Panasonic BD-35/55 Firmware Update Available - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 385 Old 11-29-2008, 08:08 AM
Member
 
Dragonfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: WNC
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul H View Post

Sorry jtbell, I'm so used to the Mac I didn't think about the virtual PC software I have installed where I just drag & drop files and use both Windows & Mac OS on the same system.
You would need some form of Windows to use the self extracting feature of the download. Once it is extracted, the Mac can do the rest
If you have access to a windows PC, a memory stick can be used to tranfer the extracted file to the Mac.Paul

Paul:
I have an old G3 running OS10.3 classic with an external Sony CD burner and an old laptop PC that I use to download files for my FTA receiver, load to a USB stick then into my receiver, can I do the same with firmware updates, load to USB stick and then to my G3 and then burn to a CD on my Sony burner?
Be nice if someone made a player with a USB port, it would make life easier, or maybe someone does.
Dragonfly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 385 Old 11-29-2008, 12:57 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonfly View Post

Paul:
I have an old G3 running OS10.3 classic with an external Sony CD burner and an old laptop PC that I use to download files for my FTA receiver, load to a USB stick then into my receiver, can I do the same with firmware updates, load to USB stick and then to my G3 and then burn to a CD on my Sony burner?
Be nice if someone made a player with a USB port, it would make life easier, or maybe someone does.

It would be much easier to have a USB port. The PS3 has that option.

Don't know about the G3, OS10.3 & external CD burner, it would be a guess and I wouldn't want to be responsible if something went wrong.

All I can say is that it worked using the equipment I have and I'm sure it would have worked by transferring the expanded file with a memory stick too as that is how I update my PS3 firmware.

Paul


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Paul H is online now  
post #93 of 385 Old 11-29-2008, 03:11 PM
Member
 
AvGrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NE
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mds54 View Post

I can't get my XP Pro CD Writer to complete a full burn without aborting. I also used a third party CD burner which did succeed, but then the 55 could not read it. I've burned numerous music CDs in the past without any problem.....

I ran into this problem the first time I tried to update my filmware I could not get my CD burning program to make an ISO file even when it said it would. I found and downloaded a shareware program called ISO burnersoftware and have used it on both XP and Vesta and it worked everytime. I put the downloaded zip file in a folder than click it which opens an ISO file. I than click on the ISO file and ISO burner opens and burns it to a CD. Web address for program is.

http://filegets.com/get/iso-burner.html
AvGrog is offline  
post #94 of 385 Old 11-29-2008, 09:26 PM
Member
 
jcflman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark754 View Post

Sounds like no one can notice any improvements from this v 1.5 update.

Found this on the Panasonic site:

DMP-BD35 Firmware Update
Version: 1.50
Models: DMP-BD35K
Instructions:
Issues Addressed

1. Corrects block noise which appears during playback of promotion disc made for JVC LCD TV in US market.
2. Corrects jaggy noise which appears during playback of select DVDs:
* Into the Wild
* Run Fatboy Run
jcflman is offline  
post #95 of 385 Old 11-29-2008, 10:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Trackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sacramento,Ca., usa
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcflman View Post

Found this on the Panasonic site:

DMP-BD35 Firmware Update
Version: 1.50
Models: DMP-BD35K
Instructions:
Issues Addressed

1. Corrects block noise which appears during playback of promotion disc made for JVC LCD TV in US market.
2. Corrects jaggy noise which appears during playback of select DVDs:
* Into the Wild
* Run Fatboy Run

Hats off to Panny for updating firmware just to deal with a few minor issues like that!

Go Duke !
Trackman is offline  
post #96 of 385 Old 11-30-2008, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mds54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvGrog View Post

I ran into this problem the first time I tried to update my filmware I could not get my CD burning program to make an ISO file even when it said it would. I found and downloaded a shareware program called ISO burnersoftware and have used it on both XP and Vesta and it worked everytime. I put the downloaded zip file in a folder than click it which opens an ISO file. I than click on the ISO file and ISO burner opens and burns it to a CD. Web address for program is.

http://filegets.com/get/iso-burner.html

I'll check it out.
Thanks for that!
mds54 is offline  
post #97 of 385 Old 12-02-2008, 06:51 PM
Member
 
Wind_Wound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The cost of 100ft of Cat-5 cable from Radio Shack is not bad. Seems cheaper than buying wireless bridge hardware. Unless you're determined to use the underwhelming BD-live worthless and meaningless crap stuff.
Wind_Wound is offline  
post #98 of 385 Old 12-02-2008, 08:50 PM
Member
 
rmaestas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lakewood, CO
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where do you go to tell what the current firmware version is on the BD35K? Just purchased mine yesterday.
rmaestas is offline  
post #99 of 385 Old 12-02-2008, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmaestas View Post

Where do you go to tell what the current firmware version is on the BD35K? Just purchased mine yesterday.

Check out this site for a description of how to check the installed version.
demonfoo is offline  
post #100 of 385 Old 12-05-2008, 07:21 AM
Member
 
EDDIE919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First question: Where can I find what the latest firmware fixes? I looked on the Panasonic web site can could not find it.

My player has v1.4 and it not near the home PC. I downloaded v1.5 and burned it to a CD-R but got an error message on the player when I inserted it.

I was wondering if I can plug an ethernet cable from the player to a laptop with a wireless network card and use that to get the latest firmware (as well as BD live)

Thanks!
EDDIE919 is offline  
post #101 of 385 Old 12-05-2008, 12:31 PM
Member
 
rmb1035's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EDDIE919 View Post

First question: Where can I find what the latest firmware fixes? I looked on the Panasonic web site can could not find it.

Look 5 posts above yours on this same thread...
rmb1035 is offline  
post #102 of 385 Old 12-06-2008, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Gary Bechtold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just got the unit yesterday. It had v1.4 firmware on it. I put it on the network and updated to v1.5. Simple and easy.
Gary Bechtold is offline  
post #103 of 385 Old 12-06-2008, 01:31 PM
Member
 
blazeby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same here - got the unit yesterday, upgraded to 1.5 via ethernet - zero issues - piece of cake.
blazeby is offline  
post #104 of 385 Old 12-08-2008, 08:45 PM
Senior Member
 
webcrawlr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just updated to version 1.6 today...

Fixes are:

1. BD-V Playability

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...5/bd35_na.html
webcrawlr is offline  
post #105 of 385 Old 12-08-2008, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
a3willia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by webcrawlr View Post

I just updated to version 1.6 today...

I finally updated to 1.5 last night. I just powered my player on and saw the notice that 1.6 was available.

HD A2 (Feb 07)
HD XA2 (Feb 08)
DMP-BD35K (Nov 08)
DMP-BD60K (Jun 09)

HD DVD Titles: 168
Blu-ray Titles: 430
a3willia is offline  
post #106 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 12:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by a3willia View Post

I finally updated to 1.5 last night. I just powered my player on and saw the notice that 1.6 was available.

Me too, I just updated to 1.5 earlier this evening and now I see 1.6 is up!
I tried updating with a CD-RW instead of a CD-R and it worked fine for me. Used Nero to just burn it. Don't have to waste CD-Rs for one time firmware update use, I can reuse my CD-RWs.
Joxer is offline  
post #107 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 03:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Panasonic has the new firmware 1.6 up for both the 35 & 55 dated 12/8

BD55 Link

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...ica/index.html

BD 35 Link
http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...5/bd35_na.html
rwestley is online now  
post #108 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 06:52 AM
Senior Member
 
webcrawlr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

Panasonic has the new firmware 1.6 up for both the 35 & 55 dated 12/8

BD55 Link

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...ica/index.html

BD 35 Link
http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...5/bd35_na.html

Is there an echo?
webcrawlr is offline  
post #109 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 11:39 AM
Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is BD-V??
Brahmzy is offline  
post #110 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 11:54 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Give them credit. That is some fast updates....

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
joerod is offline  
post #111 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mds54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just FYI.....
For the few of us that don't use the Internet hookup and/or have problems burning a readable CD-R, Panasonic will mail you a firmware update CD free of charge within 2-5 biz days. I just requested mine through the Global Service Center Network - Technical Support. You will need to establish a case number.
mds54 is offline  
post #112 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 12:31 PM
Member
 
Kevin Tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HELP
Burned cd-r disc,inserted into player, player took disc did it's thing 'ejected itself and now player says "insert disc' and tray stays open.
Put in a disc but it keeps rejecting and opens on its own with insert disc message.
WTF is up?
Kevin Tx is offline  
post #113 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kalifornistan
Posts: 5,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Tx View Post

HELP
Burned cd-r disc,inserted into player, player took disc did it's thing 'ejected itself and now player says "insert disc' and tray stays open.
Put in a disc but it keeps rejecting and opens on its own with insert disc message.
WTF is up?

Was this the 1.6? Has anyone else updating by disc had this issue?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Kenobi's 31 Days of Horror:

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

General Kenobi is offline  
post #114 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Luisfc1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 15
...
Luisfc1972 is offline  
post #115 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 12:51 PM
Member
 
Kevin Tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, this is 1.6 update.
Only reason I tried was because of alot of jittering and intermittant stopping while playing Master & Commander.
Anyone else having issues with this disc?
Kevin Tx is offline  
post #116 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
wstanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Canonsburg, PA (Steeler Country)
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1.6 was easier than ever since I did 1.5 awhile back. No problems burning or installing. Apparently, the download, burn, portion may be the "real" problem for some. I cannot explain why certain computers, programs do better than others but maybe mds54 who has had many problems previously and ordered a factory disc has the correct solution.

Myself, I have started a collection of firmware discs in case one misfires.
wstanko is offline  
post #117 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
General Kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kalifornistan
Posts: 5,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Tx View Post

Yes, this is 1.6 update.
Only reason I tried was because of alot of jittering and intermittant stopping while playing Master & Commander.
Anyone else having issues with this disc?

You did power down after the update correct? I don't have that title myself, was this happening on any others? (maybe bad disc?)
Have you tried inserting a SD card? Maybe by doing so you can trick the player out of the "insert disc" request.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Kenobi's 31 Days of Horror:

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

General Kenobi is offline  
post #118 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 01:13 PM
Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post

What is BD-V??

What is BD-V?

Why do I want to upgrade to 1.6 from 1.5?
Brahmzy is offline  
post #119 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post

What is BD-V?

Blu-Ray Disc - Video; i.e., every BD released except for PS3-specific game titles.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post

Why do I want to upgrade to 1.6 from 1.5?

Because it's new, and it may fix playback with certain titles - though Panasonic doesn't detail specifically what titles it affects.
demonfoo is offline  
post #120 of 385 Old 12-09-2008, 01:28 PM
Member
 
Kevin Tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah I powered down. This was the first problem disc I have had. (24 Days/16-18 discs) Took a chance and unplugged the player.
Powered back up and all is well except still on version 1.3.
Guess I'll burn a new disc with a different burner or call for one from Panasonic.

Thanks all
Kevin Tx is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bd55k Blu Ray Disc Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd35k 1080p Blu Ray Player , Yamaha Rx V663 Receiver
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off