Theories on the pervasive BD playback failures?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 210 Old 10-24-2008, 05:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 135
The huge failure rate on the new Bond movies really intensified my curiosity as to what is going on the Blu Ray world with so many failures in playback.. This is ridicuous for all BD owners. I don't care whether you have a $200 player or a $2000 player, they should ALL PLAY ALL DISCS AT THIS POINT!! I just don't know. I'm no engineer either. I wonder if this is also somehow related to the lack of DTS MA decoding in so many players?

But, my guess as to the root cuase is manufacturers putting in as little processing power as possible (to save a buck) and the machines getting hung up on these processing heavy Java menus (because of inadequate processing power). Not enough RAM or the likes.. Hence, failures, freeze ups and lock ups.

I see so many playback issues but the PS3 seemingly never fails.. Neither has my very robust Denon or 1st gen Panny BD-10. Now the Denon is known to have taken the big processing board right from their flagship receiver and put it in the 3800. So, a lot of memory there.. (but not so in the more buggy Denon 2500 - less memory).

Usually first gen machines are built like tanks.. I wonder if other 1st gen players (e.g. Pioneer, Sony, etc) have less issues, too. But then again, the Panny BD-10 which has played all discs since I bought it does not do 1080P24 or DTS MA (so no need to process those features frees up more memory). All Bond movies played in the Panny once I loaded an older August firmware update.

So, I know firmware can aid these things, too.. But why? Is it linked to processing power, too?

I always see Samsung as a problem, but they are a lower end manufacturer.. so I can see many hardware cuts and less proactive firmware releases.

I could be way off but I'd like to better understand these failures..