the 55, but it seems others have tried this and gotten messages that confirm their version is the latest in some way. I get a message after the arrows move for about 30 seconds that it is unable and to try again later. Someone earlier today told me they got that message when they first tried, but it worked when they tried later. So far with several attempts I continue to get the try later message.
jayridescarbon is offline  
post #1567 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kalifornistan
Posts: 5,900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by snsguy View Post

I tried the optical and the analog and I thought the analog sounded much better. You can't produce Tru HD over optical so not sure he's doing it right. I notice a big difference between the analog and the optical out. I even think to a certain degree that optical just on dolby digital 5.1 sounds a little tinny rather than a more fuller sound using the decoding of the player. I have the Onkyo 790. It may be difference in recievers and such. But analog should sound better than using optical when using anything that's tru hd. The DTS MA on The Incredible Hulk sounds amazing through analog. That's my cense though.

SNSGUY

That was one of the main reasons I bought this player was an upgrade in SQ... added DTS-HD MA but also an upgrade over my 10A for TrueHD SQ.

My Rig

Kenobi's 31 Days of Horror:

 

2012

2011

2010

2009

General Kenobi is online now  
post #1568 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitsufan1 View Post

I used coax before and not analog outputs, I can say for certain that coming from that to analog (using PCM) has made a huge improvement for SQ. I hear more and sounds I didn’t notice before using.

I'm not claiming that lossless through analog isn't better than lossy (although the difference should be subtle, not obvious), but that the average user should stay away from analog connections. You see a lot of posts about weak bass or other problems when using multi-channel analog, and I think it's because setup isn't always straightforward (depending on your receiver).
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #1569 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 03:20 PM
Member
 
jayridescarbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayridescarbon View Post

I'm pretty sure there are no updates for the 55, but it seems others have tried this and gotten messages that confirm their version is the latest in some way. I get a message after the arrows move for about 30 seconds that it is unable and to try again later. Someone earlier today told me they got that message when they first tried, but it worked when they tried later. So far with several attempts I continue to get the try later message.

More information. So playing detective, I tried to run the update with the player not connected and got the same thing, arrows running for about 30 seconds and the message "Unable to check for latest firmware version. Please try again later."

So it seems that even with the player connected and passing the connection test, the player still can't connect to the internet to check for the latest firmware version.

Any ideas? Do I need to change the proxy server and ports settings if I changed the IP and DNS settings?

Thanks,

Jay
jayridescarbon is offline  
post #1570 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by boylan13 View Post

Well it is helpful, but perplexing. Seems like most, but not everyone, who tries it on the Onkyo 05 series has the problem with the rear channels missing. The only thing it seems like it could be is a firmware difference in the receivers as was suggested earlier. To bad that's something that requires the unit to be shipped or brought into a service center.

My first response from Onkyo Japan was that they were unable to reproduce the problem too, so I may just give up on this since it doesn't seem to be a problem for everyone. And I've already disconnected the 605 from my system. I'm going to have Brandon DuHamel (who is reviewing the BD35 for us) test this as well, because I believe he also has an Onkyo receiver. He just got it today though, so it may be a while before he's had a chance to set it up and do any testing.

Regards,

-Chris

By the way my Onkyo 805 has the lastest firmware 1.08. If you are willing to take a small risk visit the Onkyo/Integra firmware requests thread and they can help anyone in upgrading their Onkyo receivers to the latest firmware. This is what I did and I had firmware 1.01 and went straight to 1.08 without a hitch. So I am part of the BOTJ (Brotherhood of the Traveling Jig).
bori is offline  
post #1571 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
cruzmisl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I preordered the BD55 from Amazon in September. It was supposed to be here today but never arrived. I called and they told me it won't be in stock until December 1st
cruzmisl is offline  
post #1572 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 04:08 PM
Member
 
Fred72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruzmisl View Post

I preordered the BD55 from Amazon in September. It was supposed to be here today but never arrived. I called and they told me it won't be in stock until December 1st

Seriously? What's your shipping estimate date? I ordered it last week and it says on the site that its estimated ship date is Nov 3rd.
Fred72 is offline  
post #1573 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 04:18 PM
Member
 
Mitsufan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree it's definitely not a straightforward process of setup, but for most that have a CEO, CFO that isn't all hip on spending $$$$$ we have to compromise. Many of us haven't yet upgraded our TV's or AVR's yet to take advantage of HDMI, just another "spanked" for early adoption at least in my case.... Coming from coax or optical I hear a marked improvement. If you already had analogs in your non HD DVD player the difference may not be as great. The whole transfer from SD > HD DVD better get smoothed out more before the public at large adopts it, and shows them what they are missing.
Mitsufan1 is offline  
post #1574 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 04:20 PM
Member
 
Mitsufan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I may have paid more from CC but at least I don't have the frustration of waiting for it.... I am going to see if they'll price match Amazons price though..
Mitsufan1 is offline  
post #1575 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just pulled a trigger on DMP-BD55. I was debating between this, Sony BDP-550 (with $150 off from Sony Store), and waiting for the Oppo B83, but when MS Live Search with 25% cash back came along, I couldn't wait any longer.

Addicted to shiny round discs with HD content

My Home Theater
My Movie Collection
BDP-83 EAP (second group)
xradman is offline  
post #1576 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
nsguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by marshallmedia View Post

now it's stuck in the drive. It seems to really like "Hairspray" and doesn't plan on giving it up. Ideas? Help?

Try using less hairspray next time! Sorry couldn't resist....
nsguy is offline  
post #1577 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 04:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Brandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xradman View Post

Just pulled a trigger on DMP-BD55. I was debating between this, Sony BDP-550 (with $150 off from Sony Store), and waiting for the Oppo B83, but when MS Live Search with 25% cash back came along, I couldn't wait any longer.

couple weeks ago would have gotten you 30%, though with the 25% it looks like they doubled the number of purchases you can make.
Brandito is offline  
post #1578 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 05:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
kiwi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just started up my 35 unit, it was beautiful until it stopped after about 30 minutes through blue planet.
It will not restart and shows a code? of U73 on the display.

I do not know how to select 5.1 or 7.1 or the dolby or dts Hd offerings. I have it set to pcm as advised earlier in this thread but no where did I see an option to select between the two HD audio options or 5.1 or 7.1.

This is moot anyway as it will not restart. Anyone want to chime in as to what U73 is on the display and how to correct it?
kiwi2000 is offline  
post #1579 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitsufan1 View Post

I may have paid more from CC but at least I don't have the frustration of waiting for it.... I am going to see if they'll price match Amazons price though..

Let us know what they say, ok? If you don't want to post, please send me a PM, thanks. I also got mine at CC and paid full price minus 8%.

lujan
667 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #1580 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 05:59 PM
Member
 
marshallmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice "Hairsray" joke, NSGUY! And since I realize the entire AVS Forum planet is on pins and needles breathlessly awaiting the outcome of this whole thing, I just got back from Best Buy with a brand new BD-35 that just came off the truck. And I plan to keep the "Hairspray" DVD far, far away from it. That is, unless I don't take the player out of the box at all for fear it will gobble up some other disc and not give it back...
marshallmedia is offline  
post #1581 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by marshallmedia View Post

Okay, so I just took my new BD-35 back to Best Buy, with "Hairspray" still hibernating inside with apparently no desire to get out. Tried for about an hour last night, tried again this morning to eject it, used the secret key combinations in the troubleshootiing part of the manual, swung a chicken over my head, etc. BB tech sets it on the bench, plugs it in, hits "eject", and the disc comes right out. And, of course, in unison, both tech and person at register just sort of stare at me. At this point, how do I convince anybody that I'm not an idiot, that I've been messing around with this stuff since before they were born? Anyways, the BB truck comes in tonight and they're going to just give me another one.

There's only one answer to this - you are an idiot
Sorry, couldn't resist

to each his own...
slogun is offline  
post #1582 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
nate358's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xradman View Post

Just pulled a trigger on DMP-BD55. I was debating between this, Sony BDP-550 (with $150 off from Sony Store), and waiting for the Oppo B83, but when MS Live Search with 25% cash back came along, I couldn't wait any longer.

I can't seem to get the panasonic to come up on Live.com cash back
nate358 is offline  
post #1583 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 06:37 PM
Member
 
ncibob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to get Dolby Digital EX (6.1) out of the toslink output on the 35 or is that only capable thru HDMI?
ncibob is offline  
post #1584 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Brandito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate358 View Post

I can't seem to get the panasonic to come up on Live.com cash back

type "cheap wii" in the live search engine, use the first cash back link you see to get to ebay, then do a search (on ebay) for whatever it is you want to buy and the cash back will be available for buy it now items. you don't have to actually search for the item you're looking for in live in order to get the deal at ebay, mainly they just need to know you came from live.com and that you used a cash back link.

i've used this exact method 3 times successfully. "cheap wii" just seems to be the easiest way to get there

also if you see someone using "or best offer" and want to give them a lower offer than the buy it now, you may be able to reason them into lowering their buy it now price to that of the best offer (should they accept your offer) and then you get the bonus of cash back as well.

i did this for some speakers i bought, even told the guy i'd accept his counter offer if he set it as the buy it now price and even told him why i was asking, he was totally for it and it saved me 100 bucks.
Brandito is offline  
post #1585 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sourbeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
OK, time for another obs. I am playing the blu-ray Twister. It has Dobly True HD. When I play it, my Onkyo receiver indicated Multichannel PCM 5.1, which is correct - it matches what is indicated on the back of the DVD case. It does not send a 7.1 PCM to the receiver. This is contrary to some previous posts about how the BD-35 interacts with some Onkyo receivers - by sending 7.1 to the receiver regardless. It seems to be doing it right, at least with this. When I played Hairspray, as DTS-HD-MA, the receiver indicated 7.1 PCM, BUT, that is what the DVD was designed for (as inicated on the back of the case). Anyhow, the purpose is to say it appears to be doing what it is supposed to depending on the blu-ray DVD being played. Maybe I am just confusing things here, I hope not.

TV - Panasonic 58PZ700U plasma
L/R - Ascend Sierra Towers with RAAL Tweets in piano black
C - Ascend Sierra Horizon with RAAL Tweet in piano black
Surr - Polk Fxi-A6
Sub - SVS PC-13 Ultra
AVR - Denon 4520-CI
Blu-ray - OPPO 103
Comcast Set Top Box
sourbeef is offline  
post #1586 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
cruzmisl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred72 View Post

Seriously? What's your shipping estimate date? I ordered it last week and it says on the site that its estimated ship date is Nov 3rd.

It initially said October 28th then October 29th then when I called they told me December 1st........
cruzmisl is offline  
post #1587 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
kiwi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just started up my 35 unit, it was beautiful until it stopped after about 30 minutes through blue planet.
It will not restart and shows a code? of U73 on the display.

I do not know how to select 5.1 or 7.1 or the dolby or dts Hd audio offerings. I have it set to pcm as advised earlier in this thread but no where did I see an option to select between the two HD audio options or 5.1 or 7.1.

This is moot anyway as it will not restart. Anyone want to chime in as to what error code U73 is on the display and how to correct it?

The second disc has just tried to play, it is a beautiful pink and green color for the bbc biography, (no it is not suppossed to be pink and green)!

I have restarted it many times with the same result, unwatchable. To sum it up,
Disc one stopped 30 minutes in with an error message.
Disc two improper color, with no adjustment available that I can see.

Anyone on the audio quesiton posed above?
kiwi2000 is offline  
post #1588 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sourbeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwi2000 View Post

Just started up my 35 unit, it was beautiful until it stopped after about 30 minutes through blue planet.
It will not restart and shows a code? of U73 on the display.

I do not know how to select 5.1 or 7.1 or the dolby or dts Hd audio offerings. I have it set to pcm as advised earlier in this thread but no where did I see an option to select between the two HD audio options or 5.1 or 7.1.

This is moot anyway as it will not restart. Anyone want to chime in as to what error code U73 is on the display and how to correct it?

The second disc has just tried to play, it is a beautiful pink and green color for the bbc biography, (no it is not suppossed to be pink and green)!

I have restarted it many times with the same result, unwatchable. To sum it up,
Disc one stopped 30 minutes in with an error message.
Disc two improper color, with no adjustment available that I can see.

Anyone on the audio quesiton posed above?

What I do, and this may not be the only way, is when I start a movie, I press the Audio button on the remote. You can then choose whatever is available on the DVD you are playing. Sometimes you get 3 or 4 selections depending on the DVD.

TV - Panasonic 58PZ700U plasma
L/R - Ascend Sierra Towers with RAAL Tweets in piano black
C - Ascend Sierra Horizon with RAAL Tweet in piano black
Surr - Polk Fxi-A6
Sub - SVS PC-13 Ultra
AVR - Denon 4520-CI
Blu-ray - OPPO 103
Comcast Set Top Box
sourbeef is offline  
post #1589 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwi2000 View Post

Just started up my 35 unit, it was beautiful until it stopped after about 30 minutes through blue planet.
It will not restart and shows a code? of U73 on the display.

I do not know how to select 5.1 or 7.1 or the dolby or dts Hd audio offerings. I have it set to pcm as advised earlier in this thread but no where did I see an option to select between the two HD audio options or 5.1 or 7.1.

This is moot anyway as it will not restart. Anyone want to chime in as to what error code U73 is on the display and how to correct it?

The second disc has just tried to play, it is a beautiful pink and green color for the bbc biography, (no it is not suppossed to be pink and green)!

I have restarted it many times with the same result, unwatchable. To sum it up,
Disc one stopped 30 minutes in with an error message.
Disc two improper color, with no adjustment available that I can see.

Anyone on the audio quesiton posed above?

U73: page 37 in the manual. Pertains to a problem with your HDMI cable/connection.

As for audio, You've got it set to PCM, so the player will decode the audio codecs and send them to your receiver. Your receiver will decide what do do about 5.1/7.1.
You need to verify in setup/audio/language options of each BD disc which audio track you want to listen to (i.e TruHD, etc).
capice?

to each his own...
slogun is offline  
post #1590 of 14982 Old 10-29-2008, 07:52 PM
Member
 
sroberts1220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell if there is any difference in picture between the BD35 and last year's BD30?
sroberts1220 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd35k 1080p Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd55k Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bh200 Super Blu Blu Ray Hd Dvd Combo Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off