Official Panasonic DMP-BD35/55 Owners Thread - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 14982 Old 10-16-2008, 11:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Turnaround's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSGUSA View Post

But, I'm buying the BD55 and hoping the extra $100.00 buys some higher grade video or audio parts inside that hasn't been published, but may make a minor improvement over the BD35.

The manual for the BD55 is also the same manual for the BD35. I do not see anything in there that indicates different video parts -- but that does not necessarily mean that they are identical. Some avsforum member will have to compare the two side by side to figure out the differences, if any.

According to the manual, the BD55 uses 21 watts, and the BD35 uses 20 watts. The BD55 is also spec'ed at being 1/4 inch taller. They are both listed with the same weight.
Turnaround is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 02:39 AM
 
goneten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I apologize in advance if another poster asked but are there any PAL units available yet ?

Regards,
goneten is offline  
post #213 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 03:33 AM
Member
 
rkaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyV View Post

Thank you Larry I actually just found this article this morning and was planning on posting it but you beat me to it.

Now first I will post the screen shot of the speaker setup menu.



As shown Panasonic has decided to use a completely odd way of implementing the delays.

First problem is there are no adjustments for the Front L & R speakers. Next huge problem is that is appears there is only ONE adjustment for both the right and left surrounds (as well as surround backs). Of course instead of using length measurements you have to refer to a conversion chart to be able to use the tenth of a millisecond reductions they provide. If I am wrong and there is a way to adjust the R & L Surround independently, please let me know. I am going off the chart and how it appears.

The menu looks identical to what is shown in the DMP-BD50 manual so I am assuming the setup is the same. Can someone please go into their settings and see if there is a way to highlight the L surround and set a delay setting and then go to the R surround and have a different setting. If someone could clear this up I would really appreciate it.

I used the on-screen speaker adjustment settings ; shown in the above post and described in the review by Chris Boylen (see post #119) last night, with Ironman (Dolby TrueHD). I am outputting audio using analog 7:1.

The speaker settings allow you to:
1. Select either large or small speaker size for pairs of speakers(i.e. L and R are the same; as are RS and LS; and LB and RB)
2. Adjust delay times (ms) based on speaker distances (note: The R and L speakers are the reference distances; therefore adjustments are made to other speakers only, with LS/RS and LB/RB adjustments in pairs)
3.adjust speaker balance (dB) (note; all adjutments are negative adjustments only (i.e. 0.0 to -6.0 dB for the Front, 0.0 to -12.0 dB for LS and RS. Sourround back LB/RB speakers will default to LS/RS settings)
4. Run audio test signal to listen to speaker volume levels (dB); to aid in adjustment ( note the white noise is NOT output to the subwoofer. You must listen to an actual soundtract. stop play; make a guess for subwoofer level adjustment; then play to sountrack to verify adjustment; then repeat until suitable).

While admittededly awkward, the BD player does allow for speaker adjustments prior to sending audio output. This is important if your receiver does not allow speaker adjustments (e.g. LFE volume adjustments); when receiving muli-channel analog inputs.



(HELP REQUESTED)
Ironman ( Dolby TrueHD) audio impression (7:1 Analog ouput)
I did not hear any sound coming from the surround back speakers; unlike Mr. & Mrs. Smith (DTS-HD MA). Is Dolby TrueHD a 7:1 format?
rkaz is offline  
post #214 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 04:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
kkpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Dolby True HD is a 5.1 on that movie. It is just a codec so it could be 7.1. DTS MA can be either 5.1 or 7.1, that is a software issue.
kkpro is offline  
post #215 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 04:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
wyliec2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SD
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post

BTW... I believe the cheaper BD35 would also let you use it's optical connection to do the same thing. You just don't get the 7.1 analog audio out for direct matrix connection to the apmplifier

Correct - this is how I'm currently using my BD-35 until my HDMI processor comes in.

At present:
Video is HDMI from BD-35 to Sony VPL-VW60
Audio is Optical from BD-35 to my existing processor

No problems with 1080/24 output.

Unit is very quiet.

Wyatt
wyliec2 is offline  
post #216 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 04:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
EWL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post

The 55k manual covers the audio configurations in pretty good detail.

I managed getting the optical connection working with a little trial and error, and then checked out the manual to see if I had done things right.

I too am trying to delay moving up to a HDMI AV Receiver. I opted to spend the receiver upgrade $$$ on a DVDO Edge video processor.

Eventually I'll make the receiver upgrade, but I won't need advanced video functions, just all the audio codecs.

If you have an older receiver, why aren't you using the analog outputs to get the lossless sound instead of the optical which can only carry legacy codecs???

Pioneer broke my heart.
Denon broke my wallet.
Oppo broke my thinking.
EWL5 is offline  
post #217 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 04:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
bslep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Royalton, Ohio
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post

Anyone have the same problem with the BD35 or BD55?

My 55 doesn't make any noise.
bslep is offline  
post #218 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 05:03 AM
Member
 
rkaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkpro View Post

Dolby True HD is a 5.1 on that movie. It is just a codec so it could be 7.1. DTS MA can be either 5.1 or 7.1, that is a software issue.

So, can Dolby TrueHD be either 7:1 or 5:1?
DTS-HD MA appears to always be 7:1.
rkaz is offline  
post #219 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryChanin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 6,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by layne_friedman View Post

Just purchased the BD-55. I'm having an issue with 24p output -- it's not
allowing me to set the unit to 24p (my guess is that the unit has decided that
my display device -- an Infocus Screenplay 7210 -- can't output 1080p/24p,
even though the projector's specs indicate that it can).

Has anyone else encountered this issue?

Thanks very much.

Layne

Hi Layne,

The projector's specs indicate that it may be compatible with an incoming 1080p/24 signal, but, as you probably know, your Infocus has a native resolution of 1280 x 720p, so it can't actually output an 1080p/24 image. The best you could expect if the signal were to be accepted would result in the projector rescaling and retiming the signal, but there's no advantage, i.e. reduced judder, in trying to send a 1080p/24 signal to a native 1280 x 720p projector.

It may be a problem with the EDID handshake between the player and projector that is preventing your projector from receiving the 1080p/24 signal that it knows it can't display unchanged.

Larry
LarryChanin is offline  
post #220 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 05:28 AM
Member
 
tyson1749's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by motobonsai View Post

So, there seems to be a problem with the 24fps setting?

Is that due to model or type of tv?

For people with that problem what type of tv do u have?

I have a 1080p 120hz Samsung. Will that get the 24 fps? My ps3 puts that out and my tv displays it.

And what is DRC? I can't find it on my yamaha rx v3200.

Yes the 35K will do 24fps with the samsung 120hz. I had a problem with the samsung BD-2500 going through the Onkyo 876 out to my Samsung A850 and it recognizing 24fps. So I took back the BD-2500 and got the 35K and works fine.
tyson1749 is offline  
post #221 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 05:48 AM
Member
 
BrentSP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turnaround View Post

Some quick random impressions about the BD55K:

- Resume mode does not work for blu-ray discs, but does work for dvds (the manual confirms this). If you hit stop on a blu-ray disc, you have to start your disc from the beginning. Is this typical for blu-ray players?

When I stop the BD or DVD on my 55 all I have to do is press play and its right back where it was.
BrentSP is offline  
post #222 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 05:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
EWL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkaz View Post

So, can Dolby TrueHD be either 7:1 or 5:1?
DTS-HD MA appears to always be 7:1.

Both TrueHD and DTS-HD MA can be either.

TrueHD 5.1 ex. Iron Man (live acton)
TrueHD 7.1 ex. Nightmare Before Christmas

DTS-HD MA 5.1 ex. Alien vs Predator
DTS-HD MA 7.1 ex. Golden Compass

Pioneer broke my heart.
Denon broke my wallet.
Oppo broke my thinking.
EWL5 is offline  
post #223 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 06:02 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrentSP View Post

35/55 owners, is there a confirmation display of what format is being output from the 7.1 analog outs? When I watch Golden Compass I can see the signal DTS HD-MA is being sent from the disc but want to make sure its being sent from the outputs also.

Analog out is analog. By the time it's analog, there's no distinction as to original codec.

If you've selected a DTS-HD track on a disc, then the BD35 or BD55 decodes DTS-HD to analog. If you select Dolby TrueHD on the disc, then it decodes Dolby TrueHD to analog. It makes no difference whether you set the output to bitstream or PCM if you're using the analog outputs but you *DO* have to disable to HDMI audio output if you're using the 7.1-channel analog outs. Otherwise you get 2-channel analog output.

If you want to confirm that the player is decoding DTS-HD or Dolby TrueHD then there is a display option in the player to view the active soundtrack. I think it's the display button on the remote that brings this up. Here's what it looks like for DTS-HD Master Audio.


-CB

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
post #224 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 06:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by motobonsai View Post

So, there seems to be a problem with the 24fps setting?

No problem with 24p on a Panasonic PZ800 series plasma nor on an Epson 1080 UB Projector. Should be no problem on yours either.

-CB

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
post #225 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 06:12 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by layne_friedman View Post

Just purchased the BD-55. I'm having an issue with 24p output -- it's not
allowing me to set the unit to 24p (my guess is that the unit has decided that
my display device -- an Infocus Screenplay 7210 -- can't output 1080p/24p,
even though the projector's specs indicate that it can).

I have a theory about this. I'm pretty sure 24p is only supported for 1080p output. If you have your BD35's hdmi output resolution set to auto (the default), then it is probably detecting that your projector's native resolution is 720p (which is correct). So it won't allow you to set the 24p output to on.

Try setting the hdmi output resolution to 1080p instead of auto. Any difference in whether you can enable 24p output?

-CB

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
post #226 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 06:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
boylan13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post

Can someone check and make sure they read DVD RAM?

Just for you, I extracted a DVD-RAM double-sided disc from its cartridge and tested it on the BD55. Played back just fine.

-CB

Chris Boylan
Home Theater Editor
Big Picture Big Sound
boylan13 is offline  
post #227 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RobertR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: California
Posts: 6,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Got the BD55 on Wednesday but didn't hook it up until last night. Connected it to my NEC XG135LC projector with the Moome HDMI card. Picture and sound are both excellent (LOADS of detail). No glitches. Very pleased.
RobertR is offline  
post #228 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 06:20 AM
Senior Member
 
cdnewmanpac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryChanin View Post

Hi Layne,

The projector's specs indicate that it may be compatible with an incoming 1080p/24 signal, but, as you probably know, your Infocus has a native resolution of 1280 x 720p, so it can't actually output an 1080p/24 image. The best you could expect if the signal were to be accepted would result in the projector rescaling and retiming the signal, but there's no advantage, i.e. reduced judder, in trying to send a 1080p/24 signal to a native 1280 x 720p projector.

It may be a problem with the EDID handshake between the player and projector that is preventing your projector from receiving the 1080p/24 signal that it knows it can't display unchanged.

Larry

Actually, several 720p projectors can display a 1080p/24 image as 720p refreshed at 48hz. There is no retiming, just rescaling. Sony makes a point of this in their marketing literature for the 15, but several Pannys and Planars (possibly others) also do this.

I agree the problem may be handshake, but not because the projector is incapable. On the Samsung 1400 and my Panny900 I needed to choose 1080i, then turn 24fps "on". This effectively sent a 1080p/24 signal to the projector (as demostrated by my projector's input information), but somehow flagged it as 1080i, which made the handshake work.

For those having problems, if you can choose 1080i as an output resolution and still activate 24fps, you might try that with the 35/55 as well.
cdnewmanpac is offline  
post #229 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
krisjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post

...For example, in the first scene of Constantine there is a guy wearing a red shirt.
On the BD30, the shirt is very slightly magenta.
On the BD35, the shirt is obviously blood red.

Yes, but which one is "right"? You don't really know unless you are comparing to some absolute standard (i.e. a calibration source). Also, did you set the PQ controls to be the same between the two units? Thanks for your comments.
krisjan is offline  
post #230 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryChanin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 6,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnewmanpac View Post

Actually, several 720p projectors can display a 1080p/24 image as 720p refreshed at 48hz. There is no retiming, just rescaling. Sony makes a point of this in their marketing literature for the 15, but several Pannys and Planars (possibly others) also do this.

I agree the problem may be handshake, but not because the projector is incapable. On the Samsung 1400 and my Panny900 I needed to choose 1080i, then turn 24fps "on". This effectively sent a 1080p/24 signal to the projector (as demostrated by my projector's input information), but somehow flagged it as 1080i, which made the handshake work.

For those having problems, if you can choose 1080i as an output resolution and still activate 24fps, you might try that with the 35/55 as well.

Hi.

Thanks for the information.

I wasn't aware that the Infocus 7210 could handle 48Hz because the manual doesn't discuss this feature. However, on page 27 there is a graphic of a menu that lists a Film Mode called NTSC 48Hz. Again, there is no explanation of this feature, but perhaps the original poster should give it a try.

Larry
LarryChanin is offline  
post #231 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The Circuit City by my house has the 55's in stock. I'm going to pick one up today on my lunch break and compare it to my Sony BDP-S550. At least I have the afternoon off from work today to do the comparison. I got a feeling that the BD55 will be better.
Kage is offline  
post #232 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post

The Circuit City by my house has the 55's in stock. I'm going to pick one up today on my lunch break and compare it to my Sony BDP-S550. At least I have the afternoon off from work today to do the comparison. I got a feeling that the BD55 will be better.

I think that's what you'll find also.
I've been researching these players for the past 6 months, had a preorder in for the BD50, then set my sights on the S550, then low and behold the BD35 and BD55 have now come out with the most advanced features and at surprisingly good price points.
I think the Sony S350 and S550 have nothing over the BD35 and BD55, except a shiny blue faceplate

to each his own...
slogun is offline  
post #233 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dovetails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boylan13 View Post

No problem with 24p on a Panasonic PZ800 series plasma nor on an Epson 1080 UB Projector. Should be no problem on yours either.

-CB


boylan; when you are feeding your PZ800 with the 24p output on this player, does it make any difference on your PZ800 when you set it to display 24p or do you still get the 'flicker'?
Dovetails is offline  
post #234 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by boylan13 View Post

Just for you, I extracted a DVD-RAM double-sided disc from its cartridge and tested it on the BD55. Played back just fine.

-CB

Thanks, I'm going to see if my local CC has any BD35's in stock.

lujan
667 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #235 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 09:02 AM
jcg
AVS Special Member
 
jcg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if there will be a Costco version of the 35? Costco used to sell Panasonic's last model.

jcg
jcg is offline  
post #236 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 09:02 AM
Newbie
 
dkindig729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post

I have only watch a couple of DVDs on the 55K so far, but I also thought RED might have been a little hot on the Ironman DVD.

I also had the same initial impression on an SD copy of Spiderman that I threw in AND the BD version of Iron Man.

I haven't had a chance to recalibrate my display yet (Toshiba 57HX81 RPTV at 1080i), but I did a quick fix by setting the color temperature on the display from medium to cool.

This observation made based on my previous calibration levels with an RP91 that this unit replaced.

One nice thing though... All my remote codes for the RP91 work with the 55, so I didn't have to reprogram my remote!
dkindig729 is offline  
post #237 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
stopdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post

The Circuit City by my house has the 55's in stock. I'm going to pick one up today on my lunch break and compare it to my Sony BDP-S550. At least I have the afternoon off from work today to do the comparison. I got a feeling that the BD55 will be better.

Looking forward to hearing your observations. I'm buying one of these.
stopdog is offline  
post #238 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RobertR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: California
Posts: 6,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytehoven View Post

Update 55K...

Under the FUNCTIONS/HDMI menu needs to be set to ENHANCED, so the projector has proper black reproduction.

A technical question for you or anyone else who can answer: Does the ENHANCED setting set the black level range to 16-235 or 0-255? Also, the BD55 sends decoded PCM to analog out as well as TrueHD and DTSMA, correct?
RobertR is offline  
post #239 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
tcfish19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine yesterday and it works great. Only complaint is CD playback is lacking. I think jayridescarbon mentioned this as well. I'm compairing to an Oppo 981 outputting toslink and also using analog. Didn't matter which I used CD playback just wasn't close to what I was used to with the Oppo.

Upgrayedd. Which he spells thusly, with two D's, as he says, "for a double dose of this pimping".
tcfish19 is offline  
post #240 of 14982 Old 10-17-2008, 09:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
pwiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by slogun View Post

I think that's what you'll find also.
I've been researching these players for the past 6 months, had a preorder in for the BD50, then set my sights on the S550, then low and behold the BD35 and BD55 have now come out with the most advanced features and at surprisingly good price points.
I think the Sony S350 and S550 have nothing over the BD35 and BD55, except a shiny blue faceplate

I was looking at the BD55 until Sonystyle gave me 150 reasons to get the S550. I love the S550 and I think we have reached the point where we have 2 full featured players with excellent PQ and audio quality at reasonable price points. I don't think you can go wrong with either. If Panasonic had given me 150 reasons I would have purchased it.
pwiss is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd35k 1080p Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd55k Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players , Lg Bh200 Super Blu Blu Ray Hd Dvd Combo Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off